Focus Features | Release Date: December 27, 2002
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 386 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
311
Mixed:
20
Negative:
55
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JarrydsAug 31, 2010
The Pianist brights a completely new perception to the "war" genre; instead of depicting the protagonist as heroic, noble, or courageous, he is simply portrayed as the man caught in the midst of it. This provides the film with a soberingThe Pianist brights a completely new perception to the "war" genre; instead of depicting the protagonist as heroic, noble, or courageous, he is simply portrayed as the man caught in the midst of it. This provides the film with a sobering sense of realism, and will emotionally devastate, and aesthetically astound viewers, not the mention the superlative performance from Adrien Brody. Improves on each viewing. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
I especially appreciate this movie for portraying people as real as it gets. There are no only good or bad sides here. It shows us that the war never really changed poeple to mindless warmongering zombies. There were bad and good peopleI especially appreciate this movie for portraying people as real as it gets. There are no only good or bad sides here. It shows us that the war never really changed poeple to mindless warmongering zombies. There were bad and good people everywhere. The story of a young Jewish radio pianist is interesting as the perspective is shown from his secret flat provided by the Polish. Everything he experienced most of the time was viewing from his apartment`s window. The apocalyptic reality of ghettos also have some time in this movie so we can see how he Germans treated their slaves. The character played by Adrien Brody is likeable and interesting to the point we want to stick with the story. And in this movie we see another page of history which is Germans destroying Warsaw. In the end I felt sorry for Wilm Hosenfeld and I reflected upon how unjust and random war is. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
jack977May 10, 2014
An extremely humane tale of pure survival, The Pianist is undoubtedly one of Polanski's finest works - realistic, unflinching and never resorting to even the slightest melodrama.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
An entirely new perspective on the dark times of the Holocaust, The Pianist is a poignant masterpiece. Adrien Brody's portrayal of Szpilman is staggering and awe-inspiring. Roman Polanski has had many greats during his career, but this justAn entirely new perspective on the dark times of the Holocaust, The Pianist is a poignant masterpiece. Adrien Brody's portrayal of Szpilman is staggering and awe-inspiring. Roman Polanski has had many greats during his career, but this just may be his finest work. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ColombiaGamesJan 20, 2013
This movie tells a story that we cannot forget , it is very shocking how the human being tries to live also known as survival escaping from the nazis. Everyone should se this movie because it has a great and amazing story to tell.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysApr 3, 2014
The Pianist is a breathtaking and outstanding film by Polanski. The acting is great, and the cinematography is gritty yet beautiful. But what makes The Pianist stand out from other films of this genre is how it portrays the Germans soThe Pianist is a breathtaking and outstanding film by Polanski. The acting is great, and the cinematography is gritty yet beautiful. But what makes The Pianist stand out from other films of this genre is how it portrays the Germans so antagonistic and ruthless, more than almost any other film I've seen, except for maybe "Schindler's List". Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PfenderStrat621Aug 23, 2014
This Palme D'or winner movie is one of the best movies i have ever seen. It connects emotionally with the audience, the music by Frederic Chopin is beautiful and the performances are very good. This movie is the reason why musicians struggleThis Palme D'or winner movie is one of the best movies i have ever seen. It connects emotionally with the audience, the music by Frederic Chopin is beautiful and the performances are very good. This movie is the reason why musicians struggle to live just to do what they love, art! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelAAug 11, 2009
One of the best films to see WWII through the eyes of survivor, not a warrior, simply heart-wrenching yet magnificent, my favorite from Polanski
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoshL.Jan 15, 2003
In my humble opinion, this film tops both "Schindler's List" and "Life is Beautiful". I was getting tired of the same thing: "We must never forget." This movie is about a man's survival and it happens to be during the Holocaust. In my humble opinion, this film tops both "Schindler's List" and "Life is Beautiful". I was getting tired of the same thing: "We must never forget." This movie is about a man's survival and it happens to be during the Holocaust. This story is told with a "raw" truth. There are no fancy film tricks or fx. The thing that stays most with me is Adrien Brody's metamorphosis. He starts off as a normal human being but by the end of the movie you can look into his eyes and see an absence of something. All that mattered was surviving. This is a film that every Jew and everyone should see. If this picture should win any Oscars, which it should, it will not be because its about the Holocaust, but rather because it is great filmmaking! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YoonMinC.Oct 23, 2003
Polanski gives us the horror of Nazi occupation not only from within the Warsaw ghetto but from within the trapped soul of the central character. Because the film sticks subjectively close to its hero we feel the full weight of being hounded Polanski gives us the horror of Nazi occupation not only from within the Warsaw ghetto but from within the trapped soul of the central character. Because the film sticks subjectively close to its hero we feel the full weight of being hounded and hunted. Few films have caught such frightening sense of doom and isolation. The title of the movie is almost an ironic joke--what good is a pianist amidst the horror?--yet the meaning of artistic passion lingers and survives as one of the last vestiges of humanity and positive values in a cruel world. Unsentimental, heartstopping, and brutal but never without deep, committed moral sense. A welcome antidote in the age of Tarantino whose films after Reservoir Dogs have goaded us into laughing like hyenas at inhumanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KumarV.Mar 30, 2003
Absolutely the most beautiful picture I've ever seen. It made me feel things I've never felt before. My god, how I hate Hitler and the Nazis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoanC.Apr 6, 2003
This film left me breathless, and the images brought to the audience stayed with me until now, even though it has two weeks since I watched it. I have no doubt at all that the images will remain forever. Adrien Brody portrayal of Wladyslaw This film left me breathless, and the images brought to the audience stayed with me until now, even though it has two weeks since I watched it. I have no doubt at all that the images will remain forever. Adrien Brody portrayal of Wladyslaw Szpilman was completely deserving of the Oscar, I commend you, AMPAS. May you keep up this level of voting for many coming years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RayM.Jun 7, 2003
First off, I am an avid student of the horrors of the Holocaust. I think that history should not allow anyone to forget this polar extreme of evil and should use history as a tool to prevent it from ever happening again. The movie itself was First off, I am an avid student of the horrors of the Holocaust. I think that history should not allow anyone to forget this polar extreme of evil and should use history as a tool to prevent it from ever happening again. The movie itself was ok. I think I will always compare every Holocaust movie to Schindler's List, which one of the few movies that really emotionally moves me. What I really feel was missing from this movie was human emotion throughout. I feel this movie's focus was more towards the physical and psychological pain that these people endured at that moment, rather than the emotional setback...which to me is unique. These people didn't have time to grieve as fear and confusion dominated their lives. I feel that is really portrayed here. The scene involving the German officer and main character is what I really consider genius. It takes the reality of the situation and puts it in perspective. A perspective that there is no doubt the Germans where wrong, and it is good to see that acknowledged, even in a movie. I think this is something that those are interested in should see. I almost just bought it outright, but I rented it and I'm glad I did. I isn't a movie I would watch on a semi regular basis. Also, I didn't let me bias against Roman Polanski hurt this rating or my opinion. I think if there is any truth to what he has done to children he should be severely punished, great director or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChetnikDec 31, 2002
This film is brilliant. Unlike most holocaust films, it does not try to tug at heart strings and make people cry. It doesn't try to tell a story of a hero who saves the world. In a sense, this is probably the most realistic holocaust This film is brilliant. Unlike most holocaust films, it does not try to tug at heart strings and make people cry. It doesn't try to tell a story of a hero who saves the world. In a sense, this is probably the most realistic holocaust film because it's about a man who simply wants to survive. And the only thing the Germans can't take from him is his talent and love for music. From the first shot of Brody in a room by himself, you get the idea that this film is about a man's isolation in the world. And later on you will see many scenes of him by himself. Alone in a world with only his art. This is one of Polanski's best films! For all those who respect his great work, you will see he's returned to his roots. This is a harsh film, but a real film. A MUST SEE!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcK.Jan 5, 2003
I guess since I think this is the best picture of the year, I have to rate it a 10! I had read parts of the novel "Beach Music" awhile ago, and many of the brutal scenes in the ghetto reminded me of the book. Polanski does a great job here I guess since I think this is the best picture of the year, I have to rate it a 10! I had read parts of the novel "Beach Music" awhile ago, and many of the brutal scenes in the ghetto reminded me of the book. Polanski does a great job here conveying what things were like at that time, and I had a nightmare that evening trying to go to sleep. I'm not sure the Academy will recognize "another Holocaust movie" after "Life is Beautiful" and "Schindler's List", but this ranks up there with the both of them! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarryR.Jan 8, 2003
"The Pianist" is the story of a musician who survives the brutal and inhumane treatment by the Nazis of the Jews in Poland, his homeland. More importantly, it is a movie starring Adrian Broady which is based upon and true to the book "The "The Pianist" is the story of a musician who survives the brutal and inhumane treatment by the Nazis of the Jews in Poland, his homeland. More importantly, it is a movie starring Adrian Broady which is based upon and true to the book "The Pianist" written by this musician 4 years after WWII. It is his personal story but it is also the general story of Nazi prejudice at its worst. It is not an easy movie to watch but it is an important movie to see. Directed by Roman Polanski, a survivor himself, the movie becomes a documentary depiciting one man's ability and good fortune to survive a terrible nightmare. I felt a real identification with his plight because he could have been any or every Jew in the world. The movie is historically accurate and quite well acted. Though pretty long in duration, it still gets a 9 rating because it tells its message well even though it spends a lot of time in the process. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Feb 19, 2003
An outstanding film... my pick for the best of 2002. Adrien Brody's performance is clearly Oscar-worthy. The beauty amid the horror is striking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyMar 10, 2003
Robert you are on the money. The Pianist by far blows away the competition for Best Motion Picture. It demonstrates just one man's struggle to survive so you can feel his pain during his 6 tortured years. This is a must see movie for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LassisterP.Mar 10, 2003
Definitely one of the best movies of the year. Although over 2 hours long, one just sits nervously on the edge of his seat and wonders if not for the grace of God how did this man ever survive? After watching this horror of just 60 short Definitely one of the best movies of the year. Although over 2 hours long, one just sits nervously on the edge of his seat and wonders if not for the grace of God how did this man ever survive? After watching this horror of just 60 short years ago, I now understand why Saddam must be stopped and stoppped now! As the credits roll at the end of the film, no one utters a sound. That is how moving The Pianist is! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WarrenMar 23, 2003
There aren't enough superlatives to write what a masterpiece this film truly is. Do not be surprised it it is the dark horse to win Best Picture. It is much deserving as is Roman Polanski. This is a film that will stay with you long There aren't enough superlatives to write what a masterpiece this film truly is. Do not be surprised it it is the dark horse to win Best Picture. It is much deserving as is Roman Polanski. This is a film that will stay with you long after you have left the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayL.Mar 24, 2003
Saw the movie today after all the Oscars last night. All that I can say is "WOW". This is the best movie I have seen in many many years. It would not have surprised me if it had won best picture because it willl stay with the viewer for a Saw the movie today after all the Oscars last night. All that I can say is "WOW". This is the best movie I have seen in many many years. It would not have surprised me if it had won best picture because it willl stay with the viewer for a long time. The Academy finally got it right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Mar 8, 2003
I recently watched this movie and was absolutely blown away as it was simply exceptional. In today's troubled times, it's ironic that as the world is at the brink of war, The Pianist, is as topical now as it was back in 1939. I I recently watched this movie and was absolutely blown away as it was simply exceptional. In today's troubled times, it's ironic that as the world is at the brink of war, The Pianist, is as topical now as it was back in 1939. I cannot help but think that the parallel between the two is the same. The world community is divided in that many simply wish to bury their heads in the sand, rather than take a preemptive position to stand up for those who are unable to defend themselves. That is exactly what happened as Hitler marched his way to power as the world stood idly by in the 1930s. In the Pianist, you watch in horror as the Polish people are first invaded, then the Jews are singled out. Walls are built in the ghetto, and one by one, every human right and dignity is stripped away. Finally, all that remains is the basic human will to survive whatever the cost? As you watch the scenes unfold, it is quite evident that the Polish people are praying for America, Great Britain, and France to come to their aid. Unfortunately, our policy then was to hope we would not become involved? Then December 7, 1941, happened! We were caught off guard and forced into WW II. As a result, America saved the world from evil, but at a price that cost many their lives. One must ask themselves what would have happened if we had stood up to the bully long before 1941? In 2003, we face an identical situation again with Saddam. It is impossible to believe how the French are not with the United States? If not for we, Americans, the French would be speaking German today. The Pianist is timely in that it demonstrates the price to the entire world when moral decent human beings do not band together? If we do not learn from history, then we are bound to repeat it. If for no other reason, everyone who reads this review should go see this movie. If Saddam is not disarmed now, then it is only a matter of time until an event much larger than September 11th occurs. It is no longer true that our oceans protect America from attack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronApr 1, 2003
Without a doubt one of the finest movies made in many years. If The Pianist does not stay with you after you leave the theater, then you are not breathing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyC.Apr 16, 2003
I always wondered how people stood idly by and permitted the Holocaust to occur? As I watched the scenes in The Pianist unfold, it finally gave me that realization. I watched in quiet agony, as one by one, each human right was stripped away. I always wondered how people stood idly by and permitted the Holocaust to occur? As I watched the scenes in The Pianist unfold, it finally gave me that realization. I watched in quiet agony, as one by one, each human right was stripped away. The sad part is that the people went along with the requests (Nazi orders) until they had been beaten into the ground. It was only then at the very bottom that rebels started to fight back. As we look at history, there is a very strong similarity to Saddam and Hitler. What if some nation had the courage and conviction to stand up to the bully before his march to power? At the conclusion of the film not one person utters a word as the credit rolls. I was just overwhelmed with the emotion of this film. It will stay with you long after you leave the theater. The Pianist is very much deserving of all the accolades it has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolAnnApr 18, 2003
Konrad is on the money with his review. The most amazing thing about The Pianist is that if this happened in America, our reaction would not be any different from what happened in Poland. At first, we would just ignore the insults and the Konrad is on the money with his review. The most amazing thing about The Pianist is that if this happened in America, our reaction would not be any different from what happened in Poland. At first, we would just ignore the insults and the taking away of basic rights as that of a short term maniacal dictator. We would think that sooner or later, someone would stand up to the bully. But, unfortunately, as we all now know, history has taught us that if WE do not stand down the bully and take action ourselves, we are doomed. The Pianist reveals this sobriety in its most ugly form. We watch in horror as we feel the pain of a good man and a wonderful family. Man's will to survive usurps all other needs. The story presents bad Jews acting as the police for the Nazi's, and good non-Jews helping Jews, as well as high ranking Nazi's comprehending the pain and suffering they were inflicting and trying to make a difference. All of the raw emotion good and bad is presented to the viewer from all perspectives. This is a must see film for all that is a true masterpiece. It is much deserving of all the accolades it has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DelvinD.Apr 24, 2003
Unquestionably one of the best movies made in the last decade. The proof is that after you leave the theater, you will never never forget what you saw. An absolute masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WendyApr 20, 2003
An absolute brilliant masterpiece that simply takes your breath away. Kudo's to all for this superlative work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DewayneP.Apr 29, 2003
The best movie made in many a year. It will stay with you forever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetS.Apr 5, 2003
An absolute masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyB.May 12, 2003
It is extremely rare that a motion picture lives up to the hype that it receives? The Pianist is that and more. There aren't enough superlatives to describe how artistic and moving this film is. It is the perfect movie and will stay It is extremely rare that a motion picture lives up to the hype that it receives? The Pianist is that and more. There aren't enough superlatives to describe how artistic and moving this film is. It is the perfect movie and will stay with you forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful