• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: This is the tale of Sutter Keely, a high school senior and effortless charmer, and of how he unexpectedly falls in love with "the good girl" Aimee Finecky. What starts as an unlikely romance, becomes a sharp-eyed, straight-up snapshot of the heady confusion and haunting passion of youth –This is the tale of Sutter Keely, a high school senior and effortless charmer, and of how he unexpectedly falls in love with "the good girl" Aimee Finecky. What starts as an unlikely romance, becomes a sharp-eyed, straight-up snapshot of the heady confusion and haunting passion of youth – one that doesn’t look for tidy truths. [A24] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Aug 22, 2013
    100
    Has an honesty few movies seek or achieve these days.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 1, 2013
    100
    The focus in James Ponsoldt’s affecting, intelligent drama is a pair of teenagers, and in them is so much complexity and heart that this casually paced gem feels rich in scope. They’re two of the most carefully created figures on screen this year, and yet their normalness takes us by surprise.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Aug 1, 2013
    90
    Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, as high school seniors Sutter and Aimee, bring such an authentic face of confidence and questioning, indifference and need, pain and denial, friendship and first love, that it will take you back to that time if you're no longer there, and light a path if you are.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Feb 28, 2013
    80
    Ordinary in some ways and extraordinary in others, The Spectacular Now benefits from an exceptional feel for its main characters on the parts of the director and lead actors.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 1, 2013
    80
    A memorable, imperfect, heartbreaking summer love story, a bit soapy in spots but loaded with power and feeling.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry,
    Aug 8, 2013
    75
    The movie captures the raw excitement and heartbreak of adolescence so completely that it manages to replace a seen-it-all jaded heart with the butterflies that accompany fresh experiences.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 2, 2013
    38
    The teen movie The Spectacular Now begins like “Say Anything” but soon turns into “Drink Anything.”

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    The Spectacular Now is everything its name implies. Miles Teller does a fine job playing a smooth-talking popular high school senior whoThe Spectacular Now is everything its name implies. Miles Teller does a fine job playing a smooth-talking popular high school senior who relishes only on the "now", but I think that it was Sheilene Woodley's amazing performance that did it for me. You can see the hurt inside of these two generally happy people and you witness the vices of the lead character that emanates to the most important people in his life. Definitely one of the summer's best films. Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    This movie is a bit outside my typical range of films I go out and watch but it was suggested to me by a friend. I won't go too into it butThis movie is a bit outside my typical range of films I go out and watch but it was suggested to me by a friend. I won't go too into it but the two leads played incredibly. It was as touching as can be and it was surprisingly real. I finished watching the movie and was left with emotions running high for hours after. I honestly kind of want to see it again already. It was that good. Surprised it doesn't have a higher score. One of my favorite movies of 2013. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    A film that opens your eyes to the world of love, showing that nothing comes from nothing and that everything will go one way. beautifulA film that opens your eyes to the world of love, showing that nothing comes from nothing and that everything will go one way. beautiful beautiful wild Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    All of the cast (especially the leads) give top-notch performances in the sensitive, emotional, adroit and undoubtedly spectacular "TheAll of the cast (especially the leads) give top-notch performances in the sensitive, emotional, adroit and undoubtedly spectacular "The Spectacular Now". Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    All of the cast (especially the leads) give top-notch performances in the sensitive, emotional, adroit and undoubtedly spectacular "TheAll of the cast (especially the leads) give top-notch performances in the sensitive, emotional, adroit and undoubtedly spectacular "The Spectacular Now". Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    Most romantic comedies exaggerate every single aspect of relationships, to please the collective unconscious who flock to see them despite 99%Most romantic comedies exaggerate every single aspect of relationships, to please the collective unconscious who flock to see them despite 99% of them being total The Spectacular Now does not. It's a very realistic and down to earth representation of two teenage lovers and how they struggle to stay together. No gunfights, no car chases, no murderers and no giant mutant squids. It's very simple and straightforward but also very sweet and charming. I was always interested despite nothing grand or particularly exciting happening, which isn't an easy thing to do. In some places it lagged and my attention was lost, but I was immersed again a few minutes later. Some major events felt slightly forced (but still true to life) and put me off even if they were significant to the movie. Coming from a rom-com loather, who thinks 90% of chick flicks should be erased from history, it was pretty darn good. Not uproariously funny or very exciting but always emotional and interesting. Worth a watch even if you're not a fan of the genre like me. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    500 Days of Summer is a legendary film , This is boring and nothing new common story with ordinary acting and dialogues.Critic writers may500 Days of Summer is a legendary film , This is boring and nothing new common story with ordinary acting and dialogues.Critic writers may have seen different movie or sold out .Script is poorly garbadge and theirs nothing really to watch.Music also primative. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.