The Tourist

The Tourist Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Johnny Depp stars as an American tourist whose playful dalliance with a stranger leads to a web of intrigue, romance and danger in The Tourist. During an impromptu trip to Europe to mend a broken heart, Frank unexpectedly finds himself in a flirtatious encounter with Elise, an extraordinaryJohnny Depp stars as an American tourist whose playful dalliance with a stranger leads to a web of intrigue, romance and danger in The Tourist. During an impromptu trip to Europe to mend a broken heart, Frank unexpectedly finds himself in a flirtatious encounter with Elise, an extraordinary woman who deliberately crosses his path. Against the breathtaking backdrop of Paris and Venice, their whirlwind romance quickly evolves as they find themselves unwittingly thrust into a deadly game of cat and mouse. (Sony Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 9, 2010
    90
    If Elise and Frank are opaque to each other, they're opaque for a reason, as, sadly, lovers sometimes are. (Come to think of it, this picture has more in common with "The Lives of Others" than you might expect.)
  2. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    A throwback to classic movies like Charade and North by Northwest where beautiful, sophisticated people answer life-threatening danger with bon mots and ingenuity.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    The script piles the preposterous on top of the absurd and the film's thin charms dissipate, revealing the creaking movie star contraption underneath.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    In the dud thriller The Tourist, Jolie basically plays an overdressed, humorless live-action version of Jessica Rabbit, running around Venice dodging hired killers.
  5. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 10, 2010
    40
    The movie dies onscreen; it might be the best advertisement for avoiding the glories of Italy ever released by a Hollywood distributor.
  6. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Dec 9, 2010
    38
    Cinema-as-shoplifting is okay, as long as you still get the feeling it's for a greater good. But that's something The Tourist is sorely missing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 10, 2010
    0
    In a year of craptaculars, The Tourist deserves burial at the bottom of the 2010 dung heap. It offers talented people trapped in creative inertia. A microscope and a search party could not discover any trace of chemistry between Johnny Depp and Angelina Jolie.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 64
  2. Negative: 22 out of 64
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    I thought the Tourist was clever and entertaining with just enough twist to keep it interesting and Jolie was as beautiful as ever and DeppI thought the Tourist was clever and entertaining with just enough twist to keep it interesting and Jolie was as beautiful as ever and Depp always a good performance. Critics should look at movies for the entertainment value and not the intellectual they tend to over think movies instead of just watching them for what they are entertaining. I give this movie an 8 and would recommend seeing it. Expand
  2. zoy
    Dec 14, 2010
    10
    ok i gave it a ten more than it deserve maybe it should be like 8,not perfect but just cos the critics are so harsh with the movie maybe theyok i gave it a ten more than it deserve maybe it should be like 8,not perfect but just cos the critics are so harsh with the movie maybe they were expecting another movie like "life of others" ..
    but i thought both main actors were excellent and the relationship between angie and jhonny was set in the right tone.
    so like jb56 said i recommend you go see it .
    by the way 37 is to low when u see the same movie in this category, definitely not deserving it.
    Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2010
    8
    I liked that The Tourist was a bit of a throwback, more concerned with good cinematography than shootout sequences. I also liked Johnny Depp'sI liked that The Tourist was a bit of a throwback, more concerned with good cinematography than shootout sequences. I also liked Johnny Depp's character a lot; no one does quirky like he does. As for Ms. Jolie's character, well, she's just visually stunning. This is an undemanding, often funny, stylish movie with a gorgeous setting and enviable elegance. It's always composed, which I guess is a problem in a film where lives are supposed to be in imminent danger and some of the characters are flat, as is some of the dialogue. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2010
    5
    I watched Salt just days before watching The Tourist. Salt was good but the Tourist can get out of my way. The fist-half of the movie isI watched Salt just days before watching The Tourist. Salt was good but the Tourist can get out of my way. The fist-half of the movie is boring, imagine Angelina Jolie walking around beautiful streets with elegant fashion. Yes, the streets and clothes are good, but Angelina and the storyline aren't. When Johnny Depp reveals the twist of the movie, it's too late because I believe everyone's sleeping when he does that. Expand
  5. May 29, 2011
    4
    A chilly movie, not by the slowly scenes, silent but for being merely expository and not enfolding.
    And even with such predictability, I couldnâ
  6. Jul 28, 2011
    3
    ok. this movie was so pathetic, and the soundtrack, as well as terrible, unbearable, it was so uncomfortable and boring, neither pays muchok. this movie was so pathetic, and the soundtrack, as well as terrible, unbearable, it was so uncomfortable and boring, neither pays much attention to the end of the worst I've seen in my damn life. terrible ..! Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2011
    0
    didn't like, its the worst movie for Depp. I thinh really this movie was a waste of time and money. Im a big fan of Deep but I didnt like himdidn't like, its the worst movie for Depp. I thinh really this movie was a waste of time and money. Im a big fan of Deep but I didnt like him in this movie. Collapse

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers