New Line Cinema | Release Date: October 17, 2003
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 181 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
107
Mixed:
33
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
StevenR.Mar 24, 2007
Fantastic! The way a good horror remake should be. The different approach to the story makes helps this film stand on its own. Performances were great as was the tension. Fantastic direction and camera work make it an enjoyable watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ILHMFeb 2, 2013
In August, 1973, five teens set across the Texas highway on their way to a concert, when a chance encounter with a suicidal hitchhiker forces them to stop for help. As they wait for the town's hick sheriff to collect the body, two of theIn August, 1973, five teens set across the Texas highway on their way to a concert, when a chance encounter with a suicidal hitchhiker forces them to stop for help. As they wait for the town's hick sheriff to collect the body, two of the teens run off to a nearby house to use the phone, where they come face to face with a murderous clan of cannibals and their chainsaw-wielding son, Leatherface! THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE is reborn in Platinum Dunes' 2003 remake, but where so many other attempts to revitalize the 1970's and 80's Slasher craze have failed, THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE succeeds in shocking and terrifying a whole new generation of moviegoers. It is just what a remake should be, honoring the original with the same basic plot outline and characters, while creating its own unique identity and mood. Marcus Nispel's washed out color palette is drowned in putrid greens and blues, which give the misty forest and dilapidated hallways of the Hewitt household a sickening overall effect. While this version does feature more gore, it is not built on simply disgusting the audience, but takes just as much time developing a deep-seated terror and suspense. This creates moments of intense anticipation that pay off in jolting shocks! Although Nispel has chosen to fill the cast with familiar teen favorites, Scott Kosar's script makes them likeable characters with whom the audience can relate. The best choice obviously comes in the decision to hire R. Lee Ermy, whose crass behavior and vulgar humor make him perfect in the role of Sheriff Hoyt. Ermy dominates the film, and becomes even more sadistic and frightening than Leatherface, himself! Andrew Bryniarski's fast and forceful approach to the character makes him very imposing as well, even if he falls slightly behind Gunnar Hansen as the iconic killer. TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE may not leave the same lasting impression as its predecessor, but its horrifying, edge-of-your seat excitement easily makes it the best remake to come out of the 2000's.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
A good remake so scary that you will die of fear.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MissDraeMar 1, 2014
Great movie. Great cast. One of my favourite movies ever made. I honestly terrified me when I found out this was based on a true story. One of the best remakes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KlayG.Oct 21, 2003
The Best movie of the year. VERY Frightful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WAKOJAKODec 8, 2003
This film is so unappologetically gruesome, that it's actually better than most "horror" films released today. The performances are adequate, not cheesy, and the ending is better than expected. If you go, take a date, but don't buy This film is so unappologetically gruesome, that it's actually better than most "horror" films released today. The performances are adequate, not cheesy, and the ending is better than expected. If you go, take a date, but don't buy any popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NarratorJan 28, 2004
Walking down the street one day, I heard a group of people talking about this film, one inquistivie yet ultimately idiotic individual asking his friends "but why do they call it the CHAINSAW massacre?" Although this would seem obvious in the Walking down the street one day, I heard a group of people talking about this film, one inquistivie yet ultimately idiotic individual asking his friends "but why do they call it the CHAINSAW massacre?" Although this would seem obvious in the fact that the evil doers weapon of choice was a chainsaw, after viewing the film it became apparant that this was a more viable question than originally percieved. After all, for a guy who has a whole basement full of sharp metallic objects, the weapon choice was a little odd, not only is it heavy and hard to control, but young girls in wet t-shirts can hear it from a mile away. It just didn't make sense. Then it hit me, no other weapon would look so funny as it massacred bedsheets hanging on the line, or spinning on the ground still clutched by a severed arm. Believe it or not, but a fat, balding villian who waddles rather than runs also isn't as scary as you'd think. This remake has little credibility as a horror film, including a non-existent plot and cliche camera perspectives. On the other hand, much like the question of why the film has the word 'chainsaw' in the title, this massacre of horror films is one of the funniest things I've seen in a long time, the saving grace for a film with little else going for it. Oh, except, of course, for the sporadic bouts of rain (which Texas is notorious for) which keep Jessica Biels' t-shirt wet for a good portion of the film (hence the score of 9). Anyone wishing to see a decent horror flick should look elsewhere. C'mon people, it's set in Texas, how serious did you expect it to be? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AwaAstedyouthJan 3, 2004
This movie is by far the best horror movie I've ever seen...though I can see from many of the reviews that I'm one of the few that know that this movie was NOT based on truth, but of course the studio used that "Inspired By True This movie is by far the best horror movie I've ever seen...though I can see from many of the reviews that I'm one of the few that know that this movie was NOT based on truth, but of course the studio used that "Inspired By True Events" because, hey something that really happened would seem a hell of alot scarier than just another Hollywood work of fiction. Anyways, great acting, directing, everything. I really dodn't understand how some of you morons can actually give this movie a low rating. No character development!? There was ALOT of character development, more so than any horror movie I've ever seen, especially referring to Jessica Biel's character. Great, great, great movie though. And to all of you that hated it, I'm still glad you saw it because it just put more money into the producers' pockets. Bahahahaha. Definately dissapointed though that the studio has decided not to release it on DVD until March30th!!! Gotta wait 3 more long months for this one. Ahhh I'll just watch Freddy vs. Jason a thousand times until I get tired of it, and by then this one'll be out!! WOOoOOHoo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieS.Mar 2, 2004
Absolutely the scariest movie i have ever seen!!!! I loved it!!!!!!! Yay for TCM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SaerA.Apr 5, 2004
The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is a very nice horror movie. It was scary and that's why I liked it. It made me jump a few times. There were some parts in the movie where I thought "This is a weird part" but it doesn't matter. I liked TCM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RagingCriticApr 5, 2004
This is the scariest movie I have ever seen. Peter Travers of Rolling Stone said the flaw of this movie was that it failed to scare us any because it was no different than the original. Well, I think Peter Travers is so caught up in This is the scariest movie I have ever seen. Peter Travers of Rolling Stone said the flaw of this movie was that it failed to scare us any because it was no different than the original. Well, I think Peter Travers is so caught up in reviewing films that he has desensitized himself!! Not only was I scared senseless, but this movie remains a testament to the original. That alone is worthy of praise. The cinematography was outstanding (i.e. the suicide shot). And hey, we get a horror flick without any cheesy lines. Can you name any other the past decade other than The Ring?? If anyone out there has grown up in small town America, let's just say this - your worst nightmare is now a movie - NOW GO RENT IT! A++ TheRagingCritic Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RCampbellFeb 25, 2006
I am obsessed with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre series, and like all fans, I prefer the original. The remake is better than I expected, but it's still not as good as it's father. Although it was too hollywood for my tastes, it I am obsessed with The Texas Chainsaw Massacre series, and like all fans, I prefer the original. The remake is better than I expected, but it's still not as good as it's father. Although it was too hollywood for my tastes, it wasn't a 'bad' movie, and provided some entertaining scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DrSteveNov 15, 2003
It scared me more than most horror movies do these days. While it had its share of gore, it relied more on building suspense to scare you. I saw the original, and frankly I think this remake is far better. The first one scared me at first, It scared me more than most horror movies do these days. While it had its share of gore, it relied more on building suspense to scare you. I saw the original, and frankly I think this remake is far better. The first one scared me at first, but then turned stupid with its incredibly overly drawn-out chase scene with the last survivor. This one kept up the suspense much better. I have to say that Jessica Biel was a pleasure in this one, too; she looks great in a short top and those hip hugger jeans, doesn't she? (Yep, we called 'em "hip huggers" back in the 70's). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexandreS.Oct 21, 2003
Very good Movie, if you love horror movie, you will like it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmberL.Apr 7, 2004
I loved this movie it was so awesome!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaigeH.Apr 9, 2004
This is the greatest movie i have ever seen! (even better than cheaper by the dozen.. i think) It was so unbelievably scary, i screamed the whole time.. definitley a must-see! and jessica biel did a great job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilC.May 9, 2004
It scared the hell out of me. But I just found out 4 mins ago it wasn't a true story at all, so I guess it's a little less scary now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Jul 31, 2004
I find it hilarious that actual critics find it appropriate to call movies utter crap simply because they were too big of a pansey to sit through the violence. You people should have enough sense to know what you're getting into when I find it hilarious that actual critics find it appropriate to call movies utter crap simply because they were too big of a pansey to sit through the violence. You people should have enough sense to know what you're getting into when you go to see a movie with the name "massacre" in it. It's not just this movie, just about every movie on this website that contains some over-the-top gore is rated down to all hell just because of a few people that get "grossed out" and "disturbed." Cry me a river, if you can't take the violence of a rated R movie, then don't see one. Instead, just write your stupid little review about how violent the movie is without even seeing it. Call the actors bad, because even if they were somewhat good, you'll still call them bad just to try and get at another point to why the movie is so terrible other than "it's vile and sickening." As for me, no, I didn't think this movie was the greatest of all horror movies. It was, however, most certainly disturbing, just like I was expecting. That's why I went to see it though, to be scared. That's the whole point. Knowing you will see blood and horrific images. That you will be frightened. I enjoyed it. Not the best movie by all means, but I enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RitaP.Feb 1, 2006
One of the better horror movies I've seen. It was so scary in parts I felt compelled to turn the VCR off several times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FidelCastroNov 30, 2003
The movie is not a movie based on true events. The man is real, but none of this happened. Many people must do their homework! But the movie was awesome! Better than the first one. This one had more character developement, and more of a The movie is not a movie based on true events. The man is real, but none of this happened. Many people must do their homework! But the movie was awesome! Better than the first one. This one had more character developement, and more of a plot. It really brought up suspense, ad made you feel like you were running away from Leatherface (Ed Gein). Many people compare this film to Wrong Turn and House of 1,000 Corpses, but they are ruled out by comparison. House of 1,000 Corpses and Wrong Turn had no character developement whatsoever. In Wrong Turn, all you know is the killers have deformaties, so they wanna kill, why? And in House of 1,000 Corpses, a family wants to kill passerby's, WHY? Well, in TCM, they tell why. Simply because the youngest child was abused verbally by other people because of his deformed appearence. Also, the five friends on the loose are people on their way to a concert in Dallas, TX, and just came back from buying weed in Mexico. No more information should have been provided! It adds more mystery to the film. It makes you want to know more about each one of the people. Excellently done! Jessica Biel did the best job. I was beginning to think she had gone soft from Rules Of Attraction, where she played a very sexual character. She has done every type of acting- a drama/comedy (7th heaven), drama (rules of attraction), and now horror (TCM). She did excellent in making us think that she did do well in this movie, like she was a real person in this situation. Many of the decisions she made as "Erin" make you say, "I would have done the same thing!", and, "Way To Go!". It really makes you wanna see her survive. It makes you wanna help her get out of the clutches of the psychopaths! Awesome movie overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndyNov 6, 2003
Any horror film that tries to break the current mould of "shock-a-minute cheesy horror flicks" deserves to be seen with an open mind. In my opinion there are many better horror films out there - problem is that none of them are very recent. Any horror film that tries to break the current mould of "shock-a-minute cheesy horror flicks" deserves to be seen with an open mind. In my opinion there are many better horror films out there - problem is that none of them are very recent. What I liked about this film is that it is slick, unashamedly grotesque and genuinely has some moments of suspense, shock and horror. Who cares if the 'techniques' used by Nispel (Director) have been used a thousand times before - the fact is that this story only really seems to start to lose its way/direction towards the end of the movie; which means that for most of this flick the viewer is actually following the movie rather than checking his/her watch. The storyline differs enough from the original to allow both versions to retain their respective 'identities'. Many will argue that the original was the best and didnt need a remake, but this version is different enough to allow it to stand on its own two feet. Although the film itself ISNT intelligent, the direction IS and therefore if you are after gruesome, slick and atmospheric entertainment that differs from the current trend, then this film is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanH.Oct 17, 2003
It was really a good film but also very depressing and i felt bad for the people who went through that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AshleyS.Oct 18, 2003
Scary and disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BahOct 19, 2003
As far as horror movies go, its nothing special. It would be scarier if it were actually based on real events instead of inspired by them :P
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffW.Oct 19, 2003
Excellent film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnneS.Oct 19, 2003
I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I thought this new one was better. Maybe it's because I have seen my share of horror movies that came after the 70's version so when I actually saw the original it didn't have the same effect it had on others who saw in the 70's. TCM(2003) delivers that goods. Not only did I scream and jump, but I also felt sick and creeped out just watching and thinking about what was gong on. I would recommend this to anyone. Don't pay attention to the "oldies" who watched the original when there were no good horror movies out there. Go and see this new one! You actually feel and relate to the characters, which never usually happens in horror movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneS.Oct 19, 2003
I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I I was absolutely scared out of my mind while watching this movie. Critics might not like it because they are comparing it to the oringinal, but they have to understand that the original was made in the 70's! I saw the original and I thought this new one was better. Maybe it's because I have seen my share of horror movies that came after the 70's version so when I actually saw the original it didn't have the same effect it had on others who saw in the 70's. TCM(2003) delivers that goods. Not only did I scream and jump, but I also felt sick and creeped out just watching and thinking about what was gong on. I would recommend this to anyone. Don't pay attention to the "oldies" who watched the original when there were no good horror movies out there. Go and see this new one! You actually feel and relate to the characters, which never usually happens in horror movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendiP.Oct 20, 2003
forget what the critics say and forget about these people that expected it to outdo the old version. It wasn't trying to be better than the original just trying to give us a different angle. Personally, I thought the original was hardly forget what the critics say and forget about these people that expected it to outdo the old version. It wasn't trying to be better than the original just trying to give us a different angle. Personally, I thought the original was hardly entertaining, bad acting, and horribly shot. What are we pining over? Stop comparing it to sonething it is not, you cult movie going freaks! I thought this movie was effective on many levels. I was entertained, not a lot of cheesy dialogue, just enough gore but no where near as much as Cabin Fever, it was scary, the acting was quite convincing, and it was shot very well. Even the sets gave me chills especially leatherface's house. I recommend anyone who likes horror movies for their scare factor and entertainment value to go see this movie. Ignore the rest, they are just sobbing over the fact their precious chainsaw movie has been redone into something actually worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieP.Oct 25, 2003
Come on people, what do you expect? For F*#@'s sake, JESSICA BIEL is in it, how can you think it's going to be a masterpiece. It is much better than most horror movies lately. It was genuninly a good movie, and I do reccomend it. Come on people, what do you expect? For F*#@'s sake, JESSICA BIEL is in it, how can you think it's going to be a masterpiece. It is much better than most horror movies lately. It was genuninly a good movie, and I do reccomend it. Don't go into a movie starring someone from a show on the 'WB' and expect it to be an Oscar winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattM.Oct 29, 2003
Repackaged, revamped, and recreated for a contemporary audience, "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" of 2003 is a dark, eerily stylish, fascinatingly grisly film. It's also quite possibly the most maddeningly terrifying film of the year. Repackaged, revamped, and recreated for a contemporary audience, "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" of 2003 is a dark, eerily stylish, fascinatingly grisly film. It's also quite possibly the most maddeningly terrifying film of the year. After a dreadfully slow setup, the film takes off at breakneck pace and never relents. The cast is fresh and hip, at least by WB standards, and their characters are mostly fodder for the maniacal Leatherface (portrayed to sadistic perfection by Andrew Bryniarski). Yet, surprisingly enough, Jessica Biel gives an amazingly effective performance. You can practically feel the terror she is experiencing seeping through the film screen, invading all your senses. She makes you truly partake in the horror, and that is something that is utterly unforgettable about this wickedly scary ride of terror. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful