User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 175

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Scary, smart, and with just a simply fantastic performance from Nicole Kidman, The Others is also a lot more scarier due to its twist and low budget. I give this movie 85%.
  2. Dec 14, 2010
    10
    This is the best movie ever. It keeps you on the edge of your seat.
    If you have not seen this u need to!
    this is a scariest move as well
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Fantastic, the film manages to keep the plot tight and neat and creates great suspense something that the six sense couldn't do so no undeveloped subplots or underwritten characters in the others.Whether The twist ending is predictable or not .who cares ? Because the characters are well written and Nicole Kidman's performance as the quirky mother is great that one of the most underrated performance see her facial expressions in the mirror while she is removing the sheets in that empty room.

    If the others came out before the sixth sense , I bet everyone would diss the sixth sense.
    Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    "The Others" manages to do what most horror thrillers fail at doing - horrifying you without any gore and violence, but just through the genuine fear of the characters. With an impressively deceptive screenplay, one believes everything that Grace (Nicole Kidman) goes through and believes, but as her perception changes, so does the viewers until one is not quite sure what one ought to believe. Excellently directed by Alejandro Amenabar, who also did the soundtrack and wrote the screenplay, with some amazing cinematography and film editing, "The Others" manages to create such a genuinely spooky mood that one just cannot tear oneself away from watching the film through the end. The cast is impressive, to say the least. Nicole Kidman gives one of her best performances to date, as the grief-stricken, somewhat psychotic mother trying to protect her children at all costs. The children actors are excellent, also, as well as the servants in the film - especially, Fionnula Flanagan, who delivers a chilling performance as Mrs Mills.
    Overall, the film is definitely worth seeing and is one of the scariest and gripping films that will make you wonder about it for days and days...
    Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    Featuring Nicole Kidman as the lead character, THE OTHERS is an eerie, suspenseful, creepy blend of horror and period drama. This isn't a typical "haunted house movie" or "ghost story" either, and there is absolutely nothing corny about it. Kidman, of all cast members, delivers a fantastic performance (as usual). The film tells the haunting tale of a woman who returns to her mansion, after her husband begins to fight in World War II, with her two young children, who are highly sensitive to light stronger than that given off by a candle, and an elderly woman serving as a nanny. The terror begins when her two children begin claiming to see "ghosts", which at first she does not believe, but is eventually forced to, when she sees no coincidence between her children's tellings and the evidence of intruders in the house. If there's one horror movie that should have been won the awards for (at least) Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effects, and Best Sound Editing at the Academy Awards, THE OTHERS is that film. It creates enough suspense and terror to keep you on the edge of your seat for the whole, entire feature. It is a definite must-see. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    One of the best thriller's I've ever seen. It's also one of the most original movies I've ever seen. Not only does it make your skin crawl, the story is actually very interesting. If the directing and cinematography doesn't impress you, I'm sure Nicole Kidman's bone chilling performance will.
  7. May 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i love it ,it's very interesting, one of the best horror movies ever i was dieing from fear my English is bad don't blame me about the grammar ........etc Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    Such a sensational well crafted and thoughtful ghost story. Art direction and cinematography added such a deeper dimension into the film. Nicole Kidman gives an exceptionally well performance.
  9. Sep 20, 2012
    3
    Phenomenal performances from Kidman, Flanagan, and Mann, as well as a suitably surreal atmosphere... do not save this film from being suspenseless, i am not entirely sure most of these reviewers even watched the same movie, the 'twist' as you people put it, can be seen from so early into the film that it becomes quite uninteresting, if you are a fan of gothic, creepy, surreal ghost stories... GO WATCH INSIDIOUS! Expand
  10. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    The Others is work of genius that scares us half to death while being about as violent as 'A Bug's Life.'
  11. Jan 5, 2013
    2
    okay, i was shown this as per the "gothic" section of the year ten english curriculum (in australia), and DEAR ZOMBIE JESUS DOES THIS MOVIE SUCK!

    first off the bat, the twist ending, for anyone observant enough, is downright obvious within the first half hour, why? m. night shayamalan made the sixth sense in 1996, a decent film that had a mind-blowing twist, in 1999, the japanese,
    whether they had heard of the sixth sense or not, nonetheless, refined the formula and gave us a more psychologically daunting and horrific take on the idea with silent hill, and in 2001, the others completely leeches off both of them (even the fog) to try and refine the "people who don't know they're dead" concept, which fails pitifully to bring anything fresh to the table, or to even creep me out, and even if you hadn't seen or heard of either of these things, it would still be obvious if you payed attention, because it is executed so sloppily!

    secondly, the scares are NON-F**KING-EXISTENT, why? because the twist is so obvious and, just like paranormal activity, it does not give you anything to be scared of, oh, the curtains are down, how scary, oh, the plastic tarp (plastic tarp? one word: ANACHRONISM) rustled, how scary, oh, someone is walking loudly on the floor above, how scary... need i say, er... type more? only two scenes are creepy throughout the mercilessly dull 105 minute runtime: that iconic scene with anne in the pretty dress, and the scene where the housekeepers are confronting grace on the steps of her manor, after the little revelation that they're... TAKE ONE GODDAMN GUESS!

    thirdly, the performances... dear god... nicole kidman is TERRIBLE, what is particularly amusing is roger ebert said the following "nicole kidman succeeds in convincing us that she is a normal person in a disturbing situation" her character is painted, from the start, as a thinly-veiled psychotic lunatic, i had no empathy for her, and because of that, all the scares that should have worked despite the poor twist fall flat, james bently was a terrible child actor playing a terrible child character, frankly, i wouldn't care if he died a violent horrific death, and that is not a good thing, alakina mann was one of three talented people in the entire movie, she was a decently realized character, and thus, i cared about her, which is why the scene i mentioned earlier worked so effectively, eric sykes and fionulla flanagan were great as the housekeepers, who manage to make otherwise flat dialogue oddly chilling, the story behind the maid was chilling, even if elaine cassidy wasn't really good as the maid.

    finally, the sorry human being who made this, when you can't get kidman to act properly, and your movie rips off shayamalan and a video game, YOU NEED TO REVISE YOUR F**KING MOVIE!!!
    Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    Suspense do ├Źnicio ao Film
  13. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    The Others uses minimalism to horrify audiences in this supernatural and psychological thriller. The film measures up with other horror flicks that have decided the mind can be far scarier than violence and gore.
  14. Sep 6, 2014
    8
    The Others is a slow burning thriller meaning that it won't be as exiting some people as it is to other people. It is manipulative, creepy and sometimes anti - religion, but Nicole Kidman pulls it off as damsels in distress.
  15. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    At first, it's a drama. That's disappointing because of the way the film was promoted. Whatsoever, the atmosphere was well made and the ending was also impressive. But the actors are not good (I hate Nicole Kidman and I think you won't find any good child actors for this roles) and in the middle of the movie it gets kinda boring. It could've been better, because in this way it's really nothing special. Expand
  16. Dec 18, 2012
    5
    Not a fan of Nicole Kidman and this didn't really help. A pretty dull and not scary horror picture but it did add something new with a twist that was quite refreshing.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. 63
    In drawing out his effects, Amenabar is a little too confident that style can substitute for substance. As our suspense was supposed to be building, our impatience was outstripping it.
  2. 90
    Only some bumpy, arid passages in the script keep The Others out of the master class occupied by the likes of "The Sixth Sense" and, my favorite, 1961's "The Innocents."
  3. 89
    A spare, discomfiting score and uniformly excellent performances, and you have a quiet little masterpiece of dark and chilling beauty.