Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 10, 2004
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
38
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MichaelF.Jul 6, 2006
the greatest job was done on the animation, being very realistic, and the sounds of the train being the most spectacular i ever witnessed in an animation. i enjoyed watching this film, and it is the best animation i have ever seen. it's the greatest job was done on the animation, being very realistic, and the sounds of the train being the most spectacular i ever witnessed in an animation. i enjoyed watching this film, and it is the best animation i have ever seen. it's a 10/10 well deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Mar 22, 2006
Exhilirating in its imagination & point-of-view through a child's eyes. Mesmerizing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alexl.Dec 18, 2005
That was cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorenJ.Dec 24, 2005
In our house, the movie completely captivated it's intended audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnaB.Dec 17, 2007
Wonderful. Magical. A Holidays classic.
8 of 8 users found this helpful
10
ChadOJun 28, 2008
This movie is simply incredible. I loved everything about it, the characters, the storyline, the music. The thing I loved most of all was the incredible visuals. I would definently recommend this movie to anyone who has not seen it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MarkyMarkNov 26, 2005
I find reviewers' reaction to this film and their comments say a lot about the kind of person they probably are inside. After watching this amazing movie, I was glad to discover that I am an emotionally healthy and alive human being. I I find reviewers' reaction to this film and their comments say a lot about the kind of person they probably are inside. After watching this amazing movie, I was glad to discover that I am an emotionally healthy and alive human being. I am both the adult i am now and the 8 year old kid I was 46 years ago. I had tears running down my cheeks. Absolutely wonderful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
It is a Christmas classic that you will remember forever. The Polar Express stretches the true meaning of the season with an amazing story that you will never forget.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
OscarOrNotMar 12, 2012
Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettNov 19, 2013
How hard skin you should have to rate this movie low. Did you ever have good Christmas, poor people? This is a tale, magical and wonderful. Light Christmas tale about the spirit of celebration. Do you want to be a child for couple of hoursHow hard skin you should have to rate this movie low. Did you ever have good Christmas, poor people? This is a tale, magical and wonderful. Light Christmas tale about the spirit of celebration. Do you want to be a child for couple of hours again, want to feel this spirit of Christmas? Then try this movie, gather your family, your parents if you are young, your kids if you are old and enjoy. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 21, 2014
it never gets old well sometimes it does watching polar express . Its like a family tradition watching one of a classic christmas movies on Christmas eve or any day on december
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
MalamarNov 6, 2014
I love this movie. This is a movie that you can sit down with your family and get a bag of popcorn and have a good time. Thus movie is one of a kind its so original. With a great cast and funny cast. With a Christmas theme train going to theI love this movie. This is a movie that you can sit down with your family and get a bag of popcorn and have a good time. Thus movie is one of a kind its so original. With a great cast and funny cast. With a Christmas theme train going to the North Pole to see Santa. The adventure is just amazing and it looks beautiful. This is a movie you have to see. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
BeastprogamerJul 12, 2015
One of the best or if not, THE best christmas/ holiday movie in my opinion, Polar Express is a very great movie. Outside, it is snowing and the kids watching the film drinking hot chocolate, this movie is PERFECT for that IMO. The storylineOne of the best or if not, THE best christmas/ holiday movie in my opinion, Polar Express is a very great movie. Outside, it is snowing and the kids watching the film drinking hot chocolate, this movie is PERFECT for that IMO. The storyline is good. The characters are very good. The voice Acting was awesome and great especially Tom Hanks. The animation is perfect. The sounds and music were good. The Polar Express is a very great film and if you hate it, you're BEYOND silly as JB. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
lomeliJun 16, 2015
This may be nostalgia talking, but I have yet to find a film since The Polar Express that so perfectly encapsulates the sheer magic and spirit that accompanies Christmas time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
YellowKirbySep 10, 2015
This is the most magical Christmas movie ever. I'm not usually a fan of the phrase 'instant classic;, but this truly is one. People who don't like this clearly can no longer hear the ringing of the silver bell.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DanBurritoSep 25, 2015
This is easily the best Christmas movie ever made. I watch it every year around December and it never gets old. I don't know why people call the animation "unsettling" because I've saw this when I was like four and I wasn't even a LITTLE bitThis is easily the best Christmas movie ever made. I watch it every year around December and it never gets old. I don't know why people call the animation "unsettling" because I've saw this when I was like four and I wasn't even a LITTLE bit freaked out. There are some great songs (my favourite being "Hot Chocolate") and great characters. Recommended for ALL ages. A Christmas Classic. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
simonerodriguezMar 13, 2016
no words can explain how this movie made me feel! it was one of the BEST movies i ever saw! Everything about this movie was perfect, i cried like a baby!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AdamL.Sep 11, 2007
Perfect in every way, except for the "cameo" appearance by Steve Tyler of Aerosmith. What was Zemeckis thinking?? That horrible misjudgment aside, this film is pure movie magic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterJ.Dec 8, 2005
Great family movie. Best Christmas movie I have seen possibly ever. My young children loved it, as did I.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
One of the best animated features of the past year, charming and visually stunning, one of the best Christmas movies ever made, it has majesty and overall grandness that reassures a grand aventure with the dazzling polar express.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Oct 27, 2010
The best christmas movie of the year. way to go, Robert Zemeckis. you were fantastic making this huge hit.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
The Polar Express is one of my favourite Christmas movies. I feel it has a really good Christmas spirit to it and is good for the whole family. It is one of those movies I find myself wanting to rewatch every holiday season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
[Anonymous]Feb 22, 2008
It is my favorite Christmas film next to National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation. This is an amazing film. Yes it does have some overreacting when it comes to the girl's love for Christmas. Yes their eyes make them look like zombies. It is my favorite Christmas film next to National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation. This is an amazing film. Yes it does have some overreacting when it comes to the girl's love for Christmas. Yes their eyes make them look like zombies. But it was great and it is for you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakeB.Aug 9, 2006
THE POLAR EXPRESS tells the story of a boy who's lost all faith in Santa, but, is thrusted into a magical world where "seeing is believing." Though it may take a few viewings, this film is some very good material. It took me a grand THE POLAR EXPRESS tells the story of a boy who's lost all faith in Santa, but, is thrusted into a magical world where "seeing is believing." Though it may take a few viewings, this film is some very good material. It took me a grand total of 3 times to truly absorb it all. It's not confusing... it's all just so... curious. A ghost bum on a train, show stopping musical numbers and possibly creepy animation ; how does all of this fit into the picture book narrative of Chris Van Allsburg's picture book? Don't ask me but in the hands of Zemeckis and Hanks it all seems to gel into an enthralling holiday experience. Overall: B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaptainS.Nov 27, 2005
Good holiday film for all ages. The visuals were good and the acting very well done. The storyline seemed tied down to sliding, skiing, sleding, movement type actions which seemed a little old by the time we get to the North Pole however, Good holiday film for all ages. The visuals were good and the acting very well done. The storyline seemed tied down to sliding, skiing, sleding, movement type actions which seemed a little old by the time we get to the North Pole however, and the Steven Tyler elf at the end could've been eliminated all together IMO. Now to address the whole "creepiness" feel of the characters...the eyes are then window to the soul gang. Artists, work on it! Again, nice movie with some good stuff for everyone. And, BTW, all of you out there who looked at this movie and Santa as nothing but commercialism need to learn how to "believe" yourself. You miss the whole point of Santa Claus to begin with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JJFerreiraDec 4, 2005
The Polar Express is interesting in it's conception, creative in it's execution and charming in many small but meaningful ways. Others reviewers have zeroed in on the technical flaws and limitations of attempting to adequately The Polar Express is interesting in it's conception, creative in it's execution and charming in many small but meaningful ways. Others reviewers have zeroed in on the technical flaws and limitations of attempting to adequately capture human emotions in animation, especially in eyes. Technology can always be improved upon and, in time, those limitations that exist in this films will likely be overcome. Where Polar Express shines is in the ability to convey the simple yet oft-forsaken idea that wonder, belief, trust and friendship are compatable with adulthood and maturity. The idea that belief, not just in Sanata Claus or the North Pole or elves but in one another, in family and in friends is as vital an element in life as breathing, eating and sleeping. To dismiss this film as a technological wonder or a paean to childish dreams is to close one's mind to the deeper meaning found within the story. It isn't mindless feel-good entertainment nor is it ideologically-laden cinema art. It is a reminder that anyone with the desire can find hope and honesty if only they allow themselves to believe. In the grans scheme of things, perhaps that's not such a bad discovery to make, especially if one has grown jaded and cynical as they have aged. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyB.Dec 6, 2006
This movie is great for the whole family to watch with all aspects covered like laughter, heart-warming moments and even some action here and there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EvanP.Dec 11, 2009
This Movie successfully captures the wonder and magic of Christmas. I don't care if it promotes false truths. Most who hate this movie have forgotten what it was like to spend Christmas as a child and can therefore not connect with this This Movie successfully captures the wonder and magic of Christmas. I don't care if it promotes false truths. Most who hate this movie have forgotten what it was like to spend Christmas as a child and can therefore not connect with this movie. While it is simplistic in its plot and has excessively busy visuals, it doesn't take anything away from its spirit. My only complaint would have to be the elves that are introduced at the end of the film... Creepy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CRLAug 27, 2011
Exquisite animation brings the world of the beloved children's book to life, while a suitable script and excellent voice acting take care of the rest. Polar Express is great from beginning to end.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Jboy2468May 3, 2012
Let me start with a tip: Wait until Christmastime to watch this movie! The whole film is based on Christmas and the North Ple. The visuals are amazing and the characters act realistic. The story almost feels "random" at times, but has itsLet me start with a tip: Wait until Christmastime to watch this movie! The whole film is based on Christmas and the North Ple. The visuals are amazing and the characters act realistic. The story almost feels "random" at times, but has its great points. Great around Christmas, pointless before or after December! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Jun 4, 2012
The Polar Express at times is visually dazzling. It has a nice and sweet message and moments of awe but the film lacks an extreme amount of fun. I give this movie 78%.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
A unique way of animating the story from the 1985 children's story, putting their own spin on some scenes.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
It's honestly fascinating to see this film garner such a huge cult following after initially being seen as just "okay." Years after release, many consider it to be a wonderful Christmas film, and why not? Even though the character models areIt's honestly fascinating to see this film garner such a huge cult following after initially being seen as just "okay." Years after release, many consider it to be a wonderful Christmas film, and why not? Even though the character models are off-putting, the overall visual design is great, the story is pretty solid, the film stays true to the book (not easy to do when the book is as short as it is), and it features some really touching moments. "The Polar Express" is a great film that's definitely a worthy watch during the Holiday season. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
Perhaps one of the best Christmas movies you could pick for your kids to watch. It's visually stunning and the animation is spot on. Though the singing may be a bit cringeworthy for older viewers, its classic tunes are perfect for youngsters.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
TonyB.Jan 1, 2006
This is a magical adventure that is the most beautiful film of its kind I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WriteFilmLive21Dec 17, 2012
"The Polar Express" - Robert Zemeckis's first foray into motion-capture animated features - is a lovely and delightful holiday film, beautifully animated and packed to the seams with creativity, imagination, zaniness, and a truly wonderful"The Polar Express" - Robert Zemeckis's first foray into motion-capture animated features - is a lovely and delightful holiday film, beautifully animated and packed to the seams with creativity, imagination, zaniness, and a truly wonderful music score (although the main theme is played perhaps a tad too frequently). Some of the effects come off a bit dated now, since animation has advanced so quickly since then, but it is nonethless a great movie, and an easy must-watch around every Christmas time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysApr 21, 2014
The Polar Express is not Zemeckis' best film, but not his worst. The animation is quite good, and the movie is generally entertaining, but there is something about the story that doesn't quite connect with you.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
cbeers2513Dec 20, 2013
The Polar Express has the magic to become a holiday classic but is marred by technical bugs and plot failures. While there are countless memorable moments on the train, its passengers fail to leave any impact on an emotional level. All of theThe Polar Express has the magic to become a holiday classic but is marred by technical bugs and plot failures. While there are countless memorable moments on the train, its passengers fail to leave any impact on an emotional level. All of the children are bland and ghostlike, and only Hanks' conductor provides a spark of life into the movie. However, the spirit of Christmas in this film is nearly unrivaled in Hollywood, possessing an instantly likable sense of innocence and charm that is extremely refreshing. The atmosphere, sense of wonder, and overall theme are what powers the movie forward, propelling it above its flaws into a memorable experience for all ages. While it is not at the top of the holiday wish list, it is able to scale the mountain through its undeniable charm. In short, this is one train you should get on board.

7.5/10

Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
The story of a boy who boards a train to meet the big guy, Santa, himself. He's caught between believing and not. It's such an adventure of excitement and merriment. It's sure to be a holiday classic.
I love Tom Hanks.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
teddylukeApr 23, 2015
the polar express is a good movie to watch on the holidays. the charters where either good ok or bad but tolerable. the ending was really good I say check it out.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 3, 2017
The Polar Express can't beat numerous other animated films like "The Incredibles" and "The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie", but for whatever heart this film has and takes, it manages to be a heartwarming welcome and heartbreaking goodbye.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
gameguardian21Sep 26, 2016
The polar express is actually a pretty good Christmas movie. While it doesn't have any much good characters, it's story is presented well with pretty good animation style, and a nice theme to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
reviewfrom19842Feb 2, 2017
The Polar Express I watch this movie every time around Christmas it's the perfect Christmas movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews