Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Princess and the Frog is a modern twist on a classic tale, featuring a beautiful girl named Tiana, a frog prince who desperately wants to be human again, and a fateful kiss that leads them both on a hilarious adventure through the mystical bayous of Louisiana. (Walt Disney Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. What matters is that Tiana triumphs as both a girl and a frog, that dreams are fulfilled, wrongs are righted, love prevails, and music unites not only a princess and a frog but also kids and grown-ups.
  2. 100
    The Princess and the Frog invite viewers to see the world as a lively, mixed-up, even confounding place, to recognize essential parts of ourselves in what we see, and to say: This is what we look like.
  3. 88
    Randy Newman's songs are catchy and are effective within the movie's context, but I can't see any of them having "legs" beyond the screen the way tunes from the earlier animated musicals did.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    80
    Exactly as good as Musker and Clements’ earlier efforts, so a return to the form of Disney’s early 1990s classics. The animation is gorgeous, the heroine feisty and the animals amusing -- but this may be too scary for the very small.
  5. 75
    Overall, the film is not quite up to "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid" from the same directing team of Ron Clements and John Musker, not to mention the recent string of masterpieces from Pixar.
  6. 63
    This is minor Disney at best, forgettable at worst.
  7. It's a worthy cause and an honorable film, the first full-length Disney cartoon with an African-American heroine. But without a strong story, it's a case of one step forward and two steps back.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after aExcellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after a long absence, and I do hope the upcoming Winnie the Pooh movie won't be the last Disney 2d movie. Expand
  2. MariaS
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    This movie is funny,and cool.
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    I firmly believe that "The Princess and the Frog" is one of the best non-pixar animated film ever to be created. There has never been a betterI firmly believe that "The Princess and the Frog" is one of the best non-pixar animated film ever to be created. There has never been a better argument for the revival of traditional animated films. "The Princess and the Frog," follows of the story of Tiana, a young woman who dreamed of opening her own resteraunt since she was a child. She's so close to her dream, when she gets outbid for the building she wants, and worse; turns into a frog due to a voodoo spell. Tiana and the spoiled Prince Navine must find a way to turn back into a human. This film is visually enchanting, with gorgeous 2D animation that even rivals modern day CGI. One particularly dazzling scene, is during Dr. Facilier's song, "Friends on the Other Side," a vibrant colored, and elaborate musical number that will win the audience's attention with ease. So, there are lots of songs, as I should probably mention. Some worse than others, but there's nothing terrible. They range from mediocre, and even incredible. Randy Newman pens all these songs, and composes the score. All Disney princess films have their magic. This time around, there's voodoo. Certainly there will be discerning parents, and sensitive children may be frightened. I personally enjoyed this unique, and far less generic take. It's darker, and has much more potential. It also provides a lot of unique bits in the film. The cast is colorful and unique, the movie is hilarious, and at times, quite emotional. There may not be a lot of tears, but you wouldn't be human not be touched by this wonderful film. I am disappointed that this movie has yet to spark any new 2D developments with Disney. This has to be one of the best examples of 2D animation out there. "The Princess and the Frog" should not be missed or overlooked, it is a treasure. Collapse
  4. KerrieJ
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that doesn't quite live up to Disney standards, and I can't put my finger on it. Some scenes will have you thinking, "Move it along." But all-in-all, I loved it. The ending was pure genius! SPOILER ALERT: Could someone please explain to me why Disney feels the need to continually kill off main characters? It was completely unnecessary, and I saw at least 3 kids crying. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    7
    It has some great music and fantastic animation with a few memorable characters, but without a memorable villain and a story we have seenIt has some great music and fantastic animation with a few memorable characters, but without a memorable villain and a story we have seen loads before it almost is has the potential to be bad, but with the traditional Disney animation I enjoy it. I give this movie 76%. Not worthy of eight stars. Expand
  6. ChrisC
    Feb 17, 2010
    6
    This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire 97-minute screening, there wasn't a single actual joke (it mostly relied on predictable slapstick), and not one particularly catchy or memorable theme tune. I desperately wanted to like it, I really did - but in the end, the writing was just bland and not up to par. Plus it all felt like it was over too soon. Hollow and run-of-the-mill. Now excuse me while I go and weep in sheer disappointment. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    This was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will neverThis was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will never watch a more horrificly bad film like that again... Hopefully Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.