Rogue Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2008
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 422 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
328
Mixed:
37
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
shaun8picklesJun 26, 2013
I really wish I could back every minute of this 90 minute movie, it was probably one of the worst horror movies I have seen! And I have seen some bad ones. It starts off with yawns, and jump scares afterwards. The movie states at theI really wish I could back every minute of this 90 minute movie, it was probably one of the worst horror movies I have seen! And I have seen some bad ones. It starts off with yawns, and jump scares afterwards. The movie states at the beginning that it is based on true events... Any serial killer could have done this, really. With all the stuff we see on the news nowadays. Horror movies are usually the movies that get the worst entries which is sad since some of them could have been so much better with their potential. This one seems so uninspired and slacked. Even the biggest of horror fans won't find anything in this movie, and I'd know because I am a horror fan. So do yourself a favor. Don't watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JWilliamsJun 7, 2008
One of the better "scary" movies that has been out in a few years. The acting is well done and the suspense is genuine. But as with all horror movies you have the "how stupid can you get" moments. Just because a girl is wearing a mask One of the better "scary" movies that has been out in a few years. The acting is well done and the suspense is genuine. But as with all horror movies you have the "how stupid can you get" moments. Just because a girl is wearing a mask wouldn't make it any more difficult for a guy to kick her ass. A shotgun vs. 3 looney tunes, the shotgun still wins. The mind trip is supposed to be the randomness of the killers acts, that this could happen to anyone. By trying encite paranoia in the moviegoer, the movie became status quo. Eventually I want to see a horror movie where the victims make all the right decisions but the killers make better ones. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Oct 14, 2008
Bright spots: Liv Tyler is terrific, it has some suspense. Good score. Low spots: It's pointless. Where is the reason? The motive? The plot? It's empty and has no depth.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.May 30, 2008
In the event of a home invasion perpetuated by masked marauders, don't leave your girlfriend unarmed should you have the bright idea to separate, like James(Scott Speedman) does in "The Strangers", even if the woman turned down your In the event of a home invasion perpetuated by masked marauders, don't leave your girlfriend unarmed should you have the bright idea to separate, like James(Scott Speedman) does in "The Strangers", even if the woman turned down your marriage proposal. Be a gentleman, and leave her the gun. Even though James is in possession of the weapon, he still blows it, like an inexperienced basketball player lacking the wherewithal to sense danger from his backside. Thanks to him, there will be blood, and not of the metaphorical sort, the rose petals, which is, originally, the splatterings of James' broken heart, soon becomes a precursor to the ensuing bloodletting, when the unarmed, corporeal menace dupe the dupes. But "The Strangers" has some, SOME, mind you, artistry. The uncorking of a champagne bottle makes the saddest pop. James and Kristen(Liv Tyler) aren't teenagers. That helps. They don't need to show I.D. when buying cough syrup. But the inevitable attack on the contentious couple will...should... it better... infuriate you. Unlike, say, David Fincher's "Zodiac", this unofficial remake of David Moreau and Xavier Palud's "Ils", lacks the gravitas to get away with such near-graphic brutality. But then, "The Strangers" surprised me, again, with a somewhat disquieting and witty coda. You can make an argument for "The Strangers", just not a fully qualified one. Unless you're into sadism and repentance, that is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Ms.WolfgangJun 10, 2008
The sparseness of the movie was bleak and stylish all at once, but while it excels in atmosphere and has a minimum of "cheap" scares... like most horror movies it slams awkwardly towards a conclusion that leaves you feeling more like "oh I The sparseness of the movie was bleak and stylish all at once, but while it excels in atmosphere and has a minimum of "cheap" scares... like most horror movies it slams awkwardly towards a conclusion that leaves you feeling more like "oh I guess the hour and a half was up?" than anything as well-conceived and disturbing as its opening scenes. I think horror fans will find it refreshing and subtle... for the rest, the good points will probably slip past unnoticed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NigelN.Jun 16, 2008
The plot was a little silly with the victims doing stupid things but there was genuine tension to be found in this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AaronN.Jul 29, 2008
A little on the "vacancy" style plot here, that was the worst movie of last year second to the seeker, but why im giving this the half baked rating is solely because of the ending. Why in the lords name would you make the antagonists remove A little on the "vacancy" style plot here, that was the worst movie of last year second to the seeker, but why im giving this the half baked rating is solely because of the ending. Why in the lords name would you make the antagonists remove their masks and barely show them the faces? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
GeorgeMOct 29, 2008
This is a movie i was itching to see, and now that i have.....i wonder just what it was that had me itching, because it was rather disappointing and just borderline above average. first of all, this is NOT a very gory or graphic This is a movie i was itching to see, and now that i have.....i wonder just what it was that had me itching, because it was rather disappointing and just borderline above average. first of all, this is NOT a very gory or graphic film....second of all, its FULL of your standard crap horror cliches (the killers are like Ninjas)....and thirdly....it ENDS just like you typical horror movie shlock, which i won't spoil for you but i can assure you.....MOST will roll their eyes to it. the story is interesting, its the execution thats uninspired and whats mean to be suspenseful and scary is really just annoying and silly.....the killers come off as more annoying and juvenile throughout the film instead of overbearing and terrifying.....like a bunch of bored 16 year olds that got to deep into a prank and killing became there only option. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
KPJul 12, 2009
Horror movies, in general, I watch with low expectations. I don't expect them to all be The Shining. That said, this movie creeped me out. Mainly b/c I live in a house in the middle of no where and could picture the scenario. I thought Horror movies, in general, I watch with low expectations. I don't expect them to all be The Shining. That said, this movie creeped me out. Mainly b/c I live in a house in the middle of no where and could picture the scenario. I thought the movie was decent for what it is. if you are looking for a quick scare flick to watch check it out...better yet, rent it when you are on vacation at a secluded cabin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
GavinJul 26, 2009
It doesn't provide many scares but, when it does, they are fairly satisfying.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Man asks girlfriend to marry him, she refuses, go to isolated holiday home, strange people turn up....
Thought I'd really hate this but, despite being predictable, isn't that bad for it's genre.
Goes for the jump scare most of the time when
Man asks girlfriend to marry him, she refuses, go to isolated holiday home, strange people turn up....
Thought I'd really hate this but, despite being predictable, isn't that bad for it's genre.
Goes for the jump scare most of the time when you sort of know what's coming & in the first 20 minutes there is a lot of mumbling.
The assailants are very well done & it does have quite an air of suspense about it despite the crap ending.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RonaldOVOXOFeb 1, 2012
Even though i didnt like this movie the strangers really made this movie have hope. I really dont like horror movies (except the saw movies which are the best) but the strangers was a ok movie i recommend it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Despite a seemingly strong lead from Liv Tyler, there is little else than filler. The Strangers goes for tired and predictable scares amidst a promising premise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jackcarlin96Feb 10, 2013
'The Strangers' is quick to deliver the scares and intensity that is vital in a good horror film but it lacks logic and innovation. Yet in saying this the film still keeps it interesting with its raw edge and psychological build; so basically'The Strangers' is quick to deliver the scares and intensity that is vital in a good horror film but it lacks logic and innovation. Yet in saying this the film still keeps it interesting with its raw edge and psychological build; so basically its not like the other run-of-the-mill home invasion horror's, but its not the best of them either Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
boy_number_8Mar 19, 2014
This film plays with one of the biggest real life scares of being alone in your house terrorized by strangers, especially with the whole "this film is being taken from real life events" line included at the beginning.
What i felt the
This film plays with one of the biggest real life scares of being alone in your house terrorized by strangers, especially with the whole "this film is being taken from real life events" line included at the beginning.
What i felt the strangers does well making us care about the main characters. This isnt a simple horror movie with multiple characters and huge body counts of people we don't care about.
There's some bone chilling moments early on but the films looses most of its magic once "the strangers" start their full scale attack.
The two lead characters must be some of the most dumb people i've ever watched in a horror movie. I was taken aback many times by some of their idiotic behavior, so much so that i wasn't sure if i was watching a parody. Every sane thing you would do, they decide to do the opposite.
The ending may not be to everyone's taste, but i personally liked it and id be lying if i said i didn't want to watch the squeal.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ydnar4Nov 27, 2014
The Strangers was a movie I was eager to see. It looked like a film that could possibly be a flag carrier for modern horror movies. Sadly it was just more of the same old same old. You have to wait and wait in order to see who the villainThe Strangers was a movie I was eager to see. It looked like a film that could possibly be a flag carrier for modern horror movies. Sadly it was just more of the same old same old. You have to wait and wait in order to see who the villain is, there was really no peak or climax to the story. Although I did get scared 2 or 3 times earlier in the movie the plot sort of dried out after the first 45 minutes. Also in the end all the questions you are expecting to have answered slip through the cracks and no more is said about them. Liv Tyler and Scott Speedman are veterans who I would expect more from in a horror film but in the end they are just trying to play the stupid teenagers who all get killed in slasher movies. The Strangers is simply nothing special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews