Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1424 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: On a fall night in 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg sits down at his computer and heatedly begins working on a new idea. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution inOn a fall night in 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg sits down at his computer and heatedly begins working on a new idea. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution in communication. A mere six years and 500 million friends later, Mark Zuckerberg is the youngest billionaire in history... but for this entrepreneur, success leads to both personal and legal complications. From director David Fincher and screenwriter Aaron Sorkin comes The Social Network, a film that proves you don't get to 500 million friends without making a few enemies. (Sony Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    Brilliantly entertaining and emotionally wrenching.
  2. 100
    With a thieves den of borderline-Shakespearian characters, a wickedly literate screenplay, potent direction by David Fincher, an exceptional ensemble cast and subject matter that speaks to a generation and well beyond, The Social Network is mesmerizing.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    100
    The film owes much of its success to the inspired pairing of Fincher and Sorkin.
  4. A work deeper than its nickname, "The Facebook Movie," hints at - coils around your brain. Weeks after seeing it, moments from it will haunt you.
  5. 100
    The performances, direction and writing of one of the best pictures of 2010 make this Social Network every bit as addictive, and a little chilling as well.
  6. 90
    All I can say about Timberlake's performance as the thoroughly odious, desperately seductive, textbook-case metrosexual Parker is that he brings so much reptilian fun that he unbalances the movie, almost fatally.
  7. It's an entertainingly cynical small movie. Aaron Sorkin's dialogue tumbles out so fast it's as if the characters want their brains to keep pace with their processors; they talk like they keyboard, like Fincher directs, with no time for niceties.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 330
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    "The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's"The Social Network" was so good I don't even know where to begin. I can't, for the life of me, think of another film in recent years that's left me so wholeheartedly satisfied by the time the credits started rolling. This is some amazing, amazing stuff we've got here folks: don't miss it for the world. Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    Such an interesting and entertaining movie. It wasn't boring in the slightest. All the actors were great. Justin Timberlake, Andrew GarfieldSuch an interesting and entertaining movie. It wasn't boring in the slightest. All the actors were great. Justin Timberlake, Andrew Garfield and Jesse Eisenberg were especially good. Easily the best movie of 2010. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Interestingly enough, Hollywood had decided to make a movie about a boring subject, the making of Facebook. The story was supposed to be justInterestingly enough, Hollywood had decided to make a movie about a boring subject, the making of Facebook. The story was supposed to be just a mess with lawsuits and betrayal of friends. But writer Aaron Sorkin turned the story into a must-see of the decade. He turned it into a witty, fast-paced, thrilling, and an Oscar-winning script. Luckily, The Social Network got David Fincher (Curious Case of Benjamin Button) as a director, which makes it even better. David Fincher's achievement in this film is going to score him another Oscar nod. (Fincher is directing The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, English version, my favorite book). The actual Facebook story is about Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg), a Harvard undergraduate (computer genius), who wrote the code for the Facebook website. Teaming up with him was him roomate Eduardo Saverin, whom later sued him for... well lots of **** Mark ran into playboy Sean Parker who convinced Mark to "betray" his partner (Eduardo), that's what lead to the law suit. Though people say Aaron Sorkin's script is an inaccurate potray of Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg, who in real life is down to Earth and not an **** like in the story, I say he was just trying to make the story A LITTLE more interesting than it already is (sarcasm). Aaron Sorkin not only made the story more interesting, he made it smarter and more thrilling. Performance wise? I will have to admit that I think The Social Network will dominate the Oscars in the acting categories. Jesse Eisenberg gave one hell of a performance! Since he had been playing a loser-with-no-girlfriend kind of guy, this is really typical for him. His fast talking and annoying ass attitude really stole every scene that the camera sets on him. Andrew Garfield and Justin Timberlake also gave fine, dramatic performances which MIGHT earn them an Oscar nod. But in terms of Jesse Eisenberg, he is guaranteed an Oscar nomination (he might even win considering there is no other good movies this time of year). Directing, writing, and acting all great in one movie is rare (to say the least). The Social Network succeeds in every assets that the film was trying to achieve. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    The Social Network is a good movie because it retells how FACEBOOK came to existence and it is artistically done. In the movie, we can reallyThe Social Network is a good movie because it retells how FACEBOOK came to existence and it is artistically done. In the movie, we can really see true emotions of the character. Well, everyone needs to watch this because no one can retell how the movie flows. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    "The Social Network" is a dexterous production, surrounding the past decade impeccably and methodically. Mr. Zuckerberg has created a new"The Social Network" is a dexterous production, surrounding the past decade impeccably and methodically. Mr. Zuckerberg has created a new world, and in the process of creating this world -- punitive complications circulate the "God of the internet" in a myriad of forms. Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Excellent film. The magnificent dialogue carries the movie, as Fincher takes a new "less is more approach" to his directing style. One of theExcellent film. The magnificent dialogue carries the movie, as Fincher takes a new "less is more approach" to his directing style. One of the best of the year. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2011
    0
    Worst casting ever! The movie is well done. The plot is extremely poor. The actors are plain. Is a cheap movie that got lucky with someWorst casting ever! The movie is well done. The plot is extremely poor. The actors are plain. Is a cheap movie that got lucky with some advertising and some bought nominations. Expand

See all 330 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Oscar Best Picture Race: Critics vs. The Academy

    Oscar Best Picture Race: Critics vs. The Academy Image
    Published: February 10, 2015
    How often does the best film win the Academy Award for best picture? We look back at the last 20 years of best picture nominees to find out just how often Oscar voters agree with critics.
  2. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  3. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  4. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  5. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  6. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we
  7. The Social Network: Inside the Reviews

    The Social Network: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: October 6, 2010
    David Fincher's "The Social Network" is attracting critical praise like no other film released so far this year. We take a closer look at the reviews to find out exactly what makes the film so good, and what faults might be present despite the high Metascore.
  8. This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In

    This Week: What We Learned About Lone Star, The Social Network, and Let Me In Image
    Published: October 1, 2010
    This week, our focus is on three extremely infrequent events: a major film with phenomenal reviews ("The Social Network," which, by one measure, is now the best film in our database); a horror remake with critical acclaim ("Let Me In"), and an early fall cancellation victim that was well-liked by critics ("Lone Star").