Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 16, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 161 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
18
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JosephR.Dec 16, 2005
Wow. Really didn't transfer back to the big screen. Overdone, poorly filmed, and WAY over the top. And did I mention s-l-o-o-o-w moving?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattA.Dec 16, 2005
All of these people have to be either from the studio or directly related to the film in some way because this truly was what 90% of the critics are saying: utter crap. Destroyed Brooks' masterpiece on so many levels. By the way, who All of these people have to be either from the studio or directly related to the film in some way because this truly was what 90% of the critics are saying: utter crap. Destroyed Brooks' masterpiece on so many levels. By the way, who the hell is Susan Stroman and why was she picked to direct? Don't believe the user comments by Susan Stromans' most likely submitted Susan Stroman's mom and husband---stay away from this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FabianDec 19, 2005
Boring and tedious. THE PRODUCERS was not funny. Several people walked out of the theatre before mid-point, I should have done the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TomMDec 19, 2005
The direction is abysmal, but there are some funny moments and the actors did their best. I hope this is Stroman's last movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnB.Dec 20, 2005
I cant fathom giving this movie 10s, I think the studio monkeys must be hitting this site. This movie was lousy. Its slow, stale and the direction is inept.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GaryF.Dec 20, 2005
Run for yout life while you still have a chance. simply awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GarethD.Dec 22, 2005
First film in 10 years I wanted to walk out on. Dull. Turgid. Dated. Childish. Avoid like the plague.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelL.Dec 30, 2005
I watched this movie in a large cinema screen and about 20% of the few people watching this movie left well before the film ended. I diddnt leave because I was on a date - but otherwise I would have. This film is just silly - over the top - I watched this movie in a large cinema screen and about 20% of the few people watching this movie left well before the film ended. I diddnt leave because I was on a date - but otherwise I would have. This film is just silly - over the top - overly camp and the only thing that gave me a few laughs was will ferrell, and uma thurman who looked ravishing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
rcunardJan 1, 2006
This is the only movie that I have ever walked out on. Thankfully I got my money back. Good actors - stupid characters. Some plays should stay on Broadway. The theater is for MOVIES - not plays. Hear me Rent???
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JLiddyJun 8, 2006
This movie disapoints. I wonder if those reviewers who rated this movie highly ever saw the original whick was truely a scream and should be seen so as to put this remake in context. The role of "LSD" as played by Dick Shawn was incredibly This movie disapoints. I wonder if those reviewers who rated this movie highly ever saw the original whick was truely a scream and should be seen so as to put this remake in context. The role of "LSD" as played by Dick Shawn was incredibly funny but was written out of the remake. Will Ferrel could have been a great "LSD". Yet the originally small role of the swedish secretary was expanded, unecesary, and boring. Nathan Lane is Talented but Zero Mostel was a genius who's portrayal of Max reached into the audience's head whith madcap angst. I never fully apeciated his talent until now. Rent this movie, but buy the original and enjoy it for years to come. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MelissaM.Jun 17, 2006
I was truely disappointed. This is the first Mel Brooks production I've ever seen that I didn't like. I don't think I laughed a single time. Just Mel cracking jokes at Jews and Gays and Nazi's because he can -- after all, I was truely disappointed. This is the first Mel Brooks production I've ever seen that I didn't like. I don't think I laughed a single time. Just Mel cracking jokes at Jews and Gays and Nazi's because he can -- after all, he is Mel... Miss this one, hopefully he will bounce back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RoyR.Aug 3, 2006
I'm someone who has a fairly strong stomach for bad films, it takes a nasty ride for me to stop appreciating something even as wallpaper, That said I turned this off. It was making me sick so I turned it off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
This remake of The Producers stretched far too long considering its bland and ordinary look at the classic musical. I lost interest long before Uma Thurman even joined the screen--and I'm still unsure why she even joined.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews