Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2010
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 282 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
91
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
Average_JoeJun 30, 2011
I have barely had the misfortune of watching such a bore of a misdirected movie. From start to end The Tourist makes one ask the question: is Johnny Depp in desperate need for cash? Who has approved this empty shell of a script to be turnedI have barely had the misfortune of watching such a bore of a misdirected movie. From start to end The Tourist makes one ask the question: is Johnny Depp in desperate need for cash? Who has approved this empty shell of a script to be turned into a movie?
When does that damn spouse finally fall asleep so I can go silently and do something better with my time than being bored by this dull story and the general absence of talent. At least Johnny Depp makes the impression that he asks himself the same...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
The Tourist comes across as an incredibly limp movie. While it advertises itself as a throwback to the romantic-thrillers of Old Hollywood, it forgets that joy is required to work with a preposterously plotted type of yarn. Everything comesThe Tourist comes across as an incredibly limp movie. While it advertises itself as a throwback to the romantic-thrillers of Old Hollywood, it forgets that joy is required to work with a preposterously plotted type of yarn. Everything comes across as half-assed, from the bored, involved, and decidedly lacking in chemistry performances by Jolie and Depp, to the dull, drawn out action sequences, to the comedy that tries far too hard to be clever, and plot twists that are as obvious as they are preposterous. The Tourist is instead of giant vapid hole of Hollywood cynicism and self-gratification, and serves more as a travel add for Venice than anything else. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
nutterjrSep 22, 2011
It is truly fascinating how the Hollywood industry can take an exciting and funny French film and turn it into a flat film that leaves you absolutely unamused.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
RodrigoBGCOct 15, 2011
Although it have great actors on the scene and the idea was good, and the this movie ends been a totally uncessary crap, im sorry about Johny Depp because has always he do an ecxellent job
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
LouZooJan 11, 2011
Please save your money. The best and only seriously cool thing to watch in this 2 hour lost-cause was the landscape of Venice. Basically a stupid film. Because of Venice I give it a 2.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
FilmBuff63Dec 10, 2010
This film was void of any entertainment value. I felt like they trying to capture the feel of those whimsical movies where Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn are running around some exotic European location (aka Charade). Instead, what I gotThis film was void of any entertainment value. I felt like they trying to capture the feel of those whimsical movies where Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn are running around some exotic European location (aka Charade). Instead, what I got was an absolutely mind-numbing film with no plot, performances that were phoned in by J. Depp and Brangelina, and action sequences that paled in comparison to what you would get from a Merchant Ivory film.

This was bad, bad, bad!
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
brewcrewprideDec 18, 2010
"The Tourist" offers charming leads but with a disorganized script, a very awkward connection between Depp and Jolie, and with a conclusion that is just weird; this movie is simply a waste of time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
taylorcnDec 28, 2010
With Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp in Venice, The Tourist could have been really good. Unfortunately, it wasn't. Both actors appear to be disinterested in their roles, but it's hard to blame them with the story they have to work with. TheWith Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp in Venice, The Tourist could have been really good. Unfortunately, it wasn't. Both actors appear to be disinterested in their roles, but it's hard to blame them with the story they have to work with. The plot is implausible and contradictory and the story meanders aimlessly. Despite this, the ending still manages to be completely predictable. If plot holes don't bother you and you are entertained by shiny things, you'll probably enjoy The Tourist. If you have half a brain, though, best to skip it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
billy195456Jan 13, 2011
I thought this movie was a waste of time and money. Depp played a fairly decent role. Jolie wandered listlessly around the whole time in designer clothes like a runway model. Makeup was always perfect. Action was little and far between. GoodI thought this movie was a waste of time and money. Depp played a fairly decent role. Jolie wandered listlessly around the whole time in designer clothes like a runway model. Makeup was always perfect. Action was little and far between. Good twist at end. That was best part of movie. The lady next to me dozed off three times. Would not recommend even as movie rental. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
cinemaquoteJan 30, 2011
OMG! I actually had to research to understand how such a mistake could be filmed and released, and how -alleged- big names could be attached to this... flick. It does have a strong point, manages to juggle the viewer from comedic-drama toOMG! I actually had to research to understand how such a mistake could be filmed and released, and how -alleged- big names could be attached to this... flick. It does have a strong point, manages to juggle the viewer from comedic-drama to dramatic comedy... even if not intentionally. The plot is terrible, acting is irregular and nonlinear (in a bad way) and the direction, well... The Lives of Others was a masterpiece. This is hardly watchable. Such a pity. @cinemaquote Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
wishmasterJul 28, 2011
ok. this movie was so pathetic, and the soundtrack, as well as terrible, unbearable, it was so uncomfortable and boring, neither pays much attention to the end of the worst I've seen in my damn life. terrible ..!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroJan 3, 2013
Unbelievable. One of those movies where every single scene makes you cringe.. Where at every single scene you want to scream at the director: cut, do it again. But they didn't. They edited this mess into a movie and hoped that the big namesUnbelievable. One of those movies where every single scene makes you cringe.. Where at every single scene you want to scream at the director: cut, do it again. But they didn't. They edited this mess into a movie and hoped that the big names of Jolie and Depp alone would make it a success. To start out, any romance where the woman takes the lead and is basically the dominating party, is not a romance. And THIS romance does not even have the hint of a spark, there is not the least bit of tension. The entire movie looks like the director was awestruck with having Jolie and Depp, and let them basically do whatever they wanted. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
makrtik2Dec 11, 2010
We are Depp and Jolie fans... however, we are not fans of either the actors or this tepid pedestrian, small switcheroo at the end, boring walk through the beautiful city of Venice, cliche of a movie. Venice may be immortal, this film is not.We are Depp and Jolie fans... however, we are not fans of either the actors or this tepid pedestrian, small switcheroo at the end, boring walk through the beautiful city of Venice, cliche of a movie. Venice may be immortal, this film is not. It has only three weak spots... plot, screen[play, and acting. There is no suspense, you can;t tell if they're going for buffoonery or drama, and Venice, and over the top clothes for Angelia, are about all the film has to offer. It's usually enjoyable to see good actors ply their trade... sadly, in this film, the film didn't work, and neither did the actors... Save the money and rent "Murder on The Orient Express". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Forrestgump1Dec 12, 2010
"The Tourist at first glance could have been something interesting and fun. But instead we get a boring obnoxious lame "long" chemistry free lackluster film with wasted talent from Jolie & Depp . The Tourist has its moments but never goes"The Tourist at first glance could have been something interesting and fun. But instead we get a boring obnoxious lame "long" chemistry free lackluster film with wasted talent from Jolie & Depp . The Tourist has its moments but never goes anywhere" .. D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MohaFeb 11, 2011
didn't like, its the worst movie for Depp. I thinh really this movie was a waste of time and money. Im a big fan of Deep but I didnt like him in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Save_the_EarthOct 19, 2011
What a stupid copy of the 2005 French movie "Anthony Zimmer". The French version isn't that interesting either, but still better than this. At least you don't feel like you are watching a comedy when you're watching the French version!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This was an awful film. Not clever in any way at all. It was the kind of film that expected it to be considered a sharp, witty, thrilling film with it's tension built up so well that the twist in the tale is cleverly concealed. However noneThis was an awful film. Not clever in any way at all. It was the kind of film that expected it to be considered a sharp, witty, thrilling film with it's tension built up so well that the twist in the tale is cleverly concealed. However none of that is true. The acting was poor even though there were many great actors in the film and direction was even worse. Worst film of 2010 that I went to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
I wanted to like it, I really did, but this was a mess. It was all over the place, and the ending didn't help. The tone was all over the place. Not a good film!

The musical score was nice, but some of the song selections did not fit the
I wanted to like it, I really did, but this was a mess. It was all over the place, and the ending didn't help. The tone was all over the place. Not a good film!

The musical score was nice, but some of the song selections did not fit the mood or tone of the film at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusJan 20, 2013
What a mess of a movie! It was too silly to be taken as a serious movie, yet it wasnt enough serious to taken as a drama. The movie just doesnt connect with the viewer. The charcters have no chemistry with each other. Also, the story was justWhat a mess of a movie! It was too silly to be taken as a serious movie, yet it wasnt enough serious to taken as a drama. The movie just doesnt connect with the viewer. The charcters have no chemistry with each other. Also, the story was just awful. Avoid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AliBenzekriJun 17, 2013
With Jolie Depp and Henckel von Donnersmarck we expected a Masterpiece but it was all about The charming and classy Jolie
The result is a catastrophe
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews