Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 19, 2002
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 72 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
40
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
BigZOct 8, 2014
I was fairly young when this came out and since I was a very huge fan of The Rock I thought this movie was the greatest thing ever. Getting older I still consider this a favorite, it is a great action flick for the ancient sword swinging era.I was fairly young when this came out and since I was a very huge fan of The Rock I thought this movie was the greatest thing ever. Getting older I still consider this a favorite, it is a great action flick for the ancient sword swinging era. The big burly muscular presence I think was greatly revitalized by Dwayne Johnson. That being said, I don't think there is a character that had fit him so well as being the scorpion king ever since. Packs the punch you'd expect. well choreographed fight scenes that stay consistent, nothing too impractical, the plot is relatively sound. Only issue being his correlation with a scorpion and why that is significant enough to be his title, and his perceived "destiny" by the sorceress seemed to not be all that dramatic when he was confronted by it could have been more in depth a suspenseful, not too annoying though. They did good with his support, his enemy isn't so much a match of strength but skill, his side-kicks are a funny pansy type guy, an inventor, and a beautiful woman, no one to upstage him...Considering the WWE had a lot to do with this film, they did it well, played to the strengths of a charismatic actor. Worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobSep 25, 2013
Entertaining and solid action as well. Certainly worth watching if you are a fan of the Mummy films and it's a pretty solid prequel. Sure it's flawed story wise and all that jazz but it's still worth checking out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
If we restrict ratings to movies starring former 'rasslers, this might rate 6-7 from me (top honors going to "They Live" with 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper). But, overall, I find this to be below average. It's mildly entertaining, but just doesn'tIf we restrict ratings to movies starring former 'rasslers, this might rate 6-7 from me (top honors going to "They Live" with 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper). But, overall, I find this to be below average. It's mildly entertaining, but just doesn't have that 'special hook'. If you want sword-and-sorcery action, you'd do much better sticking with the "Conan" movies. About the only draw I can see, is 'The Rock', which will no doubt bring in the 'rasslin' fans. Otherwise, the story is tripe. The comedy is forced (sticking with the cowardly side-kick and the smart-ass kid format). I should state that I haven't watched this in a theatre, or the DVD version - merely the televised version(s). However, I really don't sense I'm missing much Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
It sizzles with dirty delights. Scorpion King is action packed, sexy, and even, to my surprise, decently filmed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CoreOfDeathMar 15, 2012
My god what the fu** have you people done,there is no real story,the main character is bloody invincible and there is no logic behind anything that happens in the whole movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxJan 24, 2012
Just like the first Mummy film, The film has that "It" factor and it truely is an enjoyable film. A solid prequel (at least for the Mummy series) and good action through out (I would say the best in the first 3 films). It is a little corny atJust like the first Mummy film, The film has that "It" factor and it truely is an enjoyable film. A solid prequel (at least for the Mummy series) and good action through out (I would say the best in the first 3 films). It is a little corny at times though and that takes away from the film quite a bit. Overall though, It wasnt bad and its worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuderothOct 14, 2011
This might be the most underrated movie I have ever seen. The thing about this movie is that it doesn't take itself seriously, and nobody watching it should either. The Rock is perfect in this, slightly corny and with a subtle feelingThis might be the most underrated movie I have ever seen. The thing about this movie is that it doesn't take itself seriously, and nobody watching it should either. The Rock is perfect in this, slightly corny and with a subtle feeling throughout that he's just about to break the fourth wall. Overall, we end up with a movie that has plenty of action for action fans and a great sense of humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerOct 10, 2011
Fan-freaking-tastic the kind of movie you'll remember and have in your collection for years, it's got action and humor, and it's just so enjoyable that you have to have something wrong with you not to like this movie, a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KevinJ.Sep 24, 2007
I liked this movie
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JaredC.Aug 1, 2007
For me, this is a huge letdown. It didn't give the point nor reason why they call it The Scorpian King. It just is, because it mentions it in The Mummy movies and as a joke one time in this. But really, the writing is fine but things For me, this is a huge letdown. It didn't give the point nor reason why they call it The Scorpian King. It just is, because it mentions it in The Mummy movies and as a joke one time in this. But really, the writing is fine but things aren't as expected in this movie, the acting by the Rock is horrible, his acting here will give him roles in the future that are almost so bad, that its corny. But the movie is nothing more than a wrestler in a story with cheeze. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamApr 3, 2006
The real problem with this prequel is in the mummy returns. If it had set a far more interesting and detailed background for the Scorpion King, it would've been really good. Since it didn't you just don't care.
0 of 0 users found this helpful