Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: A man is shot and quickly buried in the high desert of West Texas. The body is found and reburied in Van Horn's town cemetery. Peter Perkins (Jones), a local ranch foreman kidnaps a Border Patrolman and forces him to disinter the body. With his captive in tow and the body tied to a mule,A man is shot and quickly buried in the high desert of West Texas. The body is found and reburied in Van Horn's town cemetery. Peter Perkins (Jones), a local ranch foreman kidnaps a Border Patrolman and forces him to disinter the body. With his captive in tow and the body tied to a mule, Pete undertakes a dangerous and quixotic journey into Mexico. (Sony Pictures Classics) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. 100
    Incisive yet supple, wrenching yet deeply pleasurable, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada easily ranks among the year's best pictures.
  2. Tommy Lee Jones steps behind the camera to direct himself in the most impressive directorial debut the American cinema has seen in some time, a contemporary western both rough and poetic, laconic and passionate.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Outstandingly realized on all levels.
  4. What a strange and strangely compelling movie this is.
  5. A small movie that plays like a Western epic.
  6. I admired the leisure and intensity of this morality tale.
  7. Writer Guillermo Arriaga earns most of the blame. He played similar games with narrative in the vastly better "Amores Perros" and "21 Grams," jumping back and forth in time to show relationships among subplots and characters. But "Burials" barely has one plot.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46
  1. KeithW.
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    See this film immediately.
  2. ShawnO.
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    Some of these critics don't know what they are talking about. Not every movie can be a fast paced, violent, shootem up, phony movie, Some of these critics don't know what they are talking about. Not every movie can be a fast paced, violent, shootem up, phony movie, this one was beautiful, period. Expand
  3. AgatinoZ.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    It is so sad when a Wonderful film passes by almost unnoticed. The way this movie is structured, in fragments, that come and go according to It is so sad when a Wonderful film passes by almost unnoticed. The way this movie is structured, in fragments, that come and go according to the characters feelings and ethics is keeps the storyline original. The quiet acting, the vistas, the rights and wrongs. And the notion that a man like Pete Perkins has long disapeared from the face of the earth, says so much about how a society has lost touch with humanity. In Pete Perkins' care of the decaying body of Melquiades we find more respect for human beings than in any real life characters. Along with Eastwood's Unforgiven and Ang Lee's Brokeback Mountain, the West has moved into the sunset that the early films were anticipating. I congratulate Tommy Lee Jones, for he has created a modern quiet masterpiece. Expand
  4. ChadS.
    May 30, 2006
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] In the motel room, it's not clear if Melquaides(Julio Cedillo) and Lou Ann(January Jones) loosened up after they [***SPOILERS***] In the motel room, it's not clear if Melquaides(Julio Cedillo) and Lou Ann(January Jones) loosened up after they danced, which makes us wonder if Mike(Barry Pepper) was in the right, and Pete(Tommy Lee Jones), is loco, when he drags his hostage across the prairie. There are scenes here funnier than anything in "Weekend at Bernie's". The ultimate punchline of this film is that Pete chose the wrong man to revere. Expand
  5. StephenS.
    Jun 5, 2006
    7
    This reminds me a little of Red Rock West (by John Dahl) or Lone Star (John Sayles). In between burials, we perhaps see a little more than we This reminds me a little of Red Rock West (by John Dahl) or Lone Star (John Sayles). In between burials, we perhaps see a little more than we need to of Melquiade Expand
  6. ChristianW.
    Dec 26, 2006
    5
    After reading gushing reviews for this film I was disappointed and, frankly, bored as this surprisingly shallow modern western meandered to a After reading gushing reviews for this film I was disappointed and, frankly, bored as this surprisingly shallow modern western meandered to a conclusion that had me asking "is that it?". Good points were Dwight Yoakam's acting, though his character exited too early, and the films dark and slightly surreal atmosphere. Bad aspects include its slow pace, irrelevant encounters, hard to swallow coincidences, Tommy Lee Jones' unconvincing character and lack of expression, loose ends and stereotyped characters. Some of the scenes with the corpse made me wonder ifI was watching the third "Weekend at Bernies" installment by mistake. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    An ugly, dirty movie. That has no purpose. It drags on and on, the movie was over 2 hours long and its about nothing! The movie wasAn ugly, dirty movie. That has no purpose. It drags on and on, the movie was over 2 hours long and its about nothing! The movie was predictable, and worse of all boring!! Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Westerns of the Past 25 Years Image
    Published: June 15, 2010
    "Jonah Hex" (opening Friday) is, among other things, a western -- a genre that seems uncommon these days. But the past 25 years have seen a number of great examples of the genre, as well as a failure or two. Find out which westerns made our list(s).