Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Set in the most depressing corner of a post-apocalyptic future, our hero Kantmiss Evershot (Maiara Walsh) volunteers to take her manipulative younger sister's place in the 75th annual Starving Games. In doing so, she must leave behind her smoldering just-a-friend Dale (Brant Daugherty) andSet in the most depressing corner of a post-apocalyptic future, our hero Kantmiss Evershot (Maiara Walsh) volunteers to take her manipulative younger sister's place in the 75th annual Starving Games. In doing so, she must leave behind her smoldering just-a-friend Dale (Brant Daugherty) and team up with the geeky baker's son Peter Malarkey (Cody Allen Christian) in a fight for her life. But wait, there's more! She could also win an old ham, a coupon for a footlong sub at a six-inch price, and a partially-eaten pickle! [Ketchup Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 3 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Nov 14, 2013
    10
    It seems even more slapdash and desperately unfunny than their earlier work.
  2. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Nov 11, 2013
    0
    The Starving Games is the sixth directorial effort from Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer, and they are nothing if not consistent.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Nov 14, 2013
    0
    The writing-directing team of Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer now take aim at "The Hunger Games" with their latest effort, The Starving Games, and the fact that the title, as witless and uninspired as it may be, constitutes its humorous high-water mark should indicate just how ineptly they handle things this time around.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 18 out of 20
  1. Jun 21, 2014
    6
    I'm not going to lie, this is quite possibly my favorite low-budget parody film I've ever seen. Most of the jokes are on the money and catchI'm not going to lie, this is quite possibly my favorite low-budget parody film I've ever seen. Most of the jokes are on the money and catch you off guard just the way they're supposed to. And I'll be honest, even the acting was good. I've seen good actors try and act poorly before but this cast delivered. Speaking of the cast, Maiara Walsh is gorgeous. I hope she can break out of the low-budget niche film market and onto the big scene a bit because she's legit. If you're looking for a serious film, this obviously isn't for you but this is definitely a movie worth watching if you're looking for a cheap laugh or two or twelve. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    3
    Poor CGI, poor acting says it all doesn't it? One would think that after a couple movies the directors would be better but boy was I wrong.Poor CGI, poor acting says it all doesn't it? One would think that after a couple movies the directors would be better but boy was I wrong. Don't get me wrong though, the movie has it's moments such as when a bad spoof of the Annoying Orange appears, would be much better with the original one. There were a few jokes that made me laugh but all together the movie was not fun.

    It's supposed to be a comedy movie but making poor jokes, poor spoofs is not the right way. When The Expandables crew appears it's just plain stupid as the guys playing the crew can't even act specially not "Chuck Norris". This movie is not worth the time and if you think you're gonna have a blast, think again.
    Collapse
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    2
    i usually give this type of movies a try since you can get some cheap laughs in some of them. this is not the case. so give this one a passi usually give this type of movies a try since you can get some cheap laughs in some of them. this is not the case. so give this one a pass and check out something else Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Aaron and Jason are two people who clearly don't know how to make a film. The Starving Games is a parody of The Hunger Games and a really badAaron and Jason are two people who clearly don't know how to make a film. The Starving Games is a parody of The Hunger Games and a really bad one. It's like watching Katniss sh*t on Conan. This film is horrible and made by the people who made Date Movie, so don't watch it period. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    0
    This is one of the worst movies ever made. I have no problems with parodies but if they were done bearably, "Scary Movie" franchise got downThis is one of the worst movies ever made. I have no problems with parodies but if they were done bearably, "Scary Movie" franchise got down the hell but for the most part it was passable. "The Starving Games" seems like those Youtube parodies that are noticed when the movie goofed is forgotten. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    if you dare to watch this, watch with absolute vodka to kill the pain because This movie is absolute garbage! probably the worst movie thatif you dare to watch this, watch with absolute vodka to kill the pain because This movie is absolute garbage! probably the worst movie that has graced our eyes this year Scary Movie V was unfunny but the startwas pretty hilarious, movie 43 gave me a few laughs here and there..BUT THIS!? REALLY?! DONT WATCH THIS DISASTROUS PILE OF GARBAGE! Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    Unwatchable. A mess of humor, acting, story, and everything cinema has worked an entire century for. I had to take a long, cold shower afterUnwatchable. A mess of humor, acting, story, and everything cinema has worked an entire century for. I had to take a long, cold shower after watching this. And the worst thing is there will be more of these. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers