Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Walter Sparrow becomes obsessed with a novel that he believes was written about him. As his obsession increases, more and more similarities seem to arise.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    A great psychological thriller that is done well with Jim Carrey and all of the critics that has been saying that this movie sucks, they suck.
  2. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Wow. This is a strange, creepy horror film that steadily ramps up the fear as the plot chugs along. There are a few spots when it's a little tough to keep your disbelief out of the way, but you'll enjoy this film more if you just let go and have fun with it. It made me want to get books about strange math and science phenomena. Also, the cast did well. Jim Carrey's character starts out as a seemingly normal person, whose life gets increasingly caught up in a trap of obsession with the title number. Try to watch this film and not start counting stuff afterwards! :) Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    This is a good movie. Despite what the media may think of the plot and Jim Carrey's performance, it is a film that got me hooked the moment it began. Sure, there may be some scenes that fall below others, but as a whole, it is better than many may think. Expand
  4. May 19, 2012
    6
    I've watched many Movies of Jim Carrey.When he did something different than comedy in Man on the moon ,The Truman Show,Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind,These movies were so great.
    When i watched the trailer of this movie. My expectations got high.
    After watching the movie i was disappointed.Clearly it is a psycho-thriller movie with neo-noir style.I quite liked the visual elements and Jim Carrey did a good job.Despite of the good concept.The movie is not that good.
    It has a promising start but when Walter starts to read book,slowly slowly everything goes wrong and somewhat boring.
    It's plot is too thin and movie is unimpressive in many parts.
    Cheesy dialogues bring it down and movie is never that creepy the way it should be.
    Overall, it delivers a rambling, confusing narrative with only a few stylistic elements thrown in.it could have been much much better as for JIm Carrey
    But i liked it in parts.
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    Jim Carrey's performance was amazing, reminding us once more that he's not all funny faces and slapstick humor. Unfortunately for him the movie could be better. It's kind of well done from a stylistic point of view I guess? I'm not savvy about technicalities, but other than a slight inconsistency between the noir not-so-side story and the main plot which may very well be intentional/alternative, it wasn't bad. The idea was good too, I guess I can kind of relate to the numbers obsession in a way due to some sort of slight OCD I have when it gets to numbers and stuff. But yeah, the plot was kinda forced and had very weak points and minor nonsense. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2013
    5
    Jim Carrey to play in a psychological thriller??? No sir!! The movie could have been better if the role of Jim Carrey was played by someone else. There are so many actors to play this role and they chose Jim???? NOOOOOOOOO!!!!! Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    1
    Micheal Jordan`s number 23, 23 bottles of beer on the wall, 23 problems but a b&%% ain`t one, 10 plus 10 plus 3 equals 23 this is how this ridiculous movie goes! What a pointless movie. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered

    Director Joel Schumacher: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 5, 2010
    A new Joel Schumacher film is always cause for celebration -- if you happen to like bad movies. We look back at the "Twelve" director's worst (and, yes, best) films from a career spanning three decades.