Anderson Digital | Release Date: November 8, 2013
1.4
USER SCORE
Overwhelming dislike based on 59 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3
Mixed:
4
Negative:
52
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
LWFYMNov 17, 2013
Your lack of comedy is disturbing.

This movie is a bust, after five months it will be forgotten with all the other meaningless parodies(Most were made by the same people, be original, guys!). Ever since the mainstream "Scary Movie" in
Your lack of comedy is disturbing.

This movie is a bust, after five months it will be forgotten with all the other meaningless parodies(Most were made by the same people, be original, guys!). Ever since the mainstream "Scary Movie" in 2000(Which was good, actually) parodies have been nothing original, same slapstick-turned-wired comedy and randomness that does not seem so random anymore. It seems like that overtime, the genre has been losing what sense is left in the plot and focusing on parts that will make you say "What the f*ck?" and then laugh with your friends. This movie(along with other parodies) are not meant to be watched alone, but with friends, then talk about the funny parts with other friends and so on. Overall this movie lies within all the other parodies of the 2000's- A conversation starter.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
MovieGoer14Mar 3, 2014
This is one of the worst movies ever made. I have no problems with parodies but if they were done bearably, "Scary Movie" franchise got down the hell but for the most part it was passable. "The Starving Games" seems like those YoutubeThis is one of the worst movies ever made. I have no problems with parodies but if they were done bearably, "Scary Movie" franchise got down the hell but for the most part it was passable. "The Starving Games" seems like those Youtube parodies that are noticed when the movie goofed is forgotten. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
TheR3volut1onNov 29, 2013
if you dare to watch this, watch with absolute vodka to kill the pain because This movie is absolute garbage! probably the worst movie that has graced our eyes this year Scary Movie V was unfunny but the startwas pretty hilarious, movie 43if you dare to watch this, watch with absolute vodka to kill the pain because This movie is absolute garbage! probably the worst movie that has graced our eyes this year Scary Movie V was unfunny but the startwas pretty hilarious, movie 43 gave me a few laughs here and there..BUT THIS!? REALLY?! DONT WATCH THIS DISASTROUS PILE OF GARBAGE! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
lisadel24Jan 3, 2014
I am sick of seeing this film!!!! My 8 year old thinks it's hilarious & has made me sit through it on numerous occasions. Personally I would rather gouge my eyes out with a rusty spoon, it really is that bad! Don't bother watching it, do theI am sick of seeing this film!!!! My 8 year old thinks it's hilarious & has made me sit through it on numerous occasions. Personally I would rather gouge my eyes out with a rusty spoon, it really is that bad! Don't bother watching it, do the dishes instead! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
EpicLadySpongeFeb 22, 2016
If you think the Starving Games is a great Hunger Games spoof, something's definitely wrong with you. At least take your time to watch it again to prove how bad this movie is.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
DaveisonlineNov 8, 2013
If you think this film might be alright, you might want to seek therapy, if you have friends that want to see this film, check them into an insane asylum, if you get tickets to this as a gift or a prize BURN THEM and post them on Twitter.If you think this film might be alright, you might want to seek therapy, if you have friends that want to see this film, check them into an insane asylum, if you get tickets to this as a gift or a prize BURN THEM and post them on Twitter.

This film is an absolute abomination, its a cringeworthy fest from start to finish made by the same guys who did Date Movie, Epic Movie, Meet the Spartans and Disaster Movie who recycle the same jokes with pointless references and prop gags, and they haven't gotten any better with out of nowhere poorly animated Angry Birds and a pointless PSi appearence with no context whatsoever.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
zeNapNov 13, 2013
Poor CGI, poor acting says it all doesn't it? One would think that after a couple movies the directors would be better but boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong though, the movie has it's moments such as when a bad spoof of the Annoying OrangePoor CGI, poor acting says it all doesn't it? One would think that after a couple movies the directors would be better but boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong though, the movie has it's moments such as when a bad spoof of the Annoying Orange appears, would be much better with the original one. There were a few jokes that made me laugh but all together the movie was not fun.

It's supposed to be a comedy movie but making poor jokes, poor spoofs is not the right way. When The Expandables crew appears it's just plain stupid as the guys playing the crew can't even act specially not "Chuck Norris". This movie is not worth the time and if you think you're gonna have a blast, think again.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
lordslayerJan 2, 2014
i usually give this type of movies a try since you can get some cheap laughs in some of them. this is not the case. so give this one a pass and check out something else
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
okamimiyazakiMar 15, 2014
Wow, this is literally the dumbest thing I've ever seen. After the first few minutes you can tell how bad it's going to be. Only 2-3 funny moments in an hour and a half long movie. Most of it was spent with my face in my palm.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
drlowdonJul 23, 2014
What has happened to movie parody's? Its gone from being a legitimate genre, thanks to movies like Airplane and Austin Powers, to this!

In all honesty I am not quite sure how the creators get away with almost copying a movie scene for
What has happened to movie parody's? Its gone from being a legitimate genre, thanks to movies like Airplane and Austin Powers, to this!

In all honesty I am not quite sure how the creators get away with almost copying a movie scene for scene without infringing on some sort of copyright, unless the addition of random pop cultural references makes it OK.

The only positive is the acting is better than other similar movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RECON-UKNov 23, 2013
I watched for 25 minutes, i then threw the film in the trash, the acting is forced and terrible, the effects are extremely sub par, and overall it makes for a incredibly none funny film, it is just plain bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Tss5078Mar 11, 2014
In the 1970's, Mel Brooks and Monty Python made spoof films a fixture in American movie theaters. In the years that have followed, we've even seen franchises like, Scary Movie, Date Movie, Epic Movie, and Superhero Movie, but when was theIn the 1970's, Mel Brooks and Monty Python made spoof films a fixture in American movie theaters. In the years that have followed, we've even seen franchises like, Scary Movie, Date Movie, Epic Movie, and Superhero Movie, but when was the last time you saw a spoof that was actually any good? Because of my love of the Hunger Games, I actually gave it's spoof a chance and I'm sorry I did. There were a lot of things here that could have been made fun of, but they weren't. The film gets so desperate that they actually turn to Avatar, The Avengers, and the action star of the Expendables, to make the thing long enough to be a full length film. I understand that the purpose behind spoof films is to be so ridiculous, that people laugh at how stupid it is, but there is a point where it is so beyond stupid and childish, that no one finds it funny anymore. The Starving Games quickly crosses this line and doesn't go back. It's a comedy making fun of one of my favorite series of all-time, a series I know like the back of my hand, and I hardly laughed. The only thing this film does well is cast actors who closely resemble the cast of the Hunger Games franchise. Beyond that, the acting is terrible, the jokes wouldn't even make children laugh, and the story is so out there, that eventually you're not even sure what they are doing. While spoofing big movies has become big business, this one does nothing but annoy everyone who was dumb enough to watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonNov 9, 2013
Aaron and Jason are two people who clearly don't know how to make a film. The Starving Games is a parody of The Hunger Games and a really bad one. It's like watching Katniss sh*t on Conan. This film is horrible and made by the people whoAaron and Jason are two people who clearly don't know how to make a film. The Starving Games is a parody of The Hunger Games and a really bad one. It's like watching Katniss sh*t on Conan. This film is horrible and made by the people who made Date Movie, so don't watch it period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JaboyKoiNov 17, 2013
Usually, people on Metacritic with a review under 3 have a personal hatred and biased opinion towards what they review. But when a movie as bad as The Starving Games comes out, all the 0 and 1 reviews are shared. Only time will tell whenUsually, people on Metacritic with a review under 3 have a personal hatred and biased opinion towards what they review. But when a movie as bad as The Starving Games comes out, all the 0 and 1 reviews are shared. Only time will tell when Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer decide to stop making awful parodies of great movies and kill themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RazzamatazzDec 26, 2013
Essentially yet another Seltzerberg film (after Vampires Suck, which premiered in 2010). This, like all of their other films, manages to use the same, tired formula of referencing every film from the last 18 months with little to no satireEssentially yet another Seltzerberg film (after Vampires Suck, which premiered in 2010). This, like all of their other films, manages to use the same, tired formula of referencing every film from the last 18 months with little to no satire done whatsoever and whatever satire they try to do results in infinitely worse gags that only make the viewers realize how good whatever films and media being spoofed are thanks to lazy, nasty slapstick. You might think that in the 3 years between this and Vampires Suck their creativity and talent improved, but no, it just gets worse. To sum all o f this up. Seltzerberg is the Christian Weston Chandler of film, and their movies are their Sonichu, as they written with neither creativity nor talent. It seems that when they decided to direct a film, they looked over to Christian Weston Chandler for help and instructions on how to write and direct a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MovieReviewsMar 14, 2014
Actually, although one of the worst comedies ever, it tries hard to make you laugh, it doesn't technically succeed but you giggle a bit throughout, not because it is funny, but by how bad it is. The "special" effects are anything butActually, although one of the worst comedies ever, it tries hard to make you laugh, it doesn't technically succeed but you giggle a bit throughout, not because it is funny, but by how bad it is. The "special" effects are anything but "special", the characters are annoying and insulting to the protagonists of the spoofed movies. Is it recommended for everyone? No, it is hardly recommended for anyone, it is one of the worst, but if you are dying to watch it, it is only 69 minutes without the 7 minutes unnecessary bloopers. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
lukechristianscJun 21, 2015
The sixth directorial effort from the serial killers of the spoof genre writer-directors Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer, tackle a sci-fi hit "The Hunger games" the title "The starving games" is not clever it's witless, the acting isThe sixth directorial effort from the serial killers of the spoof genre writer-directors Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer, tackle a sci-fi hit "The Hunger games" the title "The starving games" is not clever it's witless, the acting is terrible and the film is pointless. The humor in the film barely gives the laughs, the filmmakers put effort in trashing it, instead of putting it into the script. Okay the film does have a few chuckles but it's replaced with dumb characters and it's one liners. Grade D- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
horshedbookendsJul 25, 2014
Unwatchable. A mess of humor, acting, story, and everything cinema has worked an entire century for. I had to take a long, cold shower after watching this. And the worst thing is there will be more of these.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheLooseHunterNov 19, 2014
My review:

Waste of money, time and breath.
Calling this a comedy is dishonest for other good comedies.

[I am just filling this area because Metacritic wants so.]

[Thank you for your attention]
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Rehmedies97May 13, 2015
Just stop trying._____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews