Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 785 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. 100
    This is not a sermon or a homily, but a visualization of the central event in the Christian religion. Take it or leave it.
  2. 75
    A highly personal, provocative and in some ways riveting vision with an inspired performance by Jim Caviezel as Jesus.
  3. 75
    It's a strange kind of spiritual movie -- one that aims for the gut more often than the heart.
  4. 50
    Mel Gibson may have changed the face of cinema forever. I think he has: He's made the first true Jesusploitation flick, a picture that, despite its self-righteous air of grave religiosity, is barely spiritual at all.
  5. Did it move me? And the answer is no. I thought it has a certain ghoulish, voyeuristic fascination, but I found it strangely remote and uninvolving on both emotional and spiritual levels.
  6. What I do know is that I was gripped for a while by the strength of Mr. Gibson's filmmaking, only to be repelled and eventually excluded by his literalist insistence on excruciation. There is watching in horror, and there is watching in horror.
  7. If I were a Christian, I'd be appalled to have this primitive and pornographic bloodbath presume to speak for me.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. DCp
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    This movie touched me in a way no other has ever done. Magnificent, graphic, believable, and horrible treatment given by Romans and Jews to This movie touched me in a way no other has ever done. Magnificent, graphic, believable, and horrible treatment given by Romans and Jews to Jesus, just terrible. Yet, he forgives and we can easily see how we should forgive others for commiting far less sins. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    James Caviezel Was The Best Jesus EVER EVER.Music By John Debney Was Beyond Brilliant.Mel Gibson is A Filmmaker On Par With Scorcese OverallJames Caviezel Was The Best Jesus EVER EVER.Music By John Debney Was Beyond Brilliant.Mel Gibson is A Filmmaker On Par With Scorcese Overall The Passion Of Christ Is Truly A Great Film .The Greatest

    10/10.
    Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Im sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixionIm sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. This film will not only bring you to tears, but put a smile on your face once you realize that one man put his own life on the line for us. Christian or non-Christian, you need to see this film. Now. Expand
  4. RayB.
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    I am not religious at all but this film was excellent a brave and brilliant piece of filming.. I was that absorbed in the film that I I am not religious at all but this film was excellent a brave and brilliant piece of filming.. I was that absorbed in the film that I didn't notice the subtitles after a few mins. The film will not be to everybodys taste but for people with an open mind in regards to religion I urge you to watch this at least once. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2012
    6
    Its Jesus getting tortured for 2 hours, but its a very intense movies. I loved the stares between people, acting is generally amazing, WhichIts Jesus getting tortured for 2 hours, but its a very intense movies. I loved the stares between people, acting is generally amazing, Which is really what carried this movie. Expand
  6. DanK.
    Dec 11, 2006
    3
    Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is responsible for Jesus's death other than GOD. Jesus was SENT to die bottom line. Secondly, as far a historical accuracy, the bible was edited by the Catholic Church far before any of us read it so, unless someone who was actually alive 2000 years ago is still alive please explain how anyone can KNOW this is actually how it happened. Now that I have gotten that out of the way I can actually review the movie. And I know someone will be upset at me for saying this but as far as the plot goes, there isn't really one. And that is why the critics panned this movie for its violence. It doesn't serve to move the plot. It's just there. The cinematography is execellent as well as the use of subtitles instead of having them speak a language foreign to them. The problem is that people aren't reviewing this as a movie they are reviewing it as a religous experiment. When I go to see a show I want to be entertained I don't want to see someone get the crap beat out of them for two hours. Say what you want about Pulp Fiction but the violence in that movie moved the plot and it was more than just blood and gore. If it isn't Jesus than nobody would give a damn about this movie. Expand
  7. CamN.
    Sep 9, 2005
    0
    I have said for years that Mel Gibson is a self-absorbed Alpha-male wannabe. Follow this pied piper to church and flagellate yourselves if I have said for years that Mel Gibson is a self-absorbed Alpha-male wannabe. Follow this pied piper to church and flagellate yourselves if you want. This film is worthless. Expand

See all 502 User Reviews

Trailers