User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 114
  2. Negative: 8 out of 114
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    Though it does not quite live up to the book, The Time Traveller's Wife is a heartfelt and emotional movie. Sadly lacking the feeling of Henry and Clare's deep relationship that the book conveys it is still a brilliant movie. Those parts that were missed did not leave gaping holes in the plot. It is an incredibly moving film and unless you have a heart of stone you will be crying your eyesThough it does not quite live up to the book, The Time Traveller's Wife is a heartfelt and emotional movie. Sadly lacking the feeling of Henry and Clare's deep relationship that the book conveys it is still a brilliant movie. Those parts that were missed did not leave gaping holes in the plot. It is an incredibly moving film and unless you have a heart of stone you will be crying your eyes out the whole way through. Expand
  2. MikeD.
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    Reviewers who focus on the time travel totally miss the point of the movie. Its about the struggles of a woman when the man she loves can't give himself to her completely, but, she realizes, what he can give is enough. Amy McAdam plays that role very well. From the male side, it is about not wanting to be able to be there for the ones you love, and that part is told poignantly as Reviewers who focus on the time travel totally miss the point of the movie. Its about the struggles of a woman when the man she loves can't give himself to her completely, but, she realizes, what he can give is enough. Amy McAdam plays that role very well. From the male side, it is about not wanting to be able to be there for the ones you love, and that part is told poignantly as well. At the end, it is moving and effective if you can just accept the time travel as a dramatic device and not try to analyze it. Expand
  3. CastorT.
    Aug 16, 2009
    9
    Boasting terrific performances and chemistry from Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana, the Time Traveler's Wife has some flaws but is a charming, endearing and bittersweet romantic drama nonetheless.
  4. W.B.Winn
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    Some reviewers are getting too hung up on the illogical paradoxes of time travel and the supposedly absurd premise. At it's core, this isn't a movie about time travel but a movie about relationships and overcoming unique challenges. Viewed from this angle it succeeds, in my humble opinion.
  5. SarahH
    Aug 19, 2009
    7
    Sure- it's far fetched, but Rachel McAdams is (as always) amazing and Bana is surprisingly right for his role. I cried my way through reading the book, and the movie brought me to tears throughout most of the ending. It might not be an award winner, but it is still a solid, tragic romance, and I am sucker for those!
  6. KielM.
    Oct 11, 2009
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie, but I did wonder if I would have enjoyed it if I had not already read the book. Although the movie omits important elements from the book, I thought it did a good job of focusing and the main story line from the book. For me the great love story overcame the questionable science.
  7. WinstonL.
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Despite the reviews, McAdams and Bana are on Oscar-watch.
  8. AdamC.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    This movie had a really likable cast. Even though the storyline was a little confusing, it was heart warming and funny at needed times. However, the trailer does do the movie justice being one of the best trailers ive seen in a while.
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    7
    Considering I rented this film more for my wife than for myself, ironically it was I that enjoyed this film more. My wife had a relatively fair criticism that this film is a little trite. However I would add that it has a certain charm because of this, and it is trite at the beginning of the film, and much less so by the end. Personally the first reason I enjoyed this film was that the twoConsidering I rented this film more for my wife than for myself, ironically it was I that enjoyed this film more. My wife had a relatively fair criticism that this film is a little trite. However I would add that it has a certain charm because of this, and it is trite at the beginning of the film, and much less so by the end. Personally the first reason I enjoyed this film was that the two main characters actually do have a believable chemistry. Too often I have watched (Hollywood) films in which the lead couple have absolutory zero believability as a couple. Secondly, this film definitely throws you into the story straight away, hooking me with the central premise of a boy (and then a man) time travelling who cannot control what happens to him.

    Third. I have now actually seen a film in which I liked Eric Bana. To be honest I thought he was a bit crappy until this, but he plays the role well, especially with the potential of some of the material to be somewhat paedophilic (let your mind boggle, and I hope that isnâ
    Expand
  10. Ssmith
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie; the beautiful direction, the acting, the story.
  11. BillyS
    Sep 11, 2009
    5
    Eric Bana travels back and forth from time to time in his life over and over and over again, I'd like to travel back to right before I paid for the ticket! Seriously.
  12. HaileyL
    Aug 26, 2009
    2
    I'll admit right off the bat that I am biased because I read and loved the book 'The Time Traveler's Wife'. So, going into the movie my expectations were high. And, my expectations were crushed without remorse by this horrid film. The only saving grace was Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana as lead characters. Both fabulous actors, bound to draw attention. However, the film I'll admit right off the bat that I am biased because I read and loved the book 'The Time Traveler's Wife'. So, going into the movie my expectations were high. And, my expectations were crushed without remorse by this horrid film. The only saving grace was Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana as lead characters. Both fabulous actors, bound to draw attention. However, the film lacked character depth and development. I felt no connection with the love story that was supposed to be unfolding before my eyes. And, to my complete dismay, the best parts of the book were left out or completely changed! The screenwriters took a beautifully written novel, and trashed every wonderful thing about it. Too bad. My recommendation: Save your money. Collapse
  13. ChinaM.
    Aug 18, 2009
    1
    This movie was so wack! The previewa make it seem like it was some lovely romantic story but in reality it was just plain confusing. I sat there waiting for Eric Bana's to die and I was going to shoot myself if I saw his ass one more time in this movie..And to top it off, he gets killed by a bullet that was meant for a deer..WOW!!! This movie was so dumb, stupid, and confusing! I do This movie was so wack! The previewa make it seem like it was some lovely romantic story but in reality it was just plain confusing. I sat there waiting for Eric Bana's to die and I was going to shoot myself if I saw his ass one more time in this movie..And to top it off, he gets killed by a bullet that was meant for a deer..WOW!!! This movie was so dumb, stupid, and confusing! I do not recommend seeing this to anyone!!! Expand
  14. JohnE.
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    I enjoy good movies weather they are chick flicks or horror films. Since this was based upon a book I came in with high hopes, but sadly enough this film made absolutely no sense at all. It was purposefully manipulative to your emotions, and had nothing to really bight your teeth into. This film made me very angry, why would anyone make this movie it sucks. In the sea of good romantic I enjoy good movies weather they are chick flicks or horror films. Since this was based upon a book I came in with high hopes, but sadly enough this film made absolutely no sense at all. It was purposefully manipulative to your emotions, and had nothing to really bight your teeth into. This film made me very angry, why would anyone make this movie it sucks. In the sea of good romantic movies out there this one is a rock at the bottom of the Marianas trench. Expand
  15. kgm
    Sep 3, 2009
    5
    Who wouldn
  16. JeffH.
    Aug 15, 2009
    5
    Even as I guy I usually enjoy a good love story as well as anyone. But this movie was a disappointment. All the time traveling was hard to keep track of and seemed manipulative. That said, the actors did a real good job given the material they had to work with. But the director didn't even use the great song from the trailer in the movie either. This adds up to a truly average film Even as I guy I usually enjoy a good love story as well as anyone. But this movie was a disappointment. All the time traveling was hard to keep track of and seemed manipulative. That said, the actors did a real good job given the material they had to work with. But the director didn't even use the great song from the trailer in the movie either. This adds up to a truly average film but I was expecting much more. Expand
  17. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    I do not normally like soppy films but this one had an interesting premise to it and actually posed some extremely fascinating morale dilemmas. I enjoyed Eric Bana's performance while Rachel McAdams gave a decent account of herself.
  18. Sep 26, 2013
    1
    This movie was terrible in comparison to the book. The book was so much more romantic. They cut the best parts out of the story, in regards to the movie. The details were all off also, especially about the daughter and the way she was supposed to look like... Urgh what a disappointment.
  19. AaronM
    Aug 20, 2009
    8
    People who have read the book will forgive all the things the movie doesn't go into detail explaining, and will love the movie for what it really is - a heartfelt and enduring story of a woman who is destined to love a troubled guy who time travels. So simply put, read the book first and love the movie or don't.
  20. ChadS.
    Aug 17, 2009
    6
    Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer in Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones". The interaction between Henry(Eric Bana) and Claire's pre-pubescent self is the film's litmus test. If moviegoers aren't silently humming George Michael's "Father Figure" to themselves Lucky for young Claire, the naked man in the bushes turns out to be her one and only, and not some child rapist, like the girl's killer in Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones". The interaction between Henry(Eric Bana) and Claire's pre-pubescent self is the film's litmus test. If moviegoers aren't silently humming George Michael's "Father Figure" to themselves while the time traveler chats up the little girl, "The Time Traveler's Wife" just dodged the first bullet. (The second bullet is if Henry's wormholes seem plausible to a quantum physicist.) Bana's scenes with his future wife as a child are crucial to keeping intact the film's central theme of unconditional love. (It's a good thing Claire didn't see Jesus, or else she would have winded up a nun.) Not for one second can Henry appear to be hitting on her. Claire's future husband has to treat his pre-wife like he was looking at an old photograph in a keepsake album. To quote filmmaker Wim Wenders(and Bono), Henry has to be "faraway, so close". When he shakes Claire's hand in that meadow, it's analogous to a husband stroking some picture's surface that embodies the woman he married under a sheath of plastic. Bana has to convey that Claire's unformed state touches his heart, not his genitals. (***HEY, SPOILER ALERT***) Due to tragic circumstances, late in the film, Henry suddenly seems cruel, keeping Claire(played by the lovely Rachel McAdams) in limbo. Had Henry returned to the meadow and traumatized young Claire by jumping out of the bushes, his wife wouldn't be perpetually haunted by a "Librarian of Desire". At least the Demi Moore character in Jerry Zucker's "Ghost" found closure. But they had a kid. End of story. They're a chained melody. Expand
  21. NutterJr.
    Jan 10, 2010
    6
    The chemistry of the actors makes the film quite tender and it gets more emotional towards the end of the film. But there are a number of confusing time-travel related paradoxes and contradictions that sometime remove the viewer from the essence of the film: a love story that transcends across time. And talking about such stories, my favourite love story that transcends across time is the The chemistry of the actors makes the film quite tender and it gets more emotional towards the end of the film. But there are a number of confusing time-travel related paradoxes and contradictions that sometime remove the viewer from the essence of the film: a love story that transcends across time. And talking about such stories, my favourite love story that transcends across time is the "The Fountain". Expand
  22. S.H.
    Aug 18, 2009
    8
    Fresh new story that keeps you locked in until the end... I haven't had to fight tears at a movie since Braveheart.
  23. TomM
    Aug 18, 2009
    5
    This film was okay, but it lacked the emotional attachment I had with other romantic films, like The Notebook. My main problem was that Henry time traveled too much in the film and not allowing the audience to get involved in the story. McAdams is very good in her role. I really wanted to like the film, but could not embrace it.
  24. fantasy
    Aug 30, 2009
    8
    This is a feel good movie with no beginning and no end. You only hope some heads or tails can be made of the time traveling but in the end it is simply a love story about blind love and caring. There was so much more that coud have been explained but it is the same scene repeated forever.
  25. LindaM.
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    A touching tale of the power of love that has no expiration date and the paradoxes of time travel.
  26. ElizabethC.
    Aug 17, 2009
    5
    The leading actors are charming and talented, there's some good photography - but the storytelling falls limp. Of course it's a fantasy, so it's hard to criticize it for being illogical, but somehow it never makes sense for me to have the time traveler meet up with their older or younger self - several times. And the story doesn't seem to go anywhere with an intriguing The leading actors are charming and talented, there's some good photography - but the storytelling falls limp. Of course it's a fantasy, so it's hard to criticize it for being illogical, but somehow it never makes sense for me to have the time traveler meet up with their older or younger self - several times. And the story doesn't seem to go anywhere with an intriguing premise. Expand
  27. JimS.
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    I really liked the movie. It's far from perfect but it is likable nonetheless.
  28. DonnaL.
    Aug 15, 2009
    7
    It is possible to abandon reason and enjoy this film. The acting supports the effort.
  29. ElisaH.
    Aug 16, 2009
    8
    I was concerned that it was going to be very difficult to follow the book. However, they have done a good job at capturing most of the important facts.
  30. MikeW
    Aug 19, 2009
    8
    I'm into sci-fi and time travel stories so I liked this movie. My wife isn't and didn't. So whether you enjoy this movie depends on your orientation.
  31. vinipushka010
    Aug 22, 2009
    7
    True, it's probably a movie you'd take your girfriend/s to, but it's a bit more than just that. You may find you walk away happy you gave it a chance.
  32. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    This is a very enjoyable movie indeed that I can find no faults in it at all, excellent direction and the cast are nothing short of brillant. There was no point in the movie where I was bored, the story and characters grabbed me and refused to let go. As someone who is not a fan of romance films I was surprised to have enjoyed this movie as much as I did and have watched it several times.This is a very enjoyable movie indeed that I can find no faults in it at all, excellent direction and the cast are nothing short of brillant. There was no point in the movie where I was bored, the story and characters grabbed me and refused to let go. As someone who is not a fan of romance films I was surprised to have enjoyed this movie as much as I did and have watched it several times. I would recommend this film to anyone interested in scifi/drama or romance movies. Expand
  33. iCC
    Mar 23, 2015
    8
    The movie is not exactly a masterpiece, but it has a really creative and a non-predictable plot... really good actors and a nice story... is like one of those movies you want to see when you are relaxed, I really recommend it
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. German-born director Robert Schwentke ("Flightplan") keep things moving briskly enough so that the leaps in time mostly obscure the leaps in logic.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    May not make a lick of sense, but it does make for fairly irresistible nonsense.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    40
    Will disappoint anyone looking for transport from a movie--being a time traveler's wife, it turns out, is mostly a drag.