Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A Swat team arrives at a rundown apartment block with a mission to remove its owner, a notorious drug lord named Tama. The building has never been raided before, never been touched by police. Seen as a no go zone it has since become a sanctuary to killers, gangs, rapists and thieves seekingA Swat team arrives at a rundown apartment block with a mission to remove its owner, a notorious drug lord named Tama. The building has never been raided before, never been touched by police. Seen as a no go zone it has since become a sanctuary to killers, gangs, rapists and thieves seeking accommodation in the one place they know they cannot be touched. Making their move in the break of dawn the swat team work their way up the building under cover of silence. But when a chance encounter with a spotter blows their cover and with news of their assault traveling to Tama in his penthouse suite the building is locked down with all lights out and all exits blocked. Stranded on the 6th floor the swat team must fight their way through every floor and every room not just to complete their mission but to survive. (Merantau Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    May 14, 2012
    100
    Remember your first time with Hard Boiled? Die Hard? This is how it's done - a clean, hard, constant hit of adrenalin. If it's not the best action movie of the year, we'll eat a fridge.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 29, 2012
    91
    This is the sort of film for which the phrase 'movie-movie' was coined -- and coined as a term of highest praise.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 22, 2012
    90
    It offers some of the best Asian martial-arts choreography of recent years and an electric, claustrophobic puzzle-palace atmosphere that'll leave you wrung out and buzzed.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Taking the genre to a higher level of intensity, the Welsh-born Evans continues what he started in previous Indonesia-set actioner "Merantau," but this picture will seal his cult status.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 23, 2012
    75
    The action is brutal, bloody and virtually nonstop in this adrenaline-packed riff on "Assault on Precinct 13.''
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    70
    If you like martial-arts films, it's well worth your while, a non-stop orgy of brilliantly choreographed fight scenes. Eventually it's all too much, a blur of fists, blades and snapped bones that run together. Still, it's a wild ride.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 21, 2012
    25
    This film is about violence. All violence. Wall-to-wall violence. Against many of those walls, heads are pounded again and again into a pulpy mass. If I estimated the film has 10 minutes of dialogue, that would be generous.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 76
  2. Negative: 4 out of 76
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    The best action movie I've seen in years, possibly the best action movie I've ever seen. Sure the story is a bit spartan but it has enough toThe best action movie I've seen in years, possibly the best action movie I've ever seen. Sure the story is a bit spartan but it has enough to keep me satisfied and I think it benefits from the tight focus (same as for Gravity). Expand
  2. May 19, 2012
    10
    I can't fault this film at all. I haven't enjoyed a martial arts film this much since going to see Ong Bak years ago! Excellent fightI can't fault this film at all. I haven't enjoyed a martial arts film this much since going to see Ong Bak years ago! Excellent fight choreography with some, at times, cringe worthy (and hilarious!) deaths, and a decent story to tie the lengthy fight scenes together. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    Its amazing some of the best martial arts I have ever seen great movie a must see for action and fight fans.
    Non stop action pretty straight
    Its amazing some of the best martial arts I have ever seen great movie a must see for action and fight fans.
    Non stop action pretty straight forward story left the cinema buzzing.
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    One of the most brutal and intense action movies I have ever seen. The set up is similar to the Dredd movie. Cops are locked in a buildingOne of the most brutal and intense action movies I have ever seen. The set up is similar to the Dredd movie. Cops are locked in a building filled to the brim with people trying to kill them and the only way for them to survive is to take out the big honcho in charge. I have to say though with the level of action and brutality this makes Dredd look tame. This makes most action movies look tame. The best part is that it manages to do so without seeming overly gruesome and has a great plot.

    The characters are fantastic and there are enough twists to keep you interested, so you can see that there was thought put into the story and it payed off. Surprisingly enough some of the most tense moments happen when the fists aren't flying. Tense stand offs and moments of cat and mouse will keep you on the edge of your seat in anticipation. Same goes for the fights, which are some of the most adrenaline fueled ones that I've ever seen. All in all this a first class excellent action movie, and one that you shouldn't pass by.
    Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2014
    8
    Lots of action and blood but a stupid plot and little logic.

    The raid is to entertain the audience with it from schnelelr Action and much
    Lots of action and blood but a stupid plot and little logic.

    The raid is to entertain the audience with it from schnelelr Action and much hard scenes. This works very well because I had the 100 minutes continuous fun.
    More sad it sit that the plot and the logic suffers in the film.
    But for only $ 2 million budget you have you made ​​a superb film.
    Part 2 will be even harder and has to offer a better action.
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    As I smiled gleefully in the cinema, I realized that an Indonesia movie had come that is on par with Hollywood movies, perhaps even betterAs I smiled gleefully in the cinema, I realized that an Indonesia movie had come that is on par with Hollywood movies, perhaps even better than most in the term of action. In a time of CG, 3D and artificial action sequences, The Raid stands tall as one of the greatest action movies in years, the only things that have the intensity and pure raw violence are Ong Bak and Chocolate from Thailand. The story certainly could've been more polished, but it's undeniably relentlessly gripping from the first thrown punch.

    The Raid is about a police squad that storm into an apartment, which doubles as a nest of criminals / martial artists, in order to apprehend a drug lord. They'll soon find that these thugs are very well trained despite their cryptic outfits. The hoodlums come down pouring in dozens, launching punches, kicks and bullets their way, generally making their lives harder. In a short moment, the raid turns into a struggle for survival. Iko Uwais plays Rama, one of a rookie cop who's trapped in the building, deliver the best visceral combat scenes I've ever seen in Indonesian cinema.

    Highly fast paced and devastating, it's not your usual near-miss exaggerated camera angle shots a la your average action movies, neither it's flying stylish acrobatic wire fu of Hong Kong, The Raid is a beast on its own right. The director, Gareth Evans, cleverly uses pencak silat, an Indonesia traditional martial art, mixes it with many aspects of MMA and also plenty usage of sharp weapons or even handguns. Every movement is designed to hurt, immensely and veraciously, you won't find flashy dashing choreography here.

    Expect plenty faces hammered into the wall, knives introduced to throats and even point blank headshot. All in its uncensored bloodstained glory. The amount and quality of the fights are ridiculously excessive, world class even. This will shock many international audiences, as it already has. Scenes are masterfully done, giving clean shots to dramatic moments, even those without someone getting pummeled. The director has a sense of focus which gives clarity in midst of high octane scenes.

    However it's not without its flaws. Some plot holes remain unchecked as the characters' motivations are a bit vague, maybe for the sequel, I'm not sure. The dialogues can be gritty as I viewed it on my native language, but it can also be a double edge sword. At some points, it becomes unintentionally funny because the delivery of Malay accent is over-the-top. I do hope it wonâ
    Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    Mindless violence for mindless chop-saki freaks.

    OK, to fill in the required 150 characters, I'll mention non-stop gratuitous violence,
    Mindless violence for mindless chop-saki freaks.

    OK, to fill in the required 150 characters, I'll mention non-stop gratuitous violence, weak plot, vapid dialog dubbed into flat English, and no redeeming artistic merit.
    Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Trailers