Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After their mother passes away, sisters Nicole and Annie reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallen picture of an unknown woman posed next to their mother. Annie begins experiencing a series of intense and disturbing dreams – visions that lead her to uncover something terrible about her mother’s past that is finally revealing itself. (IFC Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 4, 2012
    83
    More horror movies set in the 21st century ought to integrate technology into their scares as well as Nicholas McCarthy's The Pact.
  2. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Jul 2, 2012
    63
    When The Pact descends, finally, from suggestion to explication, the scares regrettably slink away.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 6, 2012
    63
    Familiar elements such as a dark family secret, a ghost and a Ouija board start to seem trite after a while, and the third act is a little ridiculous, but debut writer-director Nicholas McCarthy does a lot with a little and seems fully prepared to handle a big-studio horror project.
  4. Reviewed by: Paul Bradshaw
    Jul 1, 2012
    60
    It works hard, and the first half hour is textbook creepy, but the oldschool grab-bag of shocks struggles to jolt a dour script to life.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jul 1, 2012
    50
    The Pact demonstrates both why people respond to horror and why it's so routinely scorned.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 1, 2012
    40
    Nicholas McCarthy's The Pact is a horror film developed from a short, and unfortunately it splits apart while being stretched out to feature length.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 3, 2012
    40
    A musty ghost story that morphs into a sluggish serial-killer mystery, Nicholas McCarthy's film tries to distinguish itself by minimizing dialogue and settings, a stripped-down approach that extends to sketchy characters and a script rife with convenient, easy-to-assemble clues.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Scared me so much I had to stop watching and finish it in the morning. Granted, I was watching alone in the dark after midnight. But still, I'm a horror junkie in my 30s and haven't been scared like that in years! Good movie! Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    The Pact. This film scared me to the point that I had to stop watching it twice. Seriously, when the camera is directed towards a pitch dark room, you can feel evil lurking. The great lead actress was easy to identify with. The very naturalistic house -just an average old house- made the supernatural elements even more effective. Man, it was too scary, that is my only problem. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Consensus: THE PACT is intense, very short, full of screams, great actors and characters, well made, and only in very few times is a bit boring just that. MY RATING: 81/100 (B+)
    Directed By: Nicholas McCarthy
    REVIEW:
    The Pact is a horror film directed by Nicholas McCarthy. Is a short film with a runtime only of 89 minutes, in which there is terror, some long periods of suspense, the film finally was released this October 25 in some theaters of Mexico, The film begins well with a lot of suspense. The plot of the movie is very original, the film surrounds you, causing you much horror and anxiety, has very good actors and it is here to highlight the participation of Hayley Hudson, her performance is very genuine and terrifying, but also Caitly Lotz isn't the one that stands out a lot in the film, despite being the protagonist. It has a very amazing plot, although missing and terrifying. It has some boring moments and the movie becomes a bit wierd, has low-budget special effects, but very well spent an end passable and intense, a bit of trouble with the picture or photography of the film, because the film wants to show you all, the film don't stop showing you large shadows, the movie wants to show you all of them and not get distracted with something else, rather than get fixated you absent mindedly, this movie in one or two moments on camera for you to see that shadow or figure happened. And sometimes the camera moves stupidly and makes the scene funnier than scary.
    As shown in the following trailer at the scene where Caitly Lotz (Blonde Girl) is attacked from behind, but hey these are minor details!
    The Pact is highly recommended, to see at the cinema or online, very scary movie with a very simple script and very well acted. NICE: Chilling screams all the way down, good performances, very well crafted, and an original storyline. FAIL: Something boring in very few parts, very simple script and a little cliché, bad photography. WATCH THIS MOVIE IF... You love horror movies, If you want a very good time at the movies or at home with friends, I'm pretty sure you will like this very good story. DON'T WATCH THIS MOVIE IF... You have very high expectations and think that this film is the eighth wonder, because we are talking about a very simple film without much budget.

    MY BLOG: MY BLOG: http://www.memobosque.blogspot.mx/ MY TWITTER: @MemoBosque
    Collapse
  4. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    "The Pact" is a tautly engrossing thriller/horror flick, playing down the special effects you'll see in most of its peers and relying almost entirely on quiet suspense and scares most of the time. When Annie returns to her deceased mother's home, she soon finds herself trying to track down the secret behind a disturbing supernatural presence. The plot twists are a lot of fun, and the climax itself is superb. Overall a very watchable choice for the horror/suspense fan. Expand

Trailers