Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 440 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    The story Stiller tells manages to float in a most peculiar, satisfying way.
  2. 75
    It’s a charming, whimsical and ever-so-slight film, a bit of an over-reach but pleasant enough, even when it falls short.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 28, 2013
    75
    In his uniquely funny and unexpectedly tender movie, Stiller takes us on a personal journey of lingering resonance.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 23, 2013
    50
    By trying to combine fantasy and romance with goofy humor, globe-trotting adventure and feel-good inspiration, Stiller has made Mitty a mixed bag of clashing tones and facile redemption.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 28, 2013
    50
    Impressive landscapes, plus Kristen Wiig's appealing Cheryl, the fellow worker who inflames Walter's passion, make the movie enjoyable enough. Yet its style is a constant bafflement.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 24, 2013
    50
    The unevenness of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, and Stiller’s recessive characterization of the title character, keep it from being an all-out crowd-pleaser.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 25, 2013
    25
    If, while watching The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, you start wondering why Ben Stiller is acting strange, the answer comes during the closing credits: "Directed by Ben Stiller."

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 116
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I can't believe this movie has a metascore of 54. This is one of the best movies of the year. I know this site bases the score on a wide rangeI can't believe this movie has a metascore of 54. This is one of the best movies of the year. I know this site bases the score on a wide range of reviews, but when they get it this wrong I question the value of coming here. Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Okay, so The Secret Life of Walter Mitty doesn't relate to the book at all, besides Walter's daydreams, but it's still very funny! IOkay, so The Secret Life of Walter Mitty doesn't relate to the book at all, besides Walter's daydreams, but it's still very funny! I especially liked the fight with the Stretch Armstrong doll! Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    The Secret Life of Walter Mitty is sweet, ambitious, and beautifully shot film. It also has a gorgeous score and is wonderfully acted. IThe Secret Life of Walter Mitty is sweet, ambitious, and beautifully shot film. It also has a gorgeous score and is wonderfully acted. I LOVED this film and it is absolutely endearing, just what I needed during this holiday season. I wanted more of Wiig....but that is just because she is so good. Stiller is the best he has been in years. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    Finally a simple movie with a good moral that takes the viewer on a visual adventure.

    Not a deep storyline, not a movie that will blow your
    Finally a simple movie with a good moral that takes the viewer on a visual adventure.

    Not a deep storyline, not a movie that will blow your mind, but a good story, a beautiful picture, and a film that won't leave you disappointed.
    Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    This is just a lovely feel good movie. It has great charm, wit and is a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended stiller's moreThis is just a lovely feel good movie. It has great charm, wit and is a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended stiller's more serious roles are really lovely and his maturing as an actor is lovely to watch late in his life. Go and see this Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2014
    7
    A celebration of life. Of living actually life. Really good photography. It´s really good developed story. Really good acting. TheA celebration of life. Of living actually life. Really good photography. It´s really good developed story. Really good acting. The hallucinations were great. Delirium rules! Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2015
    0
    Ben Stiller, enoughBen Stiller, enough said!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Trailers