Rogue Pictures | Release Date: April 27, 2012
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 111 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
44
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
gunnyartMay 9, 2012
Great date night movie. My wife and I saw it together and both enjoyed it. I wouldn't say it was a cinematic masterpiece but a thoroughly enjoyable film. I appreciated how contemporary it felt while still being set a century and a half ago.Great date night movie. My wife and I saw it together and both enjoyed it. I wouldn't say it was a cinematic masterpiece but a thoroughly enjoyable film. I appreciated how contemporary it felt while still being set a century and a half ago. CusacK is well cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CKhoundMay 1, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start out, this movie is a different kind of movie from one that the majority of the American audience would probably find to be amusing or interesting. The era of speech and just the general subject of the movie isn't a completely action packed event that the majority of people seem to want. I find, however, that this movie is a very fun and interesting adventure. It really throws some wrenches in your viewing experience trying to find out who the killer is, and it reminds me, at least to a degree of the video game Heavy Rain, especially at the end, with the poison. I think that this is something really good for anyone that is interested in conspiracy theory type of movies, or especially detective sort of movie. It is not for everyone and i don't think that it was intended to be for everyone. The movie provided what i thought was an engaging experience and overall i would say an 8/10 is a fair score for it, just because of the fact that most people will probably not like it but i think overall it is definitely worth a watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cwp62492May 7, 2012
Reading The Raven, after having seen the movie. I expected mediocrity, but was shockingly surprised by the elaborate plot twists and inclusion of several of Poe's major works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bruce722Jul 6, 2013
I honestly don't understand why so many critics didn't like this film as I felt it was one of the better mystery crime thrillers in years. In a very creative and well made movie, Edgar Allan Poe's stories are brought to life and Poe himselfI honestly don't understand why so many critics didn't like this film as I felt it was one of the better mystery crime thrillers in years. In a very creative and well made movie, Edgar Allan Poe's stories are brought to life and Poe himself must help solve the clues and catch the killer in order to save a woman's life. John Cusack does a remarkable job in the role of Poe and the rest of the supporting cast, featuring Luke Evans, Brendan Gleeson, and the beautiful Alice Eve, are strong as well. The plot develops nicely and the movie flows at a constant pace, never dragging or growing dull. It was far from perfect being plagued by the same "oh really" issues that plague so many other thrillers. What I mean by that is that many of the plot points hinge on various characters' unrealistically stupid decisions and/or reactions to things. Regardless, The Raven is still very much worth watching and I found it a grippingly entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Oct 13, 2014
165 years ago, Edgar Allen Poe was on his way from Boston to Virgina, preparing for a new job. He never made it and was found on a bench in Baltimore, near death. He was delusional, wearing someone elses cloths, and kept repeating the name165 years ago, Edgar Allen Poe was on his way from Boston to Virgina, preparing for a new job. He never made it and was found on a bench in Baltimore, near death. He was delusional, wearing someone elses cloths, and kept repeating the name Reynolds, before he died. To this day, the cause of death and his reason for being in Baltimore are unknown. On the anniversary of his death, I decided to watch The Raven, which contrary to popular believe is not a remake of an older film. This story is a fictional take on Poe's last days, as the writers have Poe assisting local police in catching a serial killer. A killer is on the loose in Baltimore and using Poe's stories as the inspiration for his crimes, so who else is more qualified to help catch him than Poe? I am not a big fan of period dramas, as most are historically inaccurate and move at a snails pace, but the Raven was different. As fiction, it is of course extremely inaccurate and features Poe has an eccentric has been and a fall down drunk, but surprisingly the film is fast paced and really keeps you on the edge of your seat. The idea of using Poe's stories as the inspiration for a real murderer, who tries to copy his stories to the last detail was really brilliant and it plays very well, especially to fans of his work. John Cusack plays the mysterious writer and by this point in his career, I'm convinced that the man can play anyone and be believable. In thirty years, there isn't a role he wouldn't take on and I'm hard pressed to remember even one instance of him failing to be spectacular. The Raven is a stand alone film, with a common title for films featuring Poe, however this one is a great mystery that incorporates very little modern day thinking into the story. The Raven has everything you'd expect from this type of film, simply set 165 years ago. From police chases on horse back to wild 1800's costume parties, this film really surprised me with just how good it was and most definitely gets labeled as a must see movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JYTJun 9, 2012
Original and well inspired, which respect the E.A.Poe mindset, good photography, camera, acting. the thread of the story is also well put together. This is a great movie for the younger generation to help them discover E.A.Poe and encourageOriginal and well inspired, which respect the E.A.Poe mindset, good photography, camera, acting. the thread of the story is also well put together. This is a great movie for the younger generation to help them discover E.A.Poe and encourage them to read the books. If you have read all the novels, you will be able to assign each sentence to novel it refers to: make the movie more enjoyable. Brilliant idea. A must watch for the 13-19 y.o. and the older generation more classically educated. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BenzinApr 27, 2012
Gripping, Suspenseful, and Emotional in all the right places, James McTeigue's "The Raven" is a thrilling motion picture which presents in depth characters and a well-made plot portrayed by the skilled actor John Cusack. While the movieGripping, Suspenseful, and Emotional in all the right places, James McTeigue's "The Raven" is a thrilling motion picture which presents in depth characters and a well-made plot portrayed by the skilled actor John Cusack. While the movie itself rarely falls flat in certain scenes, the appearance of Mr. Poe and other characters isn't as canon as some would want it. Despite these fallacies, The Raven will keep you entertained to the end. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
MegWhiteleyMay 3, 2012
The Raven, ok, the movie is not perfect but is interesting, funny, the cast do a great job in their characters, the story is interesting, with some problems in development. The Raven is a good feel movie, no more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ScarTissue1990Jun 8, 2012
This movie was fantastic. But, what I didn't like to well was the acting. But this movie confused the **** out of me but honestly I love movies that do that. I love it, but Emily's character wasn't a very good actress in my opinion
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
deamonhunterMay 3, 2012
Although it has weak parts it keeps the excitement till the end. The plot is well written and has all the necessary parts. It's also not a typical movie which could be found interesting by the big audience so I don't advise it for everybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ILHMJan 31, 2013
The Baltimore police must enlist the help of Edgar Allan Poe when a deranged madman begins staging a series of gruesome murders around the writer's most famous works in THE RAVEN! John Cusack stars as the ill-fated author, although he oftenThe Baltimore police must enlist the help of Edgar Allan Poe when a deranged madman begins staging a series of gruesome murders around the writer's most famous works in THE RAVEN! John Cusack stars as the ill-fated author, although he often lacks the strength and conviction to carry the film. This rendition of Poe seems less tortured and more focused on melodramatics and snappy retorts, though none will accuse the film of attempting to be an accurate portrayal of the man, himself. James McTeigue paints a stylish thriller that resembles the likes of FROM HELL or SLEEPY HOLLOW in its dark Gothic allure. Poe aficionados will appreciate the delicate interlacing of clues that tie several of the author's most famed stories together while piecing together the killer's grand scheme. Where THE RAVEN mainly falters is in creating any real suspense to lock us in our seats as the murders unfold. As Hollywood thrillers go, however, the somber mood and ever-widening mystery will be enough to win over most mainstream audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
turtledeanApr 28, 2012
A very good thriller, inventive and good acting and effects, Poe invented the mystery story and this film is a mystery, he popularized the horror story and this film has gore. He was witty and wrote humorous tales, science fiction and was aA very good thriller, inventive and good acting and effects, Poe invented the mystery story and this film is a mystery, he popularized the horror story and this film has gore. He was witty and wrote humorous tales, science fiction and was a diabetic alcoholic, haunted by death and love, and this movie "gets" it, a lot of people didn't, but here's hoping you do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
1DTWChloeApr 29, 2012
I loved this movie. It was gripping and suspenseful, a great thriller. The costumes were great and the acting marvelous. I will defiantly be seeing it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FujiforkerMay 13, 2012
The Raven is sort of like an enjoyable candy bar, filled mostly with a gripping murder mystery and coated with relatively convincing insight into the life of Edgar Allen Poe. Cusack was of course brilliant playing Poe, and Luke Evans also didThe Raven is sort of like an enjoyable candy bar, filled mostly with a gripping murder mystery and coated with relatively convincing insight into the life of Edgar Allen Poe. Cusack was of course brilliant playing Poe, and Luke Evans also did well as the likable Detective. I also enjoyed the authentic mid 19th century art direction. The movie could have used maybe a little bit of comic relief in it, but seeing as how James McTeigue's "V for Vendetta" also lacked it, I'm not suprised he was going for all-out dark and gory. But nonetheless The Raven still keeps your attention for the full 111 minutes. Just when you think the individuals pursuing this psychotic killer have gotten a big break in the case, they keep finding themselves back to square one. Just like in "The Hangover" when The Wolf Pack thinks they have found their friend, you sit back and ask, "Wow, are they ever going to find Doug?" The Raven prompts you to ask, "Are they ever going to find this maniac?" Luckilly the game of cat and mouse doesn't fall flat midway through like some other movies would. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
viewerMay 27, 2012
I would advise anyone apt to compare "The Raven" with Poe's illustrious literary canon to do so with minimal solemnity. To understand the relationship between the film and the man, one must take into account the film's artistic objectives.I would advise anyone apt to compare "The Raven" with Poe's illustrious literary canon to do so with minimal solemnity. To understand the relationship between the film and the man, one must take into account the film's artistic objectives. This film makes no attempt at paying veneration. This film is an unapologetically camp, gothic spectacle that aims to suture the gaps between craft and crux, art and artlessness, beauty and gruesomeness, thriller cinema and macabre literature. It is also, however, a piece of art that must be separated (to a degree) from its literary source in order that it may stand for something beyond it. To compare "The Raven" and the works of Poe is to compare a raven to a writing desk. John Cusack's captivating and charming portrayal of Poe (a character that is more a manifestation of a dying art than an homage to the renowned writer) is what holds such a thematically bloated film together. Despite its many and varied artistic aspirations, "The Raven" offers a fairly coherent representation of the autumn humour. "The Raven" is, most assuredly, an artistic achievement; there are few greater challenges to the creative mind than to address the anxieties of that very intellect in any concrete way---to construct an artistic edifice to the melancholic mind. "The Raven" looks across art and across time and assembles, from the vestiges of some lost doctrines of the "impos[ed] pattern," a new philosophy that unites two things many artists understand to be at odds: life and art. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
A Really Good Movie!
Very Good Script And Acting! This Movie Should Atleast Be A 7/10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99May 4, 2015
Wow a 22% on Rotten Tomatoes, I know I shouldn't compare people's rating to a film but I think it was that bad.

The Raven follows the tale of Edgar Allan Poe are vividly brought to life - and death - in this stylish, gothic thriller
Wow a 22% on Rotten Tomatoes, I know I shouldn't compare people's rating to a film but I think it was that bad.

The Raven follows the tale of Edgar Allan Poe are vividly brought to life - and death - in this stylish, gothic thriller starring John Cusack as the infamous author. When a madman begins committing horrific murders inspired by Poe's darkest works, a young Baltimore detective (Luke Evans) joins forces with Poe in a quest to get inside the killer's mind in order to stop him from making every one of Poe's brutal stories a blood chilling reality. A deadly game of cat and mouse ensues, which escalates when Poe's love (Alice Eve) becomes the next target.

Before I started this review I did some research on this movie and I found out quite a lot of things about this movie and that's the stress and living hell that these film markers or who every worked on this movie faced while the budget and the production went completely wrong. This stuff always happens, I mean loads of classic and beloved movies had a lot of thing wrong with the budget or the production but it always payed off, but for this movie it didn't and while I didn't see it when it first came out because at the time was watching movies that took my interest. A week ago now I've seen the movie and to out thoughts together I can say that this movie isn't bad but wasn't that good, it's on the level of okay.

John Cusack is a great actor but at the beginning of this movie was a bit over the top with him chewing up the scene and that's only the beginning, but after a while he actually began to act and for the most of the movie he did great in the role. Nothing Oscar worthy but still a solid performance and he did his best of what he can work with, if only the movie had a better script.

The rest of cast like: Luke Evans, Oliver Jackson-Cohen, Alice Eve and Brendan Gleeson all did a solid performance, just like I said about John Cusack there all did they best of what they got I mean it's not like they did a terrible performance well actually they were good in the movie, not the best performance but still good in a way that I let them have a pass.

The cinematography in this movie looks great, every shot in the movie looked like it took forever to do in some scenes. The set, the costumes and the make-up look pretty good. The final positive thing I can say is that the movie at least doesn't look cheap like some other big Hollywood movies.

Now for problems and there's a lot: The writing in the movie was pretty bland and blah, the movie also felt really short and I normally don't say that before in my reviews but I felt that the movie ended to quick and it rushed a lot of things to end it which I predict that most people wanted but for me I thought the movie may have improved in some way as it went a long but it ended just like that.

The love triangle between Edger Allan Poe and Emily I didn't really care about and this is a bad thing. What I mean is that Emily is like a plot device, the whole movie is about trying to find Emily before it's too late, but here's the thing I don't care about Emily because she wasn't that development and she wasn't all that special to me, now the problem here is that the story is about trying to find her and solve the murder case, but if your movie audience doesn't care about Emily that means they don't care about the story or everything around it and they want it to be over because these nothing there to care about.

Overall The Raven wasn't a terrible movie as people are making it out to be but it could have been a lot better then it was.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews