Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 2010
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 413 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
273
Mixed:
98
Negative:
42
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
plus44boyAug 11, 2010
Definitely not McKay and Ferrel's best, but it kept a smile on my face the whole time. Marky mark also did a fine job but i don't think this is his comeback. I went to a bad screening because no one was laughing but me, but it didn't matter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
DiezmartinezOct 25, 2010
Este vehiculo de lucimiento de Will Ferrell tiene unos cuantos buenos gags diseminados a lo largo de casi dos horas de duracion. No es un buen porcentaje de bateo, la verdad sea dicha. Ademas, Mark Whalberg, como patiño deEste vehiculo de lucimiento de Will Ferrell tiene unos cuantos buenos gags diseminados a lo largo de casi dos horas de duracion. No es un buen porcentaje de bateo, la verdad sea dicha. Ademas, Mark Whalberg, como patiño de Ferrell, no resulta particularmente gracioso. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
dubmcAug 16, 2010
When I first saw the trailers for The Other Guys, almost every single cinema cell within me screamed "that movie will be terrible!" Granted I'd just recently suffered through the injustice that was Cop Out, and you know what they say about aWhen I first saw the trailers for The Other Guys, almost every single cinema cell within me screamed "that movie will be terrible!" Granted I'd just recently suffered through the injustice that was Cop Out, and you know what they say about a movie-lover scorned, but nothing about this movie looked good to me. Then the reviews started sneaking out, and they were trending surprisingly positive. Not just "this is okay for a summer yukfest" positive but "this is one of Will Ferrell's best movies ever!" positive. On opening night, it was certified fresh on Rotten Tomatoes, with a score in the low 80s. Second only to Elf (2003). That's a better score than Talladega Nights (2006), Stranger than Fiction (2006), Wedding Crashers (2005), Anchorman (2004) and Old School (2003). Take a look at that list again. "Wow," you might be thinking, as I did the other night. "I must have got it all wrong. This movie must be pretty awesome!" Nope. Nope it isn't. I mean yeah, it's alright. But I'd say it's worse than every one of the Ferrell flicks listed above, save Talladega Nights, which is equally hit or miss. More: http://cinewise.blogspot.com/2010/08/other-guys-2010.html Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
moviefanSep 5, 2010
This movie was a little different from the average cop-buddy film and that is good. There were some funny parts but much of the funny stuff was just kind of stupid and only mildly funny . Most of the funny jokes were way over played andThis movie was a little different from the average cop-buddy film and that is good. There were some funny parts but much of the funny stuff was just kind of stupid and only mildly funny . Most of the funny jokes were way over played and repeated several times throughout the film, they were funny once but after two, three, or more times they were a snooze. The characters were somehat odd, Michael Keaton played a soft spoken chief and just was not funny, Mark W's character was even more odd at time. I would definitely wait for the dvd Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ste88883Mar 27, 2011
There aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since Anchorman and Mark Wahlberg tries his best to make this film work (he's the funniest thing in it I think), itThere aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since Anchorman and Mark Wahlberg tries his best to make this film work (he's the funniest thing in it I think), it just doesn't quite pop thats all. Not bad, not a classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MPVahalikSep 4, 2010
Didn't really do it for me. I'm a big Ferrell and Wahlberg but them together didn't seem right. Mark is really talented but not very funny. Will Ferrell is Will Ferrell. I enjoy his parts in the movie but the movie as a whole wasn't all thatDidn't really do it for me. I'm a big Ferrell and Wahlberg but them together didn't seem right. Mark is really talented but not very funny. Will Ferrell is Will Ferrell. I enjoy his parts in the movie but the movie as a whole wasn't all that great. It had some good quotable lines but that's about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Eddie0Nov 29, 2010
I must say i was disapointed by the movie. It wasn't that fun, yes it was fun at some points, but for me it just missed the complete plot. It was very confusing, and moved a lot. It seemed like they took an actionmovie, and tried to make itI must say i was disapointed by the movie. It wasn't that fun, yes it was fun at some points, but for me it just missed the complete plot. It was very confusing, and moved a lot. It seemed like they took an actionmovie, and tried to make it as funny as possible. But failed, and there for ended up with a bad action movie with tasteless humour. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
survivorfan989Jan 12, 2013
Thought it might be an OK comedy but there is very little to like about this film. From the unlikable characters to even the unlikable actors (who are usually much better) and a rather silly storyline that got confusing. It has some goodThought it might be an OK comedy but there is very little to like about this film. From the unlikable characters to even the unlikable actors (who are usually much better) and a rather silly storyline that got confusing. It has some good laughs and that's where most of the rating will come from, but as a whole it's a fairly messy movie with overdone jokes and bad performances from both Will Ferrell & Mark Wahlberg. Overall it's OK but certainly not one worth rushing out to go and see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SportJesterAug 9, 2010
Didn't turn out as great as I was hoping having loved some of Will Ferrell's classics (Elf, Anchorman and Talledega Nights). Went to see this movie Sat 8/7/10 around 7pm and it was showing on 3 screens in a 20-screen complex. Next twoDidn't turn out as great as I was hoping having loved some of Will Ferrell's classics (Elf, Anchorman and Talledega Nights). Went to see this movie Sat 8/7/10 around 7pm and it was showing on 3 screens in a 20-screen complex. Next two showings of the movie were sold out so we (wife and 3 sons) skipped it but had high hopes given its popularity. Returned Sunday evening again at 7pm and the showing was half-full; important because great comedies are even better when a big audience is howling. While the movie was ok, it never had that bust-a-gut scene that Ferrell is capable of. That said, Ferrell was much better than Wahlberg, who's character range was close to zero. You can wait for DVD on this one. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
5
MilesRAug 8, 2010
I was concerned about the wide variation in ratings, which made me wonder whether this movie would even be worth the price of a matinee ticket. Rest assured, the exciting and creative action sequences end within the first 15 minutes of the I was concerned about the wide variation in ratings, which made me wonder whether this movie would even be worth the price of a matinee ticket. Rest assured, the exciting and creative action sequences end within the first 15 minutes of the film. Overall, the plot of the film is lukewarm and uncreative. Of course, the major concern with a film such as this one is the comedy. There were a handful of funny scenes, but nothing that will cause you to have a sore abdomen in the morning. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
4
DougAug 11, 2010
Ferrell is capable of huge comic performances, however The Other Guys was not that performance. There were not enough funny lines in this film by either Ferrell or Wahlberg, and I found my self waiting for the funny stuff in between the movieFerrell is capable of huge comic performances, however The Other Guys was not that performance. There were not enough funny lines in this film by either Ferrell or Wahlberg, and I found my self waiting for the funny stuff in between the movie itself. It felt like there was a sub-par story that took way too long to tell, and inside the telling of this story I waited impatiently for the next bout of comic relief (which happened way to infrequently). My expectations of Ferrell are set based on the antics in Talladega Nights, Anchorman, and Step Brothers, but at no point within this movie was Ferrell able to take over and put his hilarious signature on it. Eva Longorio was the best part of this movie, while the "hot girls love Ferrell's character" joke was just not that funny after the Eva Longorio dinner scene. I don't recommend this film, nor will I likely watch it again on DVD.

Waiting for Anchorman 2 instead.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JasonKAug 7, 2010
Had high expectations for The Other Guys. They were not met.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
BillC.Aug 8, 2010
The jokes are the kind that you have to force yourself to laugh at , and the stunts are too over the top to be believed. O.K. , it had a few good laughs , but my expectations were much higher. The talent was up there , but the story was just lame.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
AndyAug 16, 2010
Agree with Los Angeles Times
Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
Here the filmmakers are in fine fettle, which goes a long way to make much of the low-brow silliness and slapstick infectious.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Lopez17Dec 13, 2010
I have never been a huge fan of Will Ferrell for all intensive purposes I actually loathe him(as an actor), you see Ferrell is like a dog who got out of his back yard and now has no idea where to go or what to do. All he knows is that he isI have never been a huge fan of Will Ferrell for all intensive purposes I actually loathe him(as an actor), you see Ferrell is like a dog who got out of his back yard and now has no idea where to go or what to do. All he knows is that he is free, free to roam around, free to chase cars. Just like a dog chasing a car, Ferrell never really learns when enough is enough. In "Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby" Ferrell plays an idiotic simpleton with one dream to go fast!!! So does Ricky Bobby. The main problem with "Talladega Nights" is that it relies on idiotic antics to induce laughter when there is no laughter to give. Adam McKay's "The Other Guys" is in some ways like "Talladega Nights" it follows two bungling New York City detectives Detective Allen Gamble(Will Ferrell) and his volatile partner Detective Terry Hoitz(a funnier than expected Mark Wahlberg) are two mismatched cops hot on the trail of a corporate conspiracy. That essentially is the plot of the entire film in a nutshell, through out most of the picture Gamble and Hoitz are running around aimlessly trying to piece together a conspiracy that to a normal person would seem paper-thin but too gamble and Hoitz itâ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
theangryslothAug 11, 2010
Will Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure sign a Hollywood actor isWill Ferrell, with his stock (semi retarded?) character is turning into an American 'Mister Bean.' Have you seen one of his other movies? Then you've seen this one, except this one gets 'preachy' at the end, a sure sign a Hollywood actor is getting too comfortable and stale. Unfortunately, Mark Wahlberg is along for the ride and can't get the seatbelt to unfasten. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
shepardnDec 20, 2010
I didnâ
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
PSardinasSep 4, 2010
Ferrell and Wahlberg do the best they can with the material they've been given but it's never enough to really hold your attention and it's never enough to really make this film worth the price of admission alone.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
eliteco3Jan 16, 2011
Ferrell saves this film with his uptight accountant character antagonizing the mean aggressive character of Wahlberg. Ferrell and Wahlberg bring laughs with the sillyness and stupidity of the plot. A film that will hit home for the casualFerrell saves this film with his uptight accountant character antagonizing the mean aggressive character of Wahlberg. Ferrell and Wahlberg bring laughs with the sillyness and stupidity of the plot. A film that will hit home for the casual pothead and make the avid movie watcher bored and tired. A mixed effort that works if you have 120 minutes of time you have to waste. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
j30Sep 22, 2011
It has it's really funny moments, but it's too far and in between.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
The two leads (Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell) have a dynamism and a rare genuine chemistry that is so rare in the movies today, and they are funny in clever ways too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
scrieciuNov 10, 2010
The Other Guys wasn't that funny. I mean, I had a few chuckles, but still. I didn't felt that it was a comedy, it was more like just two guys investigating, with some jokes added in the film, witch confused me. The movie was boring and IThe Other Guys wasn't that funny. I mean, I had a few chuckles, but still. I didn't felt that it was a comedy, it was more like just two guys investigating, with some jokes added in the film, witch confused me. The movie was boring and I didn't remember much after seeing it. Is not worth to watch. The trailer made the film seemed awesome, but really, this movie wasn't so great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OscarPicks2010Dec 4, 2010
While the movie contains cheap laughs and ridiculous jokes, it has a surprisingly nice collaboration between Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg. Usually a cop buddy comedy falls short on comedy and fall out on gags, but this is actually a niceWhile the movie contains cheap laughs and ridiculous jokes, it has a surprisingly nice collaboration between Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg. Usually a cop buddy comedy falls short on comedy and fall out on gags, but this is actually a nice movie that you can enjoy your evening with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelDAug 13, 2011
I watched this movie with high expectations but I was let down to be honest. It started out with a bang but then it slowed down a little. There were some bits that got me laughing but overall this movie was mediocre at worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuAug 12, 2011
Cliche ridden romp yet enjoyable movie. Wahlberg, Coogan, Keaton and Ferrell are funny but the rest of the cast is a bit of a let down and if you're expecting the usual Ferrell comedy like Anchorman or Step Brothers then you may be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oxanaAug 24, 2014
A very unfunny comedy about two paper-pushing cops that never really got their chance to stand in the limelight - unlike some other daredevil cops who can do anything, and the public is still eating out of their hand. Yet with the twoA very unfunny comedy about two paper-pushing cops that never really got their chance to stand in the limelight - unlike some other daredevil cops who can do anything, and the public is still eating out of their hand. Yet with the two daredevil cops suddenly jumping to their death, someone has to fill their shoes. Every cop in town wants to do that. Only few of them succeed.

Allen Gamble (Will Ferrell) loves to do the paperwork, has a tendency to attract hot women for some reason (hence a very hot wife at home), and has many oddities about him. After a half an hour, he was annoying rather than entertaining.

Terry Hoitz (Mark Wahlberg) keeps exploding all over the place, frustrated that one screw-up cost him his glorious career. He's impatient, hot-headed and out of control - but in the end, that isn't very funny either.

The only great thing about this movie was Ray Stevenson, whose character was badass with a lovely accent.
With some standard chaos-humor, this movie didn't bring in anything new or exciting, and maybe it was just me, but the humor didn't work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 24, 2012
I enjoyed this film in parts and whilst I love both actors, I just felt as if this move required too few a brain cells. I could literally feel my mind being numbed down by the sheer stupidity of Will Ferrell's character. It could have been aI enjoyed this film in parts and whilst I love both actors, I just felt as if this move required too few a brain cells. I could literally feel my mind being numbed down by the sheer stupidity of Will Ferrell's character. It could have been a lot better but it could have been a little worse. I am sure the masses will preach this as being a great film but I know I didn't enjoy it as much as the hype that surrounded it would have me believe that I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spollardMar 19, 2014
This movie has a strong start with laugh after laugh but it cannot contain this for the second half of the film. Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell are great together and some of their arguments are going to be classics in our generations movieThis movie has a strong start with laugh after laugh but it cannot contain this for the second half of the film. Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell are great together and some of their arguments are going to be classics in our generations movie history (tuna vs lion). I give this movie a 64.9 out of 100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews