Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1254 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,169
Mixed:
19
Negative:
66
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JacquiC.Jul 4, 2007
A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high school everything even down to the lighting cues and the heightened sounds resembles power: who can dominate and who can't. Outstanding Movie, stinks that they had to add the extra bit at the end, the original ending was way better. but fine, shows you that critics comments do play vital parts on a movies wellbeing. Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ConnorCMar 9, 2010
The greatest movie in the world may have been depressing in some parts, but it has such a good story. The seven ocars it was nominated for, should have been won to it.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
LindaC.Mar 4, 2006
Simply the best movie ever. Perfect!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTJan 7, 2008
Brings Stephen King's novella to life and even better. The Shawshank Redemption is a fantastic movie and rightfully belongs in the list of The Greatest Movies of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ReeceDMar 25, 2009
Although it does seem to go on for too long, there is that much to it that you miss some of it on the first time you watch it. The ending isn't clear until it actually happens, whereas in most films you can usually guess what will Although it does seem to go on for too long, there is that much to it that you miss some of it on the first time you watch it. The ending isn't clear until it actually happens, whereas in most films you can usually guess what will happen. The cleverness behind it all still amazes me every time I watch it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
troypJan 2, 2010
The shawshank redemption is a brilliant film that is beautifly acted with and insiring and uplifting message message of hope. in my opiniun the film should have at least one oscar to show for it's brilliance. it is truly sad that know The shawshank redemption is a brilliant film that is beautifly acted with and insiring and uplifting message message of hope. in my opiniun the film should have at least one oscar to show for it's brilliance. it is truly sad that know one could see how superior shawshank is to the wearisome forrest gump. i think that if shawshank had been realeased more recently it would have hands down won best picture it is one of the few films that are worthy of being called perfect Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
8
JorisV.Aug 7, 2006
Beautiful. Very good, but not exceptional. 8,5 really.
3 of 8 users found this helpful
10
SophieBOct 7, 2007
This is my favourite movie of all time. I absolutely adore it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
RobinMay 8, 2007
Lots of different issues can be raised from this one movie; corruption, the judicial system, prison life, life after prison, love, human rights, education, determination, hope, security.....the movie is full of meaning. Dufresne the Lots of different issues can be raised from this one movie; corruption, the judicial system, prison life, life after prison, love, human rights, education, determination, hope, security.....the movie is full of meaning. Dufresne the character, is so interesting, it makes the movie an interesting watch. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
KraigJ.Jun 1, 2007
An excellent, near perfect film which helps show us that there can be good in anybody, you finish it feeling all warm inside.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KeirB.Jul 12, 2008
"The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films that ages better with time. People talk about this film more now than when it was released in 1994. The acting, writing, cinematography, direction, music, editing and everything else "The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films that ages better with time. People talk about this film more now than when it was released in 1994. The acting, writing, cinematography, direction, music, editing and everything else makes this as close to a perfect film as you can get. The themes of redemption, fear, and ultimately hope are universal. "Forrest Gump" is a great film, but this SHOULD have won Best Picture. Unforgettable and beautiful. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CallumWDec 3, 2009
This film is the pinnacle of entertainment. This is raw acting with no special effects yet it's better than most films that come out today because the performances. Completely essential. Plus, I love the ending as it is one of the This film is the pinnacle of entertainment. This is raw acting with no special effects yet it's better than most films that come out today because the performances. Completely essential. Plus, I love the ending as it is one of the greatest twists in cinema. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RobSJul 13, 2009
I laugh at people that denote this move, "over-rated." I have seen some high quality movies through my long journey with life, and Shawshank Redemption is by far the best I have ever had the privilege of having a gander at. The twists and I laugh at people that denote this move, "over-rated." I have seen some high quality movies through my long journey with life, and Shawshank Redemption is by far the best I have ever had the privilege of having a gander at. The twists and turns of the movie inspire and transpire emotions that can only be explained through high production values and excellent writing. The musical score is on par with some of the best films every created. It's too bad some folk resort to hating on popular films, no matter how great, for the sake of being rebellious towards the movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
markoJul 16, 2009
Some say it goes on too long, i say it was too short... in a word, beautiful.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JanDSep 7, 2009
"The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films, where you can tell from the opening credits, the first chords of the soundtrack and the first voice-over line from Morgan Freeman, that you're about to witness a movie of "The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films, where you can tell from the opening credits, the first chords of the soundtrack and the first voice-over line from Morgan Freeman, that you're about to witness a movie of exceptional quality. The story, the characters, the accompanying (and at times) solemn soundtrack: each component strengthens and supports the other, the grand total making it an excellent movie. Love it or hate it: It's the stuff that classics are made of. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
zackmJan 2, 2010
The movie is brilliantly acted with and equally well written screenplay and plot. it has an inspiring message of hope and a suprising twist at the end. so benny m. you can screw yourself OKAY!!!!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JackGApr 24, 2010
Shawshank Redemption is one of the greatest films of all time, and certainly the greatest picture I've ever had the pleasure of viewing. The storyline takes you from rock bottom to possibly the most rewarding, perfect ending ever - Shawshank Redemption is one of the greatest films of all time, and certainly the greatest picture I've ever had the pleasure of viewing. The storyline takes you from rock bottom to possibly the most rewarding, perfect ending ever - without being tacky or direct; the film is an eloquent masterpiece, and one you will never forget. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JodiC.Dec 6, 2005
Spectacular!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
patrickd.Sep 22, 2005
I didnt enjoy it as much as I should of, but I know this is a great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyApr 20, 2006
This movie is beautiful, genius and brutal. It shows what prison life is like at the time which may not be innovative because obviously it has been done before but it still is a movie that is lightened up by the superb and versatile actings This movie is beautiful, genius and brutal. It shows what prison life is like at the time which may not be innovative because obviously it has been done before but it still is a movie that is lightened up by the superb and versatile actings of Tim Robbins (Andy Dufrane) and Morgan Freeman (Redd). The movie is sad and long but shows that if you live in prison you are still just trying to live the life you already had. The movie is a jolly tale of friendship, violence (including torture and isolation) and last but not least genius. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Jun 17, 2006
Just a great inspirational movie about the power of hope. This grown man cries everytime I see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeeM.Jun 21, 2006
i cant believe this film is not in the all time top 10 this is a truely great film with a great feel good ending, morgan freeman is immense!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CLSep 11, 2006
This movie is possibly the most moving movie I ever watched. I think Morgan Freeman really made this movie what it is, with one of his best performances ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AimzNov 20, 2007
Grim though an uplifting movie... an amazing like fairytale of incarceration and emancipation. Brillant! Morgan freeman is an absolute legend.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BlakeO.Mar 28, 2007
The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful and uplifting, not to mention Oscar-worthy film. In 2006, it was ranked as the greatest film ever by Empire, a film magazine. The year it came out it was nominated for 7 academy awards but did not win a The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful and uplifting, not to mention Oscar-worthy film. In 2006, it was ranked as the greatest film ever by Empire, a film magazine. The year it came out it was nominated for 7 academy awards but did not win a single one because of a movie you may all remember, Forrest Gump. The success of Gump may have overshadowed this movie in the 90 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JessB.Sep 22, 2007
This movie is the one that if I see a 1/2 second on TV, I can't change the channel. Morgan Freeman is incredible, his best preformance I have seen from him. Tim Robbins plays Andy well as a man suffering the "time and pressure aspect of This movie is the one that if I see a 1/2 second on TV, I can't change the channel. Morgan Freeman is incredible, his best preformance I have seen from him. Tim Robbins plays Andy well as a man suffering the "time and pressure aspect of prison. The supporting cast is so good. They really make the movie a great success. Should be among the top 100 of all time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EH.Mar 8, 2008
This is one the most watchable movies of all times. Morgan Freeman is miraculous.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
D.J.SkippenSep 16, 2008
Good.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
kloNov 14, 2005
Just great, the same about novel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MomoKokoDec 23, 2005
The best movie I've seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidPNov 19, 2006
Simplemente, una narrativa envolvente y unas actuaciones poderosas, facilmente podria seer la mejor pelicula de todos los tiempos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
someonesomeplaceOct 19, 2006
I can watch this movie more than any other. Perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RonnieC.Feb 25, 2006
Beautiful. Moving. Amazing score. Don't listen to any criticism. Watch it for yourself. Period.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Jun 26, 2006
One of my favorite movies of all time. I highly recommend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClayJan 25, 2007
Really good movie. Morgan freeman has the perfect narrating voice and it's very well made drama, even if it's a simple prison movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyB.Oct 24, 2008
Best all time. Everytime you watch it you find more to like about it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MuhammadZ.Jun 28, 2008
Quietly moving, yet startlingly beautiful, this tale of a man's quest for redemption and the incontrovertible power of hope is, without a doubt, one of the finest cinematic achievements of the modern age.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
NF123Sep 1, 2010
A good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe inA good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe in the showers, or the guards are helpful instead of almost comically evil. There are many flaws here but there's also a lot to love. While the ending was smarmy, the middle contains my personal favorite scene, the man released who wants to go back as he has nothing to live for out in the real world. A pigeon who helped him get by in Prison can't help him where he's going and it's a beautiful scene to say the least. A great movie weighed down by it's own obsession to try and tear jerk us would be my summary of my thoughts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PeterAug 25, 2010
its completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit thatits completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit that forrest gump was a very good movie that i almost cried from watching (because it was sad), but its not better than shawshank. there was 1 thing that the movie didnt need (Brooks out of jail), but it did add a new and important theme, so i guess i take that back. yea, this movie is perfect Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had never seen all the way through. Quality acting throughout from all the cast (Clancy Brown is scary whatever he plays) & it really does drag you in from the start.
It's funny, tragic & heart warming, very well written & a film you could go back to again & again.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
This movie makes being cliche look badass, and is so well constructed on top of that, you pretty much have to give it credit as one of the movie masterpieces of our time. But seriously, it's not the greatest movie ever made *cough*imdb*cough*
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverOct 7, 2011
Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative.Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative. The cast is perfect with Morgan Freeman as Red completely stealing the show with his soothing narration style while Tim Robbins gives out a really great performance; a falsely convicted man who keeps it to himself. A film about hope and friendship in the toughest of situations, Shawshank is uplifting, provocative and awe inspiring. An absolute must watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AlfredNov 3, 2010
One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect.
38 of 42 users found this helpful384
All this user's reviews
10
JamesNWAFeb 3, 2011
I can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and MorganI can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman were fantastic and were very convincing in their roles. Freeman's voiceovers throughout truly made me, as a viewer, understand what he and the other prisoners were feeling and going through. The story was adapted extremely well from Stephen King's novella and is a story in which many meanings can be taken from it. Easily a film that I will watch over and over again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
AouzyNov 8, 2011
This movie is about a prisoner Andy Dufresne (Tim Robins) who gets accused of murdering his wife and her lover. He meets another prisoner named 'Red' (Morgan freeman) who says he know how to get things. How ironic, a â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
D-SliceDec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, so, so good. The adaptation of the Stephen King novel is so entertaining, filled with interesting dialogue and plot twists. A pretty much perfect prison film. Great performances by Robbins and Freeman. One moment really got to me: the moment when Andy crawls out of the sewer tunnel and stares up at the sky in the rain. Such a glorious moment of triumph, I wanted to stand up and scream "Yes!". This movie truly depicted that prison life in the fifties was just as hard for new prisoners as it is implied today. The movie didn't sugar coat Andy's prison life. A great movie full of great writing and performances that the first time you watch it, it will instantly be fortified as a great movie classic. Expand
19 of 20 users found this helpful191
All this user's reviews
9
JHangoAug 17, 2011
This is one of my top 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
reveiwmanmysterFeb 6, 2011
Wow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that theWow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that the director per-trades the way prison is is incredible. The way of how friendship is so powerful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MoeYazAug 11, 2012
This truly is a masterpiece. And not much more needs to be said than that. If you haven't seen this yet, you are missing out on one of filming's finest moments.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
FTWincFeb 24, 2011
This movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 andThis movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 and above reviews. They know what they're talking about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
One of my favorite movies of all time. One of the best feel good movies around and also a dramatic masterpiece. A nice break from the horror adaptations of Stephen Kings books.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
CursedKnight187Jul 25, 2012
A beautifully personal film with fantastic acting and a well crafted story makes this film deserved of all the praise it has received over the years. It really should have won Best Picture.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing place where brutality from guards and other prisoners is commonplace. With help from friend Red (the brilliant Morgan Freeman) he is able to gradually win both prisoners and guards over to his side. Above all this movie is a story of hope but the brilliant central relationship between Andy and Red lifts it well above virtually any other film. Add that to top notch production values and a fantastically satisfying ending and you have one of the best movies in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jay1983Jul 6, 2011
Im not gonna claim this is the best movie ever made, but its close.
The story sucks you in, and yes, it is quite a long movie but you really dont notice it at all. It grips you and doesnt let go until the very end.
This is an absolute
Im not gonna claim this is the best movie ever made, but its close.
The story sucks you in, and yes, it is quite a long movie but you really dont notice it at all. It grips you and doesnt let go until the very end.

This is an absolute classic film and deserves to be seen by anyone even remotely interested in movies.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kldc31Jan 9, 2012
The greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, noThe greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, no matter their crimes, no matter what crazy or illegal things they have to do to survive prison, no matter what the warden does to Tim Robbins, together prison is awesome and they can redeem themselves. Movies like this show what would happen if prisoners accept people's differences and redeem themselves from their crimes and that's good thing because people don't need to act like idiots in prison. Despite the graphic violence in this movie in the beginning, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman used friendship to forget prison and made each other good people and they were great people! Whoever does NOT like this movie is a bully and needs lighten up because this is a light-heart movie of teaching you the lessons of prison. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: #1-ranked masterpiece on IMDbâ Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 30, 2011
This movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write suchThis movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write such an amazing story, so I' am very happy with the final result of this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Shawshank Redemption", a sensational movie containing a strong plot, powerful performances, and the ultimate theme of good and evil, is a masterpiece.
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
ChappyStickSep 24, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. no words that i can think of even comes close of how amazing this movie really is. its funny, thrilling and bone chilling. what i really love about this movie is that you really feel for the characters as if they were family. when brookes committed suicide i was holding on a pillow shouting NOOOOO. best movie i have ever seen. no movie comes close to this masterpiece. not godfarther, LOTR, goodfellas, star wars, or indiana jones. a perfect movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SirLouenDec 12, 2015
Best film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detailBest film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detail of the novel. Considering is pretty impossible to do a film based on a long novel, choosing an epic short story to be filmed is the best choice ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ExTrEmESpAnKzApr 6, 2012
Great movie with fantastic performances by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. My all time favourite and a film that you will not easily forget. If ou really want a film whereas you gain a real connection to the characters than this is the film for you.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFApr 13, 2013
Perhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a trulyPerhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a truly emotional discovery and, well, redemption.
Everything aside, the film is simply about a friendship under the most unorthodox of circumstances.
Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins) is locked up in Shawshank prison in 1947, being convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. He is initially given a hard time as being the new guy, but his generally laid back attitude catch the attention of Red (Morgan Freeman).
As Andy and Red get to know each other, Red soon realises that perhaps there is more than meets the eye with his new acquaintance, as Andy slowly begins to change the lives of the people closest to him. Unfortunately as time goes on, Andy's impatience starts with his life inside starts to show, he seems more reckless and outspoken, regardless of how he has made small but significant changes to the prison itself and of course its inmates.
We are left to watch Andy's journey through the wonderful narration of Morgan Freeman's Red, who is constantly but pleasantly surprised at Andy's personality and reactions to his surroundings. The true friendship lies where these two are completely different, Red has made peace with his situation, accepting his fate and serving life, but Andy is determined to "Get busy living".
Tim Robbins perfectly portrays a character who is purposely isolated from everyone, he can very much take care of himself and show is intelligence and cunning nature at many shining moments in this remarkable film. Morgan Freeman is very much the good guy who followed the wrong path, he gets on with almost everyone who is worth getting on with and doesn't cause trouble, apart from being the "go to' guy in the prison.
The word perfect could indeed give the justice this movie deserves. The cinematography by Roger Deakins is powerful and absorbing, he is always trying to make you become part of the walls that these prisoners call home, his various shots including a few prisoners sitting on top of the roof in the early morning drinking beer and another when Andy manages to play Mozart through the tannoy system speaks waves to the capabilities not necessarily by the actors, but to the scenery that they are surrounded by, and it is truly breathtaking.
It's just a show that is too good to miss, it emerged out of nowhere and really hit home on an emotional level, there is no action in it, simply life lessons that need to be heard, each character has a vibrant role to play that will make us concerning of their situations, and Frank Darabont has created a perfectly diverse cast to blend in with this masterful and commanding film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jedi_JettsonDec 23, 2011
The greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, noThe greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, no matter their crimes, no matter what crazy or illegal things they have to do to survive prison, no matter what the warden does to Tim Robbins, together prison is awesome and they can redeem themselves. Movies like this show what would happen if prisoners accept people's differences and redeem themselves from their crimes and that's good thing because people don't need to act like idiots in prison. Despite the graphic violence in this movie in the beginning, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman used friendship to forget prison and made each other good people and they were great people! Whoever does NOT like this movie is a bully and needs lighten up because this is a light-heart movie of teaching you the lessons of prison. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxDec 15, 2011
An 80 overall by critics shows how stupid they are. Shawshank Redemption is an amazing film that is a must see for any film buff. Untouchable performanc by Tim Robbins and a great supporting role by Morgan Freeman.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DarylDec 15, 2011
Dear God what a film this, i watched this for the first time and the end was the best moment in a film ever. This film once again shows Morgan Freeman's immense talent.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
OscarOrNotDec 27, 2011
One of the greatest prison movies of all time (along with The Green Mile), and one of the greatest movies of all time in General. The performances are stellar, the plot is sensational and moving. The Shawshank Redemption is Morgan Freeman'sOne of the greatest prison movies of all time (along with The Green Mile), and one of the greatest movies of all time in General. The performances are stellar, the plot is sensational and moving. The Shawshank Redemption is Morgan Freeman's masterpiece. As the cover says, "Fear can hold you prisoner, hope can set you free." Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
This movie so perfect shows a brilliant story of redemption, friendship, hard work and both the beauty and the corruption of the human race, that is hard to understand how making this was humanly possible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EleniFeb 2, 2012
www.unsungfilms.com, by Eleni Antonaropoulou
Just to get things straight, when Pandora opened the box, all evils were released into the world but Hope. Hope remained in the box. So, if Pandora wasnâ
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
A delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...EachA delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...Each character was clearly defined. Although, Freeman tends to play well those characters...because he is always performing similar ones.Yet, I would love to see him doing something a bit more daring. That said, I have no doubts that he is an excellent actor, and I applaud his talent! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
danielprinnJan 23, 2012
A film about hope. It is definitely one of the greatest prison films of all time. The movie delivers great messages and displays concepts, like the concept of justice, very well. Freeman and Robbins both deliver great performances, and bothA film about hope. It is definitely one of the greatest prison films of all time. The movie delivers great messages and displays concepts, like the concept of justice, very well. Freeman and Robbins both deliver great performances, and both portray seemingly likable characters. This film is just very well written and just overall an excellent production. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
This is a 10 out of 10. This is one of the greatest, and one of my favorite movies of all time. Acting is phenomenal. Especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Score is good. The story is really, really good. It can be sad, it can beThis is a 10 out of 10. This is one of the greatest, and one of my favorite movies of all time. Acting is phenomenal. Especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Score is good. The story is really, really good. It can be sad, it can be cheerful, its just great. This movie is the most robbed movie ever in the oscars. Deserved at least a few awards,in my opinion Best picture. Overall, this is an amazing movie. It just breathtaking how good it is. You really, really need to see this movie. You won't be disappointed. This is highly, highly recommended. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
impedido10Apr 30, 2013
One of the best movies ever. Period Great movie and story definetly check watching..........................................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FopeFilmGeekJun 3, 2012
Powerful, emotionally satisfying, and thought-provoking, "The Shawshank Redemption" is a timeless classic that gets better with every viewing. It has a profound message about hope, and is truly wonderful to behold. "The ShawshankPowerful, emotionally satisfying, and thought-provoking, "The Shawshank Redemption" is a timeless classic that gets better with every viewing. It has a profound message about hope, and is truly wonderful to behold. "The Shawshank Redemption" is the best movie of all time. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Serrao_BrochadoJun 18, 2012
The Shawshank Redemption tells us about friendship and loyalty in a context where nobody can trust anyone because, as we know, in the prisons the fittest are the stronger ones. Our best friend today can be our worst enemy tomorrow. Moreover,The Shawshank Redemption tells us about friendship and loyalty in a context where nobody can trust anyone because, as we know, in the prisons the fittest are the stronger ones. Our best friend today can be our worst enemy tomorrow. Moreover, it is one of those movies that makes clear how far an intelligent man can go. Only the most cynical can remain indifferent! Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
CrusardJul 21, 2012
Epic win! Every time I watch it I still get nervous during the roof scene, the beatings, and the escape. This film pulls you into another place and time and it creates a memory that you can revisit. Perfection.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RagingFerretJun 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is definitely one of the best ever made. It may not be a film for everyone, especially if you are more of a hardcore action kind of person, but even if you are this is such an inspirational film that you should really try it. The plot is a bit obvious, you can definitely tell that the main character was going to get away somehow, but it doesn't matter because all the little twists, or unexpected actions make it riveting anyway. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Tonyiscool111Jun 27, 2012
I felt it was the perfect movie. A great movie to watch with a family. Stephen king knows how to make a story. Filled me with emotion such as anger, sadness, happyness. It should have won best picture in 1994.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
smithbhurricaneSep 9, 2012
This is my all time favorite movie. Great story of redemption and justice.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
crazywaffle124Nov 23, 2012
Action. Comedy. Drama. This movie is absolutely genius, and makes you feel so many emotions. Superb acting. I am enraged that the reviewers gave this less than 100. #1 movie of all time in my opinion
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Alexanderzx360Sep 26, 2012
Based on the Stephen King novel by the same name, it's simply the best movie ever made, it should had won best picture in 1994, and all characters performances are incredible. If you haven't watch it, just do it without thinking about it twice.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
catmanSep 27, 2012
Shawshank Redemption is easily one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life. The movie has a great message to it, the acting and filming were fantastic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Feb 23, 2013
Morgan Freeman is in it! What more do you need to want to see this movie? Well besides that it`s a classic! It`s one of those movies you can watch over and over, and still be interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
What to say about the "Shawshank Redemption"? I shouldn't really have to say anything because when most people hear about it, they already have a pretty good idea of how incredible it is. This movie is freakin' immaculate. Darabont and Co.What to say about the "Shawshank Redemption"? I shouldn't really have to say anything because when most people hear about it, they already have a pretty good idea of how incredible it is. This movie is freakin' immaculate. Darabont and Co. have created not only the most inspiring film in ages, but one of the most emotionally significant films to date. The movie teaches things to us that we need to know - messages on hope, perserverance, and friendship - and it does it with marvelous eloquency. By far, one of the greatest films I have ever seen - a master work of art. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiNov 8, 2013
Such a strong narrative. All the ingredients of what makes a good drama in the right proportions. The goodness inside people in the most Godforsaken places, and the moral corruption some of us could suffer from if given power over condemnedSuch a strong narrative. All the ingredients of what makes a good drama in the right proportions. The goodness inside people in the most Godforsaken places, and the moral corruption some of us could suffer from if given power over condemned people.

You have to make your own mind about Andy, whether he is innocent or not. He believes so, but all evidence points to the contrary. Robbins plays him in a subtle, laid-back manner. He's hard to figure out. Then there is Red, played by the masterful Freeman, who is in for the long haul and doesn't know if he is ever going to breathe free air again. These two characters make the heart and soul of the movie.

There may be a message here. Without being overt, we sense as the years of these men's lives are wasted before our eyes, especially Andy since you can't really figure out if he is guilty or not. But the ways he finds to engage himself, do something good.

There is plenty of humour and the drama never exceeds the limit where it might become painful. The action is sparse and is shown in an expository fashion. The tone is objective. And Freeman's voice guides you through every scene. The camera angles used, and the overall cinematography was genius. It was like being guided though a maze by an expert in the field. The dialogue was crisp and refreshing. The score quiet and unobtrusive. The world created, or in this case just the prison, seemed so real and complete. You could feel the inmates' emotions related to the place.

All this may give the impression that it may be hard to sit through it, but quite surprisingly, like all great movies, despite the deep, absorbing discussions about life, the movie speeds through from scene to scene without effort. I had the feeling I have when I'm reading an especially engrossing novel I cannot put down. I guess this is what happens when the work of great directors, screenwriters and cinematographers fuses to deliver a product that exceeds anything that a single department could achieve at its best. This one did not just have effort put into it but also soul.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 17, 2013
Very good movie. There are no words to describe how good this movie is.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan1980sJun 12, 2013
This film is one of my top 3 or 5 films of all-time. I love everything about it, such as the casting, the performances, the storyline, the directing, etc. If you haven't seen this, you are really missing out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HucksterFeb 13, 2013
Easily in the top 100 movies of all time. Brilliant storytelling and a great insight to the horrors of prison life. The ending is one of my all-time favourites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BradySmithJun 12, 2013
Has to be the best prison movie ever. Yes, it's even better than the Green Mile. I've been putting off watching this movie forever, thinking it was going to be boring and sappy. But it's far from it. This movie wraps you up in its storyHas to be the best prison movie ever. Yes, it's even better than the Green Mile. I've been putting off watching this movie forever, thinking it was going to be boring and sappy. But it's far from it. This movie wraps you up in its story and it always feels very real due to superb filmmaking. The acting couldn't get any better, and in the end this is one of the most uplifting movies ever made. Yes it's very long, but it without a doubt justifies its length. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheratonFeb 4, 2013
One of the best films ever watched. Once sentenced as a criminal(guilty or not) you are criminal! Imprison men 10, 20, 30 years, taking away their lifes and the consequences for the people imprisoned and society are greatly demonstrated byOne of the best films ever watched. Once sentenced as a criminal(guilty or not) you are criminal! Imprison men 10, 20, 30 years, taking away their lifes and the consequences for the people imprisoned and society are greatly demonstrated by this film. But also the value of friendship, the will NOT to give up and a big dose of genius makes the film nearly perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheRyanMcNeilOct 11, 2013
This movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The ShawshankThis movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The Shawshank Redemption won no oscars because 1994 was the year of Forrest Gump, and Pulp Fiction. Although those two movies were good in its time. The Shawshank Redemption will always be one of the bets movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ExKingDec 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is easily one of my all time favorite movies,
other than the fact that it's written by stephen king, it's also one of his best works.
tim robins and morgan freeman were born to play these characters, and the story is not just about the life in prison but it's also about friendship and loyalty and you get so attached to these characters that it's leave an impact on you after the movie ends.
also the escape scene is one of the best scenes in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJJul 14, 2015
I remember the first time i watched this movie when i was a kid. Superb movie about hope,intelligence and friendship! So deep,intense and interesting. Masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 29, 2013
Before, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in theseBefore, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in these unforgettable characters made it even better. From Red to Andy to Norton, they we're all just wonderful and enjoyable characters, especially Red and Andy. The relationship between those two is what really holds the balance of the movie. And putting in characters such as Warden Norton and Captain Hadley makes the story riveting and (in a sense) dark. It's not like any other movie out there. Overall, it's a classic Stephen King story. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Masoud1986Apr 14, 2013
The best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand itThe best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand it and realize it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettSep 1, 2015
I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing,I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing, awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
xXxTHABETxXxMay 28, 2013
The Shawshank Redemption is really overrated it doesn't deserve a 9 it only deserves a 7 and there is a lots of movies that is better than it like Fight club, The prestige etc....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AGoodReviewerMay 30, 2013
Absolutely brilliant. One of the best movies I have ever seen. Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins were both brilliant in their roles, showing the true meaning of friendship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is a story about a man who goes to jail after they accuse him for killing his wife and her lover. At first when he went to that prison he had problems and they raped him all the time after a while he made probably the best friendship he ever had in that prison. It is an interesting tale about friendship despite the differences of each people my opinion as I think the 'white people' used to have problems with the 'black people'. It will amuse the audience and it will touch you. It is interesting and it keeps you. Morgan freeman as usually he is the narrator. Tim Robbins gave a great performance and in overall The Shawshank Redemption it is a must-watch and probably one of the best of its kind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RobertoBuaJul 1, 2013
Perfection. The benchmark of all dramas, this is as good as cinema gets. Everyone should watch it, if you don't find this film moving you basically have no feelings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KaraokeJul 3, 2013
Few movies can make such an emotional impact on a viewer as this one does. The acting is brilliant and both Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman fit perfectly in their roles. Overall, this is one movie you shouldn't miss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews