Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After their mother passes away, sisters Nicole and Annie reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallenAfter their mother passes away, sisters Nicole and Annie reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallen picture of an unknown woman posed next to their mother. Annie begins experiencing a series of intense and disturbing dreams – visions that lead her to uncover something terrible about her mother’s past that is finally revealing itself. (IFC Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 4, 2012
    83
    More horror movies set in the 21st century ought to integrate technology into their scares as well as Nicholas McCarthy's The Pact.
  2. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Jul 2, 2012
    63
    When The Pact descends, finally, from suggestion to explication, the scares regrettably slink away.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 6, 2012
    63
    Familiar elements such as a dark family secret, a ghost and a Ouija board start to seem trite after a while, and the third act is a little ridiculous, but debut writer-director Nicholas McCarthy does a lot with a little and seems fully prepared to handle a big-studio horror project.
  4. Reviewed by: Paul Bradshaw
    Jul 1, 2012
    60
    It works hard, and the first half hour is textbook creepy, but the oldschool grab-bag of shocks struggles to jolt a dour script to life.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jul 1, 2012
    50
    The Pact demonstrates both why people respond to horror and why it's so routinely scorned.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 1, 2012
    40
    Nicholas McCarthy's The Pact is a horror film developed from a short, and unfortunately it splits apart while being stretched out to feature length.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 3, 2012
    40
    A musty ghost story that morphs into a sluggish serial-killer mystery, Nicholas McCarthy's film tries to distinguish itself by minimizing dialogue and settings, a stripped-down approach that extends to sketchy characters and a script rife with convenient, easy-to-assemble clues.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Scared me so much I had to stop watching and finish it in the morning. Granted, I was watching alone in the dark after midnight. But still,Scared me so much I had to stop watching and finish it in the morning. Granted, I was watching alone in the dark after midnight. But still, I'm a horror junkie in my 30s and haven't been scared like that in years! Good movie! Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    The Pact. This film scared me to the point that I had to stop watching it twice. Seriously, when the camera is directed towards a pitch darkThe Pact. This film scared me to the point that I had to stop watching it twice. Seriously, when the camera is directed towards a pitch dark room, you can feel evil lurking. The great lead actress was easy to identify with. The very naturalistic house -just an average old house- made the supernatural elements even more effective. Man, it was too scary, that is my only problem. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    "The Pact" is a tautly engrossing thriller/horror flick, playing down the special effects you'll see in most of its peers and relying almost"The Pact" is a tautly engrossing thriller/horror flick, playing down the special effects you'll see in most of its peers and relying almost entirely on quiet suspense and scares most of the time. When Annie returns to her deceased mother's home, she soon finds herself trying to track down the secret behind a disturbing supernatural presence. The plot twists are a lot of fun, and the climax itself is superb. Overall a very watchable choice for the horror/suspense fan. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2014
    4
    A very choppy isolated film with a disordered story and unintended unresolved sub plots a few cheap jump scares with no genuine atmosphere,A very choppy isolated film with a disordered story and unintended unresolved sub plots a few cheap jump scares with no genuine atmosphere, forced character's and disappointing ending. Expand

Trailers