Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: March 23, 2012
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 306 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
263
Mixed:
30
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
kennypowersMar 20, 2013
The story was interesting, albeit completely unrealistic. The action was really fast paced and provided a Westernized take on Asian martial arts they almost nailed it IMHO, but the fight scenes were a bit too old school with the fightsThe story was interesting, albeit completely unrealistic. The action was really fast paced and provided a Westernized take on Asian martial arts they almost nailed it IMHO, but the fight scenes were a bit too old school with the fights going on forever. The gun violence was so gratuitous that it became numbing very quickly Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448May 31, 2012
The Raid is one of the most visually stunning action films I have ever seen and the fact it was made on a minuscule budget only furthers my amazement. With that said, it is not a perfect film. The story is that of Rama, a rookie policeThe Raid is one of the most visually stunning action films I have ever seen and the fact it was made on a minuscule budget only furthers my amazement. With that said, it is not a perfect film. The story is that of Rama, a rookie police officer who with another 20 or so police officers is taking part in a Raid (to my complete shock) of an apartment building being run by a notorious drug lord. However Rawa has another reason for wanting into that building, something revealed later in the film in one of the films few moments of levity and actual conversation. The film, to almost every male viewers joy, is almost wall to wall violence. It's manic, its fast paced, its incredibly inventive and it takes up almost all of the film. The few moments were there is actual talking it is to progress to the next fight, the next set piece meaning there is little place for emotion of character in the film. It might make me sound greedy but a little more story and dialogue was needed as by the end of the movie I was visually impressed but emotionally anaesthetised. There is no doubt the director is talented and put a considerable amount of passion into the way he presented the movie as the direction is unexpected and at times shocking (but in a good way). He made the film he wanted to make and with very little to spend on it and that is commendable, especially considering the levels of destruction the film brings, but all in all its an action film with no soul, no one to root for as its just two groups of people massacring each other in an old building. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Arun_NarayananSep 23, 2012
A good, entertaining action movie although nothing close to what it's being made out to be. The hand-to-hand action sequences, while brilliantly choreographed, are annoyingly repetitive. And it is hard to imagine that a single person (theA good, entertaining action movie although nothing close to what it's being made out to be. The hand-to-hand action sequences, while brilliantly choreographed, are annoyingly repetitive. And it is hard to imagine that a single person (the protagonist) can engage a hundred people without getting the energy sucked out of him, regardless of his martial arts prowess. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
loki-sfJul 12, 2014
The story was so so, felt like a plot that would be more appropriate for a short story. However, the movie still entertaining, its the non stop action that kept me engage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MyffubsMay 27, 2012
The Raid: Redemption provides its audience with numerous exciting action scenes, but very little else. The movie focuses on an Indonesian special ops team's raid -- and presumed redemption -- of a crime lord's building. Countless criminalsThe Raid: Redemption provides its audience with numerous exciting action scenes, but very little else. The movie focuses on an Indonesian special ops team's raid -- and presumed redemption -- of a crime lord's building. Countless criminals live in the rooms and roam the halls. Some pack knives, others carry guns, and one enjoys using his fists and feet. Who says you can't stay fit? Needless to say they're none too happy when spec ops invades, prompting one of the various shoot outs. These sequences are very well done from a technological standpoint, boasting simply stunning stunt work. However, not a single character comes to life as a human being. In this movie people exist primarily to be beaten, shot, and/or stabbed. In fact, many rush forward to do so. One fight scene features around twenty criminals rushing the protagonist, who easily disables or kills each and every one of them. This -- other than his pregnant wife -- is how you can tell he is the protagonist. At no point do any of the criminals look around and say, "Hey, guys, this isn't working like we planned. Do you think maybe we should try something else?" What little plot there is seems to have been lifted from bits and scenes of better action flicks with less impressive action sequences. Still the stunts and technology deserve praise. The Raid: Redemption will appeal to a good number genre fans, but those expecting more than dazzling fights and shoot outs may find themselves oddly disappointed. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
dblaze889Mar 29, 2012
The good of this film is just about action and editing. But the story is very poor and weak. Many plot holes in this movie. Is that bad SWAT team from Indonesia? Oh, please.
I hope the sequel is better than this one.
I'm Indonesian and I'm
The good of this film is just about action and editing. But the story is very poor and weak. Many plot holes in this movie. Is that bad SWAT team from Indonesia? Oh, please.
I hope the sequel is better than this one.
I'm Indonesian and I'm not proud with this movie. Maybe I have higher expectation: Someday there is a movie is better than my last favorite Indonesian movie: Laskar Pelangi. Maybe!
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
5
RonaldoDArcadiaJul 2, 2012
Vire e mexe surge um título de pancadaria lá pelos lados do oriente que todos dizem ser o máximo do gênero. E foi isso que aconteceu com o recente longa indonésio "The Raid: Redemption". Não meVire e mexe surge um título de pancadaria lá pelos lados do oriente que todos dizem ser o máximo do gênero. E foi isso que aconteceu com o recente longa indonésio "The Raid: Redemption". Não me entendam mal, o filme tem sim seu valor, mas acho que o barulho foi alto demais para uma obra que ano que vem pode ser superada por uns caras mais malucos ainda e que se utilizam da mesma fórmula infalível: pouca conversa e muita porrada.

E de porrada o diretor Gareth Evans entende. Sua direção é extremamente competente na hora de conduzir a câmera junto aos lutadores em espaços confinados. Uma edição esforçada também auxilia no dinamismo das cenas e trucagens feitas "na raça" dão aquele toque especial para a produção. O time de lutadores é excepcional, creio que alguns devem ter morrido para que o filme ficasse tão realista (brincadeira). A verdade é que neste longa não existe muito daquela história de luta coreografada, pois, a sequência deve ser seguida, mas as pancadas são bem reais.

Outro fator relevante é a violência "gore", que realmente conquista os mais sádicos. Oferecendo um realismo cruel, temos mortes e mais mortes sem aquela censura que parece impregnar os filmes de hoje, ela é gratuita e belíssima. Quando as balas acabam entram as armas brancas, e aí as coisas ficam mais interessantes. Arrisco dizer que "The Raid..." tem algumas das mais explicitas cenas contendo facadas em rostos, pescoços, peitos e pernas. Um festival de sanguinolência ao melhor estilo prisional, entende?! No entanto, o grande problema de "The Raid..." é seu roteiro fraquíssimo, sendo a trama rasa apenas uma desculpa para a ação. Nela, um grupo de 20 soldados de elite invade o QG do maior bandido de Jacarta, afim de desbaratinar toda sua quadrilha. A operação policial é alicerçada por algumas razões escusas e o mocinho tem uma motivação extra para entrar na batalha. E só! Outro ponto negativo é o grupo de atores, que são lutadores apenas. Iko Uwais, estrela máxima da fita (e que faz sucesso em produções do mesmo calibre), tem a profundidade de uma iguana. A atuação em geral vai pelo estilo clássico asiático, caricato e exagerado, um formato que funciona muito bem quando utilizado por bons profissionais. Daí o outro fala: "Porra, quem liga pra isso? Roteiro? Atuação? O filme é 'mor' legal, cheio de pancadaria, tiro pra todo lado, é sensacional", daí eu falo: "Parabéns, você irá gostar muito mesmo do filme se não liga para o básico do cinema."

Juro que esperava mais desse filme. Me diverti vendo ele? Sim, em alguns poucos momentos. Apesar dos defeitos temos umas quatro ou cinco cenas interessantes. É um bom trabalho? Não, é irregular, simplesmente. Pouco tempo atrás - em 2007 para ser mais exato - surgiu um longa com a mesma proposta de porradaria extrema, o chinês "Flashpoint", com os caras praticamente se matando e por aí vai. Este, por exemplo, é mais filme que o "The Raid..."
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithAug 8, 2013
Despite some brilliantly propulsive action sequences The Raid: Redemption is too threadbare and obvious to truly work as a whole. It's screenplay is so deprived of character, plot, emotion, and logic that it becomes pointless. The basicDespite some brilliantly propulsive action sequences The Raid: Redemption is too threadbare and obvious to truly work as a whole. It's screenplay is so deprived of character, plot, emotion, and logic that it becomes pointless. The basic premise of a raid on a labyrinth building full of gangsters could have been made into a crazy, scary, and tension filled ride, but the apartment complex looks almost exactly the same on every floor, and the main character has about as much vulnerability as the hulk. It works fine as a showcase for some incredibly kinetic martial arts showdowns... for a while. It just becomes so repetitive and sadistically gory that by the end you feel like it was more of a pro wrestling special (if you think they're real you need help) than an actual movie. Every cop is somehow a master at hand to hand combat, and no one wants to pick up any of the machine guns lying around because, squeezing a trigger, that's like ordering take-out." It throws logic out the window purposefully, because otherwise there couldn't be non-stop fighting. I must admit that it's all choreographed amazingly, and can be very exciting at times, but in the end it just feels kinda... stupid. A movie made of nothing but action is just too empty in my opinion. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews