User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 165
  2. Negative: 23 out of 165
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RadeM.
    Jul 17, 2010
    8
    My girlfriend, my sister and I really liked this movie, and we are in late twenties. It reminded us of childhood. It has funny moments, not too many slow moments and a predictable story that was told in a good and interesting way. In fact everything we expected from this movie we've got in the end. My sister even asked me if there would be a sequel! :)
  2. ChadS
    Jul 16, 2010
    7
    From a park bench, Balthazar(Nicolas Cage), a former nesting doll prisoner enjoying his first meal in a thousand years, can see that Becky(Teresa Palmer), a college radio deejay who is heading toward the subway after a night of indie rock proselytizing, is clearly out of Dave's league, so he waves a pickle(it's not an especially large pickle) at his apprentice because he knows a From a park bench, Balthazar(Nicolas Cage), a former nesting doll prisoner enjoying his first meal in a thousand years, can see that Becky(Teresa Palmer), a college radio deejay who is heading toward the subway after a night of indie rock proselytizing, is clearly out of Dave's league, so he waves a pickle(it's not an especially large pickle) at his apprentice because he knows a little overcompensation couldn't hurt the physics nerd's chances for an intimate relationship. What if she's a size queen? And boy, does Dave(Jay Baruchel) overcompensate big time, as the bling on his finger turns the one-time laughingstock of the fifth grade into a powerful conjurer of magic, which more than makes up for the boy's slight physique and small "pickle". Right away, the ring pays off dividends, when Dave apprehends a mugger who had just stolen Becky's bling that had belonged to her grandmother, and as a result, proves Balthazar right since now the NYU student positions himself as a potential suitor. At first, Dave overcompensates with brains(good enough to be her good friend), when he restores the radio station's low wattage signal, enabling Becky to broadcast her show. (She seems more Maroon 5 than Fleet Foxes.) But now that Dave understands what being the Prime Meridian could entail, this seemingly unapproachable girl is no longer out of his league. There's a small problem, though. Telling a beautiful girl that you're the second coming of Merlin, in most cases, would be an automatic dealbreaker, and this is where "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" errs dramatically. The film should have established an interim period in which Becky thinks Dave's childhood tormentors were right to dismiss the boy as a weirdo(the incident at Arcana Cabana). It would have made the final sequence of action all the more galvanizing, in which she'd realize that the Tesla boy was telling her the truth. But Becky learns about Dave's secret at the wrong time, rendering his pronouncement into an anti-climactic reveal. That's because Cage is the star, so the apprentice's desperate need to overcome his shortcomings can't upstage Balthazar's second chance at love with Veronica(Monica Belucci). As Dave withstands Morgan's best shot, then, in return, goes on the offensive, the filmmaker needs Becky for corresponding reaction shots, but since "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" never loses focus on the relationship between teacher and student, it's Balthazar's reaction shots that matter. Had Becky witnessed Dave's duel to the death with Morgan(Alice Krige), Baruchel would have stolen the movie away from Cage. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    I found this an enjoyable movie and definitely worth watching the acting from the cast was good and the storyline was satisfactory. i would definitely recommend the movie to people as i can see no reason why anyone shouldn't enjoy it
  4. mikeb
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Kind of like harry potter, but without all the tweens.
  5. rileys
    Jul 16, 2010
    9
    I saw this movie in the theaters the other day and i really enjoyed it. I though they did a good job with the texuring of action and story. Good movie.
  6. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Great film. Best this year by far but let's be honest, it's Disney so would you really expect any less???
    Great for anyone of any age to enjoy.
    10/10.
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    4
    Man, is it just me or does Mr. Cage desperately need money? His performance in "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" is hurried and unusually weak, followed by the idiotic story and dialogue disney motion pictures threw in. In other words, the movie is a terrible blockbuster (LOL, considering the money it earned its not even considered a blockbuster).
  8. AlanG
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    This movie is awesome!! Screw the critics!! Its definetly better than Airbender. Bring on the sequels!
  9. dang.
    Jul 19, 2010
    3
    Where do they find these male leads these days?? jay barawhatever reminds me of the kid in spider man: wimpy. jay has pharynxy, nasal, sinusy voice ... positively put me off my kettlekorn. maybe hollywood is trying to get back to when leading men didn't need looks (edward g robinson, et al)... at least the women are still hot, tho i have some mixt feelings re cursing, increasing Where do they find these male leads these days?? jay barawhatever reminds me of the kid in spider man: wimpy. jay has pharynxy, nasal, sinusy voice ... positively put me off my kettlekorn. maybe hollywood is trying to get back to when leading men didn't need looks (edward g robinson, et al)... at least the women are still hot, tho i have some mixt feelings re cursing, increasing displays of cleavage, the f and other questionable initialed words... next time i'm sneaking in some cracker jacks. Expand
  10. AlmasA
    Jul 17, 2010
    7
    Entertaining, humorous, romantic.
  11. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    At the start of this film, I wasn't sure if it would be my type of movie but after the first 10 minutes, the film got a lot better and it turned out to be a fantastic film and one that I would watch over and over again. Jay Baruchel was fantastic in the lead role and impressed me.
  12. ConcernedMoviegoer
    Jul 18, 2010
    1
    Shameless cash-in on the popularity of Harry Potter and the washed-up actor Nicholas Cage. Spare yourself the awfulness and go see something else.
  13. Aug 11, 2010
    6
    There is a reason we are all put on this planet some of us have not found those reasons while others have discovered the reasons earlier than most and chases after them until they can firmly hold the power they are meant to have in the palm of there hands. Some are meant to be doctors, some are meant to be lawyers, some are meant to be cops, bank mangers, soldiers, politicians,There is a reason we are all put on this planet some of us have not found those reasons while others have discovered the reasons earlier than most and chases after them until they can firmly hold the power they are meant to have in the palm of there hands. Some are meant to be doctors, some are meant to be lawyers, some are meant to be cops, bank mangers, soldiers, politicians, historians, film directors, screen play writers, film critics, novelists the list goes on and on. We shape our future by what we do in the here and now and what path we choose to walk the only exception is a lanky young man named David "Dave" Stutler a physics nerd who thinks he is on the right track to his future. Little does he know that fate has something far more important part for the young David to play little does he know that he is about to become "The Sorcerer's Apprentice.â Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2010
    0
    uuu special effects
    soundtrack bad
    story bad
    overall movie: extremely bad
    If you are under 12 I understand why you would like this though.
    Airbender was close to this one also.
  15. Jan 17, 2011
    5
    Did you ever watch Mickey Mouse FANTASIA in 2000? Thiz is meant to be the live action version. Mickey Mouse character replaced by nerd character specialist, Jay Baruchel (as Dave). And the master played by Nicolas Cage (as Balthazar). The scene from FANTASIA, when the apprentice works his imperfect spell to command all brooms and mops to do some cleaning jobs is the only homage toDid you ever watch Mickey Mouse FANTASIA in 2000? Thiz is meant to be the live action version. Mickey Mouse character replaced by nerd character specialist, Jay Baruchel (as Dave). And the master played by Nicolas Cage (as Balthazar). The scene from FANTASIA, when the apprentice works his imperfect spell to command all brooms and mops to do some cleaning jobs is the only homage to original version, along with its original score theme. Despite of that goodness, you are about to see an hour and half of Cartoon. The jokes are still funny but the story is completely predictable and fully anticipated. Everyone seems to be drawn into giant vortex of comic character, without exception: Nic Cage, Alfred Molina, Toby Kebbell and Monica Bellucci. The only fresh appearance is made by new gorgeous face, Teresa Palmer as Dave girlfriend. The magical battle is seeming to use some iconic images in New York (which the movie took place), like Bronze Charging Bull in front of Wall Street, and the Giant Iron Eagle which is perching on one of the famous buildings. The Director Jon Turteltaub has been tangled into CGI festival, which puts aside a lot of factors in story and characters development. Thiz NATIONAL TREASURE (2004) is not a PHENOMENON (1996), the movie could still be running WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING (1995). I shortly described it as Special Effects exhibition which is trapped inside the cage. It is NOT the coolest job ever.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  16. JoshuaS
    Jul 18, 2010
    8
    The effects are breath-taking and Nicolas Cage is such a great actor.
  17. SteveZ.
    Jul 19, 2010
    8
    Very nice, entertaining but predictable.
  18. DiJavanteA.
    Jul 16, 2010
    2
    Not a very good movie. Short bits of dumb funny parts, terrible dialogue, and choppy storyline.
  19. JaredC
    Jul 17, 2010
    10
    Without doubt, great.
  20. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Being a huge fan of Fantasia's Sorcerer's Apprentice segment, Disney, and fantasy comedies, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. When I went into this movie, I had seen the Last Airbender two weeks before, so I was still in a bad movie-going mood. But this movie rocked!! The Jerry Bruckheimer-action fantasy kicked all kinds of butt! The action was really cool, the effects were awesome,Being a huge fan of Fantasia's Sorcerer's Apprentice segment, Disney, and fantasy comedies, I was eagerly anticipating this movie. When I went into this movie, I had seen the Last Airbender two weeks before, so I was still in a bad movie-going mood. But this movie rocked!! The Jerry Bruckheimer-action fantasy kicked all kinds of butt! The action was really cool, the effects were awesome, the cast was great, and it's hilarious!! There's a couple of cliches, but I expected that!! I love this movie!! Expand
  21. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    People need to keep in mind this is movie is made by Disney. While I did enjoy the movie for what it was, there where a few things I wish was done differently, first more back story on Nick Cage's character (Bathazar), I found his flashbacks and him explaining his past more interesting than anything. Two, NOT EVERY MOVIE NEEDS A LOVE INTEREST, I get it, nerdy boy likes cute girl. Doesn'tPeople need to keep in mind this is movie is made by Disney. While I did enjoy the movie for what it was, there where a few things I wish was done differently, first more back story on Nick Cage's character (Bathazar), I found his flashbacks and him explaining his past more interesting than anything. Two, NOT EVERY MOVIE NEEDS A LOVE INTEREST, I get it, nerdy boy likes cute girl. Doesn't think he's good enough and wants to impress her. It's been done before. Hey Hollywood not every attractive girl is a sweetheart. This story didn't need her. But hey it's Disney so what do you expect. The love triangle between Bathazar and the villain (I forgot his name) with his love interest (I forget her name too) was more interesting than the kid's. But all in all the movie was a great little distraction. By far not the greatest movie but it did what it set out to do. If your expecting some epic movie like Harry Potter you'll be disappointed. But any average movie goer (not for your cinema snobs) would have fun taking their family for night out. Expand
  22. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    The one thing the film has going for it are the visual effects. Everything else is, in the best case scenario, mediocre. The story was not very well written and the screenplay was messy. Dialogues were ok, nothing out of the extraordinary - just a typical Disney film type of screenplay. Visually, though, there were some impressive effects, and the film was very nice to the eye. That beingThe one thing the film has going for it are the visual effects. Everything else is, in the best case scenario, mediocre. The story was not very well written and the screenplay was messy. Dialogues were ok, nothing out of the extraordinary - just a typical Disney film type of screenplay. Visually, though, there were some impressive effects, and the film was very nice to the eye. That being said, the acting was quite bad, especially disappointing from Nicholas Cage. The lead actor/kid was rather bland and annoying, and Monica Bellucci's role was a cameo, to say the least. It is NOT a good film, but it will keep you entertained for the two hours it's long, for which the visual effects are the main contributor, I'd say. Worth watching if you have no expectations. Expand
  23. Aug 13, 2010
    6
    It was ok-decent. The overly-used CGI and the cast can't save the cliche-fiiled plot that is throughly predictable, and lacks any character development of any kind, making it impossible to truly care for anything that's happening. A 6/10.
  24. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This is one film for which i have to disagree with the critics. It is one of the best movies i have watched this year. It's funny, exciting and bursting with creativity at every turn. Just plain good entertainment. It is probably one movie at which you would probably have to leave your brain outside, but that is actually a good thing. You would be surprised at how much you would enjoy theThis is one film for which i have to disagree with the critics. It is one of the best movies i have watched this year. It's funny, exciting and bursting with creativity at every turn. Just plain good entertainment. It is probably one movie at which you would probably have to leave your brain outside, but that is actually a good thing. You would be surprised at how much you would enjoy the show if you just keep an open mind Expand
  25. Sep 11, 2010
    6
    It is far from being original, but is quite enjoyable. Acting is OK, Alfred Molina does always a great job, Nicolas Cage's role is average, but I don't think you really care about this in a Disney production.
  26. Sep 12, 2010
    7
    This movie is good, i hope you like it. The movie itself is well made,
    special effects are nothing special, is a nice story. My vote is 7.0 , because is a good movie.
  27. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Sure, Jay Baruchel's character may be a border-line annoying character, but after watching Prince of Persia and Inception, two movies that didn't live up to their expectations, it was a relief to finally watch this great action movie. I would've loved to see a sequel, but looking at the box office numbers, that, unfortunately, isn't going to happen.
  28. Oct 9, 2010
    8
    "The Sorcerer's Apprentice i hate to say , Does not bring the magic & the chemistry between Baruchel and Cage just was not there, also plot development , but Apprentice was also fun , imaginative and dare i say it at times somewhat entertaining" .. B
  29. Dec 22, 2010
    6
    The always enjoyable Alfred Molina keeps the film afloat and young Jay Baruchel is geeky enough to produce a few laughs. But casting directors should seriously consider alternatives when thinking of getting Nicolas Cage on board the project.
  30. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    an entertaining segment from the animated movie

    Rating: 82%
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    60
    Despite Cage in a snit, it's a likable if functional summer-show.
  2. "Apprentice" lurches from one been-there-done-that sequence to another.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    The magic here feels machine-made and depressingly state-of-the-art.