The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Brady
    100
    The film succeeds on the strength of the four actresses, first and foremost America Ferrera, who beautifully essays the role of narrator Carmen.
  2. 75
    Always sweet and sometimes surprisingly touching.
  3. It may set itself up as a girlie film with "Ya-Ya" mystics (complete with candles and chanting), but sheds that motif for a much more grounded (and satisfying) film.
  4. 70
    May not be much more than a story about girlfriends growing up, and it's not going to score any points for edginess, but it's entertaining in a low-key, non-threatening kind of way.
  5. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    70
    Mixes satisfying dollops of fun, tears, travel, romance and lesson-learning in a handsome package whose two hours pass faster than many a grownup entertainment.
  6. This is strictly a picture for the target audience, though it seems to hit that target regularly.
  7. The girls in 'Traveling Pants' are only mannequins wearing someone else's clothes. They don't get inside your head, let alone your heart.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. SarahP.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    i loved the books, but i was a little skeptical about wastching the movie the first time because the movie is generally never as good as the i loved the books, but i was a little skeptical about wastching the movie the first time because the movie is generally never as good as the book, but i must say they did a pretty good job of following the book! its a bit of a tearjerker but id still recomend it to anyone and everyone! Expand
  2. HannahP.
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    The movie was the best movie I have seen all year. And trust me I have seen a ton of movies this year.
  3. SamJ.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    I have laught, cried of sadness joy, falled in love. It is so beautiful movie I'm waiting the following..2,3...The actresses are very I have laught, cried of sadness joy, falled in love. It is so beautiful movie I'm waiting the following..2,3...The actresses are very good an dpersonnaly I liked alexis bedel and Amber Tamblyn. Expand
  4. StevieO.
    Nov 2, 2005
    8
    I liked the movie alot but liked the books better. I think the movie should have stayed true to the original story to the details. But I I liked the movie alot but liked the books better. I think the movie should have stayed true to the original story to the details. But I though it did a good job of showing the main point of the story. Expand
  5. ShelleyN.
    Jul 20, 2006
    8
    It was really good and i recomend both the movie and the book to anyone who wants take the offer. Alexis Bedel was great in the movie but its It was really good and i recomend both the movie and the book to anyone who wants take the offer. Alexis Bedel was great in the movie but its really more of a chick flick. Expand
  6. SusanJ.
    Nov 2, 2005
    7
    I did not come into this movie expecting anything and I was pleasantly surprised. The girls had a great chemistry and the movie did a great I did not come into this movie expecting anything and I was pleasantly surprised. The girls had a great chemistry and the movie did a great job of conveying that throughout. Collapse
  7. ME!
    Oct 23, 2005
    3
    The movie really sucked conpared to the book. My advise save some $$$ and go get the book from the library!

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.