Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The Road tells the story of a twelve-year-old cold case that is reopened when three teenagers vanish while traversing an infamous and abandoned road. As investigators try to find leads to the whereabouts of the missing teens, they also unearth the road’s gruesome past that spans two decadesThe Road tells the story of a twelve-year-old cold case that is reopened when three teenagers vanish while traversing an infamous and abandoned road. As investigators try to find leads to the whereabouts of the missing teens, they also unearth the road’s gruesome past that spans two decades – a history of abduction, crimes and murders. (Freestyle Releasing) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    May 10, 2012
    90
    The dead are unquiet and the living are terrified in The Road, a powerfully atmospheric blend of ghostly encounters, horrific situations and missing-persons mysteries from the Philippine director Yam Laranas.
  2. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    May 9, 2012
    75
    Moving fluidly between gory sight gags and implied, insinuating terror, The Road is a movie made to be seen after midnight, preferably in a mildly dilapidated theater with a full house.
  3. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    May 11, 2012
    75
    Director/co-writer/cinematographer, Yam Laranas, still delivers a maximum of suspense and horror, working wonders with a small budget.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    May 8, 2012
    70
    Call it a haircut of "Psycho" with ectoplasmic additives, The Road still has a whispering menace and visual grandeur all its own.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    May 10, 2012
    70
    The film's three-pronged narrative does a fair job of laying a spooky groundwork for the revelatory emotional sadism that lies behind most acts of evil; it just takes a bit of clunky exposition to get there.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 10, 2012
    70
    Yam Laranas doesn't leave it at that. In his low-budget, creepy thriller, he spells out why and how this particular path is so deadly, as well as what led to the crimes and supernatural horror that seem to frequent the place.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    May 7, 2012
    50
    For a spell, the film gets by on its unpretentious flair for atmosphere, even its disconcerting nonsensicality.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. May 12, 2012
    10
    It was a great horror to watch for the first time to watch on its premier here For me it's two thumb ups, it was entertaining,not that scaryIt was a great horror to watch for the first time to watch on its premier here For me it's two thumb ups, it was entertaining,not that scary but it will make me
    Jump out where I sit great
    Expand
  2. May 11, 2012
    9
    The Year of the horror films, The Innkeepers, The Cabin in the Woods, and The Woman in Black and now the Road, other classic of the horrorThe Year of the horror films, The Innkeepers, The Cabin in the Woods, and The Woman in Black and now the Road, other classic of the horror movies. The trama is really interesting, the development is great, this movie is incredible. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Filipino director Yam Laranas mixes atmospheric terror with outright shocks in his latest feature, THE ROAD. An unsolved missing persons caseFilipino director Yam Laranas mixes atmospheric terror with outright shocks in his latest feature, THE ROAD. An unsolved missing persons case is re-opened when three teens disappear off of the same fateful road twelve years later. What the police will discover is more horrifying than anyone could have imagined, with a string of deaths spanning over two decades! Once Laranas has established his dark, oppressive mood, he never lets up, and follows through with a steady stream of haunting images that will chill you to the bone. The story unfolds in three seemingly unrelated stories, which have been carefully tied together in the end to reveal the sinister secret behind each of the mysterious deaths. Laranas takes a timely approach in introducing each new set of characters, allowing his talented cast to bond with the audience before they meet their inevitable demise. The end result is a well-told ghost story that easily stacks up against its Japanese equivalents JU-ON and RINGU in the terror department. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    Choosing to go down this road will ultimately lead you to a destination of indifference. Well done psychological thriller with a satisfyingChoosing to go down this road will ultimately lead you to a destination of indifference. Well done psychological thriller with a satisfying story and some genuine chills. Slow moving at times and staying engaged becomes tedious. It's not that it's that bad of a film, I'm just saying it's not that great of one either. Expand
  5. May 12, 2012
    5
    I'm not sure I understand what all the hype is around this movie. It was mildly entertaining, but if there is anyone that was truly surprisedI'm not sure I understand what all the hype is around this movie. It was mildly entertaining, but if there is anyone that was truly surprised by the ending, I'd have your head checked. My wife and I figured it out by the end of Part II and honestly didn't find the scare tactics all that original. Check it out if you want, but don't go expecting the next Cabin in the Woods or Hostel. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    The story--and the way it's told--is somewhat interesting, but ultimately for a ghost story, one expects it to be a little more thrilling.The story--and the way it's told--is somewhat interesting, but ultimately for a ghost story, one expects it to be a little more thrilling.

    Script: 6/10
    Cinematography: 6/10
    Sound: 5/10 Acting: 5/10
    Production: 4/10
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    2
    A flat-out bore with very little redeeming qualities. I expect most horror films to be, at the very least, entertaining on some level. EvenA flat-out bore with very little redeeming qualities. I expect most horror films to be, at the very least, entertaining on some level. Even if the performances are underwhelming and the story thin. But The Road has no intention of such. I was constantly wondering about casting choices, editing decisions, and pacing issues which pulled me out of my suspension-of-disbelief. I really wanted to feel the tension Yam Laranas was desperately trying to convey. I wanted to feel the edge of my seat so bad I actually considered leaving the theater. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers