The Princess Bride Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A young boy listens to while his grandfather reads him the adventures of Buttercup (Wright), the most beautiful woman in the world, and Westly (Elwes), the man she loves, in the fairy-tale kingdom of Florin. [MGM]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Christian Science Monitor
    Reviewed by: David Sterritt
    100
    Cary Elwes is marvelously funny as the hero. [25 Sept 1987]
  2. Time
    Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    As you watch this enchanting fantasy, feel free to be thrilled or to giggle, as you wish. This time, Happily Ever After lasts 98 minutes. [21 Sept 1987]
  3. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    90
    It's Patinkin who scores a special triumph. In his role there's a poignant strain of weariness beneath the leaping bravado, a pain under the braggadocio. [25 Sept 1987]
  4. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    80
    Mr. Reiner seems to understand exactly what Mr. Goldman loves about stories of this kind, and he conveys it with clarity and affection. [25 Sept 1987, p.C10]
  5. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Dave Kehr
    75
    The Princess Bride wants to be sweet and warm, but it doesn't want to take the chance of seeming uncool -- and that is an attitude far, far removed from innocence. [9 Oct 1987]
  6. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    75
    Crystal is such a panic - and normally uptight Patinkin is so attractively relaxed as a Spanish swordsman - that Bride's charms just can't be ignored. [25 Sept 1987]
  7. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Pauline Kael
    50
    The movie is ungainly – you can almost see the chalk marks it's not hitting. But it has a loose, likable shabbiness. [19 Oct 1987, p.110]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. May 19, 2012
    10
    A very competent and entertaining movie. Wonderful characters, engaging plot, and excellent acting. This film is a rare gem, an actually goodA very competent and entertaining movie. Wonderful characters, engaging plot, and excellent acting. This film is a rare gem, an actually good film based on a book. Brilliant. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    One of the most underrated movies of all time. So many great lines and scenes, hilarious but also filled with great action. WonderfulOne of the most underrated movies of all time. So many great lines and scenes, hilarious but also filled with great action. Wonderful characters. Even though the "stars" are Cary Elwes and Robin Wright, it is the supporting cast that makes this movie so enjoyable. Andre the Giant is super in his "goon squad" role as Fezzig. Wallace Shawn as Vizzini is "inconceivably" funny. His mental duel with The Dread Pirate Roberts is classic. Mandy Patikin and his quest for the Man with the Six Fingers blends in throughout; his duel with Westley is one of the best sword fights I have seen in movie history. Then there are the quick cameos of Billy Crystal and Carol Kane as the Miracle Man and his wife - another great scene. Intermixing all of this is that the story is really being "read" by Peter Falk to his sick grandson, played by Fred Savage right before he started his Wonder Years period. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    This is a classic. It has cheesy scenes, especially a lot, but that has nothing to change against this movie. It has one of the best storiesThis is a classic. It has cheesy scenes, especially a lot, but that has nothing to change against this movie. It has one of the best stories ever. It even goes on a different approach to what I was expecting as well. But I'm just lightly going over it. It just warms my heart when I see this movie. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    Why would someone watch this movie?

    "Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles...", and
    Why would someone watch this movie?

    "Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles...", and quite frankly one of the funniest movies I have ever scene. It is a fairy tale meant for children but enjoyed by countless adults. It's often considered one of the most quotable movies of ALL TIME(just search it).
    At its core it's a romantic comedy, but when I first watched this movie I related to the sick grandson(and I hated it when MY grandpa pinched MY cheeks!) who hated the kissing scenes. In the end I came away with one of my favorite movies of all time.
    Expand
  5. PaulB.
    Jan 2, 2006
    9
    One of my family's all-time favorites! New ideas every time we watch it.
  6. chw
    Sep 25, 2014
    8
    I would not say Rob Reiner at his best. Hell, I am not even close to saying that. The guy made Stand by Me, and The Bucket List, andI would not say Rob Reiner at his best. Hell, I am not even close to saying that. The guy made Stand by Me, and The Bucket List, and then...this. I would not say a must-see, but it was either way a good movie. Expand
  7. GlenC.
    Feb 17, 2008
    0
    I just saw this movie last night for the first time and I have to admit, it wa a letdown. It had good writing, and entertaining story, but it I just saw this movie last night for the first time and I have to admit, it wa a letdown. It had good writing, and entertaining story, but it seemed to copy the story of Stardust. Stardust is very similar, I think that movie was copying this. I didn't like Stardust either, it is just as cheesy and boring as this, and I think stardust picked the wrong movie to copy. This to me was almost the same as Stardust, but it was so cheesy. Its so stupid how they don't even kill Humperdink, its a weak, weak movie. And they run out of ideas once they leave the fire swamp. After that they use the worste techniques, with an annoying Billy Crystal, and obsessesed characters. To me, the last half hour ruined everything. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.