Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1380 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,276
Mixed:
20
Negative:
84
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AlfredNov 3, 2010
One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect.
41 of 52 users found this helpful4111
All this user's reviews
10
D-SliceDec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, so, so good. The adaptation of the Stephen King novel is so entertaining, filled with interesting dialogue and plot twists. A pretty much perfect prison film. Great performances by Robbins and Freeman. One moment really got to me: the moment when Andy crawls out of the sewer tunnel and stares up at the sky in the rain. Such a glorious moment of triumph, I wanted to stand up and scream "Yes!". This movie truly depicted that prison life in the fifties was just as hard for new prisoners as it is implied today. The movie didn't sugar coat Andy's prison life. A great movie full of great writing and performances that the first time you watch it, it will instantly be fortified as a great movie classic. Expand
19 of 26 users found this helpful197
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Shawshank Redemption", a sensational movie containing a strong plot, powerful performances, and the ultimate theme of good and evil, is a masterpiece.
16 of 22 users found this helpful166
All this user's reviews
6
MarickMar 24, 2015
I was expecting something else entirely to a better movie. Sorry not impressed me so even give birth. The only thing I liked was how they interpreted actors. Otherwise ... no comment.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
0
CarlJonJan 18, 2018
A bad movie famous because of IMDb. Nobody knows how that movie is there, actually. Everyone knew how thist movie was gonna end.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
JodiC.Dec 6, 2005
Spectacular!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
patrickd.Sep 22, 2005
I didnt enjoy it as much as I should of, but I know this is a great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyApr 20, 2006
This movie is beautiful, genius and brutal. It shows what prison life is like at the time which may not be innovative because obviously it has been done before but it still is a movie that is lightened up by the superb and versatile actings This movie is beautiful, genius and brutal. It shows what prison life is like at the time which may not be innovative because obviously it has been done before but it still is a movie that is lightened up by the superb and versatile actings of Tim Robbins (Andy Dufrane) and Morgan Freeman (Redd). The movie is sad and long but shows that if you live in prison you are still just trying to live the life you already had. The movie is a jolly tale of friendship, violence (including torture and isolation) and last but not least genius. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Jun 17, 2006
Just a great inspirational movie about the power of hope. This grown man cries everytime I see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeeM.Jun 21, 2006
i cant believe this film is not in the all time top 10 this is a truely great film with a great feel good ending, morgan freeman is immense!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CLSep 11, 2006
This movie is possibly the most moving movie I ever watched. I think Morgan Freeman really made this movie what it is, with one of his best performances ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BlakeO.Mar 28, 2007
The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful and uplifting, not to mention Oscar-worthy film. In 2006, it was ranked as the greatest film ever by Empire, a film magazine. The year it came out it was nominated for 7 academy awards but did not win a The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful and uplifting, not to mention Oscar-worthy film. In 2006, it was ranked as the greatest film ever by Empire, a film magazine. The year it came out it was nominated for 7 academy awards but did not win a single one because of a movie you may all remember, Forrest Gump. The success of Gump may have overshadowed this movie in the 90 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kloNov 14, 2005
Just great, the same about novel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MomoKokoDec 23, 2005
The best movie I've seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidPNov 19, 2006
Simplemente, una narrativa envolvente y unas actuaciones poderosas, facilmente podria seer la mejor pelicula de todos los tiempos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
someonesomeplaceOct 19, 2006
I can watch this movie more than any other. Perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RonnieC.Feb 25, 2006
Beautiful. Moving. Amazing score. Don't listen to any criticism. Watch it for yourself. Period.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Jun 26, 2006
One of my favorite movies of all time. I highly recommend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
chocolatebaconJun 29, 2014
A true masterpiece. A film that you can watch many times and never gets old. Suspenseful, touching and sometimes even funny. Also great acting, cinematography and music.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ConnorCMar 9, 2010
The greatest movie in the world may have been depressing in some parts, but it has such a good story. The seven ocars it was nominated for, should have been won to it.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
0
GabrielHU3ttdz6Jul 28, 2017
A parody of better movies. This movie was made for people with no brains or low intellect. It doesn't even deserved an Oscar nomination. Maybe that's why in serious lists, this isn't even in Top 100.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
troypJan 2, 2010
The shawshank redemption is a brilliant film that is beautifly acted with and insiring and uplifting message message of hope. in my opiniun the film should have at least one oscar to show for it's brilliance. it is truly sad that know The shawshank redemption is a brilliant film that is beautifly acted with and insiring and uplifting message message of hope. in my opiniun the film should have at least one oscar to show for it's brilliance. it is truly sad that know one could see how superior shawshank is to the wearisome forrest gump. i think that if shawshank had been realeased more recently it would have hands down won best picture it is one of the few films that are worthy of being called perfect Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
This movie makes being cliche look badass, and is so well constructed on top of that, you pretty much have to give it credit as one of the movie masterpieces of our time. But seriously, it's not the greatest movie ever made *cough*imdb*cough*
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityNov 5, 2012
Aside from the iconic poster-on-the-wall scene, nothing about this movie is all that memorable. A crowd-pleasing story with a message that comes off like a sermon.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
TheSodomizerDec 26, 2017
This is without a doubt(in my opinion) one of the best movies of all time.The Shawshank Redemption tells a story of redemption and friendship in which hope never dies. The movie contains a very strong plot, close to perfectThis is without a doubt(in my opinion) one of the best movies of all time.The Shawshank Redemption tells a story of redemption and friendship in which hope never dies. The movie contains a very strong plot, close to perfect performances,fantastic casting and last but not least an emotional story written by a genius - Stephen King.This movie realistically show life in prison in late 40's and 50's, but not just that.It's unique in so many ways. Scenes in this movie spoke to me, made me react...for example when the audience founds out Andy was wrongfully accused I wanted to smash something, on the other hand when he escaped Shawshank I wanted to scream out of excitement. It's just perfect. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
Serrao_BrochadoJun 18, 2012
The Shawshank Redemption tells us about friendship and loyalty in a context where nobody can trust anyone because, as we know, in the prisons the fittest are the stronger ones. Our best friend today can be our worst enemy tomorrow. Moreover,The Shawshank Redemption tells us about friendship and loyalty in a context where nobody can trust anyone because, as we know, in the prisons the fittest are the stronger ones. Our best friend today can be our worst enemy tomorrow. Moreover, it is one of those movies that makes clear how far an intelligent man can go. Only the most cynical can remain indifferent! Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
3
JLeighJun 25, 2015
The most over rated film of all time, riddled with plot holes and plagued with sloppy scripting. Not terrible, but not worth watching unless you have a morbid curiosity to see what the fuss is all about and certainly not worth a second viewing.
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
1
ChristianityOct 10, 2015
This film is awful simply because the bad guy, the prison governor or warden , is a "devout" Christian. A genuine devout Christian would not force the Holy book on anyone or have such a character! This film is to braiwash the masses, this isThis film is awful simply because the bad guy, the prison governor or warden , is a "devout" Christian. A genuine devout Christian would not force the Holy book on anyone or have such a character! This film is to braiwash the masses, this is why it got such a high status among the satanists who run this industry. Typical Holywood industry BS demonising Christianity and none bats an eyelid! Could holywood ve make a film where the Christian is the good guy and the muslim or jew are the bad guy? Oh no, if it was made it wouldnt be released, if it was released there would be a huge cry of lack of PC. Christians all over think this is a good movie! Christians cant not see the wood for the trees because they have been mind programmed to follow the herd of imbeciles bred to comsume and make the 1% theri master. Holywood is evil. Wake up folks. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
9
JacquiC.Jul 4, 2007
A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high school everything even down to the lighting cues and the heightened sounds resembles power: who can dominate and who can't. Outstanding Movie, stinks that they had to add the extra bit at the end, the original ending was way better. but fine, shows you that critics comments do play vital parts on a movies wellbeing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
LindaC.Mar 4, 2006
Simply the best movie ever. Perfect!
2 of 3 users found this helpful