Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 10, 2010
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 282 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
134
Mixed:
91
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JohnQPublicDec 27, 2010
I loved it. It reminded me of the old glamorous Hollywood movies like To Catch a Thief or North by Northwest - espionage, glamour and a tie it all up twist with a bow. Fun, light entertainment. Not too serious, not too dumb, a littleI loved it. It reminded me of the old glamorous Hollywood movies like To Catch a Thief or North by Northwest - espionage, glamour and a tie it all up twist with a bow. Fun, light entertainment. Not too serious, not too dumb, a little glamour. What else do you want? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
lukesnookDec 10, 2010
Even though it was romantic and kind of slow some times, the action and twists keep the movie very entertaining and I thought Depp and Jolie did very well working together. But the main reason you have to see this movie is because of theEven though it was romantic and kind of slow some times, the action and twists keep the movie very entertaining and I thought Depp and Jolie did very well working together. But the main reason you have to see this movie is because of the amazing scenery and chases. I would definitely go see this movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
twainman2003200Dec 10, 2010
Just walked out of the movie-really enjoyed it and Jolie is as hot as ever. Had seen 'Lives of Others' as Depp thought it was so good in an article. Very talky, but great acting by several people. Wishing on a trip I'd run into someone likeJust walked out of the movie-really enjoyed it and Jolie is as hot as ever. Had seen 'Lives of Others' as Depp thought it was so good in an article. Very talky, but great acting by several people. Wishing on a trip I'd run into someone like Jolie. A quiet film...very artsy. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
jb56Dec 10, 2010
I thought the Tourist was clever and entertaining with just enough twist to keep it interesting and Jolie was as beautiful as ever and Depp always a good performance. Critics should look at movies for the entertainment value and not theI thought the Tourist was clever and entertaining with just enough twist to keep it interesting and Jolie was as beautiful as ever and Depp always a good performance. Critics should look at movies for the entertainment value and not the intellectual they tend to over think movies instead of just watching them for what they are entertaining. I give this movie an 8 and would recommend seeing it. Expand
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
8
jacksecretDec 10, 2010
So here is the thing. For those expecting the lives of others, you are going to be unhappy.

This is a fluffy piece of escapist fun. Nothing more, nothing less. I had a good time at the movie as did the near capacity theater. Its fun.
So here is the thing. For those expecting the lives of others, you are going to be unhappy.

This is a fluffy piece of escapist fun. Nothing more, nothing less. I had a good time at the movie as did the near capacity theater. Its fun. Its fine.

I cant believe the ferocity of these negative reviews. They are just unfair.

Go see it. Its pretty good.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gchuttonDec 10, 2010
I liked it and my lady friend loved it.
Great Night Out Movie, Angeline and Johnny were fun in their parts.
Not and action film, and not really a comedy just an old fashioned love-drama
gch
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
butter_cupDec 22, 2010
In general, I love Angelina Jolie but in this movie she really sucks. This role was not suitable for her. I can't believe that they couldn't find a better actress for this role. There was no chemistry between her and John Depp who in factIn general, I love Angelina Jolie but in this movie she really sucks. This role was not suitable for her. I can't believe that they couldn't find a better actress for this role. There was no chemistry between her and John Depp who in fact gave a very good performance.. Anglie totally blew it off. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CorneliaLDec 11, 2010
I liked that The Tourist was a bit of a throwback, more concerned with good cinematography than shootout sequences. I also liked Johnny Depp's character a lot; no one does quirky like he does. As for Ms. Jolie's character, well, she's justI liked that The Tourist was a bit of a throwback, more concerned with good cinematography than shootout sequences. I also liked Johnny Depp's character a lot; no one does quirky like he does. As for Ms. Jolie's character, well, she's just visually stunning. This is an undemanding, often funny, stylish movie with a gorgeous setting and enviable elegance. It's always composed, which I guess is a problem in a film where lives are supposed to be in imminent danger and some of the characters are flat, as is some of the dialogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BenjaminMaxDec 11, 2010
I loved this film. It's really a very romantic escapist film with a bit of humor and some thrills and suspense. Some people perhaps don't understand the intent. They were going for the look of such 60s films as To Catch A Thief, but thisI loved this film. It's really a very romantic escapist film with a bit of humor and some thrills and suspense. Some people perhaps don't understand the intent. They were going for the look of such 60s films as To Catch A Thief, but this leans more on the romantic side. Its like a modern variation of fairy tales where a rich girl/ princess falls finds herself falling in love with the poor boy/commoner against all odds. I thought Depp and Jolie were both fine and believeable in their roles. You spend a little less than 2 hours transported into a beautiful world with beautiful people, and a sweet and entertaining story. If you bear in mind what it is really supposed to be, you will be thoroughly entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zoyDec 14, 2010
ok i gave it a ten more than it deserve maybe it should be like 8,not perfect but just cos the critics are so harsh with the movie maybe they were expecting another movie like "life of others" ..
but i thought both main actors were excellent
ok i gave it a ten more than it deserve maybe it should be like 8,not perfect but just cos the critics are so harsh with the movie maybe they were expecting another movie like "life of others" ..
but i thought both main actors were excellent and the relationship between angie and jhonny was set in the right tone.
so like jb56 said i recommend you go see it .
by the way 37 is to low when u see the same movie in this category, definitely not deserving it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
txrangersfan72Feb 28, 2011
Every once in a while, I completely buck the trend and abandon the masses. Actually, the masses I abandon pretty frequently. However, with The Tourist, I seem to be bucking everyone. I loved this movie! No, it wasn't brilliant. No, itEvery once in a while, I completely buck the trend and abandon the masses. Actually, the masses I abandon pretty frequently. However, with The Tourist, I seem to be bucking everyone. I loved this movie! No, it wasn't brilliant. No, it wasn't flawless. However, it was a wonderfully entertaining film reminiscent of 60's British spy thrillers with a very different Johnny Depp and an ending that made the film. Clearly the high-tone cast saw something in it too. And considering the crap people do like, I am going to borrow a line from Roger Ebert. If you don't like it, it says more about you than it does about me. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aryanruleMar 15, 2011
8 only because in the first 20 min of the film i just knew what would happen. Johhny Depp is brilliant as always, and i dont understand why they didnt mask the story up a bit so it would be difficult to decipher idea so early in the movie...:(
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
shadowknight203Apr 22, 2011
The Tourist was a good movie. It simply fell short in a few area's. But not enough for the critics to downgrade it to a 37 on metacritic..I should note that I went into the film with mindset to The Tourist being awful. Yet at no point duringThe Tourist was a good movie. It simply fell short in a few area's. But not enough for the critics to downgrade it to a 37 on metacritic..I should note that I went into the film with mindset to The Tourist being awful. Yet at no point during the course from beginning to end did it reach to that potential, rather overachieved expectations and lead to an ending that I half predicted (and hoped for). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
filmcriticMay 5, 2011
Clever, intriguing, and entertaining movie! Highly underrated. Combined some themes from The Lives of Others, yet with a Hollywood touch. Everything from the magnificent setting, to the plot, as well as the acting were all superb, and madeClever, intriguing, and entertaining movie! Highly underrated. Combined some themes from The Lives of Others, yet with a Hollywood touch. Everything from the magnificent setting, to the plot, as well as the acting were all superb, and made sure there was never a dull moment. Angelina Jolie was absolutely stunning throughout as well as having a convincing British accent, and Johnny Depp gave one of his better performances, one which improves as the story progresses. It was way better than the average summer blockbuster, and The Tourist is a movie which makes you think, unlike most that are made these days. A must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
10sne1Jun 6, 2011
Forget unpalatable Salt. THIS is the Angelina we all adore, in a comedy caper of delicious intrigue with Johnny Depp and a mouthwatering setting in stunning Venice. Don't think it's over till it's over. The next-to-the-last Jolie line is theForget unpalatable Salt. THIS is the Angelina we all adore, in a comedy caper of delicious intrigue with Johnny Depp and a mouthwatering setting in stunning Venice. Don't think it's over till it's over. The next-to-the-last Jolie line is the best in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
josephjoshySep 12, 2011
Although the climax was sometimes predictable, the director has tried to maintain the suspense and twists in between to make it interesting. With a mix of glamor of Angelina Joli, the movie remains to be good enough and is a worth watch one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Since I had been hearing from people of the poor reviews this movie has got (not that it matters since I usually like the movies that critics hate), I didn't expect a whole lot from this movie. A good move, I guess, since it was a pleasantlySince I had been hearing from people of the poor reviews this movie has got (not that it matters since I usually like the movies that critics hate), I didn't expect a whole lot from this movie. A good move, I guess, since it was a pleasantly surprising okay-movie.

I expected it to be funnier, based on the trailer. Well, there were bursts of humor, but not that many. Actually the funniest thing of all, at least to the Finnish audience, was Depp's character's name, Frank Tupelo ("tumpelo" meaning clumsy etc. in Finnish). The way the movie was structured, it seemed kind of short. It flowed rather well, and stayed eventful to the end - with an extra big surprise waiting there!

Angelina Jolie was... well, she just was, nothing special. Hiding beneath a layer of make-up, she walked around looking like a rich, beautiful woman, and that was about it.

Johnny Depp was as good as could be expected. Usual quality-performance from him, which was entertaining to watch.

Paul Bettany wasn't bad either.

All in all the action was good, the plot was good, and everything was just fine. Not an excellent movie, but not a bad one either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LouisThorndonSep 20, 2014
Best big budget film in years, but sadly for it, a frontal assault on the views of those who have had sway in Hollywood since Dennis Weaver replaced John Gavin as President at the Screen Actors Guild. Gavin was Ronald Reagan's ambassador toBest big budget film in years, but sadly for it, a frontal assault on the views of those who have had sway in Hollywood since Dennis Weaver replaced John Gavin as President at the Screen Actors Guild. Gavin was Ronald Reagan's ambassador to Mexico. Not to be missed. Did great box office outside the USA. Director is a gifted man who even studied in Russia and directed and wrote a brilliant expose of German Communist oppression - "The Lives of Others." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
m_____pJun 5, 2015
İ like this film.This film is amazing. Angelina jolie and Johnny Depp are very beatiful. Even though it was romantic and kind of slow some times, the action and twists keep the movie very entertaining and I thought Depp and Jolie did veryİ like this film.This film is amazing. Angelina jolie and Johnny Depp are very beatiful. Even though it was romantic and kind of slow some times, the action and twists keep the movie very entertaining and I thought Depp and Jolie did very well working together. But the main reason you have to see this movie is because of the amazing scenery and chases. I would definitely go see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews