Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2010
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 414 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
273
Mixed:
99
Negative:
42
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
swisswatchingSep 26, 2010
Truly an awful film. I can't understand why people are raving about. Not clever, not funny. Felt like asking for my money back when I left the cinema. Maybe you have to be a teenage male American to enjoy it. Or just have no brain.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
rucknrunAug 31, 2010
This movie was not good. I am not sure what everyone else was watching. I really did not get it. The movie was so tired. Marky Mark yelling all the time was so tiresome.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
FantasyAug 6, 2010
If you saw the coming attractions you saw the movie. Just disintegrates before your very eyes. Not very good despite an all star cast.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PeterBAug 6, 2010
This movie was terrible. The plot line was incoherent. Will Ferrell went from quiet paper pusher who, "was a good kid who made his bed and went to school" to a man with a past as a pimp and an alter ego named gator. Mark Whalberg was just This movie was terrible. The plot line was incoherent. Will Ferrell went from quiet paper pusher who, "was a good kid who made his bed and went to school" to a man with a past as a pimp and an alter ego named gator. Mark Whalberg was just plain awful. His lines came across as forced and his reason for learning to dance as well as play the harp (to make fun of the gay kids who did it?) was just stupid. I understand that these days that non sequiturs are often a good comedic tool, e.g. "Aqua Teen Hunger Force". But, in a major summer Hollywood film it just doesn't work. Do not see this film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
FrankV.Aug 7, 2010
I went to see this movie because the coming attractions made this movie look funny. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Idiotic banter, and strained plots twists, spelled the end for me. Maybe I'm getting too old for this kind of I went to see this movie because the coming attractions made this movie look funny. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Idiotic banter, and strained plots twists, spelled the end for me. Maybe I'm getting too old for this kind of humor. I liked the action scenes, which accounts for my 2 rating. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RickWAug 7, 2010
If you like persistent four letter words, constant disgusting sexual remarks, and a fascination with talk about perversions then this is the movie for you...if not stay away....yuk.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
tomsAug 8, 2010
I was hoping for Anchorman but got Anchored Men. It's got a good wacky set up, but like a potentially great joke with a lousy punchline, it fails. The writing/improv was outrageous and different, but more silly than humorous or I was hoping for Anchorman but got Anchored Men. It's got a good wacky set up, but like a potentially great joke with a lousy punchline, it fails. The writing/improv was outrageous and different, but more silly than humorous or insightful. I laughed some, but I realized I was forcing some of the laughs because I wanted to enjoy this movie more than I did. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
MMulcahyAug 7, 2010
If you've seen it, you know the best part of the movie is over less than half an hour in. Will Ferrell brings nothing new to the table and all the one liners feel totally forced. Avoid at all costs.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
dijavantewowOct 17, 2010
I don't know what it was, but I was just bored in theaters when I saw this. I like Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell, but this one just didn't do it for me. Maybe I should take a second look at it, but right now I don't think this one had muchI don't know what it was, but I was just bored in theaters when I saw this. I like Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell, but this one just didn't do it for me. Maybe I should take a second look at it, but right now I don't think this one had much of anything funny. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
SPINEYSep 11, 2010
This is another case of an average movie being over-hyped via advertising. You do laugh in a few spots, but the rest of the humour is rather crude. In some points you wonder how that makes sense and others are just completely random, only putThis is another case of an average movie being over-hyped via advertising. You do laugh in a few spots, but the rest of the humour is rather crude. In some points you wonder how that makes sense and others are just completely random, only put in to try and wench a laugh out of you. Will Ferrell doesn't play his character believably and Mark Wahlberg doesn't do well either and ends up stale an boring. The action seems to be purposely Hollywood and completely unbelievable. If you want a good laugh and don't mind losing two hours of your life then you may as well see Despicable Me. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
JimBAug 6, 2010
Will Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure Will Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure sign a Hollywood actor is getting too comfortable and stale. Unfortunately, Mark Wahlberg is along for the ride and can't get the seatbelt to unfasten. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
JoeyTAug 7, 2010
With an all star cast this movie is one of the worst written, poorest acted, with very few forced laughs. It drags. In about 20 minutes it reminds you of PT Barnum's a sucker is born every minute. Don't waste your hard earned With an all star cast this movie is one of the worst written, poorest acted, with very few forced laughs. It drags. In about 20 minutes it reminds you of PT Barnum's a sucker is born every minute. Don't waste your hard earned dollars on this trash. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
BruceB.Aug 6, 2010
Probably the worst movie I have seen in the last ten years. horribly written, and not funny. wish i could get my time back wasted watching this garbage
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
PayupSep 28, 2010
It is true that some parts are laugh out loud funny, but the majority of the movie is just stupid and even, at times, boring. Mark Wahlberg was horrible, but Will Ferrell gave one of his better performances, in a movie that was one of hisIt is true that some parts are laugh out loud funny, but the majority of the movie is just stupid and even, at times, boring. Mark Wahlberg was horrible, but Will Ferrell gave one of his better performances, in a movie that was one of his best. But that doesn't mean "The Other Guys" was a good movie by any means. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
Nick1946Aug 21, 2010
This is a plodding, not funny movie. You will have to be a strong Wil Ferrell fan to get any enjoyment out of this movie. It is so tedious that I regretted not going with my wife to see Eat,Pray, Love. Wahlberg is normally pretty good but hasThis is a plodding, not funny movie. You will have to be a strong Wil Ferrell fan to get any enjoyment out of this movie. It is so tedious that I regretted not going with my wife to see Eat,Pray, Love. Wahlberg is normally pretty good but has to overact way too much in this movie as if we will not believe how bad it is. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
frankMAug 8, 2010
"Bold, brightly colored charts and graphs fill the screen with enraging data about bloated chief-executive bonuses, billion-dollar bank bailouts, Ponzi schemes and other entries in the encyclopedia of modern financial infamy. Looking at "Bold, brightly colored charts and graphs fill the screen with enraging data about bloated chief-executive bonuses, billion-dollar bank bailouts, Ponzi schemes and other entries in the encyclopedia of modern financial infamy. Looking at these shocking numbers in isolation, you might be tempted to think that you had just watched an angry populist satire skewering the powerful and the privileged. But such topical provocation has been missing from commercial American comedy for a very long time, and Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
corrodedNov 17, 2010
The most entertaining thing about this film was the Rage Against the Machine song in the end credits, for that it gains a solitary point, it is so without merit. Who reviewed this film?! How is it positive?

-edit- I know know... you
The most entertaining thing about this film was the Rage Against the Machine song in the end credits, for that it gains a solitary point, it is so without merit. Who reviewed this film?! How is it positive?

-edit- I know know... you accidentally press submit on 10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMar 12, 2011
Words are wasted on this one...truly awful. A fat Samuel Jackson, the worst performance of Mark Wahlberg's career, as a matter of fact, you need to only watch the first five minutes of this nonsense to get a sense for how bad it is, becauseWords are wasted on this one...truly awful. A fat Samuel Jackson, the worst performance of Mark Wahlberg's career, as a matter of fact, you need to only watch the first five minutes of this nonsense to get a sense for how bad it is, because it sure never gets any better... Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
bethesdabobJan 26, 2011
This is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are in it, but they're pretty lousy too.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
2
JonDocFeb 8, 2011
I love Will Ferrell but this movie was awful. Full of painfully unfunny ad libbing, it reminded me of the truly terrible Semi-Pro . I really do like Ferrell's ad-libs normally - it's what makes him so great, but this movie seemed to have noI love Will Ferrell but this movie was awful. Full of painfully unfunny ad libbing, it reminded me of the truly terrible Semi-Pro . I really do like Ferrell's ad-libs normally - it's what makes him so great, but this movie seemed to have no structured script whatsoever. I am amazed none of the critics gave negative reviews. The sizable number of mixed and negative user reviews tell a truer story. Oh, and Steve Coogan's ticket joke was nicked out of Smack The Pony. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
epf1961Mar 5, 2012
Maybe I have a strange sense of what's funny and what's not, but aside from 1 or 2 chuckles, I sat thru this film stoney-faced. Rather than sophisticated humor and wit, the film tries to survive on slapstick and just plainMaybe I have a strange sense of what's funny and what's not, but aside from 1 or 2 chuckles, I sat thru this film stoney-faced. Rather than sophisticated humor and wit, the film tries to survive on slapstick and just plain stupidity/silliness, most of which was so un-funny, it actually made me squirm uncomfortably in my chair, bored and actually embarrassed for the people that spent time and money making this movie. Best example: The "FBI Mug" scene in the car... Ferrell keeps repeating the "Female Body Inspector" thing over and over-- It wasn't even funny the 1st time. When Wahlberg throws the mug out the window, I realized that somehow, that was meant to be the rib-splitting climax of the scene, and I just sat there staring, thinking "Omigod"! To me, I hesitate to rent comedies, because they're either truly funny, or (more often than not) simply painful. "The Other Guys" is a glaring example of the second category. Personally, I'd rather watch "Seinfeld" reruns.. now THAT is actually the kind of humor I can laugh out loud to! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
Mowgli1114Jan 28, 2011
This movie was horrible! It seems like they had no script and Will Farell is just making it up as he goes along. And what he makes up isn't funny and doesn't even make sense. Mark Wahlberg's acting is atrocious! He is not funny at all! IThis movie was horrible! It seems like they had no script and Will Farell is just making it up as he goes along. And what he makes up isn't funny and doesn't even make sense. Mark Wahlberg's acting is atrocious! He is not funny at all! I was so bored and couldn't even get through it. Save your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MrC3030Feb 2, 2011
I was very disappointed with this film!!! It was surprisingly dry for a comedy!!! Their must have been a lot of inside jokes or I just identify with some the "humor"(and I say that likely) in this film. At one point I think I actually yawnedI was very disappointed with this film!!! It was surprisingly dry for a comedy!!! Their must have been a lot of inside jokes or I just identify with some the "humor"(and I say that likely) in this film. At one point I think I actually yawned a little bit. Bottom line, this film was a snoozer, so WATCH AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Acting: Blah
Storyline: Stupid
Characters: Forgettable
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
funckygarconAug 26, 2012
I agree with the user rucknrun, this movie was awful, absolutely awful:- Will Ferrell was lame and boring, Mark was yelling all the time, Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson's very short scenes didn't make sense at all. and the movie justI agree with the user rucknrun, this movie was awful, absolutely awful:- Will Ferrell was lame and boring, Mark was yelling all the time, Dwayne Johnson and Samuel L Jackson's very short scenes didn't make sense at all. and the movie just drags on and on with failed humor attempts and a very unappealing cast, i was watching it with my friend and we both hoped it will end soon, we eventually turned it off !!
if u ever get your hands on a DVD of it, remove it right away, it's a terrible movie !!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
olddocSep 30, 2016
I made an account specifically for this awful, forgettable, worth maybe three chortles per hour, worst comedy made in the last twenty years. Every critic who gave this a good review is a completely worthless sell-out. Every user who thinksI made an account specifically for this awful, forgettable, worth maybe three chortles per hour, worst comedy made in the last twenty years. Every critic who gave this a good review is a completely worthless sell-out. Every user who thinks this is even remotely funny probably has an as good a time watching paint dry. Formulaic, uninteresting, flat, lame, and boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews