Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Sep 11, 2014
    100
    One of the better movies to come along this year.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Sep 11, 2014
    90
    This is only the second feature for the director: the first was "True Adolescents." But Mr. Johnson's work with his actors is impeccable, and his style is freewheeling.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Sep 9, 2014
    90
    What's singular here isn't that the stars are playing brother and sister, or that they stir such sublime and anxious joy from each other. It's that the real love story isn't even between the damaged-but-lovable characters. It's between two profoundly depressed people and life itself.
  4. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Sep 12, 2014
    88
    As we enter this season of big, important awards contenders that “matter,” The Skeleton Twins is a small, intimate gem that might truly matter.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 12, 2014
    88
    This is a smart movie about complicated people in search of something approaching inner peace.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Sep 11, 2014
    88
    What raises the movie above the herd and rocks our settled ideas of pop entertainment is the way Hader and Wiig resist the script's pull to tidy things up.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Sep 3, 2014
    83
    It's a shockingly vulnerable performance (Hader), one of the best I've seen all year.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 20, 2014
    4
    I liked the premise of this film, contrived as it was I was ready to accept it. However, I never believed the characters pain, and the acting didn't help. The plot was predictable paint by the numbers, with no surprises
    what so ever. Both characters just became tiring whiners and the stakes were never credible.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Loved it. An amazing script supplemented with an equally talented cast makes the Skeleton Twins a must watch. Where this film really stands out is it's ability to tell a dark, but loving family tale that doesn't divert from it's core message of the bond of siblings, and as a twin myself, it really hit home. Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2014
    3
    An affecting little comedy/drama that delivers two standout (if somewhat subdued) performances. With a crisp and wonderful script that should've left the audience breathless, it never really takes you there. A little redundant, a little unbelievable at times, the whole story doesn't really make you care or feel empathy for the characters, and a great opportunity was lost in that regard. Full Review »