Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 319 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a future America devastated by crime and overcrowded prisons, the government provides a 12-hour period once a year when all criminal activity (including murder) is legal. A man attempts to protect his family from an intruder during one such period.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 33
  2. Negative: 10 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jun 4, 2013
    83
    The Purge manages to be smart, scary, and subversive.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 5, 2013
    67
    The Purge clearly has a lot on its mind, but it never really manages to express it.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Young
    Jun 1, 2013
    50
    What should be a clammy exercise in claustrophobic, queasy tension becomes, in the hands of writer/director James DeMonaco, an underpowered compendium of over-familiar scare tactics and sledgehammer-subtle social satire.
  4. 50
    So, fans, gear up for rock-em-sock-em action, yet don’t be disappointed if much of the goonery seems a bit tepid and, dare I say, staged.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    May 31, 2013
    40
    The film doesn't develop its one good idea so much as stumble around in the dark with it for 85 minutes, crashing noisily into the furniture.
  6. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 7, 2013
    38
    Instead of being a creepy B-movie about the necessity of suppressing one's animalistic urges, The Purge is just an uninspired film.
  7. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Jun 6, 2013
    20
    The Purge is one of those unimaginative horror flicks that depend on skreeky music and sudden appearances to startle, but never actually frighten, the audience. The characters are undeveloped, the twists clumsily telegraphed and unsurprising.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 129
  2. Negative: 48 out of 129
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I don't feel that the low user score is warranted. The movie deserves an 8/10 for originality alone. A great concept with some really quality acting, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie which leans more towards the more extreme portions of the human condition but is nonetheless a thoroughly entertaining flick (unless you're a pacifist or bleeding heart liberal) which is certainly worth a watch Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    Esta pelicula contiene escenas aburridas como interesantes, las aburridas no borran un buen trama de la pelicula, como se hace un a pelicula mejor al transcurrir el tiempo con un mensaje interno demasiado profundo q te pone a pensar un momento Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    7
    The movie keeps your heart beating from the start to the end. Its takes a ludicrous plot and provides a fairly reasonable and logical explanation that gives an almost surreal feel to the event. There are many… many cliches to in the film and character development is non existent… still a good watch. pretty entertaining. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Extremely disappointing. Cool concept, good acting, poor execution, and terrible story. It seems an impossible task to be frightened by mainstream Hollywood "thrillers" unless you completely shut off your brain. It felt like the film was going half-speed in the beginning, doing a fairly decent job of building tension but once the break-in occurred, it all felt horribly rushed. The group of young wanna-be Clockwork Orangesque punks turned into simple shotgun fodder and lost any of the scary edge they built up while waiting outdoors. And by the end, I wished that I got to see what was going on outside of this rich white family's home during the "Annual Purge". A far better tale would have been someone trapped alone while anarchy reigned this felt like a poor rip-off of Panic Room in many ways. Great concept but they could have used a proper story to back it up, which just makes me sad to think about the missed opportunity. I am actually hoping for a sequel that focuses on another aspect of the night. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    The movie had a good premise, but the characters were all 2-dimensional. They didn't really learn anything. We already knew the the "purge" day would be bad, and you are left with the exact same conclusion at the end. The characters act completely irrational the entire movie, which is what you might expect from a horror movie, I guess.

    If you like a movie with scary jump shots, little to no character development, and some shaky action scenes, you might like this movie.
    Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    Le film montre ce qu'est l’Amérique avec leur désire de nettoyer la vermine... Le film est vraiment null en particulier les enfants. Je donne 3 mais j'ai voulu donné 0... Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    this flim is pure bull **** tries to take on serious issues but ****s itself and ends focusess on some douche bag getting inthe house .family get thearten by bad guy they spend 20 minutes **** all .the movie is **** horrible it was the worst movie ever . the acting was so awful. ethen hawke was the worst actor in the film. the ending was most awful i have ever seen . this film is'nt enjoible awful like event horison . it's the one were you enjoy smashing it awful. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews

Trailers