Miramax Films | Release Date: October 3, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 88 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
82
Mixed:
2
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
DenisG.Sep 27, 2005
Ending not abrupt enough. Ten minutes was too much of this drivel abt implausible characters going nowhere slowly.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2015
It's a delightful indie flick with a natural feel around it. The cast is brilliant, especially the main trio of Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson, and Bobby Cannavale. The themes of loneliness and friendship are subtle yet hit just enough toIt's a delightful indie flick with a natural feel around it. The cast is brilliant, especially the main trio of Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson, and Bobby Cannavale. The themes of loneliness and friendship are subtle yet hit just enough to touch me. It's quirky, just like life itself is full of quirks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
seventhsealJan 14, 2015
This movies made me happy, not for a moment after it ended but it made me happy for a very long time after watching it, days even. The story is simple, warm, funny. The casting and characters are nothing short of perfect. If you have notThis movies made me happy, not for a moment after it ended but it made me happy for a very long time after watching it, days even. The story is simple, warm, funny. The casting and characters are nothing short of perfect. If you have not seen this film and are reading this review looking to see if you think it is worth watch, believe me now, stop reading and start watching.

If this movie doesn't warm your insides you must be cryogenic!!!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
jdOct 19, 2007
Yet another movie whose success depends on flattering the viewer that he's somehow more intelligent and sensitive than most of the bozos on screen -- which isn't terribly hard for the writer to do, since he's written all the Yet another movie whose success depends on flattering the viewer that he's somehow more intelligent and sensitive than most of the bozos on screen -- which isn't terribly hard for the writer to do, since he's written all the parts. Add to that the usual dose of post-ironic quirk, and the ludicrous notion that the lonely offer each other comfort (if that were true, why would anyone be lonely?) and we've got a Sundance award-winner. What would happen if actual artists started working in this medium? Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MERJMKMay 6, 2014
So these people just follow a midget around for an hour and a half...The midget is boring, but so are the people who have been following the midget around. They share their boring lives with each other as friendships manifest itself in theSo these people just follow a midget around for an hour and a half...The midget is boring, but so are the people who have been following the midget around. They share their boring lives with each other as friendships manifest itself in the most natural of ways...boring life stuff happens, and that's the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
pumbazMay 29, 2012
If he wanted to be left alone - in his boring world. Then why should the viewer be interested? I must say that this is the most boring movie I have ever had to sit through. Who cares about this character and why do I want to know moreIf he wanted to be left alone - in his boring world. Then why should the viewer be interested? I must say that this is the most boring movie I have ever had to sit through. Who cares about this character and why do I want to know more about him if his world is so small that he only wants to watch trains go by. The acting was bad, the plot non-existent. Total Crap ! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
PetrovitaApr 13, 2012
A great movie with some interesting view points on life concerning certain types of people.
Abit slow at times, but it is indeed a sweet sensitive story among three people who shouldn't actually be going well together. The main character had
A great movie with some interesting view points on life concerning certain types of people.
Abit slow at times, but it is indeed a sweet sensitive story among three people who shouldn't actually be going well together. The main character had something that reminded me of myself, which I found interesting. Overall a good movie, but action cravers, stay away from this one! You won't find any of that in this movie.
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mrdancinggeckoJul 5, 2012
I hadn't heard of this film till it came up as a suggestion on Netflix and I'm glad it did. A beautifully crafted, multi award winning film from the extremely talented writer/actor/director Thomas McCarthy. A man with achondroplasia, a formI hadn't heard of this film till it came up as a suggestion on Netflix and I'm glad it did. A beautifully crafted, multi award winning film from the extremely talented writer/actor/director Thomas McCarthy. A man with achondroplasia, a form of dwarfism, inherits a train station when his only friend dies. He moves there to find solitude. Instead he meets a number of people at his new town, all with their own problems. A story about characters and peoples relationships, quietly underplayed by an excellent ensemble cast. If you need to have a car chase, explosion or fight every ten minutes, the chances are you'll hate this with a passion. The rest of us will have our faith in the art of simple storytelling reborn and satiated Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moonman1994Jul 28, 2013
Amusing and at the same time gripping The Station Agent is a great film. Tied together with fantastic performances by Cannavale and Dinklage you can't help but love the trio of friends that develop and you can't wait to see how everythingAmusing and at the same time gripping The Station Agent is a great film. Tied together with fantastic performances by Cannavale and Dinklage you can't help but love the trio of friends that develop and you can't wait to see how everything plays out. This film is certainly different which makes it so unique and it seems very realistic which is something that many movies lack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JackOfNoTradesAug 13, 2015
The Station Agent has well-developed characters, brilliant actors, a compelling script, and beautiful cinematography. You would think those would be the prerequisites for making a movie, but unfortunately this type of quality is rare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews