Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 3, 2012
    100
    I adore The Perks of Being a Wallflower for its honest, unsentimental feel, which gets stretched a bit in the revelatory finale, but by then I didn't mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Touching and brimming with the energy, enthusiasm and tides of teenage love and life, 'Perks' could very well be the next classic of the genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Oct 1, 2012
    80
    An honest, affection-hooking, coming-of-age drama which proves that there is life beyond Hogwarts for Emma Watson.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 21, 2012
    67
    As Sam, the wayward stepsister of Charlie's sardonic friend Patrick (Ezra Miller), Watson doesn't lose her cool, or her warmth, in a role that might easily have devolved into terminal sappiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 20, 2012
    63
    While there are humorous and poignant moments, this angst-filled story of tender kisses, awkward dances, friends drifting apart, kindly English teachers, unrequited crushes and drug-addled partying has a nagging sense of deja vu.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    First-time writer-director Stephen Chbosky adapts his young-adult bestseller with far more passion than skill, which suits familiar scenes of adolescent awkwardness aptly enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 16, 2012
    25
    A risible, somewhat revolting piece of pop martyrdom, made for and isolated to the damaged middle class.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 76
  2. Negative: 7 out of 76
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    I have found my new favorite movie. Personally, I can relate to the characters. It's not very realistic. But then again, when are movies ever really realistic? It's sort of cliche, but there are many things that surprise you. The acting is exceptional, the soundtracks are not Top 40, and it has a deep meaning. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This movie was done perfectly. The fact that the author of this fantastic book also directed this movie, made the movie a lot like the book which I love. This movie is great for all ages especially students. This movie displays touchy subjects such as severe depression, bullying and suicide. These subjects in the movie don't encourage these behaviors like other movies, they simply show people that these do happen but being a good person and being kind to people helps. This movie is great, it was brilliantly done, I highly encourage everyone to go see it. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    infinite... that's what this movie will be. A new cult classic! Charlies journey to find himself is a wonderful uplifting struggle against the days of high school i was instantly transported to the days i both hated and loved. Go see it with a good friend Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    It's often quite hilarious while also hard-hitting, heartfelt, visually stunning, and completely engaging - the most honest, genuine John Hughes movie that John Hughes never made, seemingly pieced together (almost perfectly) with hot tips from big names in the indie spotlight. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” is a film about living life and not letting fear bind you. There also so many more underlining themes and messages within the film, such as lying, being more involved, loyalty, and so much more. It also deals with the complications of high school and the needing to fit in. It felt a lot of these themes are handled well, but the film tends to gloss over some of it. While not a big problem, it would just allow more depth to the story.

    The writing in the film is fairly strong. Like I said it handles a lot of themes, but again the film tends to gloss over some tiny things that could have made it better. For example, early on in the film the character talks about a friend he recently lost, which causes him to become so introverted, but we don’t get any real back story. On the other hand the three main characters are fairly well developed and they truly make the film. The directing is good and I like the ambiance that is created. We get a good sense of high school and the life of a teenager. A really great thing the director manages to accomplish is making us feel what the main character is feeling. When he’s shy, we’re shy, when he’s awkward, we feel awkward, and when he’s happy, we feel his happiness.

    The characters and acting are what makes this movie so good. Logan Lerman as Charlie is the awkward teenager with a troubled past. Logan does a good job of capturing the insecurities the character feels, He has little twitches and subtle body language that speaks volumes about the character. I really like how we see this character gradually changes and opens up. Emma Watson as Sam is the girl with the bad rep that’s trying to reinvent herself. She’s kind of loud at first, but when we pull away her facade we get a girl that really cares and needs some guidance. Ezra Miller as Patrick is the loud gay friend at least on the surface. As we pull back his carefree attitude we see just how much trouble he has as well. The thing about the characters in this movie is that they all have more depth to them. We learn more about them and fall in love with them.

    Overall “The Perks of Being a Wallflower,” is a pretty good film with a positive message. The writing is fairly strong, but I just wish that they would have gone more in depth with certain issues. However, the characters are likable and well performed. I give it a very high 4/5, good story with strong characters, but it just needed to go deeper into its themes.
    Expand
  6. BKM
    Feb 20, 2013
    7
    It's not perfect (neither was the book for that matter), but Stephen Chbosky does an admirable job of translating his novel to the big screen. Much of the credit goes to the young cast, particularly Logan Lerman as Charlie, for deftly capturing the joy, anxiety and sexual confusion of adolescence in a way that few films even try to. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2012
    0
    The problem with this movie is that there isn't a single likeable character throughout the whole of it. The entire movie is a cringe-fest, with quotes like "don't you just love old music" and "everything sounds better on vinyl" at every given opportunity, as if the writers were somehow trying to relate to the sort of hipsters that plaster their walls with The Beatles posters and think they're awesome for being such "individuals." Not even Emma Watson could make you want to watch this, as she plays an obnoxious and totally unrealistic free spirit movie cliche. Essentially, the movie is just an endless reel of pretend quirkyness, lackluster narration, and an extremely slow developing plot. The only people who would like this movie, are the sort of people that wear black horn-rimmed glasses and pretend the characters in this movie are oh-so relateable to their quirky and "unique" nature. It's awful, and if you thought Emma Watson was annoying in the trailer when she stands up in the back of that car, then you'll hate the rest of the characters. Oh, and Paul Rudd is only in about 3 or 4 scenes, so don't let his casting be an influence in your decision to see this terrible movie. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2012
    Find out what critics are saying about over two dozen key movies that debuted at fall's three major film festivals, including "Silver Linings Playbook," "Argo," "To the Wonder," "Cloud Atlas," "Frances Ha," and more.