Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 25, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 167 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
115
Mixed:
40
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
A113Sep 25, 2011
Beginning in 1989 with The Little Mermaid, Disney entered its "Golden Age". For ten years, they produced spectacular masterpieces such as Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King, and The Hunchback of Notre Dame. In the 2000's, however,Beginning in 1989 with The Little Mermaid, Disney entered its "Golden Age". For ten years, they produced spectacular masterpieces such as Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King, and The Hunchback of Notre Dame. In the 2000's, however, everything changed; while there were some good Disney movies being released (the hilarious Emperor's New Groove, the heart-warming Lilo and Stitch, the underrated Brother Bear, etc.), Disney began to lose it's "magic touch", and traditional hand-drawn animation almost became a lost art. That was, until Disney began production on a new princess movie: The Princess and the Frog (originally titled "The Frog Prince"). As you would expect from any great Disney film, the animation is great, the characters are lovable, the music is enjoyable, the songs are catchy, the message is powerful, and the story is clever and heart-warming. Sure, Randy Newman is no Alan Menken, but his jazzy music style fits the New Orleans setting perfectly, and Tiana, the hard-working and kind-hearted protagonist, is a great role model for little girls. This movie is not only a great comeback for Disney, but it's also one of the best Disney films of the past ten years, and I highly recommend it for animation fans of all ages. (I won't spoil anything, but be sure you have a box of tissues with you when you watch this movie. Like most great Disney films, this one's a tear-jerker.) Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
It has some great music and fantastic animation with a few memorable characters, but without a memorable villain and a story we have seen loads before it almost is has the potential to be bad, but with the traditional Disney animation I enjoyIt has some great music and fantastic animation with a few memorable characters, but without a memorable villain and a story we have seen loads before it almost is has the potential to be bad, but with the traditional Disney animation I enjoy it. I give this movie 76%. Not worthy of eight stars. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 5, 2011
"The Princess and the Frog" differs from all that royal (white) princesses and stuff. The tone's very jazzy and light-hearted, which might get quite cheesy or over exaggerated at times, but is very amusing to watch such movie with love and"The Princess and the Frog" differs from all that royal (white) princesses and stuff. The tone's very jazzy and light-hearted, which might get quite cheesy or over exaggerated at times, but is very amusing to watch such movie with love and friendship, the major components the Disney princess classics fail to pertain. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
IsaacSMar 20, 2010
A good comeback for Disney, but it doesn't top any other Disney Classic, but it has the potential to become one.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
gm101Dec 4, 2010
Excellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after a long absence, and I do hope the upcoming Winnie the Pooh movie won't be the last Disney 2d movie.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
MichaelDMay 8, 2011
I wouldn't call this movie bad. But I would put this movie between average and good. Don't get me wrong, Disney did a good job remaking this movie but these kind of movies aren't really my type.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
ESS180Oct 8, 2010
This movie is terrible!!!
Even though it's a girls movie i still went to see it and it was stupid.
The songs are stupid, it's not even fun to watch.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
Moviefan101Apr 9, 2012
This was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will never watch a more horrificly bad film like that again... Hopefully
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
4
EggyGJan 28, 2010
The story concept & setting are interesting....promising fresh approach & view to classic tale. BUT the execution and production value just terrible...below average animation, so-so voice talent, average music, boring dialog...really bring The story concept & setting are interesting....promising fresh approach & view to classic tale. BUT the execution and production value just terrible...below average animation, so-so voice talent, average music, boring dialog...really bring down the whole movie to amateurish quality. Just too bad. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JamesHMar 10, 2010
This movie follows the standard Disney formula. Bad guy is drawn thin and angular - looks the same as all Disney villains. Story completely predictable. The animation, however, looks great and the movie is well done even if it is uninspired. This movie follows the standard Disney formula. Bad guy is drawn thin and angular - looks the same as all Disney villains. Story completely predictable. The animation, however, looks great and the movie is well done even if it is uninspired. Disney needs to start making original films, like Pixar, instead of movies of fairy tales. Start showing some creativity. The biggest letdown of all, for me anyway, was the Randy Newman soundtrack. The songs were simply not catchy. You won't remember any songs after leaving the theater. Overall a good, solid Disney film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SamSFeb 28, 2010
Not even close to the complexity and brilliance of many other recent Disney movies, such as "Up." Boring, predictable plot and ending. Extremely disappointing, especially for a huge Disney fan. Someone must have felt sorry for New Orleans Not even close to the complexity and brilliance of many other recent Disney movies, such as "Up." Boring, predictable plot and ending. Extremely disappointing, especially for a huge Disney fan. Someone must have felt sorry for New Orleans and made a movie featuring the city. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JacobOct 30, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Princess and the Frog is a great movie. The main characters are good and have an interesting relationship. The villain is cool. The message is awesome and differs from the typical Disney message. The story is good as well. It is the same story we Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Iky009Jan 4, 2014
Divertido, colorido e cheio de canções, A Princesa e o Sapo interessante cheio de personagens engraçados e uma história bem trabalhada..............
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
a113disneypixarNov 10, 2013
Great Disney....BRAVO!!!THE PRINCESS AND THE FROG is what we wantfrom a studio like you....I think Disney is back and give us that we want!!!i belive in the future Disney give us more wonderfll stories and it will be the first animation studio again
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JamieDJan 5, 2010
John, Ron, Lasseter and the others at Disney have proved without doubt that it is the storytelling ability, and not the medium which sells tickets. Good story, great songs, funny, and not an entirely predictable ending. This finally feels John, Ron, Lasseter and the others at Disney have proved without doubt that it is the storytelling ability, and not the medium which sells tickets. Good story, great songs, funny, and not an entirely predictable ending. This finally feels like the rebirth of classic Disney, yet fresh for a modern audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonLDec 23, 2009
A triumphant return to tradition indeed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TinaCJan 1, 2010
A wonderful movie yet I thought it could have been much better. I agree with Judy T. there wasn't really a memorable song.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewPJan 19, 2010
Princess and the Frog was a delightful Cajun spiced black fantasy extravaganza. A+!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TeddiLJan 31, 2010
Raymond the Cajun Firefly completely stole the show! To me, the entire plot is a vehicle for him. I'm in love with a joyous firefly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisCFeb 17, 2010
This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire 97-minute screening, there wasn't a single actual joke (it mostly relied on predictable This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire 97-minute screening, there wasn't a single actual joke (it mostly relied on predictable slapstick), and not one particularly catchy or memorable theme tune. I desperately wanted to like it, I really did - but in the end, the writing was just bland and not up to par. Plus it all felt like it was over too soon. Hollow and run-of-the-mill. Now excuse me while I go and weep in sheer disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScrambledPixelApr 15, 2010
You could argue that Disney are slowly becoming a thing of the past in the film industry: they may have their name splattered across tons of live-action movie franchises, animated films and monstrously profitable television shows but Disney just isn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Dec 11, 2009
Written by Michael Hutchence and Andrew Farris, the chorus for the INXS song "Original Sin" goes like this: "Dream on, white boy/dream on, black girl/and wake up to a brand new day." What was once a provocative couplet back in 1983, now Written by Michael Hutchence and Andrew Farris, the chorus for the INXS song "Original Sin" goes like this: "Dream on, white boy/dream on, black girl/and wake up to a brand new day." What was once a provocative couplet back in 1983, now seems like a sentiment more befitting of a time capsule, since interracial relationships have long-gone been the stuff of controversy. With "The Princess and the Frog", Disney tries to be progressive, but is only half-successful in its introduction of a black princess; to be truly progressive, the prince should have been white. Tiana's skin color seems beside the point when she's standing next to the olive-complexioned Naveen, and needless to say, even less so as one of two frogs. Charlotte signifies Tiana, a juxtaposition worth the price of admission, for she's the starting point behind the notion of intergrating a minority princess among the genre's white predecessors. The hegemonic shift in narrative, the whole point of "The Princess and the Frog", take place the moment when the camera leaves the room where Charlotte and her father converse excitedly, and follows the seamstress(Eudora) and her daughter treading down a dark hallway, away from the normative foci. That's a good start. Too bad Tiana spends most of the film's running time masquerading as a cute animal. Almost by default, Tiana gets the faerie tale ending, because pairing the traditional princess-type with an exotic prince would have been equally problematic in the Disney universe. When push comes to shove, the hegemonic shift is delayed a bit, after Charlotte conveniently kisses Naveen too late, in which the machinations of tradition stops progress from happening. "The Princess and the Frog" doesn't quite have the swing of modern romance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseDec 20, 2009
Overral, this was a good comeback foe 2D Disney animation, but I felt it was missing some of the magic of Pixar's movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KerrieJJan 14, 2010
It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that doesn't quite live up to Disney standards, and I can't put my finger on it. Some scenes will have It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that doesn't quite live up to Disney standards, and I can't put my finger on it. Some scenes will have you thinking, "Move it along." But all-in-all, I loved it. The ending was pure genius! SPOILER ALERT: Could someone please explain to me why Disney feels the need to continually kill off main characters? It was completely unnecessary, and I saw at least 3 kids crying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JustinC.Nov 25, 2009
This cheeky update of a classic fairy tale boasts almost as many talking points as merchandising opportunities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArnoldK.Nov 26, 2009
An excellent movie that brings back memories from early Disney. A fantastic journey that reminds you of what Disney is all about. Thank you Disney for this wonderful holiday treat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SentinelNov 26, 2009
Far to pointless if you ask me. Disney, get a grip !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LeighGNov 29, 2009
Justin why did you just copy a pro's review? I though the film was a return to classic Disney storytelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenJNov 29, 2009
Hey, Justin C. We see your review up above ok? Great, thanks! I forgive you though, because I know how being a 'film critic' can really just tire you out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaSDec 29, 2009
This movie is funny,and cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful