The Raid 2 Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 249 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Following immediately after the events of The Raid, Ram (Iko Uwais) is forced to reinvent himself as an undercover cop in order to provide protection for his wife and child. Working for the anti-corruption taskforce led by the one person he can trust, Bunawar, he is given a mission to engageFollowing immediately after the events of The Raid, Ram (Iko Uwais) is forced to reinvent himself as an undercover cop in order to provide protection for his wife and child. Working for the anti-corruption taskforce led by the one person he can trust, Bunawar, he is given a mission to engage himself as an enforcer for a local mob boss, Bangun. Finding a way in through Bangun's son Uco, Rama must hunt for information linking Bangun with police force corruption. All the while, he harbors a dangerous and personal vendetta for revenge and justice that threatens to consume him- and bring both this mission and the organized crime syndicates crashing down. [Sony Pictures Classics] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 3, 2014
    100
    Evans pays careful attention to atmosphere, while giving wide berth to cinematographers Dimas Imam Subhono and Matt Flannery, who find beauty among the mayhem. Everything on screen is crystal clear and vibrant, like a city street right after the rain.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 10, 2014
    88
    Wow. For those with strong constitutions, The Raid 2 offers one of the most intense motion picture experiences available; it may also be the most violent movie ever to be released into theaters.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 26, 2014
    83
    The Raid 2 will make you feel like Christmas came nine months early. Some action sequels don't know when to say when. But here's one where too much is just the right amount.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 26, 2014
    75
    Those with a high tolerance for violence and gore — at one point, Rama battles assassins labeled “Baseball Bat Man’’ and “Hammer Girl’’ simultaneously — will eat up The Raid 2.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 27, 2014
    70
    Much as I enjoyed watching most of it, I was deeply grateful when it was over and feel no strong desire to see the inevitable “Raid 3.”
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 10, 2014
    63
    The plot is murky, the acting is melodramatic and the movie is way too long, but the target audience will salivate over the inventively choreographed set-pieces.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    For better or worse, the blood and bone-crunching remains most prominent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazingThe fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazing theater experience with everyone reacting to every breaking bone, and cheers for every perfectly executed and choreographed fight scene. I really wouldn’t want to spoil anyone’s chance at seeing any of these fights fresh. But that hallway. Oh man that hallway. The beautiful choreography shows off the mastery of everyone involved. The visual effects soaked the audience in blood after the choreography severed our spines. This movie will kick your ass and leave you breathless. If the Raid took action back to basics, The Raid 2 beats the basics to death with a hammer. Gareth Evans seems to be calling out names and taking attendance. Hollywood needs to get on this mans level. A compelling cast. Excruciating fights. A narrative that leaves the audience in complete suspense. The Raid 2 is one you need to see. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    Awesome fights on movie. Brutal, terrifying, dramatic, and cool actions, I like the way its camera rolled. Even with no English, I still canAwesome fights on movie. Brutal, terrifying, dramatic, and cool actions, I like the way its camera rolled. Even with no English, I still can figured it out the stories. Recommended to watch this movie. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    A true masterpiece in the world of martial arts films. As an absolutely huge martial arts fanatic, I am proud to have seen some of theA true masterpiece in the world of martial arts films. As an absolutely huge martial arts fanatic, I am proud to have seen some of the greatest martial arts films ever created from the old brilliant classics such as One-Armed Swordsman or Seven Samurai to the new timeless treasures such as Ip Man or 13 Assassins.
    Having made it my goal to see some of the best martial arts films this world has to offer, I can safely say that this movie goes into my TOP 10 movies of all time list.
    The simple yet exciting story from the first Raid film was made a bit more complex and fleshed out in this stimulating and dramatic sequel. Gareth Evans truly outdid himself with his fantastic writing and directing in this piece. The story had the perfect balance of drama and action which isn't easy to accomplish, and when the action did come, it blew me away! The fight choreography and absolutely brutal combat in the first film was fantastic, to be able to go to the next level and still keep it fresh is no small feat! The fighting didn't seem too ridiculous as a lot of martial arts films tend to do (but we still enjoy seeing it), it seemed more realistic and more efficient, which is what Pencak Silat is all about, a wonderful martial art used in creative and spectacular ways. The cinematography and editing in this movie is also something I really enjoyed, everything was perfect in those aspects, used to really make the story telling more clear and thrilling.

    There aren't many martial arts films these days that can REALLY impress me these days, but this did it. Can the 3rd Raid film top this? While that seems impossible, knowing Gareth Evans, the brilliant Iko Uwais and the team, they can do it.
    Expand
  4. May 1, 2014
    9
    this film was the most brutal movie I ever seen, this movie was great since kill bill series, the story line was not pretty bad, but thethis film was the most brutal movie I ever seen, this movie was great since kill bill series, the story line was not pretty bad, but the violence and gore is so fantastic and so traditional, I like this movie Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This movie will show you good.. bad ass.. action movie. The storyline not bother me at all.. is as simple as mafia story at least i knowThis movie will show you good.. bad ass.. action movie. The storyline not bother me at all.. is as simple as mafia story at least i know what’s going on. The fight scene OMG... if you action movie fans you should watch this Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    Is good movie but isn't masterpiece for one time is very cool i recommend to si this movie.
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time.
    If
    Is good movie but isn't masterpiece for one time is very cool i recommend to si this movie.
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time.
    If you like action you need to see this movie.
    Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2014
    3
    The action's not as good, the story is illogical, and the movie only takes advantage of the 1st movie's appeal.Instead of making a qualityThe action's not as good, the story is illogical, and the movie only takes advantage of the 1st movie's appeal.Instead of making a quality movie, they went with more gore, and a silly story that clearly defines the good guys from the bad, because that's easier I guess. Most of the action isn't choreographed well and has characters waiting to fight one at a time just to be dismembered in an incredibly violent way. The 1st movie had a simple story that allowed for a variety of subplots. R2 has a complicated story, complicated subplots, and you won't care about any of it, or any of the characters. No one is a hero, No one is a villain, except for the really violent ones(which is everyone). Also, rather than making the fights art, they are gore. It's as if the producers heard people saying they liked when in the 1st movie, so they made a film of finales. The rest of the film is a collection of introductions to characters about to die. This guy is good, so his death matters, this one is violent and a villain, this one too. Are you happy they died? Are you sad? As a fan of the 1st movie, I'm just disappointed. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews