User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 335
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Helen Mirren as the present Queen Elizabeth II is one of the grandest acting experiences of all-time. I use the term "experience" rather than performance because she creates this new atmosphere in the role - which sucks you in immediately. Overall, a brilliant look at Great Britain and the Royal Family during the wake of Princess Diana's death. Bravo to Stephen Frears and Peter Morgan!
  2. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    This is an intelligent film. Helen Mirren really took you inside the thoughts and emotions of the queen. Very well made and was quite a history lesson. Intriguing to see everyone's sides to the story.
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    A great modern period piece featuring a virtuoso performance from Helen Mirren. I think I would have liked it even more if I were from the UK, but really good film nonetheless.
  4. Sep 13, 2010
    7
    Events based on the aftermath of the death of Diana:Princess of Wales.
    Great performances from Helen Mirren, the wonderful Michael Sheen & Mark Bazeley as Alastair Campbell.
    Moves along at a decent pace & enjoyed it more than I expected.
    The one thing they did get wrong is that Cherie Blair is quite sexy in it.
  5. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Helen Mirren and James Cromwell bring flooring humanity to their respective roles as Queen Elizabeth II and Tony Blair. It also helps that the dialogue (to me the main draw of the movie aside from the acting) straddles a perfect line between dry wit and earnest fervor.
  6. Apr 30, 2011
    9
    Mesmerizing potrait. Beautifully filmed, great script and charismatic performance by its two leads, Hellen Mirren as Queen Elizabeth II and electrifying Michael Seen as Tony Blair.
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Dame Helen Mirren is simply amazing in her portrayal of Queen of England and Commonwealth of Nations, Elizabeth II in the film, "The Queen". This movie begins with the aftermath of the death of Princess Diana in 1997 and details her majesty's relationship with the current Prime Minister Tony Blair as they both attempt to make sense of angry public sentiment concerning the popular Princess.Dame Helen Mirren is simply amazing in her portrayal of Queen of England and Commonwealth of Nations, Elizabeth II in the film, "The Queen". This movie begins with the aftermath of the death of Princess Diana in 1997 and details her majesty's relationship with the current Prime Minister Tony Blair as they both attempt to make sense of angry public sentiment concerning the popular Princess. Although this flick is not quite as good as another recent British royalty feature, "The Kings Speech", it still is quite entertaining. Expand
  8. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    The great Helen Mirren is certainly the star of this exceptional biography cinematic film. It portrays reverent image of Queen Elizabeth through such irreverently elegant gimmicks and it is this intelligent usage that makes the movie highly distinctive compared to other royal family films. Regarding this strength, The Queen also considered as a powerful one. It allows us to espy the totalThe great Helen Mirren is certainly the star of this exceptional biography cinematic film. It portrays reverent image of Queen Elizabeth through such irreverently elegant gimmicks and it is this intelligent usage that makes the movie highly distinctive compared to other royal family films. Regarding this strength, The Queen also considered as a powerful one. It allows us to espy the total opposite side of what the English people think of Queen Elizabeth, the old-tradition lady with classic dignity and duties ahead of herself. Not many times that I've seen a great British film and this masterpiece from Stephen Frears is,without a doubt, considered to be one of those. One of The Savviest Films. Expand
  9. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    Perfect movie. Almost all the motion pictures show the point of view of other people, this one shows how Elizabeth II felt at those moments. And I think Mirrer won that Academy Award for an actual & incredible performance.
  10. HalB.
    Jan 20, 2007
    7
    Mirren's performance is fantastic, and Sheen's is very good... and the supporting cast is great... But unless you're really a "Diana-phile", you might be bored. The viewer is transported back a decade to the events surrounding her death; a fascinating take on the monarchy, the media and the Blair government. Worth seeing for Mirren's performance alone.
  11. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Brilliant emotional drama depicting the life behind the scenes and complex feelings of the English Queen and the royal family in the months following the death of princess Diana. Got Oscar.
  12. PatC.
    Jun 19, 2007
    7
    Looks like it's still possible to make a good historical drama while the events that transpired are fresh and the characters involved are still alive. This movie did everything right and nothing wrong. Well crafted with an eye to historical accuracy and nuances of personality. It perfectly executed its concept, but that's as far as it went. It's refusal to depict more of Looks like it's still possible to make a good historical drama while the events that transpired are fresh and the characters involved are still alive. This movie did everything right and nothing wrong. Well crafted with an eye to historical accuracy and nuances of personality. It perfectly executed its concept, but that's as far as it went. It's refusal to depict more of the previous lives of the characters (including Diana) gives it a limited dimension which after a time begins to weigh on the eyelids. Expand
  13. ArielM
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    Hellen Mirren is stunning. I´ve never seen such a natural as well as deep interpretation, so delicate, balanced...just gorgeous.
  14. DavidF.
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    After 5 minutes, Helen Mirren had me convinced I was watching Queen Elizabeth herself. Great performance by the Tony Blair actor too!
  15. RodneyT
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    Brilliant
  16. J.T.
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    This is the most important film so far this year. It brings back the great sadness of the death of Princess Diana in such a powerful way. I remember the day the Princess of Wales died in that terrible car accident, I was young but it is a moment in time that will stick with you for life. Such emotion came over England... and the world. She was a princess to the people and when she was This is the most important film so far this year. It brings back the great sadness of the death of Princess Diana in such a powerful way. I remember the day the Princess of Wales died in that terrible car accident, I was young but it is a moment in time that will stick with you for life. Such emotion came over England... and the world. She was a princess to the people and when she was gone, the people suffered greatly. This movie shows what happened during the days of England's mourning inside Buckingham Palace. HM Queen Elizabeth II is a very interesting character and I was shocked to see how she behaves behind the scenes. She is an elegant, tasteful and powerful woman and Helen Mirren not only physically took on this character, but emotionally as well. Mirren became The Queen and gave an amazing performance that cries out for an Oscar. This film is definitely a great one and has Oscar written all over it. It has generated a ton of buzz, mostly over Mirren's stunning performance, and I could even very well see this film being nominated for Best Picture. Such an emotional film (emotional in a good way) that shows the true side of the Royal Family and the near-defeat of the Monarchy. Go see this movie, it's now playing in theatres. Expand
  17. Dave
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    Some of the comments on here really crack me up! "Weirdly boring"!? "Too much dialogue"? Huh? If you don't like dialogue, why not go watch one of the brainless Hollywood blockbusters? In any case, Helen Mirren was absolutely fantastic, almost a dead ringer for the Queen from voice to facial expressions. And yes, she is a shoe-in for an Oscar nomination. One thing the film showed me Some of the comments on here really crack me up! "Weirdly boring"!? "Too much dialogue"? Huh? If you don't like dialogue, why not go watch one of the brainless Hollywood blockbusters? In any case, Helen Mirren was absolutely fantastic, almost a dead ringer for the Queen from voice to facial expressions. And yes, she is a shoe-in for an Oscar nomination. One thing the film showed me was that the Queen was not the monster made out to be during the Diana incident. She simply did what she thought was right, but in the end realized she was wrong. Expand
  18. Alexi
    Oct 28, 2006
    8
    This is obviously a polarising film. Personally I loved it for the intelligent wordy drama it was. If you were expecting different then you were not doubt disappointed. The contrast between the 2 families, old-school vs the modernisers, could not have been better drawn. The dialogue sparkled mixed with genuine scenes of poignancy. I never thought I'd find myself feeling sorry for the This is obviously a polarising film. Personally I loved it for the intelligent wordy drama it was. If you were expecting different then you were not doubt disappointed. The contrast between the 2 families, old-school vs the modernisers, could not have been better drawn. The dialogue sparkled mixed with genuine scenes of poignancy. I never thought I'd find myself feeling sorry for the woman but I did. It was completely believable. I'm English but was overseas when the big week happened so it was informative to see this through British eyes. Surely an oscar nod for Helen Mirren. I only wonder if the Queen has seen it. Expand
  19. StaciaM.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    It's a totally new mix of docu-drama with superb acting by everyone involved. This is a very daring film to make with the Queen still alive, which I greatly admire.
  20. SuzC.
    Oct 7, 2006
    8
    Helen Mirren was excellent!
  21. MitchA.
    Jan 28, 2007
    9
    Outstanding film. The score is dead on. I love the portrayal of Tony Blair - if true, it restores my faith in liberal thought. And damn, Helen Mirren is hot!!
  22. BilB
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    Helen Mirren doesn't act, she becomes The Queen. Her performance has Oscar winning potential and my money is on Helen Mirren.
  23. MarkB.
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    If you had told me two years ago that the tragic death of Princess Diana, of all things, would provide the fulcrum for one of the smartest, sharpest, wittiest and most enjoyable comedies of manners in ages, my immediate and understandable response would've been to suggest that you either work less, rest more...or get started on that 12-step program immediately! But then I seriously If you had told me two years ago that the tragic death of Princess Diana, of all things, would provide the fulcrum for one of the smartest, sharpest, wittiest and most enjoyable comedies of manners in ages, my immediate and understandable response would've been to suggest that you either work less, rest more...or get started on that 12-step program immediately! But then I seriously underestimated Peter Morgan and Stephen Frears. They've crafted a superbly perceptive, immensely wise two-character study that, even if you have no interest whatsoever in any of the British royals, and snapped the radio dial over to the nearest alternative-rock station anytime that Elton John song came on, still has plenty to engage you on many levels. Put it this way: if you've ever, for reasons of workplace politics, expediency or just being in the minority to put through a policy that you personally disliked or disapproved of, then Queen Elizabeth's story is your story, too. Her preference here is to offer no official statement of grief or mourning after that car accident takes the life of "The People's Princess", but nationwide (and worldwide) public and media pressure overwhelmingly indicates the wisdom of compromise, and it's up to newly minted Prime Minister Tony Blair to try to resolve things. (When Elizabeth reminds Blair of all the Prime Ministers who've served under her, including that legendary tough old bird Winston Churchill, she might as well be telling him, "I eat Prime Ministers for breakfast," but as we'll soon see, the new guy is too smart and tenacious to be anybody's blue plate special.) The Academy Award ceremonies are shaping up to be more like Helen Mirren's coronation, and that's fine: the beauty of her portrayal is that while we understand and connect with her character's stubbornness on a human level, Mirren keeps Elizabeth's precise reasoning for not wanting to make too big a fuss over Princess Di (whether because she believes that to do so would demean the dignity of her office, sort of like the White House acknowledging Anna Nicole Smith, or because of her resentment of Diana having thrown everything back in her face, or because Elizabeth just plain doesn't like her) deeply locked within her heart; Mirren understands that no human being can COMPLETELY understand why another chooses to act a certain way. Unfortunately, Oscar didn't see fit to honor Michael Sheen with an equally richly deserved Best Supporting Actor nomination as Blair--a real missed opportunity because his warm, subtle and thoughtful portrayal is the perfect counterpart to Mirren. Blair's call for flexibility may have won the day, but in one of 2006's most stunning and unforgettable movie moments, Elizabeth prophetically warns him of the capriciousness of public approval, and that it can be yanked away from him suddenly and without warning at any time. The audible gasp that many members of my audience simultaneously uttered indicates that Morgan and Frears are as sharply attuned to the sad political realities of today as they are to those of 1997. Expand
  24. UnaL.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Super film (a Brit)
  25. Kate
    Feb 5, 2007
    7
    I was ready to vllify this woman so removed from the bonds of normal responsibility and human sensitivity...but the film and Helen Millren makes her a victim as was her daughter in law...a victim of her 19th century upbrininging and a thousand years of tradition...bravo
  26. ChadS.
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    Some viewers of "The Queen" will heed Tracy Ullman's outcry and nod in agreement about those stubborn royals needing to defrost their collective upper lips and pay their respects to "the people's princess"; while the rest of us will take stock that Ullman's televised soapbox is beaming from Hollywood, California. The filmmaker used Ullman because her attitude is indicative Some viewers of "The Queen" will heed Tracy Ullman's outcry and nod in agreement about those stubborn royals needing to defrost their collective upper lips and pay their respects to "the people's princess"; while the rest of us will take stock that Ullman's televised soapbox is beaming from Hollywood, California. The filmmaker used Ullman because her attitude is indicative of an environment and industry, which encourages its denizens to display emotion, to cry on cue when the cameras are rolling. In my opinion, we're supposed to make the connection between this expatriate and the British people who queued up in front of Buckingham Palace with their bouquets and tear-streaked faces. This public display of grief is put on by people who seek the limelight, the film seems to be implying, just like those Hollywood notables who attended Princess Di's funeral. In a style befitting the late land-mine crusader's memory, well-wishers who wanted to truly honor Diana Spencer's memory, quite ironically, should've enacted the queen's way, the prudent way; which was to mourn in private, so as not to give the media something to shoot; the media who eventually killed her. "The Queen" is clearly on her majesty's side. In a crafty move on the filmmaker's part, we never get a reaction shot from the queen when she receives news of both, Princess Di's accident and death. It's uncertain who HRH Elizabeth II(Helen Mirren) is crying for as she waits for vehicular assistance in that riverbank, but at least the flowing water she temporarily rules over, like her tears, are real; they're private tears, unlike the crocodile tears shed by the media whores who purportedly cared about the late Princess Diana, a person they never even met. Expand
  27. NickA
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Helen Mirren is much loved here in the UK and has done some superb work most notably as the lead in Prime Suspect, she surpasses everything however with her brilliant portrayal as the Queen. The remaining cast give great support but its Helen Mirren who completely steals the show, as you watch this film you actually forget that shes an actress and begin to view the film as a fly on the Helen Mirren is much loved here in the UK and has done some superb work most notably as the lead in Prime Suspect, she surpasses everything however with her brilliant portrayal as the Queen. The remaining cast give great support but its Helen Mirren who completely steals the show, as you watch this film you actually forget that shes an actress and begin to view the film as a fly on the wall documentary with the actual Queen before you. Its because of this that I've given this a 10, HM is absolutely sensational. Expand
  28. ArmondA.
    May 2, 2007
    10
    Movies don't get much better than this. And this comes from a guy who isn't much interested in "The Monarchy" or its most popular ex-member, the late Princess Diana. One does need to bring to the viewing some curiosity about the "abnormal" psychology of "Royalty". All of the cast, working with a brilliant script, bring us plausible portrayals of people living out an ornate Movies don't get much better than this. And this comes from a guy who isn't much interested in "The Monarchy" or its most popular ex-member, the late Princess Diana. One does need to bring to the viewing some curiosity about the "abnormal" psychology of "Royalty". All of the cast, working with a brilliant script, bring us plausible portrayals of people living out an ornate costume drama. It's a long-running show, with lifetime contracts for the players, and the question posed in this film is what the on-stage cast should do when an unscripted event intrudes on the set. The audience might applaud the poise of actors who carry on "regardless". Or they might be appalled when the old pros step around the real body that has plopped onto the set. Expand
  29. TonyB.
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    "The Queen" shows that in today's film industry there are still intelligent people who make intelligent motion pictures for intelligent audiences.
  30. LindaD.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Thoughtful, fascinating film which takes its sweet time. Mirren's Elizabeth is touching and much more complex than much of the media would have us believe.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    80
    Fascinating, funny, wicked and to the point, this is an excellent film about a week every Briton over the age of 15 will remember vividly.
  2. The Queen is the most reverent irreverent comedy imaginable. Or maybe it's the most irreverent reverent comedy. Either way, it's a small masterpiece.
  3. Reviewed by: Barbara Kantrowitz
    90
    Marvelous, and surprisingly intimate.