Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 19, 2009
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 172 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
46
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
GordonTJan 10, 2010
I can't believe that on any universe he would want to be with her. Of course a better written script could have saved that but then it would have been five, You have to be brain dead to like this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NoraBJan 24, 2010
Neither romantic or Funny! Isn't Sandra a little old for this one...I was rooting for the ex girlfriend in Alaska, and yes, it was predictable, plodding, and stupid, but I was astonished at how unsympathetic Sandra was as the canadian Neither romantic or Funny! Isn't Sandra a little old for this one...I was rooting for the ex girlfriend in Alaska, and yes, it was predictable, plodding, and stupid, but I was astonished at how unsympathetic Sandra was as the canadian bitch and how ineffective...and she got a nom for this one? Can't win them all, but this sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JAM123Aug 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alrightly funny at times but had a terrible plot. I feel like I've seen this exact same thing before in countless other romantic comedies. I like the cast and they had some funny jokes but a lot of it made me just role my eyes. Not a very good movie and don't recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
RayzorMooseNov 16, 2013
The Proposal gets turned down.
The movie begins with humor and an interesting concept for a rom-com. After the first hour it then begins to become tiresome and directionless. The movie then evolves to an illogical overly cheesy story with no
The Proposal gets turned down.
The movie begins with humor and an interesting concept for a rom-com. After the first hour it then begins to become tiresome and directionless. The movie then evolves to an illogical overly cheesy story with no substance and the character moves are incomprehensibly silly at best.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
SheldonW.Aug 2, 2009
I wasted one of my very few opportunities to take in a movie in the theater by agreeing to sit through this film. I never sensed the chemistry between the lead actors and the final scenes which accompanied the credits actually made the movie I wasted one of my very few opportunities to take in a movie in the theater by agreeing to sit through this film. I never sensed the chemistry between the lead actors and the final scenes which accompanied the credits actually made the movie much worse for me. They should have been left on the cutting floor! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
jacobpDec 21, 2009
Neither romantic nor comedic. Typical Hollywood "love" story: Girl is mean. Guy is too nice. Guy sees girl naked, kiss, talk about childhood. Guy "loves" girl. Girl is still really mean. Viewer bangs head on wall. Characters are both Neither romantic nor comedic. Typical Hollywood "love" story: Girl is mean. Guy is too nice. Guy sees girl naked, kiss, talk about childhood. Guy "loves" girl. Girl is still really mean. Viewer bangs head on wall. Characters are both completely unlikeable. Boy is angsty and cloying. Girl is self-serving and flat. Echh. 2 if that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
Silly, Predictable crap. Seen it a thousand times even though the stars have chemistry that doesn't even benefit the movie. Although Betty White gives a hilarious performance. I give this movie 25%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
BryceS.Apr 25, 2010
Bad Plot, not funny, those who say it are havn't seen any good funny films. It bored me to death. I wis it could be a little funny to maybe keep me enetertained as many of these bad movies do, but it failed even that. The Proposa was a Bad Plot, not funny, those who say it are havn't seen any good funny films. It bored me to death. I wis it could be a little funny to maybe keep me enetertained as many of these bad movies do, but it failed even that. The Proposa was a failure, well, neve mind, the teens in this world who dont watch good movies will love this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
justnother1Jul 27, 2011
Sandra Bullock was a bit better than I expected, RR was a lot worse. Ryan Reynolds has no charm, no substance and is only barely into the attractive category. I suppose he represented 'everyman'. Betty White was fun and quirky, MarySandra Bullock was a bit better than I expected, RR was a lot worse. Ryan Reynolds has no charm, no substance and is only barely into the attractive category. I suppose he represented 'everyman'. Betty White was fun and quirky, Mary Steenburgen was wildly underused and the only real star of the whole show was the scenery. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
Predictable. A typical summer romantic comedy. I personally failed to see any chemistry between the 2 lead actors, not to mention that they seemed to both be mis-casted for their roles.
I almost fell asleep towards the end and what an end!
Predictable. A typical summer romantic comedy. I personally failed to see any chemistry between the 2 lead actors, not to mention that they seemed to both be mis-casted for their roles.
I almost fell asleep towards the end and what an end! So very happy-go-lucky and completely impossible. The whole film's plot was out of synch.This is just like almost every other summer film of it's genre. Why did I bother??
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
LauraRDec 29, 2009
Abysmal film-making, terribly chemistry. This film in an insult to any honorable sense of humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamJun 28, 2009
No chemistry whatsoever in this terribly painful film. One of the worst movies I have ever endured. The cliche's are pounded out and exploited and the writing is awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful