Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After discovering her boyfriend is married, a woman (Cameron Diaz) tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he’s been cheating on (Leslie Mann), she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yetAfter discovering her boyfriend is married, a woman (Cameron Diaz) tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he’s been cheating on (Leslie Mann), she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yet another affair is discovered (Kate Upton), all three women team up to plot mutual revenge on the cheating, lying, three-timing SOB. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 12 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 24, 2014
    75
    Audiences looking for a nonstop laugh riot may be disappointed, but the big laughs are there, and they benefit from the movie's underlying sincerity.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 24, 2014
    63
    Written by newcomer Melissa K. Stack, The Other Woman offers roughly equal parts wit and witlessness, casual smarts and jokes, lingering and detailed, regarding explosive bowel movements. Based on that ratio, I'd say the screenwriter's future in Hollywood looks pretty good.
  3. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Apr 22, 2014
    60
    Instead of updating the genre, The Other Woman rehashes it, bringing little more than a few giggles and a dash of glamour to the table.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 24, 2014
    40
    Slyness, slapstick and sex can often be mixed to amusing effect whatever the specifics — the original "Hangover," for example, did a credible job of it — but The Other Woman is ultimately undone by its indecision.
  5. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Apr 28, 2014
    40
    A few lowbrow laughs… but far too many one-note characters, performances, and plot points to make them worth showing up for.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 24, 2014
    37
    Although The Other Woman nibbles around the edges of revealing truths about relationships, it leaves most of that potential behind, instead pursuing easy, exhausted cliches about zip-less marriages, upper class suburban drudgery, cynical careerism and dumb-but-sweet blondes.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 24, 2014
    20
    So instead of the rom-com, we now have the “non-com.” The cardboard characters and predictable rhythms remain. But this time, we get all the comic cliches with none of the romance.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 17 out of 40
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    Great, fun film (even if the plot has been done different ways numerous times already). Surprisingly Nicki Minaj's small role as Diaz'sGreat, fun film (even if the plot has been done different ways numerous times already). Surprisingly Nicki Minaj's small role as Diaz's assistant is a scene stealer. I wish that she had played a bigger role. Collapse
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    Was this the best movie in the world? No. Did I really enjoy it? Yes. My sisters wanted to see this movie and I had doubts about goingWas this the best movie in the world? No. Did I really enjoy it? Yes. My sisters wanted to see this movie and I had doubts about going because I had read the critic reviews. Went because I wanted to spend time with my with them and I was prepared for the worst, and was surprised at how funny it was. I really thought it was the perfect movie for a Sunday afternoon. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    As much as the movie has been down before, there is a difference. The actors are devoted. The movie feels like a complete fantasy. TheAs much as the movie has been down before, there is a difference. The actors are devoted. The movie feels like a complete fantasy. The outfits, the houses, the restaurants, the vacation spots are hugely expensive and fun to look at. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2014
    4
    Cameron Diaz (doing her usual shtick) discovers that her lover (handsome Nikolaj Coster Waldau from "Game of Thrones") actually has a wifeCameron Diaz (doing her usual shtick) discovers that her lover (handsome Nikolaj Coster Waldau from "Game of Thrones") actually has a wife (Leslie Mann manically trying to be kooky). The 2 women team up with his new GF (Kate Upton, obviously cast for her boobs) to plot revenge. This is a promising concept, but the script is too talky and almost completely void of funny lines. To make matters worse, the comic situations and physical gags land with a thud. Nicki Minaj's supporting role provides the few laughs. The only positive thing to say about this film is that there is plenty of energy. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    3
    "The Other Woman" 10 Scale Rating: 3.5 (Bad) ...

    The Good: There was a stretch in the middle where the film actually becomes entertaining.
    "The Other Woman" 10 Scale Rating: 3.5 (Bad) ...

    The Good: There was a stretch in the middle where the film actually becomes entertaining. It was a fleeting and fast moving 20 minutes or so, but it was a solid 20 minutes. The film was billed as a revenge film where three women get revenge on a man who was lying to all of them. When the film actually follows that story, it's not that bad. Cameron Diaz is the lone bright spot as far as performances go. Her turn from heartless ice queen to warm and caring was believable.

    The Bad: Sadly, the film is not as advertised and the overwhelming majority of the film has little to nothing to do with revenge and is filled with all kinds of other useless material. Leslie Mann, usually good in comedic roles, was annoying and unlikeable. Most of her scenes involved her with a scrunched up "crying face" moaning "woe is me". It got old very early on. Kate Upton was vacant and stiff. They could have found any number of beautiful women with actual acting skills and put them in the role. Upton was useless. The story itself starts off poorly and the first hour or so is difficult to get through. The film's final act (after rebounding somewhat) is a let down and poorly done. There are some sudden slapstick style scenes in the end that made no sense and felt out of place.
    Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    2
    This movie is awful not funny trash. Cameron Diaz is the best thing about this train wreck. These women do some of the dumbest things. JustThis movie is awful not funny trash. Cameron Diaz is the best thing about this train wreck. These women do some of the dumbest things. Just go re-watch Bridesmaids. D- Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    The Other Woman is bad movie there are so many clichés is made very poorly . I do not recommend anyone to see this movie.Leslie Mann seems toThe Other Woman is bad movie there are so many clichés is made very poorly . I do not recommend anyone to see this movie.Leslie Mann seems to do the best. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers