Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Sep 11, 2014
    100
    One of the better movies to come along this year.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Sep 11, 2014
    90
    This is only the second feature for the director: the first was "True Adolescents." But Mr. Johnson's work with his actors is impeccable, and his style is freewheeling.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Sep 9, 2014
    90
    What's singular here isn't that the stars are playing brother and sister, or that they stir such sublime and anxious joy from each other. It's that the real love story isn't even between the damaged-but-lovable characters. It's between two profoundly depressed people and life itself.
  4. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Sep 12, 2014
    88
    As we enter this season of big, important awards contenders that “matter,” The Skeleton Twins is a small, intimate gem that might truly matter.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 12, 2014
    88
    This is a smart movie about complicated people in search of something approaching inner peace.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 11, 2014
    88
    What raises the movie above the herd and rocks our settled ideas of pop entertainment is the way Hader and Wiig resist the script's pull to tidy things up.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Sep 25, 2014
    83
    Wiig, following the big-screen breakthrough of "Bridesmaids," has dipped her toes into dramatic waters, but for Hader, The Skeleton Twins is a revelation.
  8. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Sep 3, 2014
    83
    It's a shockingly vulnerable performance (Hader), one of the best I've seen all year.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Sep 28, 2014
    6
    After a gay man (Bill Hader) attempts suicide, he moves in with his estranged, but formerly close sister (Kristen Wiig). The majority of theAfter a gay man (Bill Hader) attempts suicide, he moves in with his estranged, but formerly close sister (Kristen Wiig). The majority of the film is spent trying to get the twosome back to the warm and loving relationship of their youth. Most of this story deals with drama and dysfunction in their lives, which becomes tiresome and repetitive. Luckily, this twosome brings their comic chops to the roles (especially Hader), which add to the appeal. While there's lots of promise and the performances are decent, the film's gloomy nature hobbles it's potential. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2014
    9
    This flick made me wince, laugh, cry, sing, dance and enjoy life just a little bit more than before I had watched it.

    I think the overall
    This flick made me wince, laugh, cry, sing, dance and enjoy life just a little bit more than before I had watched it.

    I think the overall sentiment of this flick is life is **** but its how you deal with it that makes it. Most people have been touched by depression or crap parenting or loves lost or life just being generally ****ty and not allowing childhood dreams to ever reach fruition. This flick covers a multitude of social stigma and ailments and rolls em all up into a ball and hits that ball clean outta the ball park!

    Overall I rate this as an excellent 9 outta 10 which I know I will want to watch again and again.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2014
    5
    Bill Hader makes a strong case for being the best actor to come out of SNL in years. Kristen Wiig is predictably Wiigish. A mostly forgettableBill Hader makes a strong case for being the best actor to come out of SNL in years. Kristen Wiig is predictably Wiigish. A mostly forgettable affair--save one particular scene in a dentist office. Full Review »