The Parent Trap

The Parent Trap Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The story of identical twin sisters (Lohan), separated at birth and raised on different continents by their successful parents Nick Parker (Quaid) and Elizabeth James (Richardson). Unaware of each other's existence, the girls coincidentally meet at an exclusive summer camp in Maine. TheThe story of identical twin sisters (Lohan), separated at birth and raised on different continents by their successful parents Nick Parker (Quaid) and Elizabeth James (Richardson). Unaware of each other's existence, the girls coincidentally meet at an exclusive summer camp in Maine. The girls devise a scheme to switch places and ultimately reunite their parents. Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Laura Shapiro
    90
    This film has everything for the all-important female audience: feisty heroines, lots of slapstick, great clothes.
  2. An engaging, family-oriented romantic comedy that should appeal as much to fans of the original movie as to viewers unfamiliar with the 1961 Hayley Mills version.
  3. The natural, pleasurable 1990s hipness [Lohan] brings to her assignment is therefore all the more impressive. Hayley-holics should be grateful to this new girl at camp too.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    Richardson, who gracefully sways through a memorable drunk scene, and Quaid, whose megawatt smile has never been more dazzling, are disarmingly charming as the parents. And that's important; if the actors were any less engaging, the audience might not be so forgiving of their characters.
  5. Lindsay Lohan, 12-year-old veteran of commercials and television, is a frighteningly poised child who is truly impressive as the long-separated twins.
  6. The technology for twinning a single young actress is considerably more seamless than it was in 1961, and Lohan is a perky charmer.
  7. 40
    This 1998 romantic comedy mostly bores with its cumbersome exposition and close-ups of trivial objects scattered throughout lackluster montage sequences.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. MaddieS.
    Sep 28, 2005
    10
    This is a very very good movie. Lindsay lohan is a fantastic actress and she's now been in loads of movies.I'm not surprised.
  2. JamesK
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    One of my favourite family films:) love it.. lindsay lohan was so great,,pity about the drugs but i still love her! Can't wait for her One of my favourite family films:) love it.. lindsay lohan was so great,,pity about the drugs but i still love her! Can't wait for her new album:) Collapse
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    I adore this movie! Lindsay Lohan is the perfect actress for both parts, she has the flair to be able give both completely differentI adore this movie! Lindsay Lohan is the perfect actress for both parts, she has the flair to be able give both completely different personalities and you actually do believe you're watching 2 different girls. The storyline is sweet and family orientated, and shows that there is hope in the world. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2014
    8
    One of my childhood's most watched movies. I remember renting it from a video store. You should definitely watch it if you haven't. 8/10 is my score
  5. Apr 6, 2016
    7
    The Parent Trap works as a remake. Bring in the many traps you can find so the Parent Trap can be trapped in a loophole so we can watch theThe Parent Trap works as a remake. Bring in the many traps you can find so the Parent Trap can be trapped in a loophole so we can watch the movie forever!!!! Until lightnings come... and shut off your TV with your DVD/Blu-ray player. Movie's over, folks. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    6
    No doubt better then what I expected but still it is too happy and fun loving than it should be. It's a fairy tale that like many other DisneyNo doubt better then what I expected but still it is too happy and fun loving than it should be. It's a fairy tale that like many other Disney movies is enjoyable to watch. The acting performances are actually very well done. But this movie suffers from a long running time. In the end this movie is above average with a 62.6 out of 100. Expand
  7. May 15, 2013
    5
    Annoying cynical crud. Lohan is excellent, but there is not an honest moment in this film. Syrupy music, two selfish parents who deprive theAnnoying cynical crud. Lohan is excellent, but there is not an honest moment in this film. Syrupy music, two selfish parents who deprive the twins from knowing each other I can excuse 8 year olds for enjoying Parent Trap, but anyone older who does, I'm guessing must believe in angels and the Easter Bunny as well. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.