Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1348 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On a fall night in 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg sits down at his computer and heatedly begins working on a new idea. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution in communication. A mere six years and 500 million friends later, Mark Zuckerberg is the youngest billionaire in history... but for this entrepreneur, success leads to both personal and legal complications. From director David Fincher and screenwriter Aaron Sorkin comes The Social Network, a film that proves you don't get to 500 million friends without making a few enemies. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    Brilliantly entertaining and emotionally wrenching.
  2. The film comes down to a mesmerizing portrait of a man who in any other age would perhaps be deemed nuts or useless, but in the Internet age has this mental agility to transform an idea into an empire.
  3. 100
    This is a remarkable film for more reasons than its antihero, from the cyberspeed wisdom of Aaron Sorkin's screenplay to Jeff Cronenweth's camera prowling the excesses of youthful genius gone wild.
  4. David Fincher obsesses about obsessive people.
  5. Most of all, it is the improbably entertaining story of how new media are altering the very nature of courtship and friendship.
  6. When Mr. Eisenberg makes Mark's face go blank, the character seems scarily emptied out: it's a subtly great, at times unsettling, performance.
  7. It's an entertainingly cynical small movie. Aaron Sorkin's dialogue tumbles out so fast it's as if the characters want their brains to keep pace with their processors; they talk like they keyboard, like Fincher directs, with no time for niceties.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 325
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    "The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's left me so wholeheartedly satisfied by the time the credits started rolling. This is some amazing, amazing stuff we've got here folks: don't miss it for the world. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start off the new decade of the new millennium with something that really captures the spirit of the time is pure magic, and that's The Social Network in a nutshell. The 2000s were steeped in irony, from its elected leaders to its technological advances, and The Social Network takes that irony and twists it into a parable for how people interact and come apart. People who cry foul against this film for not being historically accurate obviously miss the point. This isn't the story of Facebook. The story of Facebook is subterfuge, a way to get Aaron Sorkin and David Fincher's moral point across. By telling the story of Facebook, they muse on the comedy of errors that is life.

    Mark Zuckerberg as brilliantly played by Jesse Eisenberg is a socially maladroit genius who connects the entire world through the internet. His best friend and later bitter rival Eduardo Saverin (Andrew Garfield) is a businessman who can't grasp the business of the new world. Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss (Armie Hammer and Josh Pence) are nearly stereotypical rich kid jocks who have everything and gain nothing out of their clash with Zuckerberg, and Sean Parker (a surprisingly great Justin Timberlake) is the devil in Prada seducing Mark into a world of money, fame, and women only to be revealed for the inhaler-dependent reprobate that he is. Philosophically, technically, and pretty much in every other way, The Social Network is a near-perfect film. I say nearly perfect because the inability for the characters to realize their own foibles can get cloying at times, but that's a very minor nitpick. The acting, the directing, the cinematography, and especially the writing are all top-notch, and The Social Network instantly became my favorite film of 2010 and one of my favorite films of all time.

    A definite 10. If you haven't seen it, see it as soon as you can.
    Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Interestingly enough, Hollywood had decided to make a movie about a boring subject, the making of Facebook. The story was supposed to be just a mess with lawsuits and betrayal of friends. But writer Aaron Sorkin turned the story into a must-see of the decade. He turned it into a witty, fast-paced, thrilling, and an Oscar-winning script. Luckily, The Social Network got David Fincher (Curious Case of Benjamin Button) as a director, which makes it even better. David Fincher's achievement in this film is going to score him another Oscar nod. (Fincher is directing The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, English version, my favorite book). The actual Facebook story is about Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg), a Harvard undergraduate (computer genius), who wrote the code for the Facebook website. Teaming up with him was him roomate Eduardo Saverin, whom later sued him for... well lots of **** Mark ran into playboy Sean Parker who convinced Mark to "betray" his partner (Eduardo), that's what lead to the law suit. Though people say Aaron Sorkin's script is an inaccurate potray of Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, who in real life is down to Earth and not an **** like in the story, I say he was just trying to make the story A LITTLE more interesting than it already is (sarcasm). Aaron Sorkin not only made the story more interesting, he made it smarter and more thrilling. Performance wise? I will have to admit that I think The Social Network will dominate the Oscars in the acting categories. Jesse Eisenberg gave one hell of a performance! Since he had been playing a loser-with-no-girlfriend kind of guy, this is really typical for him. His fast talking and annoying ass attitude really stole every scene that the camera sets on him. Andrew Garfield and Justin Timberlake also gave fine, dramatic performances which MIGHT earn them an Oscar nod. But in terms of Jesse Eisenberg, he is guaranteed an Oscar nomination (he might even win considering there is no other good movies this time of year). Directing, writing, and acting all great in one movie is rare (to say the least). The Social Network succeeds in every assets that the film was trying to achieve. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    David FIncher is back to being Fincherian after his sappy Benjamin Button (thanks to a Sorkin script, too!). Any film which opens with The White Stripes am be good. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    "The Social Network" could end up defining this generation. It was witty and over the top where it needed to be while still being able to show the "sensitive" side of a boy who really just wanted to create something "cool". While the movie ends with Zuckerman searching for friendship, he ended up creating the greatest social networking site ever. It is interesting to think about what today's world would be like without Facebook. Also, Sean Parker's role in the creation of facebook was somewhat unknown until now and while the movie did take some creative liberties it is interesting to see the dynamic between Parker and Zuckerman. The best part of the movie was actually the soundtrack (an amazing job down by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails), which ended up making each scene that Mark Zuckerman an intense thrill ride as he took on the system and later on his colleagues. Overall a job well done. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    The Social Network is a sleek and entertaining take on the origin story. It is a fresh and original film that succeeds on the back of the enormous talent which it employs on every level. David Fincher directs along with his crack team of technical experts producing a stunning visual effect. Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross developed a gorgeous soundtrack the works seamlessly with the modern and edgy feel of the film. Aaron Sorkin brings the same level of intelligence here that he brought to the West Wing, crafting a full-bodied and tension filled script that, while occasionally a bit too-clever for its own good, is ultimately a master class adaptation of the source material. And finally, the young actors on display here are extremely promising and well cast, particularly Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, and Rooney Mara. With all of these things going for it, The Social Network is hard film to deny. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    When I first saw the preview for this movie and saw that it was by David Fincher. I almost died. It looked absolutely amazing. David Fincher is one of the best directors of all time. Then I saw the movie. it was the biggest piece of trash I've ever seen. My first and biggest gripe was Jesse Eisenberg. He is a absolutely horrible actor. He sucks, plain and simple. He tries so hard to be like Michael Cera, that he ends up failing. His role wasn't the best either. The character of Mark Zuckerberg is to put simply, a douche bag. I'm sorry I don't want to sit there for two hours and watch some guy think his **** don't stink. I was happy that Rooney Mara's role was very short because she is one of the most annoying actress's out there. The film in itself was just generic. I felt David Fincher was selling out so he can appeal to a younger audience. Everything else was just mediocre and overlooked. The only good thing was the script. It was fresh and crisp and the dialogue was witty and tight, but it wasn't enough to save this film from becoming, just like Zuckerberg, a douche bag itself. Expand

See all 325 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  4. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  5. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we
  6. The Social Network: Inside the Reviews

    The Social Network: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: October 6, 2010
    David Fincher's "The Social Network" is attracting critical praise like no other film released so far this year. We take a closer look at the reviews to find out exactly what makes the film so good, and what faults might be present despite the high Metascore.
  7. This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In

    This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In Image
    Published: October 1, 2010
    This week, our focus is on three extremely infrequent events: a major film with phenomenal reviews ("The Social Network," which, by one measure, is now the best film in our database); a horror remake with critical acclaim ("Let Me In"), and an early fall cancellation victim that was well-liked by critics ("Lone Star").