Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 339 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
293
Mixed:
27
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
VadertimeSep 19, 2016
The lavish sets and the opulent production overwhelmed the story and what little character development there might have been. It's a musical, after all, but I hold movie musicals to the highest standard I know - My Fair Lady. This was slow,The lavish sets and the opulent production overwhelmed the story and what little character development there might have been. It's a musical, after all, but I hold movie musicals to the highest standard I know - My Fair Lady. This was slow, plodding and almost on life-support at certain times during the progression of the movie. Gerard Butler needs to stick to action-heroes and never take up singing again. Minnie Driver was the singular bright spot in conveying her character in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
uCallHimDrJ0NESFeb 12, 2016
If you're not already a committed "phan", stay away from this. They all pile on with their scores of 10, but that won't change the shoddy lipsync work and illogical character motivation. I expect much better than this from expensive filmIf you're not already a committed "phan", stay away from this. They all pile on with their scores of 10, but that won't change the shoddy lipsync work and illogical character motivation. I expect much better than this from expensive film musicals. Leave Lloyd-Webber's stuff in the theater where it belongs. Without the excitement of stage effects and lighting, this material falls flat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ZalJan 11, 2012
It's certainly an improvement for Joel Schumacher since Batman and Robin, but I still did not enjoy this film.
With the exception of Erik, all of these characters are completely bland. This is not the fault of Schumacher or any of the actors.
It's certainly an improvement for Joel Schumacher since Batman and Robin, but I still did not enjoy this film.
With the exception of Erik, all of these characters are completely bland. This is not the fault of Schumacher or any of the actors. None of these characters, especially Raoul and Christine, were very interesting to begin with. And even Erik in this film isn't that deep, especially when you see that his "deformity" is really just a big rash. It doesn't look that bad and it makes his song about his face seem, well, somewhat pretentious, which is a word that I feel sad using to describe one of my favorite literary anti-heroes.
The acting isn't that great either. The only one who I thought did a decent job was Patrick Wilson as Raoul. Then there is poor Miranda Richardson doing an incredibly over the top French accent that was hard not to laugh at. This is sad because I genuinly love Miranda Richardson and think she is a fantastic actress, but her acting in this movie was terrible. I don't even understand why she has that accent since everyone else is phoning it in and just doing a British accent, with the exception of Carlotta (since she is Italian) and Raoul and Christine, who for some reason speak with American accents.
The costumes and sets are creative and well made and some of the singing isn't bad, but it just wasn't a pleasant experience for me.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
BinkiJun 26, 2011
I wanted to just describe this movie in one word (terrible) but unfortunately I have to use 150 characters. Gerard Butler was terrible, the all acting was terrible, the story was terrible, everything was terrible, there was not a single goodI wanted to just describe this movie in one word (terrible) but unfortunately I have to use 150 characters. Gerard Butler was terrible, the all acting was terrible, the story was terrible, everything was terrible, there was not a single good thing in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
casillero22Oct 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i didn't pay a cent for watching this movie, thanks heaven... for those who said "oh, i luv the phantom, oh i luv the costumes blah blah blah..." let me tell you, this movie sucks in a very very disgusting way... the plot is full of holes... they totally changed it from the original story! there is no sense of consistency between scenes! the actors, oh my **** god, they suck!! i mean, epic suck.
someone said "Wow!The Movie was great. I love the Phantom. I dont like Raoul.Christine & Phantom 4ever! " ... well, that kind of thought means you are a complete brainless idiot... avoid making a fool out of yourselves with that kind of comments. sayonara.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
ViggoS.Jun 7, 2009
I always thought that Gerard Butler was straight, but i don't anymore. this movie is so boring, that it would kill a hamster. (In lovely memory of my hamster) the hold story doesn't make any sense.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoshLApr 12, 2009
Ugh. The music isn't what bugs me. Its the fact that this attempts to be a musical drama that holds no dramatic interest. Schumacher is so interested in making his first good film that he focuses on everything asthetic and nothing Ugh. The music isn't what bugs me. Its the fact that this attempts to be a musical drama that holds no dramatic interest. Schumacher is so interested in making his first good film that he focuses on everything asthetic and nothing human. I felt nothing thru the entire movie. There's no suspense at all. I had never read the original book or seen the play and I still managed to predict what happened next. Maybe if it attempted to be edgy instead of pretending while still remainng pretty harmless. Every man in this film is a little girl and the women just don't THINK! There is a talented cast that gets squandered by an overly sappy ending filled with pointless reprises (seriously? the Phantoms dramatic contemplative moment is to Masqurade? I laughed out loud) and anti-climactic confrontations. This gets a 3 simply because of the very talented Emmy Rossum who does all she can to save the movie and is also super hot. I see why the phantom is nuts for her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GuidoApr 4, 2008
This is one of the worst, if not the worst flm I have ever seen. I can only ascribe the myriad of 10 ratings that this film has recieved to the brain damage of teh respective reviewers, or perhaps they were so abused as children that thye no This is one of the worst, if not the worst flm I have ever seen. I can only ascribe the myriad of 10 ratings that this film has recieved to the brain damage of teh respective reviewers, or perhaps they were so abused as children that thye no longer can tell good from bad. This movie is criminally bad, a constipated, bombastic, kitsch, heinous, trainwreck of a film that is an embarrassment to articulate human beings. I gave it a 1 because I can imagine less pleasant experiences such as having boiling acid injected directly into my eyes whilst. I don't think my ears will ever recover. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
SimonDec 7, 2006
Come on, don't think we can't spot that the User Ratings for this film have been seriously rigged...you could at least have made it a bit more subtle by giving the odd 8 or 9...strings of 10's are just too blatant. It's a Come on, don't think we can't spot that the User Ratings for this film have been seriously rigged...you could at least have made it a bit more subtle by giving the odd 8 or 9...strings of 10's are just too blatant. It's a so-bad-it's-rather-funny film, and I wouldn't put anybody who wanted a giggle off watching it on that basis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatherineJul 28, 2006
Why did they make this? I mean the fun of watching the first one is becuase it's in black and white and it's silent. I think thats the fun. But this is in color and in sound. Just like most of the other re-makes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
John---Oct 29, 2005
Ponderous and pompous; detracts from the original play with ridiculous additons (sword fight, death trap, interminable journeys, and motion-sickness-inducing camera swoops).
0 of 0 users found this helpful