Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 8, 1999
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 206 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
178
Mixed:
14
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
cabritaNov 21, 2011
I have seen all of Malick's films and have found them average and overated. However the thin red line stands alone. Malick captures human nature beautfully through war with intesnse and masterfully crafted war scenes. Malick's style has neverI have seen all of Malick's films and have found them average and overated. However the thin red line stands alone. Malick captures human nature beautfully through war with intesnse and masterfully crafted war scenes. Malick's style has never worked so well in a film! One of the best movies of all time! Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
oliver1hDec 16, 2012
For me The Thin Red Line is one of the best war movies every created. It is a meditation on life, death, God, nature and humankind...a meditation on life. My favourite movie from Terrence Malick.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
TheDaveHimselfJul 13, 2011
I saw someone earlier said "this and Apocalypse Now eliminate the need for anyone to ever make another war film." I couldn't agree more. Sean Penn's burned out performance is a must see. Don't compare it to Saving Private Ryan. Let the twoI saw someone earlier said "this and Apocalypse Now eliminate the need for anyone to ever make another war film." I couldn't agree more. Sean Penn's burned out performance is a must see. Don't compare it to Saving Private Ryan. Let the two exist in their own realms. Where Saving Private Ryan is a great war film, Thin Red Line is simply a great film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
rory147Nov 10, 2012
Holy **** i just read the negative reviews for this. I know this film is not for everyone but the reasons they gave to not like it and the tone of their reviews were awful. They shouldn't review films if they don't understand them, that's myHoly **** i just read the negative reviews for this. I know this film is not for everyone but the reasons they gave to not like it and the tone of their reviews were awful. They shouldn't review films if they don't understand them, that's my one gripe with sites like this, they give the average retarded "movie-viewer" a voice which they believe to be important. Like god damn, how could people who are so juvenile in their film viewing mind set have the balls to review a film? Sorry for no actual review here and being a moan but those reviews really annoyed me. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
FinCSep 10, 2007
This isn't just a war movie. It's an existential examination of the nature of man's conflict within the context of nature, humanity, hierarchy and survival. The voice overs, the cinematography, the diaglogue, the acting, the This isn't just a war movie. It's an existential examination of the nature of man's conflict within the context of nature, humanity, hierarchy and survival. The voice overs, the cinematography, the diaglogue, the acting, the tension, the brutality, the brotherhood....and who can forget the music. I could go on and on and on. A unforgettable cinematic masterpiece which gets better with each extra viewing. There can be no higher recommendation for a literary deconstruction on the nature of man and conflict. Quite simply breathtaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JasonCDec 30, 2005
Best film ever made.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DileepR.Mar 20, 2006
One of the great films of a great filmmaker. Patient, frightening, daunting. It best captures the random horror and pointlessness of war, sometimes the shock erupting from boredom. The context-less death. The meaninglessness of a One of the great films of a great filmmaker. Patient, frightening, daunting. It best captures the random horror and pointlessness of war, sometimes the shock erupting from boredom. The context-less death. The meaninglessness of a 'mission' or any moral framework given to industrial murder, what we call war. It might even be necessary at times, but this is one of the few films that isn't a hallmark card to the participants; it's a simulcrum of what they went through, the price of it all. No one who advocates war, especially those that want to beat their chests about the might of this nation, should do so without understanding what this film captures: the price of conflict, the horror of warfare. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Jan 1, 2006
Ethereal meditation on humankind's dual nature. Beautifully scripted, acted, and shot.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DouglasFeb 10, 2006
"Heard melodies are sweet, those unheard are sweeter" - Keats. The most devastating (and devastatingly beautiful) moments in this movie happen in silence. It is so rare and wonderful to find such an brave and strangely intimate meditation on "Heard melodies are sweet, those unheard are sweeter" - Keats. The most devastating (and devastatingly beautiful) moments in this movie happen in silence. It is so rare and wonderful to find such an brave and strangely intimate meditation on good and evil, beauty and horror. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.May 7, 2007
Sublime, deeply moving work of beauty and redemption. A meditation on reality. This film is a spiritual experience. It is one of the greqtest films ever made.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Stung47000Jan 20, 2009
So much more than a war movie, it's almost NOT a war movie so much that it is a movie about Men. Deep and meaningful. Unparalleled cinematography. I can watch this move again and again and it still moves me.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
PriceAAug 4, 2009
Before watching, hear this: THIS IS NOT A WAR FILM. If you watch it for the action you will be totally disappointed. This movie much like Homer's The Iliad; the war is used as a setting for Malick to express his views on human nature in Before watching, hear this: THIS IS NOT A WAR FILM. If you watch it for the action you will be totally disappointed. This movie much like Homer's The Iliad; the war is used as a setting for Malick to express his views on human nature in times of tribulation. The movie features pairs of corresponding characters. The cynical Sgt. Welch (Penn) corresponds to the optimistic Pvt. Witt (Caviezel). Witt is considered to be the main character, with his tranquility and hope opposing the basic feelings of ordinary soldiers. The soft-spoken and diligent Captain Staros oftens conflicts with the angry, bloodthristy Col. Tall (Nolte), and their confrontations play a major role in the film. A few other main characters include Pvt. Bell (Chaplin), a man who finds comfort through his love for his wife, and a lieutenant (Cusack) who leads a charge on a bunker. Flashbacks are used to emphasize the character's true emotions. and, when it is all over, the soldiers only realize that this was one island, all their sacrifice given for one island, in a war of many. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JadeDec 12, 2005
A beautiful and oftentimes awe inspiring meditation on war and conflict. I found it to be one of the more spiritualy nourishing films I have ever seen. That said it clocks in at 3+ hours and probably not a good recomendation for those who A beautiful and oftentimes awe inspiring meditation on war and conflict. I found it to be one of the more spiritualy nourishing films I have ever seen. That said it clocks in at 3+ hours and probably not a good recomendation for those who don't have art/foriegn film leanings. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JonathanMSep 15, 2006
This film is heavily underated for it's coherent use of cinematography and silent timing. Not your average war film, conveys underlying theme throughout.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AnnaZDec 23, 2007
A stunning movie made in a type of stream of consciousness manner. It is beautiful and mesmerizing, complex and simple, flowing and centres on various characters and their thoughts and changes each undergoes. Brilliant.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MaxWillMar 15, 2012
If you want a superfluous fairy tale, spoon-fed sentimental narrative, watch Saving Private Ryan*. If you've got the balls to sit with silence in your head and can take a contemplative question or two, without fearing a lack of answers --If you want a superfluous fairy tale, spoon-fed sentimental narrative, watch Saving Private Ryan*. If you've got the balls to sit with silence in your head and can take a contemplative question or two, without fearing a lack of answers -- and want to see a film -- watch The Thin Red Line. Those who complain about not seeing the point, miss the point while demonstrating it.
||
*Knocks go only to the writing/moralized plot of Private Ryan; the rest of it was well done, I liked it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JibberJabberMar 2, 2013
The Thin Red Line is singularly unique amongst war films. In some ways, I don't really consider it "about war" as much as I consider the film to be about ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. The question that shapes much of theThe Thin Red Line is singularly unique amongst war films. In some ways, I don't really consider it "about war" as much as I consider the film to be about ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. The question that shapes much of the film is stated by Pvt Witt at the beginning of the film when he reflects upon his mother's death and thinks, "I wondered what it would be like when I died. What it would be like to know, that this breath now, was the last one you was ever going to draw." The Thin Red Line defies many conventions, such as the typical convention for a film to have a single protagonist. The (thin red) lines delineating friend and enemy are cleverly blurred in many ways. Visually, by casting similair looking men in the three main American roles and casting distinct looking Japanese men as Japanese soldiers. In the voice-overs, Pvt Witt sees a continuum of life, rather than discrete beings ("What if all men got one big soul Another soldier wonders, "Who are you that lives in all this many forms?" Even the lack of a singular protagonist shows how identities are dependent upon each other.

The Thin Red Line is not a typical war film. This film is not a celebration of how Americans used violence to defeat the Japanese on Guadalcanal. The scene that would be a triumphant climax in a typical American war film is emotionally climactic in Malick's The Then Red Line, but it is not a celebration. Rather, the raid on the Japanese bivouac and winning of the hill is upsetting.

If you really pay attention to the voice-overs, then I think you have to come to a few conclusions. Some have criticized the film for being "heavy handed" and because the "director tells you what to think." I think these criticisms are far from the truth. If you actually pay attention to the film, you'll find that voice-overs contradict each other, or a voice-over contradicts what another character says or does at some point. The director is simply illustrating that different people have different, often contradictory, points of view. For example, while two soldiers get into a fist-fight, a voice over states that "war don't enoble men, it turns them into dogs, poisons the soul." However, anyone watching the film would clearly wonder whether Pvt Witt hadn't been enobled by the war. Would he really be such a wonderful person if he hadn't gone to war? Much of the film is ambiguous and contemplative. There are no easy answers. When Witt returns to the natives and finds them fighting, notices that they have disease and the skulls of other humans in their huts, the audience is left to wonder if it was Witt's contact with them that made them this way. Did contact with modern man corrupt these people? Or did Witt's contact with the violence of the war corrupt his idealization of these people? I prefer to think that Witt's earlier, idealized view of the natives is what changed, but there is no clear answer given in the film.

Visually, The Thin Red Line is one of the most beautifully shot films I can ever imagine seeing. The soundtrack is fantastic. The sound effects are amazing. The action sequences are brilliantly done.

Some have criticized the voice-overs as being "unrealistic," on the basis that combat soldiers don't have time to think such thoughts as expressed in the voice overs. I think these crticisms are misguided. The voice-overs used in the film are expressing the thoughts that soldiers in combat have to repress for pragmatic reasons, but these are the important thoughts. Sure, in combat, soldiers are probably more worried about not getting killed rather than pondering the nature of evil, but the film is about those important thoughts.

One thing that strikes me about the film is how similar it is to the books, especially From Here to Eternity and The Thin Red Line. Both are excellent books and indeed some of the lines in the film are taken exactly from the books. The characters are very similar to those depicted in the books and I think the film captures the spirit of the books very well.

I think people too often say about films that "you either love this film or hate it" but it largely seems to be true of The Thin Red Line. That being said, I dont believe that people rating it 1/10 genuinely believe it deserves to get a 1/10 rating. Rather, I believe they are being spiteful and want to bring the rating down to what they think is the "proper" rating. I, however, do genuinely believe this film deserves 10/10.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Bob_LoblawMay 2, 2014
This film is cinema poetry and in my opinion, Terrence Malick's best film. Often overlooked, especially because it came out the same year as Saving Private Ryan, which, like nearly all Spielberg films, gives you all the answers and little toThis film is cinema poetry and in my opinion, Terrence Malick's best film. Often overlooked, especially because it came out the same year as Saving Private Ryan, which, like nearly all Spielberg films, gives you all the answers and little to go home and think about. The Thin Red Line is infinitely superior and in terms of war films, is only second to Apocalypse Now. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PaulMar 9, 2002
Poetic, cerebral, and ultimately optimistic, The Thin Red Line is a challenging watch. Almost the perfect opposite of the visceral and gritty "Saving Private Ryan" (comparisons are inevitable), The Thin Red Line is presented via a complex Poetic, cerebral, and ultimately optimistic, The Thin Red Line is a challenging watch. Almost the perfect opposite of the visceral and gritty "Saving Private Ryan" (comparisons are inevitable), The Thin Red Line is presented via a complex narrative style. The narration and action switch from character to character, creating a textured mosaic. Following the strands is difficult and has no doubt put many viewers off the film, but it does have the benefit of giving the soldiers an unprecedented level of depth and emotion, and, as such, dignity. Indeed, this is an oft-overlooked area in the war genre (case point: the cardboard character-types in "Saving Private Ryan"...). By shunning a more conventional method of presentation, Malick has created hauntingly hypnotic impression of war. I have little doubt this will go down as a classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DaveC.Sep 24, 2005
Malick might only make films once in a blue moon, but this is yet another jewel in his crown. The plot and structure might leave much to be desired but Malick demonstrates what he does best here. Capturing the awe-inspiring beauty and using Malick might only make films once in a blue moon, but this is yet another jewel in his crown. The plot and structure might leave much to be desired but Malick demonstrates what he does best here. Capturing the awe-inspiring beauty and using it to provide context for a morality play. If you fancy an alternative to the condescending, sentimental approach of Spielberg in Saving Private Ryan as I did, I recommend this film highly. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JayHJun 19, 2009
Technically it is ingenious. The cinematography is magnificent, the editing, sound and score as well. Skillfully directed by Malick and it has an incredible cast of great performances. Brutally realistic, thought provoking and unforgettable. Technically it is ingenious. The cinematography is magnificent, the editing, sound and score as well. Skillfully directed by Malick and it has an incredible cast of great performances. Brutally realistic, thought provoking and unforgettable. It's main flaw is it's staggering length. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BobB.Dec 2, 2006
I completely agree with Dileep R. This movie is very underrated.. not only is it well-written, well acted, and well-filmed, on beautiful islands with awesome imagery, it also tackles the morality and harsh reality of war. Even Spielburgs I completely agree with Dileep R. This movie is very underrated.. not only is it well-written, well acted, and well-filmed, on beautiful islands with awesome imagery, it also tackles the morality and harsh reality of war. Even Spielburgs "Saving Pvt. Ryan" failed to do that. The only film I'd say does that as well is "Flags of our Fathers". This is a must see for every person who comes across it. We owe it to our veterans to at least acknowledge what they went through, and that is, the insanity of war. Or, as Dileep R. put it, "industrial murder". Good phrase. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
johnmilasNov 4, 2010
There are movies like The Shawshank Redemption, The Godfather, and The Empire Strikes Back that are so good you donâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Dec 9, 2013
Beautiful, surreal and thought provoking. The Thin Red Line is inarguably one of the finest war movies ever made and succeeds in answering some of the primal questions about the need for war and our conspicuous disconnection from nature.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joeybearDec 29, 2012
A beautiful, haunting and epic war film. The Thin Red Line shows the battle of Guadalcanal as the sum of its parts, rather than the strict "good vs evil" depicted in other war films. A tremendous score and great cinematography add to the experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
uuuDec 27, 2012
Being a combat marine this is the closest depiction of many diverse lives being thrown into the gauntlet of war and the reactions to same. the brave, the cowards, the religious etc. but more importantly thin red line is the ONLY film i haveBeing a combat marine this is the closest depiction of many diverse lives being thrown into the gauntlet of war and the reactions to same. the brave, the cowards, the religious etc. but more importantly thin red line is the ONLY film i have seen that even cracks the expanse of the human mind of combat personnel. What emotions we felt, what our minds gravitate too during times of immense stress and emotional pain and what we do to maintain some sort of relationship with sanity. Many films in my opinion have tried to accomplish what Malick has so eloquently scratched the surface of. No other film has threw me back into the grinder like thin red line...i cried for hours after......9.5/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
galelukaSep 20, 2013
Probably the best war movie of all time. One war told through the words of many. Famous voice over scenes are probably some of the best scenes in movie history. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone. However what really makes thisProbably the best war movie of all time. One war told through the words of many. Famous voice over scenes are probably some of the best scenes in movie history. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone. However what really makes this movie brilliant is its strong message. Brilliant! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
This movie gets a lot of hate for some absurd reason, I can't imagine why. I think its just as good as Apocalypse Now if not better. It's a meditation on human behaviour and the psychological impact of war on humanity as a whole. It questionsThis movie gets a lot of hate for some absurd reason, I can't imagine why. I think its just as good as Apocalypse Now if not better. It's a meditation on human behaviour and the psychological impact of war on humanity as a whole. It questions the underlying origins of hate and villainy and whether we're just flawed beings who're inherently bestowed with a tendency to fight and kill. Malick uses some of the most profound imagery that in themselves speak volumes. It's more than an experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PaulThomasRefnMay 17, 2014
"I like you captain, and I'd just want you to know that, we're in this thing together" growls Lt. Col. Gordon Tall early in what has to be one of the most innovative war films ever made, and that is truly how the audience feels, as if they"I like you captain, and I'd just want you to know that, we're in this thing together" growls Lt. Col. Gordon Tall early in what has to be one of the most innovative war films ever made, and that is truly how the audience feels, as if they are it with the characters. The perfect cinematography and directing create such immersion, that we really feel as though we are one of Charlie company, fighting alongside them. This practically first person view contributes to this being possibly the most visually stimulating war film ever made, and this allows the audience to really picture the horror of combat. When combined with fantastic performances from the likes of Nick Nolte, whose deranged persistence is a highlight of his career, the film is as thought provoking as the best of all war films, Apocalypse Now, and a comparison to that shows how brilliant a film Terrence Malick has created. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ReviewCriticDec 30, 2011
The Thin Red Line is up there with the greatest WWII movies of all time. It has incredible visuals that blow you away, and realistic war "gameplay." The Thin Red Line also offers the strangest insights into life lessons, mostly spoken byThe Thin Red Line is up there with the greatest WWII movies of all time. It has incredible visuals that blow you away, and realistic war "gameplay." The Thin Red Line also offers the strangest insights into life lessons, mostly spoken by Witt. Ferociously suspenseful, The Thin Red Line is Terrence Mallick's masterpiece, and was a high contender at the 1999 Oscars. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
TimHAug 8, 2009
This and Apocalypse Now eliminate the need for anyone to ever make another war film. Deep, surreal, poetic, and stunningly beautiful.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 25, 2011
Along with the realistic portrayal of a battlefield and its fighting soldiers, Terrence Malick's "The Thin Red Line" is a WW2 masterpiece that derives from other movies like "Saving Private Ryan". The film, surrounded by strange tranquility,Along with the realistic portrayal of a battlefield and its fighting soldiers, Terrence Malick's "The Thin Red Line" is a WW2 masterpiece that derives from other movies like "Saving Private Ryan". The film, surrounded by strange tranquility, demands us of why war is fought and how humanity will overcome adversities of their own agenda in a time of despair and blood. A effectively clandestine movie that definitely is worth to watch. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
TelorandFJan 9, 2008
Quite possibly the worst waste of three hours I have experienced. I rarely knew who I was looking at, as the soldiers all looked the same, and even more seldom was the feeling that I should care about them. The voice-over-narrators all Quite possibly the worst waste of three hours I have experienced. I rarely knew who I was looking at, as the soldiers all looked the same, and even more seldom was the feeling that I should care about them. The voice-over-narrators all sounded the same, all spouting a similar, formulaic monologue to the effect of, "Who am I? Why are we fighting? Where do thoughts come from?" When I wasn't bored with the monologue, I was engulfed in a score that lacked any power and swelled when it should have been silent or was silent when it should have swelled. In fact, the characters had no dynamics either. They all acted like scared little boys, both the experienced and those whose first war this was, and it is a wonder they weren't all killed by the Japanese. That would have been impossible, however, as the Japanese were inept at shooting just about everything, not to mention they seemed to enjoy running over the hill towards the enemy, shouting instead of taking up positions and shooting. One shining example of this is when the Americans take Hill 210 and run into the main encampment of the Japanese, much to their surprise. The clearly outnumbered Americans then slaughter nearly every Japanese they can point their gun at while the Japanese simply decide it is better to run away than pick up their guns and fight. This film is misguided and sporadic, having only a vague plot, obscure goals, little to no characterization, and a pace so slow there is time to formulate your own cliche ponderings on life. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
1
usmcsmDec 22, 2010
A great book turned into a crappy film. This is the second screen adaptation, attempted adaptation, of James Jones classic novel, and both fail miserably. Three, long, boring hours of meandering garbage. Japanese soldiers inaccuratelyA great book turned into a crappy film. This is the second screen adaptation, attempted adaptation, of James Jones classic novel, and both fail miserably. Three, long, boring hours of meandering garbage. Japanese soldiers inaccurately portrayed, story garbled, an incredible waste of time. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
2
JoyceM.Jan 10, 2006
Ridiculous. The emperor is without clothes.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
IanBApr 1, 2009
Well, let me blow these ratings apart. My whole family watched this, ages 18 to 60 and we all thought it was terrible. A badly overdone, unrealistic, dark movie that looked like a stage play, pathetic script, campy Shakespearean actors, as Well, let me blow these ratings apart. My whole family watched this, ages 18 to 60 and we all thought it was terrible. A badly overdone, unrealistic, dark movie that looked like a stage play, pathetic script, campy Shakespearean actors, as wooden as it gets. If it wasn't so damn boring we could have enjoyed it as a comedy. I was hoping they would all die quickly and that was about half way through this home video. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
JamesSJul 28, 2009
This movie would have been great if it were not for all the faggot actors trying to look tough and mean. What an insult to the true heroes who paid the ultimate price in this campaign. Woody & Buzz could've done a better job
0 of 8 users found this helpful
0
HubCamJan 14, 2011
Was like suffering through a 2 hour Calvin Klein commercial, Apocalypse Now style.
My God what a heady bunch of crap!
Should be called the "The Thin Pink Line", 'cuz this was a complete Metro waste of film.
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroApr 26, 2011
Although receive good reviews, I think War Movie is not my type. Slow-paced, explosion - didn't attract me enough. I think Terrence Malick give his best for this movie, beautifully filmed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MaxthePlankNov 4, 2011
This film is more entertaining than a 3 hour delay at Heathrow,,, but only marginally. If the film were edited down to the scenes with humans in (or better still to those where they actually have something to do or say!) then you would beThis film is more entertaining than a 3 hour delay at Heathrow,,, but only marginally. If the film were edited down to the scenes with humans in (or better still to those where they actually have something to do or say!) then you would be left with a powerful 60 mins. Sadly, the director has self-indulgently bloated it out with hour after tedious hour of rivers, dolphins, trees, fields, sunsets (sun-rises..). A shot of a field or a mountain has told me everything it can after 5 to 10 seconds, so why am I forced to stare at it for another minute and a half!? Clearly some arty farty space-cadet types like it, but I suspect the common mortal like myself, will lose the will to live long before the half-way point. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
HEIMDAL13Jul 29, 2014
This movie is boring and dull. It doesn't even have a plot... Worst war movie I have ever seen, It tries to be dramatic but it fails hard. It's over actuated.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ManasWWMNov 22, 2013
A bit too emotional ..40-45 minutes of war put aside,this movie is a complete No No.location was a bit too perfect for the war scenario,but it is based on real events so cannot complain on that.Characters were average,I expected more of gunsA bit too emotional ..40-45 minutes of war put aside,this movie is a complete No No.location was a bit too perfect for the war scenario,but it is based on real events so cannot complain on that.Characters were average,I expected more of guns rather than words. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SusanM.Dec 7, 2005
Stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FionaWDec 23, 2007
This is probably my favorite film ever made, excepting possibly A Clockwork Orange or the equally stunning and poetic Russian "indie" war film Come and See, but prospective viewers must be warned that, if the dictionary ever began covering This is probably my favorite film ever made, excepting possibly A Clockwork Orange or the equally stunning and poetic Russian "indie" war film Come and See, but prospective viewers must be warned that, if the dictionary ever began covering oft-used phrases in addition to words, this would be listed in the example section of the entry for "love it or hate it." One of the most truly divisive movies I've ever seen - some absolutely despise it, as you can see in this review section, and some, like myself, cherish it as a work of art. Consider yourself warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TokyochuchuAug 20, 2014
The Thin Red Line is an interesting war film with some great 'nature as innocence' symbolism and photography. There are one or two nagging problems, though. One is the film is significantly overlong and has too many endings. Another is thatThe Thin Red Line is an interesting war film with some great 'nature as innocence' symbolism and photography. There are one or two nagging problems, though. One is the film is significantly overlong and has too many endings. Another is that the amount of famous actors that pop up in the movie actually distracts and detracts from the message. But great stuff non-the-less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 24, 2015
Wow is all I have to say. After laboring through the other films by Terrence Malick and seeing the potential for a great film if he could ever figure out how to write a damn film, this one brings it all together. Featuring his trademarkWow is all I have to say. After laboring through the other films by Terrence Malick and seeing the potential for a great film if he could ever figure out how to write a damn film, this one brings it all together. Featuring his trademark brilliant cinematography, The Thin Red Line is brilliantly written and beautifully acted turning this one into one of the best war films ever released and one of the strongest films of the 1990s. A character driven film, The Thin Red Line relies upon love, brotherhood, and other true human feelings and emotions rather than blood and carnage to tell the tale of its many characters. The script is beautifully poetic with so many moving lines they are impossible to count. The cast is huge and features many past and current stars in great turns, such as Jim Caviezel, Sean Penn, Elias Koteas, Ben Chaplin, Nick Nolte, Dash Mihok, John Cusack, Woody Harrelson, Jared Leto, John Travolta, George Clooney, Tim Blake Nelson, Larry Romano, and many, many more. This is one of the best examples of a film in which every seen features somebody you know and have seen in many different films and it really puts them together for a phenomenal cast. The score to the film is also beautiful and is the last touch to what is really one of the most poetic and brilliant war films ever. Though it gets lost in the shuffle of 1998 due to the release of Saving Private Ryan, The Thin Red Line is fantastic in its own right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJJul 16, 2016
Now, don't get me wrong. The acting is amazing, the plot is great but overall i think its way too long! Sometimes the slow tempo can be dramatic, but when you're overdoing it - its becoming boring! The characters are not going to make youNow, don't get me wrong. The acting is amazing, the plot is great but overall i think its way too long! Sometimes the slow tempo can be dramatic, but when you're overdoing it - its becoming boring! The characters are not going to make you care about them. Overall its an great movie, and definitely deserves a watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
UltimateBubFeb 2, 2015
This is definitely not a movie for everyone, it has a very select audience, but for those who liked it, "The Thin Red Line" is enjoyable. Although the film lacks a general focus and is way too long, the narrative must be praised, as well asThis is definitely not a movie for everyone, it has a very select audience, but for those who liked it, "The Thin Red Line" is enjoyable. Although the film lacks a general focus and is way too long, the narrative must be praised, as well as the acting, score and battle scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JeanDuchampJun 19, 2016
Obvious, tedious, overstretched, exploitative, self-repeating, too standard by all means, considered in the top of war movies probably by some tricky magic. The single good feature is how the local nature exposed through the outdoor shooting,Obvious, tedious, overstretched, exploitative, self-repeating, too standard by all means, considered in the top of war movies probably by some tricky magic. The single good feature is how the local nature exposed through the outdoor shooting, but it's hardly an excuse for an almost three-hour flick. Seriously, better search for some National Geographic documentary on Solomon Islands or some intelligent documentary on WWII . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SteveB95Aug 24, 2015
Perhaps The Thin Red Line is too long, or perhaps it isn't. That distinction lies with the individual member of the audience and their ability to leave the field of battle and be taken to somewhere more poetic and beautiful as a narratorPerhaps The Thin Red Line is too long, or perhaps it isn't. That distinction lies with the individual member of the audience and their ability to leave the field of battle and be taken to somewhere more poetic and beautiful as a narrator monologues meaningful dialogue.

That being said, The Thin Red Line is like any other Terrence Malick film in that, for any flaws it has, there are plenty of positives. It is as much a film for the actors to spread their wings as it is a commemoration to the American soldiers who lost their lives in the South Pacific.

There are some truly fantastic and unforgettable performances here, from Nick Nolte, Sean Penn and Jim Cazaviel in particular. They transform faultlessly into their characters, blending into the mise en scene of the film whether the background features long grass (which Malick has always seemed to love) or explosions from incoming Japanese shells.

Above all, this is a war film to remember for its gritty realism which somehow seamlessly mixes into the poetic direction of Malick. A superb representation of one of the most dreadful, hateful and haunting wars in the history of man.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
smiyamotAug 29, 2016
This is not like any other war movie you've ever seen. It's much more about the soldiers and what they are thinking about than about the war around them. If you're looking for an action-shoot 'em up-bombs and explosions movie, this is NOTThis is not like any other war movie you've ever seen. It's much more about the soldiers and what they are thinking about than about the war around them. If you're looking for an action-shoot 'em up-bombs and explosions movie, this is NOT for you. Be in the right mood, sit back and absorb this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FairbottomMay 24, 2018
Moody realism. I know when I go a-warrin' my internal monologue also sounds like a ropey Kierkegaard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews