User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 783 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2015
    5
    The Passion of Christ is a Christian movie directed by Mel Gibson. The film depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus's life. Basically him carrying the cross. While the movie seemed to be focused too much on the blood and gore it was a good film none the less. The emotion and faith of the movie seemed to be drowned out by all of the blood and pain. One of the only clear moments of the movie wasThe Passion of Christ is a Christian movie directed by Mel Gibson. The film depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus's life. Basically him carrying the cross. While the movie seemed to be focused too much on the blood and gore it was a good film none the less. The emotion and faith of the movie seemed to be drowned out by all of the blood and pain. One of the only clear moments of the movie was when Jesus (Jim Caviezel) had lost faith in his father. But he quickly regained his faith and was on his jolly way to continue being crucified. While I do believe that the actual crucifixion of Jesus must have been very gore filled, it had much more symbolism than what the film has portrayed. Perhaps Gibson used the blood and pain to keep the audience interested. Need less to say, I would have much more enjoyed a version of the movie that focused on Jesus's or his disciple's thoughts. At the end The Passion of Christ is an accurate representation of the last twelve hours of Jesus's life. But many important ideas and concepts have been silenced by all of the gore. I give this movie a 2.8/5. While it was interesting to watch, it was interesting to watch for the wrong reason. I came looking for a movie that would give me a better understanding of what the people who were at the crucifixion might have though, but instead I was greeted with gallons of blood. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2015
    10
    I loved this movie so much i went to see it twice and i went out and bought it too. The first time i went to watch the movie i went with my friends at school one the boys in my grade father bought over a hundred tickets for his friends and asked not pay him back. The second time i went with my youth group.
  3. Feb 5, 2015
    10
    Una increíble producción cinematográfica, Mel Gibson no creo una película, creo una obra de arte, me atrevo a decir que es la mejor adaptación de todos los tiempos y de las mejores películas que e visto en toda mi vida. Es poderosa, artísticamente perfecta, cualquier aspecto cinematográfico es llevado excelente, una joya del cine.
    10/10
    ★★★★★
  4. Oct 10, 2014
    2
    I'm sorry... I just can't give this movie a good review. While the cinematography and acting may be good, the way gibson treats the subject matter in such a graphic, disturbing, and horrific light is just unbearable. This is definitely a movie for the devout believers. All those who do not belong to that category need not expose themselves to this disgusting carnival of blood and violence.
  5. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    Religion aside, what Mel Gibson was able to create with The Passion is extraordinary. One of the most violent, honest and brutal tellings of the crucifixion. Jim Caviezel's performance is beyond passionate.
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    2
    What I learned from this movie: Jews are bad, feel bad for Jesus and Jesus is awesome. Mel Gibson.... go **** yourself. Just a glorified snuff film. Go watch Saw instead.
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Intense, Brutal and heart-piercing! Hats off to the painstaking work done by the cast and crew! Mel Gibson has pleasantly surprised me, and i truly respect him for this! ...all in all Great stuff!
  8. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    to quote south park "if you wanna be Christian, that's cool but you should focus on what jesus taught instead of how he got killed. focusing on how he got killed is what people did in the dark ages, and it ends up with really bad results." so I don't recommend this movie- actually no its not a movie. its torture porn.
  9. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    It's a must see movie. The movie show us Jesus suffering for all of our sins, to save our lives and give us the Salvation. There are some shocking scenes, but many things that Christ suffered don't be on the movie. But in the end, we all know that Jesus Christ lives and has saved us unto the eternity.
  10. Jul 20, 2013
    0
    For once, the average score based on critic reviews have it right. This movie is sensationalist garbage made by Mel Gibson to appease and ingratiate himself with his fundamentalist holocaust denier father.
  11. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    This film depicts what Jesus went through to be the final sacrifice for mankind. Jesus was tortured and crucified so man could be forgiven of sin. Jesus died so man could once again have a personal relationship with God. John 3:16 says it all:

    For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
  12. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Yo...my man got his ass whooped! For hours! Non-stop! But seriously this is a big steaming pile of unrealized potential.
  13. May 26, 2012
    7
    I love how the movie stayed true to the events in the Bible. But sadly as a Roman Catholic, it didn't move me the way I wanted it to be and it really disappoints me. But nevertheless, it really teaches me that we must appreciate what Jesus Christ did, because all he did is to sacrifice for the sake of the human race. Also, because of the brutal events of the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ inI love how the movie stayed true to the events in the Bible. But sadly as a Roman Catholic, it didn't move me the way I wanted it to be and it really disappoints me. But nevertheless, it really teaches me that we must appreciate what Jesus Christ did, because all he did is to sacrifice for the sake of the human race. Also, because of the brutal events of the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ in the movie, it made me realize that we need to give Him something in return by US following His Commandments and by loving one another even your mortal enemies............... Expand
  14. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    As some of the critics argue, this is not a movie that is meant to be a sermon, or to teach you something. It is not focused in Jesus's life, and I don't believe it attempts to be a religious film. It focuses in the last 12 hours of Jesus life as they could have been. Of course by those times many other people were brutally tortured and killed on this way but there is no much mentionedAs some of the critics argue, this is not a movie that is meant to be a sermon, or to teach you something. It is not focused in Jesus's life, and I don't believe it attempts to be a religious film. It focuses in the last 12 hours of Jesus life as they could have been. Of course by those times many other people were brutally tortured and killed on this way but there is no much mentioned about them because they were just common people. Jesus was different, and either if you believe in what he praised or not , he was a historical figure that changed the life of many, and the spiritual face of the Western World. Back to the film, the acting was certainly good! The Art direction of this movie was amazing, yet the images were extremely violent, and I had difficulty watching them, but in spite of it, I did. An observation: a few comments below, the user called ANDY mentioned that Anthropologists believe that Jesus looked different and blah, blah. Well, ANDY, curiously, I happen to have a PhD in Anthropology and Sociology, and I also have some education in history and in my 20's I used to be a theatre performer,(now I am just my 30's, and not, I am not at all a nerd or a nerd looking, quite the opposite) so my answer to you Andy is: Don't talk what you don't really know! You are just repeating what the mass-media say! Research in journals and serious academic publications if you really aim to increase your knowledge on the matter. There are many different approaches about Jesus's life. It is also impossible to know how Jesus looked or not or how did he lead his private life! Therefore, we should stop referring to petty stuff as arguments against this film, for that is senseless criticism. If Jesus had long hair or not, if he was really the Son of God, or not, who cares...! This film is not a proselyist one! Finally, let's be fair, just because people do not like religion-and most of people here probably not- it doesn't mean the movie is bad or old fashion! I am not religious myself, but I can still see and appreciate this film for what it is. Guys, this may not be your cup of tea, but objetively, it is a magnificent work! Expand
  15. Mar 17, 2012
    1
    An empty husk of a film who's only goal is to depict an extended act of torture and execution. Unbelievably, families who would run screaming from films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre brought their children to watch a man have his flesh ripped from his body and nails hammered through his hands. This disgusting piece of exploitative torture-porn was screened in churches, schools and justAn empty husk of a film who's only goal is to depict an extended act of torture and execution. Unbelievably, families who would run screaming from films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre brought their children to watch a man have his flesh ripped from his body and nails hammered through his hands. This disgusting piece of exploitative torture-porn was screened in churches, schools and just about anywhere for reasons I cannot fathom. None of the teachings attributed to the Christ character exist here, none of the good things he supposedly did... just his gruesome, bloody demise. Halfway through this highly exaggerated beat down on film, I became convinced that Mel Gibson actually relished in depicting his savior being brutalized. The Passion of the Christ does nothing more than reveal Christian hypocrisy and expose children to some of the most hideous torture imagery ever conceived with no redeeming value whatsoever. Way to go, Mel! Way to go, parents! Expand
  16. Feb 22, 2012
    6
    Its Jesus getting tortured for 2 hours, but its a very intense movies. I loved the stares between people, acting is generally amazing, Which is really what carried this movie.
  17. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    Mel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's pretty much torture porn in a nutshell. However leaving the fact that whenether you're a christian or not, the movie's realistically portrayed as the bibleMel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's pretty much torture porn in a nutshell. However leaving the fact that whenether you're a christian or not, the movie's realistically portrayed as the bible describes it, where he was beaten up by the Romans and was crucified for us. As Roger Ebert says, take it or leave it. Expand
  18. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    47% really??? I guess if its not about 2 men kissing on a mountain, it's not worth watching. Bottom line is, this is a very good movie. Yes I liked the message too, but if you just look at it for the quality of the picture you still come away with a 10.
  19. Aug 25, 2011
    1
    The film is so focused on Christ's death and how violent and terrible it was, that the film loses any kind of heart and simply becomes about guilt. Essentially, The Passion is the biggest guilt trip in history. The film offers no insight as to what Christ's death taught any of his followers, and simply tells it's viewer that Christ died for them, and now they have to earn it like in SavingThe film is so focused on Christ's death and how violent and terrible it was, that the film loses any kind of heart and simply becomes about guilt. Essentially, The Passion is the biggest guilt trip in history. The film offers no insight as to what Christ's death taught any of his followers, and simply tells it's viewer that Christ died for them, and now they have to earn it like in Saving Private Ryan. Nothing is learned, and only guilt is felt. Expand
  20. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    James Caviezel Was The Best Jesus EVER EVER.Music By John Debney Was Beyond Brilliant.Mel Gibson is A Filmmaker On Par With Scorcese Overall The Passion Of Christ Is Truly A Great Film .The Greatest

    10/10.
  21. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Im sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. This film will not only bring you to tears, but put a smile on your face once you realize that one man put his own life on the line for us. Christian or non-Christian, you need to see this film. Now.
  22. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    The Passion of the Christ is a very violent way of showing Jesus' crucifixion. I know this film is old and my review is pretty late but I still want to spread my thoughts on this film. There may be some scenes that are really disturbing but this shows how much Jesus' loves us, he went through all of that to save us from our sins. I think the filmmakers are trying to convey that message andThe Passion of the Christ is a very violent way of showing Jesus' crucifixion. I know this film is old and my review is pretty late but I still want to spread my thoughts on this film. There may be some scenes that are really disturbing but this shows how much Jesus' loves us, he went through all of that to save us from our sins. I think the filmmakers are trying to convey that message and they succeeded. This film is really well done and shouldn't be missed (unless you're young because its really violent) Expand
  23. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    this movie tells the life of Jesus Christ in the most gory way, but this isn't a bad movie. the score was good and the acting was decent.
  24. MatthewM
    Apr 10, 2009
    9
    First of all I am very disappointed in some of the comments being posted on this board... just because you may not believe does NOT give you the right to attack Catholicism or any other faith. This movie was made to display, with excruciating detail, the last 12 hours of Jesus' life. This movie was not meant to be the "feel good movie of the year", but rather to show the pain that First of all I am very disappointed in some of the comments being posted on this board... just because you may not believe does NOT give you the right to attack Catholicism or any other faith. This movie was made to display, with excruciating detail, the last 12 hours of Jesus' life. This movie was not meant to be the "feel good movie of the year", but rather to show the pain that one man endured for the sake of our salvation. He endured that pain that we would not have to. I'm apologize to anyone who thinks that I am trying to preach my religious beliefs, but I am not. Expand
  25. NormaI.
    Apr 10, 2009
    10
    This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all those people who are saying it doesn't touch the soul, it is because you do not understand. This film is not about the violence, but about redemption This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all those people who are saying it doesn't touch the soul, it is because you do not understand. This film is not about the violence, but about redemption and grace through the suffering of Christ. Jesus said father forgive them for they know not what they do, with this he meant the Romans, Jews and every other persons today. So believe and be saved! Expand
  26. AlexF
    Feb 19, 2009
    6
    I saw this movie when it came out on dvd i thought the film was okay in some areas it was amazing in others over the top. The actor playing Jesus and the other main characters (mary,peter,john etc.) did a great job in my opinion and the music and picture setting was amazing however this not a film to watch multiple times. This movie just shows us that jesus went through a lot for us and I saw this movie when it came out on dvd i thought the film was okay in some areas it was amazing in others over the top. The actor playing Jesus and the other main characters (mary,peter,john etc.) did a great job in my opinion and the music and picture setting was amazing however this not a film to watch multiple times. This movie just shows us that jesus went through a lot for us and died for our sins but i felt it was and one message film which was love. Mel Gibson just showed jesus's last 12 hours and that's it. I would not watch it multiple times though i'd say watch it once. Overall this movie is definitely something of a masterpiece and will never be forgotten. Expand
  27. WilliamM.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    This film enables one to comprehend graphically the torture and agony that Jesus endured for ALL mankind.
  28. SheilaD.
    Feb 16, 2009
    5
    I have read quite a few of the comments. It's very much the case of you liked it or you didn't. I am a Christian but I found it left me slightly emotionless. But the boy tried his best. What I do find offensive is the crowd who didn't enjoy it are very free with their opinions. They feel they need to denigrate anybody who did enjoy it as a moron and that they are I have read quite a few of the comments. It's very much the case of you liked it or you didn't. I am a Christian but I found it left me slightly emotionless. But the boy tried his best. What I do find offensive is the crowd who didn't enjoy it are very free with their opinions. They feel they need to denigrate anybody who did enjoy it as a moron and that they are uneducated, numbskulls etc etc. Personnally I don't give a dam what you think of Christians or any other religion for that matter, but don't try and make out we are stupid and you are they great informed of this world. Your are not. Every time you open your mouth you exhibit to the whole world what a pathetic numbskull you are. Keep the gob shut and maybe someone might think you have a brain. Expand
  29. PaulA
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    One of the most moving movies ever made. The critics are wrong on this one. It's not the type of movie you can watch every day because of the violence. But it it's accurate and moving. Once you see it you will never forget it.
  30. RadovanGerek
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    Its a misjudged film, because its simply great.
  31. JasonS
    Oct 6, 2008
    0
    Mel Gibson continues his fascination with extreme violence. In essence this is pornography for christians.
  32. Terrible
    Jul 11, 2008
    1
    Why?!?!?!?!?! This movie was just bad. Good ole Mel Gibson, spots off a good old fashioned hunk of garbage. I had to go see this "delightful" movie in theaters. It sickened me to no end. I didn't enjoy it in the slightest. I know it's not really meant to be enjoyed, but it's a movie for Christ sakes...haha, see what I did there? Anywho, I simply couldn't stand the Why?!?!?!?!?! This movie was just bad. Good ole Mel Gibson, spots off a good old fashioned hunk of garbage. I had to go see this "delightful" movie in theaters. It sickened me to no end. I didn't enjoy it in the slightest. I know it's not really meant to be enjoyed, but it's a movie for Christ sakes...haha, see what I did there? Anywho, I simply couldn't stand the movie. I think I may have vomited a bit. Expand
  33. EC
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    An exploitive, piece-of-shit of a snuff film. It has no religious or emotional value at all and yes, it is blatantly anti-semetic. Mel Gibson has no talent as a director, he just has a laughable amount of money and a wacked out outlook on religion and culture. You should be ashamed of yourself if you claim this movie reaffirmed your relgious values. Go read a fucking Bible to learn about An exploitive, piece-of-shit of a snuff film. It has no religious or emotional value at all and yes, it is blatantly anti-semetic. Mel Gibson has no talent as a director, he just has a laughable amount of money and a wacked out outlook on religion and culture. You should be ashamed of yourself if you claim this movie reaffirmed your relgious values. Go read a fucking Bible to learn about what Jesus taught, not how he brutally died. If Mel Gibson had done so, we may not of had this hateful lowest-common-denominator crap. An artless and soulless low point in American cinema and pop culture. Expand
  34. ChristinaP.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    it was a very good movie,amazing direction,close to the real facts of what happened the last days of Christ on Earth.
  35. PeterB.
    Apr 24, 2008
    8
    To begin with, I have to say that this is a VERY violent movie (keep children away from this movie at all costs). Having said that, I must admit that this violence DOES serve a purpose - it shows the suffering Jesus endured from the time he was captured by the JEWISH temple guard to the point he 'died' on the cross. Gibson does not make any compromise on any level everything has To begin with, I have to say that this is a VERY violent movie (keep children away from this movie at all costs). Having said that, I must admit that this violence DOES serve a purpose - it shows the suffering Jesus endured from the time he was captured by the JEWISH temple guard to the point he 'died' on the cross. Gibson does not make any compromise on any level everything has been prepared down to the last detail -the costumes are amazing, so are the locations, the LANGUAGE (Aramaic for the Jews, Latin for the Romans)and last but not least the acting was very good. I would imagine the Jews would look fiercer but they are presented quite subtly - considering the fact that they were 'brain-washed' by their priests and the 'revolutionaries' to a point were the term 'fanatic' looks funny. I really do not understand why there is so much fuss in relation to anti-semitism with this movie. The Jews 'delivered' Jesus to the Romans and the only reason the Romans crucified Jesus was because they were afraid of an uprise and because under Roman rule no one could be punished by death unless the Roman 'administrator' (in this case Pontius Pilate) said so. If the law was different the Jews would have done it themselves...its that simple. The teachings of Jesus about love are CLEARLY shown in the movie...Jesus is tormented and humiliated to the point where no HUMAN could, without reacting the slightest...this is because of the LOVE Jesus has for his children (get it?).To the people that were expecting to see Jesus creating balloon animals in Jewish children parties to show us His love - please STAY AWAY from this movie! This movie is brilliantly made and I recommend it for all people above 17years old :)Oh! a couple things before I 'go'...First, I cannot see anything bad with Mel making a lot of money from this movie...isn Expand
  36. ChrisD.
    Apr 22, 2008
    6
    I saw this movie when it first came out on Easter 2004. I was deeply moved by it then, yet I left the theater very numb from the experience. It is the most violent movie I've ever seen, and I wondered even then if a huge display of gore was really how to best present Jesus. It's the only movie I've ever seen that I probably will deliberately avoid watching again: not I saw this movie when it first came out on Easter 2004. I was deeply moved by it then, yet I left the theater very numb from the experience. It is the most violent movie I've ever seen, and I wondered even then if a huge display of gore was really how to best present Jesus. It's the only movie I've ever seen that I probably will deliberately avoid watching again: not because I thought it was poorly directed or written. Rather, I found it too disturbing to be worth another watch again: I don't want to have that image of Jesus in my head. I don't think it's accurate and I can see why many have accused the film of being Anti-Semitic (but that goes back to the basic Christian belief that Jews were responsible for the crucifixion of Jesus...a whole other ball of wax) Expand
  37. NamelessOne
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing movie.The photography,costumes,acting...etc have all been reduced to trivialities in order to favour of political statements.The fact is that there is no This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing movie.The photography,costumes,acting...etc have all been reduced to trivialities in order to favour of political statements.The fact is that there is no other movie that the actors are speaking ARAMAIC and LATIN and that alone is enough for me to give it a favorable review.I am a Christian and I was very touched by this movie...the Jews were solely responsible for the torment of Jesus - they DEMANDED his crucifixion,so I really cannot find any trace of anti-semitism in this movie (only truth).Furthermore Jesus was (indeed) tortured and humiliated so I cannot understand why people are so critical to the violent scenes.What did they expect to see?Everyone says the movie is violent but no one is willing to say HOW the movie ought to portray Jesus's crucifixion!!!Thats just MORONIC!If I 'shoot' a violent and very graphic documentary about the war in Darfur will you call me deranged? The way I see it every review that judges this movie either on the grounds of anti-semitism or violence is redundant and false because the Jews were indeed responsible and because Jesus was indeed tortured. Expand
  38. NamelessOne
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing movie.The photography,costumes,acting...etc have all been reduced to trivialities in order to favour of political statements.The fact is that there is no This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing movie.The photography,costumes,acting...etc have all been reduced to trivialities in order to favour of political statements.The fact is that there is no other movie that the actors are speaking ARAMAIC and LATIN and that alone is enough for me to give it a favorable review.I am a Christian and I was very touched by this movie...the Jews were solely responsible for the torment of Jesus - they DEMANDED his crucifixion,so I really cannot find any trace of anti-semitism in this movie (only truth).Furthermore Jesus was (indeed) tortured and humiliated so I cannot understand why people are so critical to the violent scenes.What did they expect to see?Everyone says the movie is violent but no one is willing to say HOW the movie ought to portray Jesus's crucifixion!!!Thats just MORONIC!If I 'shoot' a violent and very graphic documentary about the war in Darfur will you call me deranged? The way I see it every review that judges this movie either on the grounds of anti-semitism or violence is redundant and false because the Jews were indeed responsible and because Jesus was indeed tortured. Expand
  39. AaronH.
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    Watched it in a university class, and again at home with my family during Easter. Not my favorite Christian movie (that would be the 1950's "The Ten Commandments"), but does the job. Jesus's crucifixion (his name was never "Christ"), is stunningly portrayed and overlaid in a veneer of sorrow. The hearts of the people rating the movie lower might just be Jesus himself quietly Watched it in a university class, and again at home with my family during Easter. Not my favorite Christian movie (that would be the 1950's "The Ten Commandments"), but does the job. Jesus's crucifixion (his name was never "Christ"), is stunningly portrayed and overlaid in a veneer of sorrow. The hearts of the people rating the movie lower might just be Jesus himself quietly seeking their attention. And yet there were some things I did not like-the blood and gore, certainly-no real need for that much of it. And really the movie had two stars, Caviezel (who's pretty good) and Gibson (barely so). Basically, you know what to do. Expand
  40. AstridL.
    Mar 22, 2008
    7
    This movie is hard to bear but is a moving peace of cinema in its own right. There has been much criticism on why only showing all the violence and suffering and nothing of Jesus Christs life before and also after the depictioned last 12 hours in his life. We should see the movie as one piece in the bigger picture of films about the life of jesus, and this one focuses on the hardest part This movie is hard to bear but is a moving peace of cinema in its own right. There has been much criticism on why only showing all the violence and suffering and nothing of Jesus Christs life before and also after the depictioned last 12 hours in his life. We should see the movie as one piece in the bigger picture of films about the life of jesus, and this one focuses on the hardest part of it and it is legitimate to do so. If you think of the movie pretending to show Jesus in all his aspects and everything which derived from him the movie is well critizisable but if you consider it as coming with a message more special and beyond this it is well worth seeing if you can bear it especially as it probably shows realistically how not only Jesus but thousands of people have come to death in the ancient Rome, only that he was the first to pray for his tormentors and so redeemed mankind. Expand
  41. TonyF
    Jan 7, 2008
    1
    Those in extreme fringe Christian sects, living in isolated compounds, arming themselves with military weaponry in preparation for the Rapture, will love this movie. Just in case you were considering doing it, showing this film to your kids is child abuse. In fact, to do so would not be much different from beating your child's brand new puppy to death on Christmas morning screaming Those in extreme fringe Christian sects, living in isolated compounds, arming themselves with military weaponry in preparation for the Rapture, will love this movie. Just in case you were considering doing it, showing this film to your kids is child abuse. In fact, to do so would not be much different from beating your child's brand new puppy to death on Christmas morning screaming "This is what Jesus did for YOU! This is how Jesus died for YOU!" Expand
  42. MoK.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    My respect for Prophet Jesus (May God's peace and blessings be upon him) increased multi-fold after I watched the movie.
  43. Andy
    May 31, 2007
    3
    Don't most anthropologists and historians believe that Jesus was in fact not this long-haired, white guy and more of a man that looks like...what people from the Middle East actually look like? Also; exploitative, boring, sensationalist, and unimportant. We allow our kids to see a movie of a man being tortured and beaten for two hours but we won't let them see a hint of nudity Don't most anthropologists and historians believe that Jesus was in fact not this long-haired, white guy and more of a man that looks like...what people from the Middle East actually look like? Also; exploitative, boring, sensationalist, and unimportant. We allow our kids to see a movie of a man being tortured and beaten for two hours but we won't let them see a hint of nudity when it comes up in film ratings. Expand
  44. ChrisK.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    A graphic vision of what it was believably like. A bold film that makes few concessions for the viewer which is part of what draws you in. In some ways alienating, in other ways extremely refreshing. This attention that went into this film exposes for me the lack of credability the vast majority of filmakers and studios have. This film goes against the grain of holywood film making and A graphic vision of what it was believably like. A bold film that makes few concessions for the viewer which is part of what draws you in. In some ways alienating, in other ways extremely refreshing. This attention that went into this film exposes for me the lack of credability the vast majority of filmakers and studios have. This film goes against the grain of holywood film making and rubs many small minded thinkers the wrong way which is why it is so welcomed by me. If this film was blasphemous or anti-semetic I compeletly failed to notice and believe me I was watching pretty closely. Expand
  45. CathyL.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    This movie is moving, sad and a magnificent depiction of the wonderful gift Christ gave us through his crucifixion. Those who do not believe or refuse to recognize the horrific pain and suffering that Jesus Christ endured for us are typical of the liberalism and lack of faith that has become a cancer not only in the United States but across the enire world and may one day spell our doom!!!
  46. JamesM.
    Apr 7, 2007
    0
    "A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem." This monotonous movie relied on people finding this 12 hour period interesting; in reality who really cares? If the Bible or the story of Jesus was slightly believable I would of enjoyed this. However, as it is an insult to anyone remotely educated, I'd rather label this movie "The last "A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem." This monotonous movie relied on people finding this 12 hour period interesting; in reality who really cares? If the Bible or the story of Jesus was slightly believable I would of enjoyed this. However, as it is an insult to anyone remotely educated, I'd rather label this movie "The last 120 minutes of Mel Gibson's directing career." Expand
  47. MarcS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    0
    Manipulative, over-the-top, sensationalist, ugly, pretentious GARBAGE!!
  48. DanK.
    Dec 11, 2006
    3
    Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is responsible for Jesus's death other than GOD. Jesus was SENT to die bottom line. Secondly, as far a historical accuracy, the bible was edited by the Catholic Church far before any of us read it so, unless someone who was actually alive 2000 years Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is responsible for Jesus's death other than GOD. Jesus was SENT to die bottom line. Secondly, as far a historical accuracy, the bible was edited by the Catholic Church far before any of us read it so, unless someone who was actually alive 2000 years ago is still alive please explain how anyone can KNOW this is actually how it happened. Now that I have gotten that out of the way I can actually review the movie. And I know someone will be upset at me for saying this but as far as the plot goes, there isn't really one. And that is why the critics panned this movie for its violence. It doesn't serve to move the plot. It's just there. The cinematography is execellent as well as the use of subtitles instead of having them speak a language foreign to them. The problem is that people aren't reviewing this as a movie they are reviewing it as a religous experiment. When I go to see a show I want to be entertained I don't want to see someone get the crap beat out of them for two hours. Say what you want about Pulp Fiction but the violence in that movie moved the plot and it was more than just blood and gore. If it isn't Jesus than nobody would give a damn about this movie. Expand
  49. JaredB.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    The Passion of the Christ was the most powerfully realistic rendering of the crucifixion I have ever seen. Absolutely amazing.
  50. DavidA.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    A serious film, not taken seriously by critics because of prejudice.
  51. SidW.
    Dec 3, 2006
    5
    This movie isn't as historically based as people are saying...Jesus himself is WAY off...Jesus Christ was middle eastern, not white. And unless you are clueless of the Faith, this movie is boring.
  52. PaulF.
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    Overall I felt the Passion was a powerful movie that got me all teary eyed several times, especially the love Mary felt for her son and the grief she had to bare watching him suffer the way he did. I was also very impressed that the movie was entirely made in Aramaic and I believe it was Latin the Romans were speaking. WOW, to trust the general public with subtitles shows a lot of faith Overall I felt the Passion was a powerful movie that got me all teary eyed several times, especially the love Mary felt for her son and the grief she had to bare watching him suffer the way he did. I was also very impressed that the movie was entirely made in Aramaic and I believe it was Latin the Romans were speaking. WOW, to trust the general public with subtitles shows a lot of faith in us. I deeply respect the vision and hard work it took to make the movie all that more authentic to the feel of the times. One of my few points of critique were that it seemed overly gory. I cannot say how historic this was or not but they really laid it on thick. It was pretty much non-stop from his floggings all the way to his death. I was a bit mixed on how they portrayed the Devil. I liked the way they portrayed the devil all bald headed and mysteriously quiet. It was interesting to see how the demons disguised themselves as children or the Devil using the mother and child as a cloak. However for some reason the devils anguish in hell when Jesus died seemed hokey to me. I was also disappointed that more wasn't shown after Jesus left the tomb. I thought it a bit hokey you could see right through his hand. I loved the characters of Jesus, Mary, Mary, and Pilot. They really stood out in their performances. Pilot's reason and compassion but compromisingly worldly position was an interesting conflict. He also was quite existential in his philosophical outlook. In many ways I identified with his character the most. On a theological interpretive level I thought the way one of the condemned men on the cross and especially Judas was treated in a unduly harsh way. It really seemed Judas was grieved by what he had done. He even tried to make amends by offering the money back in exchange for Jesus release. Ultimately he did not even take the money (in the movie) and even threw it at the priests feet when they refused to release Jesus. It also seemed strange that he hanged himself as if I recall rightly in Acts 1:18 Judas falls "headlong" I presume over a cliff. I thought the rope might break and then he would either fall from this or throw himself over a cliff after failing to hang himself. But the movie makes his hanging seem like the end which seems out of sync with Acts 1:18. My biggest beef with the theology presented is that some are eternally spiritually condemned which IMO is not a compassionate theological positions. It creates conflict within our souls which says some at some point and to never be loved again. I'm sorry but Godliness is Love, unconditionally. Still the Passion was a powerful movie that I am sure will affect many lives. It was good that Jesus teachings were flashed back to from time to time. The juxtaposition of his extreme suffering with his teachings on loving ones enemies was quite profound. I just wish there was a bit more of this movie which would have made the experience more well rounded. But what there was of it I can definitely say this is a good movie to see that I would recommend any adult to see at some point in their lives. Expand
  53. MarkG.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and religious sources and yet is scandalized as gratutious and sadistic. To accept the event, as Gibson portrays it, is an indictment of the human condition; Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and religious sources and yet is scandalized as gratutious and sadistic. To accept the event, as Gibson portrays it, is an indictment of the human condition; one that most defiintely needs rescuing. Gibson leaves the viewer with a perplexing question: what to do with a Christ that claimed to suffer on the behalf of humanity? Expand
  54. House
    May 22, 2006
    10
    Obviously, everyone has differing views and beliefs relating to this story. But as no sane moviegoer cares for gangland violence, most would agree "The Godfather's I & II" are timeless masterpieces. "In Cold Blood" is terrifyingly real and uncompromising and not the least bit uplifting but still fabulous film making, dealing with controversial and important topics. To appreciate Obviously, everyone has differing views and beliefs relating to this story. But as no sane moviegoer cares for gangland violence, most would agree "The Godfather's I & II" are timeless masterpieces. "In Cold Blood" is terrifyingly real and uncompromising and not the least bit uplifting but still fabulous film making, dealing with controversial and important topics. To appreciate "Passion of the Christ" many must lay aside views as to the truth of this story as well as the avalanch of hype that surrounded it's director, Mel Gibson. Yet if these sacrifices are made what is uncovered is a film that represents everything that is great about independant film making. A film that skillfully and beautifully expresses the view point of the film makers free of any outside spin from "big Hollywood". As the digital revolution continues to develope, altering Hollywood's method of dealing with "independent film", "the Passion" is a film that will stand the test of time as a major achievement in film, encouraging indie film makers to take bold, unpopular chances and express their deepist concerns and feelings without hesitation or compromise. Expand
  55. NickL.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Good movie! Mel Gibson is laughing all the way to the bank.
  56. DCp
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    This movie touched me in a way no other has ever done. Magnificent, graphic, believable, and horrible treatment given by Romans and Jews to Jesus, just terrible. Yet, he forgives and we can easily see how we should forgive others for commiting far less sins.
  57. TonyB.
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    As a power considerably higher than the rest of us is said to have commented: "It is as it was." What it was I cannot say, but what it is is a magnificent achievement."
  58. SamE.
    Mar 12, 2006
    8
    If I were Catholic, I would give it a 10, but I am Baptist. I am excited that someone is brave enough to create a film that is this religious, but why focus the camera on The Virgin Mary and name the movie about Jesus Christ.
  59. TimM.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    I believe the movie showed just how much God loves us. Why is so hard for some too believe? We all know about hatred, but when it comes to love we try to explain it away. God loves us and sent his son to die for us. This movie captures the last hours of our Lord Jesus life and why we should worship him.
  60. JoeB.
    Dec 29, 2005
    0
    Believer or non-believer, it doesn't take much to understand that the only reason for this film's existence was purely commercial. Cinematography was good, everything else was Gibson capitalizing on people's beliefs. Faith has nothing to do with this movie, any religious person who considers this a good movie is a true hypocrite.
  61. BobE.
    Dec 29, 2005
    0
    For those of you prasing this movie as a breakthrough, I hate to say this, but you have only been manipulated. Gibson did not make this movie to state a point or get a message across, he simply took a controversial subject matter and made a very controversial movie out of it to get your money. For those of you who say this movie is true, it is not. You weren't there, Gibson For those of you prasing this movie as a breakthrough, I hate to say this, but you have only been manipulated. Gibson did not make this movie to state a point or get a message across, he simply took a controversial subject matter and made a very controversial movie out of it to get your money. For those of you who say this movie is true, it is not. You weren't there, Gibson wasn't there, nobody involved in any way with the creation of this movie was there. For those of you who say us athiests dont understand this movie due to lack of faith, you need to learn that christianity is not the only religion, and that you have to have respect for all beliefs. I dont care that Jesus died, Im sure he didn't care about me, and Im sure he didn't care about you. He probably only did it for the attention. Expand
  62. RayB.
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    I am not religious at all but this film was excellent a brave and brilliant piece of filming.. I was that absorbed in the film that I didn't notice the subtitles after a few mins. The film will not be to everybodys taste but for people with an open mind in regards to religion I urge you to watch this at least once.
  63. JustinA.
    Oct 10, 2005
    1
    A. What does it mean that Jesus "invented the tables and chairs we use today." Did I miss that in my readings of the gospels? B. When I saw the Passion, a preview for The Day After Tomorrow was screened. The large family behind me from rural Maine responded, when asked "where will you be the day after tomorrow" by exclaiming "I'll be in the rapture!" They loved the Passion. C. In A. What does it mean that Jesus "invented the tables and chairs we use today." Did I miss that in my readings of the gospels? B. When I saw the Passion, a preview for The Day After Tomorrow was screened. The large family behind me from rural Maine responded, when asked "where will you be the day after tomorrow" by exclaiming "I'll be in the rapture!" They loved the Passion. C. In contemplating the bizzare claims to authenticity this film makes, it might be a good idea to watch Passolini's The Gospel According to St. Matthew (which received official papal blessings pre-Vatican II, so it should be kosher for Gibsonians). Strange how estranged different claims to authenticity can be. Expand
  64. R.T
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies ever seen. One of the greatest epic films ever made. It depicts the last hours of our Lord and how he suffered for us.
  65. CamN.
    Sep 9, 2005
    0
    I have said for years that Mel Gibson is a self-absorbed Alpha-male wannabe. Follow this pied piper to church and flagellate yourselves if you want. This film is worthless.
  66. LisaZ.
    Aug 7, 2005
    5
    I feel the movie was interesting but had alot of endless knowing and not that great of a ending, it left me hanging, an i really dont like movies that do that, if he had all this money put into the movie i think it should of had more details to it.
  67. lexl.
    Jul 26, 2005
    0
    Turgid, boring, and self-important.
  68. MelodyH.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    The movie was extreme but, only believers would see the meaning behind this. I think this forum only gives non- believers a chance to downgrade the movie because they do not get religion. So of course they would not like the movie. Mel made money off this movie sure,, but, he also had plenty before this and did not do it for that reason. He is a believer and invested his own money to make The movie was extreme but, only believers would see the meaning behind this. I think this forum only gives non- believers a chance to downgrade the movie because they do not get religion. So of course they would not like the movie. Mel made money off this movie sure,, but, he also had plenty before this and did not do it for that reason. He is a believer and invested his own money to make an unforgettable movie that moves christians to tears. It is not about the gore or the blood it is about the pain and sacrafice Jesus made for us all. Expand
  69. AshleeS.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Passionate.
  70. VanessaB.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    I loved it!
  71. EmilioR.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Great movie.
  72. JoeP.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Great movie, Wish non-believers would understand it more and not put it down.
  73. SteveN.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the year. Extremely good job in showing how christ died for us.
  74. DanielV
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Makes christians cry by seeing how much Jesus suufered and died for our sins.
  75. NunoL.
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Beautiful.
  76. AshleeS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Passionate.
  77. ChrisT.
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    I would like to say this is the best Jesus movie ever. Secondly to comments made by the person named CG, the purpose of Jesus life was to die for our sins so the death, burial and resurrection of Christ is Christianity. All must believe in Jesus to have a relationship with God, even Jews, or they will die and go to Hell like all other unbelievers.
  78. ByronW.
    May 18, 2005
    2
    This is a movie strongly geared toward satisfying true believers, leaving next to nothing for the rest of the world. It touches all the right dogmatic points and adds a few head-scratchers. You have to wonder about the mentality of the writers, who obviously spent untold hours brainstorming new and heretofore unimagined torments to inflict on the main character. The result of their This is a movie strongly geared toward satisfying true believers, leaving next to nothing for the rest of the world. It touches all the right dogmatic points and adds a few head-scratchers. You have to wonder about the mentality of the writers, who obviously spent untold hours brainstorming new and heretofore unimagined torments to inflict on the main character. The result of their fixation is violence that is absurdly over the top and a film that is a spiritual vacuum. The high rating is for a modicum of cinematic style. The movie to watch touching on this same subject is Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ (1959), one of the best movies ever made. Containing compassion, sacrifice, redemption, and a compelling, inoffensive melding of Judaism and Christianity, it has everything that The Passion lacks. Expand
  79. MillaK.
    May 11, 2005
    10
    A touching experience, a beautiful art work. It took a lot of research and study to get to the result Gibson arrived. Strong and full of "passion." You don't need to be a religous freek (I don't own a Bible, nor go to any church) to enjoy this beautiful work of art! Caviezel is absolutely gorgeous and convincing as Jesus.
  80. RyanA.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    The film suggests that the power of love is best demonstrated when one willingly endures extreme sufferring for others who would never be so willing. The more Jesus suffers and the more graphically it's depicted, the more sorrow we are meant to feel for abusing the gift of his sacrifice, the more appreciation we are meant feel for his desire to be tortured and die for us. The The film suggests that the power of love is best demonstrated when one willingly endures extreme sufferring for others who would never be so willing. The more Jesus suffers and the more graphically it's depicted, the more sorrow we are meant to feel for abusing the gift of his sacrifice, the more appreciation we are meant feel for his desire to be tortured and die for us. The Scourging or Flagellation of Jesus at the Pillar is the single most violent scene ever put on film, so brutal that some alot of viewers will be hard-pressed to believe that a man could actually carry a 200-pound cross, let alone stand on his feet after such a scene. But there must've been some spark in the mind of Jesus that compelled him to get back up and climb to the top of Golgotha, a spark of realization that if he died merely from the scourging, without fulfilling the destiny to be crucified, he would would not have created the one image, symbolic and powerful enough to sustain a religious faith for two millinieums. The Crucifixion has become the central and most impressionable image or symbol of the Christian faith. Without it, who is to say that Christianity would have survived as long? Expand
  81. ElenaE.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Beautifully & artistically filmed with alot of thought, soul, spirit, heart and talent....Mel's, in fact. Not to mention his own money. His goal was not profit, but an important message delivered through art. This film speaks about love. Would you die for anyone you know? Thank you, Mel.
  82. BrianM.
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    Gibson forges through a antichristian wall to go where no man has gone before in crafting a movie about the single most important event in the history of mankind in rightly shocking fashion. I'm amazed at the transparency of the "red score" critics. I guess I'm not surprised though - they hung him on a cross 2000 years ago and evil men are still at it.
  83. CG
    Feb 11, 2005
    2
    The torture is not unique...in fact tyrants of today brutally torture and kill those that oppose them
  84. T.M.
    Jan 27, 2005
    6
    An excellent film technically -- the cinematography, score, and some of the acting were wonderful -- but there was no need for drawing out the torture and beating scenes for as as long they were drawn out. Mel Gibson obviously has an unhealthy fascination with graphic violence ("Braveheart", "The Patriot"), and IMHO, that extreme overemphasis on graphic violence is the main fault of this An excellent film technically -- the cinematography, score, and some of the acting were wonderful -- but there was no need for drawing out the torture and beating scenes for as as long they were drawn out. Mel Gibson obviously has an unhealthy fascination with graphic violence ("Braveheart", "The Patriot"), and IMHO, that extreme overemphasis on graphic violence is the main fault of this film. Wouldn't a film about the teachings of Christ have been much more effective? Expand
  85. PeterJ.
    Jan 27, 2005
    9
    A very humbling movie. Whether or not you believe in him or not is irrelevent, but what Jesus did for his beliefs is remarkable. Son of God? Who really knows!? If you know scripture you will love this movie, but if this is all foreign to you (Critics) then you will just dismiss it as a bloodbath. There was a reason for this on Gibson's part. To remind Christians of what Jesus did for A very humbling movie. Whether or not you believe in him or not is irrelevent, but what Jesus did for his beliefs is remarkable. Son of God? Who really knows!? If you know scripture you will love this movie, but if this is all foreign to you (Critics) then you will just dismiss it as a bloodbath. There was a reason for this on Gibson's part. To remind Christians of what Jesus did for them. To remind them to live licariously through him. This movie is meant for those Christians who have lost their way, and a tool to get others interested in the Lord. Well done Mel. Expand
  86. MovieFreak
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    This was a wonderful movie about the crucifixion. I cried when I saw it; Gibson does take a certain amount of artistic license with the film, but what director wouldn't? If it followed Scripture exactly, this would be a 20-minute movie. Jim Caviezel is one of the most convincing actors I've ever seen and it was an experience to never be forgotten, no matter what others say. We This was a wonderful movie about the crucifixion. I cried when I saw it; Gibson does take a certain amount of artistic license with the film, but what director wouldn't? If it followed Scripture exactly, this would be a 20-minute movie. Jim Caviezel is one of the most convincing actors I've ever seen and it was an experience to never be forgotten, no matter what others say. We shouldn't forget that Jesus died for us, every single one, whether we believe in Him or not. This film was stunning and Gibson did a brilliant job. Expand
  87. G.M.D.K.
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    Spectacular! I cried in this movie. and if you dont,you dont have a heart. One of the year's most groundbreaking film!
  88. GabrielD.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    That movie was a true story and who ever that that was a bad movie the must have mental problems!!
  89. NikhilA.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    I dont remember a more powerful experience .. this movie was just stunning ... and will stand the test of time and be remembered as a classic. Im not a Christian nor of any religion near christianity but i still think that the movie was amongst the best Jesus movies ever. The critics were either biased or were paid to bash the movie ... dont listen to them (save Roger Ebert). Moreover, it I dont remember a more powerful experience .. this movie was just stunning ... and will stand the test of time and be remembered as a classic. Im not a Christian nor of any religion near christianity but i still think that the movie was amongst the best Jesus movies ever. The critics were either biased or were paid to bash the movie ... dont listen to them (save Roger Ebert). Moreover, it is very well made with good acting by Jim Caviezel and phenomenal direction by Gibson. A must watch. One of the best movies of the year. Expand
  90. RobertB.
    Jan 5, 2005
    4
    Okay... let me first say that I'm not Christian (though my entire family is), nor am I Jewish (though a good portion of my friends are), so I don't think that I have any horse in the "is this anti-Semitic or not" race. That being said, the film certainly portrays the Jews of that time as bloodthirsty bastards out to kill Jesus against the wishes of the calm, logical, relatively Okay... let me first say that I'm not Christian (though my entire family is), nor am I Jewish (though a good portion of my friends are), so I don't think that I have any horse in the "is this anti-Semitic or not" race. That being said, the film certainly portrays the Jews of that time as bloodthirsty bastards out to kill Jesus against the wishes of the calm, logical, relatively (that qualifier is certainly necessary) civilized Romans. Does it tell us anything about the Jews of today, or why the Jews of that time hated Jesus? No. Overall, the movie is tremendously gory to an almost sickening degree. I can see how devout Christians would watch and enjoy (if that is the right word) this movie. However, I would say that anyone who takes a child to see this should be tried for neglect; the movie is bloody to an absurd degree. I would say that, simply for violence alone, this movie should have received an NC-17 rating. Whether or not the movie is a "religious experience" should have no bearing on the rating, the movie should NOT be seen by children, in my opinion. Overall, a movie that could have been interesting is marred by the violence and lack of background presented. While I have read the Bible and know the general background to the story, it would be nice if some reasons were presented as to why the Jews wanted Jesus dead. That's my two cents. And in case you're wondering, I'm an atheist, so if you want to view my opinion as biased (though I believe it is quite objective), so be it. Expand
  91. DelethineC
    Dec 14, 2004
    10
    When I went to go see this movie all I could do was sit there and cry. god went through so much just so we could be where we are today. he was beaten, deprived of food and water and most of all hung on a cross with one arm torn apart because it did not strech to fit the hole. To the people who gave this movie 0 to 5 should be ashamed to even say what they said. i knwo everybody is When I went to go see this movie all I could do was sit there and cry. god went through so much just so we could be where we are today. he was beaten, deprived of food and water and most of all hung on a cross with one arm torn apart because it did not strech to fit the hole. To the people who gave this movie 0 to 5 should be ashamed to even say what they said. i knwo everybody is entitled to a opinion but dag at least give Mel credit because it was the best movie of the year. God went through so much and you wouldn't be where you are today if it wasn't for Jesus dying on the cross for our sins. Expand
  92. DarrylD.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Your life depends on how you treat this truth.
  93. JavierA
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    The Metascore is understandable. Critics tend to be liberal and some even anti-Christian. I am no religious person myself, but there's no denying that "The Passion of the Christ" is an exhilarating work of art - perhaps the finest biblical work since the days of Michelangelo. Caleb Deschanel's cinematography cries "Masterful!" and the score is nothing short of amazing. As for The Metascore is understandable. Critics tend to be liberal and some even anti-Christian. I am no religious person myself, but there's no denying that "The Passion of the Christ" is an exhilarating work of art - perhaps the finest biblical work since the days of Michelangelo. Caleb Deschanel's cinematography cries "Masterful!" and the score is nothing short of amazing. As for the violence, it will look tame in a few years, just as teenagers now laugh at "The Exorcist". But that will do nothing to diminish Passion's artful, almost spiritual power. A glorious triumph of cinema. Expand
  94. SunnieC.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    What most people seem to miss is that the crucifixion of Jesus was not a tragedy. It was an accomplishment! He could have stopped it at any time. The torture He endured, he endured willingly, because of His great love for us. Without it, we would all be lost. His torture and death allowed for us to be reunited with a Holy God, that cannot look upon sin, but loved us enough to provide a What most people seem to miss is that the crucifixion of Jesus was not a tragedy. It was an accomplishment! He could have stopped it at any time. The torture He endured, he endured willingly, because of His great love for us. Without it, we would all be lost. His torture and death allowed for us to be reunited with a Holy God, that cannot look upon sin, but loved us enough to provide a way to be with Him. Expand
  95. KyleS.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    Okay people, what is up? This is what ACTUALLY HAPPENED - not some media-influenced story just to add violence to the film. If you can't see that this is what the poor man went through, then that's your problem. I applaud Mel Gibson's classic, mostly on the basis that he's the only person who had enough "balls" to do it. Why is it so terrible to see a film that is (for Okay people, what is up? This is what ACTUALLY HAPPENED - not some media-influenced story just to add violence to the film. If you can't see that this is what the poor man went through, then that's your problem. I applaud Mel Gibson's classic, mostly on the basis that he's the only person who had enough "balls" to do it. Why is it so terrible to see a film that is (for once in my life) so entirely true? Whoever gave this movie a low rating because of "gore (etc.)" doesn't get it - if there was such an issue with violence being done to the man, then why is it in the Bible? I don't understand how people seem to think, because this movie was telling the truth and showing the tortures Jesus went through, that it was bad. The whole point was to show some truth - too bad too many people didn't see that. Expand
  96. JoeC.
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    While some people seem to think that this movie is too violent and seems to be even untrue...I would like for them to truly study the "art" of crucifixion as the Romans mastered it. Do we realize that it was reserved for foreigners, or those who didn't "fit in" and that the beatings Jesus took lasted for 12 hours...not 12 minutes as depicted in the film. The beauty of this film is While some people seem to think that this movie is too violent and seems to be even untrue...I would like for them to truly study the "art" of crucifixion as the Romans mastered it. Do we realize that it was reserved for foreigners, or those who didn't "fit in" and that the beatings Jesus took lasted for 12 hours...not 12 minutes as depicted in the film. The beauty of this film is the love that is made obvious in it. Not love as we have been taught by mankind, but love as given by God. Without grace and mercy, we are nothing and without Jesus, we are lost. While this film was violent, it was not even close to how sever the beatings really were, he was beaten beyond recognition...and in the movie he was still recognizable. I believe that if people would really look into the heart of this film, they would see the heart of not only Mel Gibson, but also a God and Savior that loves us all very much...and would do it all over again just for you!!!! Expand
  97. EmmyB
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    It's sad that after all this time, we are still focusing on Jesus's death and not all the good things he did while he was alive. I'm not a Christian, but it seems a little sacreligous to make such a violent and distrubing movie about someone who's basic philosophy was "Love thy neightbor, love thy friend, and love thy enemy."
  98. CharetonS.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Wonderful.
  99. JuanM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    8
    More than a movie it seems like a document of what happened more than 2000 years ago. But there are a lot of different theories about what happened with Jesus. This movie only contemplates the one the Church says.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. 75
    It's a strange kind of spiritual movie -- one that aims for the gut more often than the heart.
  2. 88
    A gripping, powerful motion picture -- arguably the most forceful depiction of Jesus' death ever to be committed to film. It leaves an indelible imprint on the psyche; viewers of this movie may never look at a crucifix in quite the same way.
  3. Expertly made, thanks largely to Jim Caviezel's fervent portrayal of Jesus and Caleb Deschanel's skillful camera work. But the film contains little to learn from, unless one is unfamiliar with basic Christian history.