Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: May 27, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 628 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
427
Mixed:
81
Negative:
120
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
reaeperJun 21, 2011
This movie was trying to be way to 'deep'. All of the drawn out space and dinosaur adventures are pointless, and add absolutely nothing to the movie. The middle portion of the movie- where it is actually comprehensible- is mediocre, butThis movie was trying to be way to 'deep'. All of the drawn out space and dinosaur adventures are pointless, and add absolutely nothing to the movie. The middle portion of the movie- where it is actually comprehensible- is mediocre, but watchable, but add all the unnecessary filler, and you get a crap movie. Anyone who tells you otherwise is trying too hard. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
1
FrankDJun 9, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most pretentious movies I've ever seen, from the film's opening, whispered voice-overs which are virtually incomprehensible to anyone with A+ hearing, to the final, final, final ending when all meet joyfully or joylessly (once again the audience doesn't know what to think and ultimately doesn't care) in Heaven with images and philosophical BS I haven't seen since enduring the pandering, ridiculous, simplistic movie shown at the Mormon pavilion at the 1964 New York World's Fair. Contemplating your navel has been taken to a new low. Last, but not least, what was Sean Penn doing in this movie? Looking for his Maalox and Gas-X? How such an excellent, caring actor and person got involved in this twaddle 'tis a puzzlement. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
0
perfectdOct 2, 2011
This movie goes to far into nowhere. This is a movie you really, really have to try and like. You haver to look for the meaning of what it means. It's better for DVD so you can go back and watch again so you can develop an explaination ofThis movie goes to far into nowhere. This is a movie you really, really have to try and like. You haver to look for the meaning of what it means. It's better for DVD so you can go back and watch again so you can develop an explaination of what the movie is trying to say. To me it's a baffle them with BS movie and not the great film I was expecting. Horrible. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
dollywizJul 3, 2011
This is on behalf of movielover1 below, who mistakenly gave this a 10 when he/she clearly hated it and meant to rate it a 0, as follows:

movielover1 Jun 20, 201110 Due to this movie, I lost 2 hours of my life that I cannot replace. I
This is on behalf of movielover1 below, who mistakenly gave this a 10 when he/she clearly hated it and meant to rate it a 0, as follows:

movielover1 Jun 20, 201110 Due to this movie, I lost 2 hours of my life that I cannot replace. I consider myself to be perceptive, curious and smart however this movie did not spark any of those traits. Several people in the theater left after about 20 minutes. Those that remained often groaned as they shifted in their seats. When it was finally over we chatted with many people - all of whom said "what the hell was that???". I can honestly say that it was probably the worst movie I have ever seen.â
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
ShayanJul 3, 2011
With 24 hours passed since watching this movie, I feel I can now write a more objective review of this movie.
This movie is a hollywood attempt at artistic sophistication. It's comes off like McDonald's trying to do fine dining, or your
With 24 hours passed since watching this movie, I feel I can now write a more objective review of this movie.
This movie is a hollywood attempt at artistic sophistication. It's comes off like McDonald's trying to do fine dining, or your local bricklayer attempting surgery.
It is laborious, overdone, and so so heavy handed it becomes unbearable. Fifteen minutes into the movie I thought to myself that it reminds me of the style of the "the thin red line" (a movie I really liked and recommend), and found out on metacritic that it is indeed the same director. But this movie lacks the balance of "the thin red line" and looses itself in the bigger picture it tries to portray.
People in the theatre just started snickering toward the final minutes as the endless array of imagery was crudely sequenced together - and this happened in an independent cinema!!
What this film lacked was subtelty and balance. Its a shame because there were ingredients there from which something very special could have been made.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
GryphenJul 21, 2011
This would have to be the worst movie ever made, the disjointed story telling, the haphazard collection of Hubblesque photographs, the failure of the characters to age, the diabolically poor performance by Sean Penn just make this the mostThis would have to be the worst movie ever made, the disjointed story telling, the haphazard collection of Hubblesque photographs, the failure of the characters to age, the diabolically poor performance by Sean Penn just make this the most distressingly depressing movie of our time.

I am so glad they don't sell razorblades in the foyer.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
bostoncriticJul 26, 2011
I cannot understand why many otherwise excellent critics, such as Roger Ebert (with whom I usually agree, more or less) did not pan this movie. It is pretentious crap. To say that it is personal, that it is Malick's personal poetic orI cannot understand why many otherwise excellent critics, such as Roger Ebert (with whom I usually agree, more or less) did not pan this movie. It is pretentious crap. To say that it is personal, that it is Malick's personal poetic or philosophical vision is to let him off the hook for a piece of appallingly boring mediocrity. I have very sophisticated tastes and see lots of indie films. I have a great appreciation for great writing, directing, and acting, and have lots of knowledge about literature and music - in fact I am an expert on music. Of the movies that have received favorable critical reviews and which I have seen (and that includes the vast majority of those movies, as I am a film fanatic), this is BY FAR the worst one of them I have ever seen. Complete waste of time. Do not believe the hype. This movie is a failure and it leads me to believe that Malick is a complete fraud in fact. I am still scratching my head. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
Saint_DanSep 3, 2011
I too signed up to Metacritic purely to review this film.

Simply put, I loved The Thin Red Line and went to see Tree Of Life on the strength of this. ToL is a 2 1/4 hour art wank trip that looks like a cross between a NASA documentary
I too signed up to Metacritic purely to review this film.

Simply put, I loved The Thin Red Line and went to see Tree Of Life on the strength of this.

ToL is a 2 1/4 hour art wank trip that looks like a cross between a NASA documentary and autumnal adverts for fabric softener. It's message is lost in a confusion of pretensiousness, and is one that is not worth telling in the first place.

If you strap a camcorder to a dog and let it run around for 2 hours, you'd get a better film.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
chambolinskiOct 12, 2011
Perhaps because the film's so gorgeous and there have been so many gushing reviews folks are afraid of appearing uncool if they say this movie was the psychotic exercise of someone with way too much money and not anyone around him honestPerhaps because the film's so gorgeous and there have been so many gushing reviews folks are afraid of appearing uncool if they say this movie was the psychotic exercise of someone with way too much money and not anyone around him honest enough to say hey Terry knock off this talking-to-god lunacy. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
felbert55Nov 10, 2011
It's not film worthy of review because it's not really a film. The first half-hour is filled with extraordinary cinematography that belongs in a segment of the Discovery Channel's Planet Earth. The rest is unintelligible bizarre nonsense.It's not film worthy of review because it's not really a film. The first half-hour is filled with extraordinary cinematography that belongs in a segment of the Discovery Channel's Planet Earth. The rest is unintelligible bizarre nonsense. It has no "narrative." Like abstract art I suppose those who love it make up something to explain it's meaning. Somewhere in the 6 lines of dialogue Brad Pitt defines "subjective" as something in your own mind that cannot be proved (or disproved) by others. All opinions are subjective and I respect those of others, but it's amazing to me that anyone could call this mind-numbing experience a masterpiece of film making. Imagine if the "acid trip" scene from Easy Rider had been the entire film. That's what this is... just a lot longer. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
DHEDec 3, 2011
This movie gets my King-has-no-clothes award for the most inexplicably highly rated movie of the year (previous winners: Forrest Gump, Before Sunset). It was basically 2 hours of my life that I'll never get back. I spent the first hourThis movie gets my King-has-no-clothes award for the most inexplicably highly rated movie of the year (previous winners: Forrest Gump, Before Sunset). It was basically 2 hours of my life that I'll never get back. I spent the first hour waiting for the movie to start and the last hour waiting for it to end. Somehow, I made it to the finish, but not without a cost: the wasted effort that went into trying (and I did try) to find even a moment worth watching on any level left me feeling cranky and cheated. The movie did not make me laugh, cry, think, or wonder; it was monumentally unmoving. The spirituality at its core was soaringly sophomoric (not to mention off-putting). If it was meant to serve as a unifying theme linking everything (and by "everything" I mean everything) in a halo of enlightenment, the actual effect was closer to self-parody. I get the set up -- tough-love Dad suppressing his own dreams and trying (yet not trying) to make emotional connections, and the toll his own internal struggle takes on the family -- but there was so little to like about the characters that I found myself hoping the movie gods would drop a large heavy object on the lot of them, much like the eldest son wished the God-god would drop a car on his father. In some ways, the mother, presumably meant to be the sympathetic figure in the story, was the least likable of the lot (good luck with that Grace thing). Or maybe it was the oldest son, molded into a wretched little torturer by the contradictory and capricious demands of his father, that we were meant to empathize with. Whatever; it didn't work. The number 2 (?) son (call him Trust) flickered around the edges accompanied by a general "goodness" vibe, but never quite materialized into a person, and the third son was virtually indistinguishable from the other neighborhood kids. One of the three sons somehow grows up to be Sean Penn, a successful urban professional (architect?) whose stoic middle-distance gaze appears meant to speak wordlessly (literally) to unsettled "issues". It's not quite like I don't have anything good to say about the movie. Brad Pitt was great, as always. (I'd watch him read a phone book; in fact, I'd rather have watched him read a phone book). Sean Penn is always interesting to look at, even if he's not really doing anything. Dinosaurs (yes, dinosaurs) made a brief, but engaging appearance (maybe Malick can use these scenes as starter material for a logically dialog-free movie). And one last thing: If you got rid of all the scenes with people, it would make a halfway decent screensaver. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
MorriBeySep 3, 2011
Roger Moore from the Orlando Sentinel review says it all. "Glibly put, this challenging time-skipping rumination is the big screen equivalent of watching that "Tree" grow."
The only good thing is that now i know which reviewer to follow.
Roger Moore from the Orlando Sentinel review says it all. "Glibly put, this challenging time-skipping rumination is the big screen equivalent of watching that "Tree" grow."
The only good thing is that now i know which reviewer to follow. Nothing more to say.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Knicksfan7Jul 15, 2011
This movie was odd, weird and very different and artsy but it was uplifting, inspiring, and beautiful at the same time. Brad pitt was great in this film as he always is. I didnt understand it at most times, but you just have to think and openThis movie was odd, weird and very different and artsy but it was uplifting, inspiring, and beautiful at the same time. Brad pitt was great in this film as he always is. I didnt understand it at most times, but you just have to think and open up your mind and you will understand and enjoy it. 8/10 Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaApr 27, 2012
A masterpiece only for hardcore movie lovers. Many will misunderstand it others will be cheated by it and some will view it as another masterpiece from arguably the best director of all time. The first time I viewed it I was not prepared forA masterpiece only for hardcore movie lovers. Many will misunderstand it others will be cheated by it and some will view it as another masterpiece from arguably the best director of all time. The first time I viewed it I was not prepared for it and found it boring pretentious and just a movie full of pretty pictures. However Malick finds a way to evoke a feeling of spirituality and wonder, Could this be one of the best movies ever made in history, maybe. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
cbibejsSep 21, 2011
I felt like this movie 5 hours length. So Einstein's theory of relativity says this movie is not good.Also it proved to me not every movie of Brad Pitt is will be good.This movie is just a slide show of some beautiful scenery with worthless story.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
Egypt1amAug 20, 2011
What did I miss? I hated this movie! It felt kind the actors were playing their parts by satellite linkup; zero chemistry. Very disappointing and roof that you can through all your money behind a great cast and still mess it up :(
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
CrockaAug 27, 2011
Malick is to be applauded for attempting to get out of the Hollywood box. There are various reasons he didn't make it on this attempt. Art has to have constraints or it just comes across as arbitrary or self-indulgent. Malick has learntMalick is to be applauded for attempting to get out of the Hollywood box. There are various reasons he didn't make it on this attempt. Art has to have constraints or it just comes across as arbitrary or self-indulgent. Malick has learnt from the film greats (Kubrick, Weir, Beresford et al) that music and image work well in cinema. But that 's only part of the picture. The vision has to be coherent, and seen to be so. If not, where's the achievement? What was the p;oint of making art in the first place? If Malick's view of his work is 'here it is; take it or leave it', he'll be left holding his own baby. A little less showing-off and a bit more expertise in the art of film would go down well, Terry. Oh, and give us credit for knowing a little about the mystery of life, so we don't have to submit to banalities like those in The Tree Of Life. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
TheWhiteStripesSep 7, 2011
Hey look at me! I'm not giving this one a perfect score either... So, yes, this film took me completely by surprise! The visuals are superb, the soundtrack is outstanding, and overall, an over the top direction by Malick! The one and onlyHey look at me! I'm not giving this one a perfect score either... So, yes, this film took me completely by surprise! The visuals are superb, the soundtrack is outstanding, and overall, an over the top direction by Malick! The one and only problem I deduced, would have to be the editing. That's it! Some might think that the running time was pushing their limits. For me, not at all. From start to finish, this film is pure gold. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
jfthuecksSep 5, 2011
all you need to know think about before you see this movie are a few quick things and they will inform if you should see it or not. 1) do you like watching movies that don't have a constant through line or jump around in time? 2) do you likeall you need to know think about before you see this movie are a few quick things and they will inform if you should see it or not. 1) do you like watching movies that don't have a constant through line or jump around in time? 2) do you like movies that challenge you and don't have a tied up in a bow conclusions? 3) have you watched and liked terrence malick's prior films? if two of those are answers were no then this is probably not the film for you. ok not really a spoiler(y) story review but a review of the final product as a film: the film is shot beautifully and not to flashy. the editing flows nicely and organically but can be a bit off putting in a few points. the sound editing/ soundtrack is very nice and works well with the images on screen and the juxtaposing at certain scenes works to great effect.

as a film it works well and it's spectacle is at the level of 2001: A Space Odyssey at times but at times it's cold and pushes you away. i won't lie and be as full of myself as some people on here and say i understood it and what he was going for cuz i didn't. i believe films like this you get out what you bring into it. it was good but it's ether one you'll love or hate.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
greenieSep 18, 2011
Your enjoyment or not of this movie will depend on your experiences so far through life. I found it incredibly moving, and it confirmed many of my morals and guidelines for life. While being an atheist I accept that religion is important toYour enjoyment or not of this movie will depend on your experiences so far through life. I found it incredibly moving, and it confirmed many of my morals and guidelines for life. While being an atheist I accept that religion is important to some people,so this element in the story was acceptable. The emotions portrayed were so much stronger for the lack of the usual flood inane ,stereotypical dialogue we often get.. My advice is ,if you can spare two hours in your precious life ,take the risk of being moved ,inspired and even entertained my this gem. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
CfjhennSep 20, 2011
If I were to stare at the my screensaver, peppered as it is with pretty vacation snaps and family memories, for 2 hours I would feel nearly as fulfilled. Derealisation is a recognised phenomena associated with staring at disconnected,If I were to stare at the my screensaver, peppered as it is with pretty vacation snaps and family memories, for 2 hours I would feel nearly as fulfilled. Derealisation is a recognised phenomena associated with staring at disconnected, sometimes abstract, images... sadly that associated sensation of transcendency is illusory, an epiphenomenon. That said, that gushing awe and realisation happens no more freely with this pretentious, introspective movie, than with my photo slideshow, the difference being my computer can skip forward past some of the tedium. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
swannerandjuddSep 26, 2011
It's a Turd. I don't know what i was watching and frankly i don't care. There is no true linear story, it was like watching an environmental dvd and someone's boring home movies. i'm not surprised they boo'd at Cannes. It's like the Emperor'sIt's a Turd. I don't know what i was watching and frankly i don't care. There is no true linear story, it was like watching an environmental dvd and someone's boring home movies. i'm not surprised they boo'd at Cannes. It's like the Emperor's New Clothes...no one wants to doubt his genius but i will. It's a turd...a big smelly turd. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
mariopingDec 27, 2011
Ok, people, I don't get it. Why does this film end up on so many critics' top 10 (in many cases, the top of the top)??? I like movies that are deep and thought provoking but The Tree of Life is just absolutely boring and self serving. ThereOk, people, I don't get it. Why does this film end up on so many critics' top 10 (in many cases, the top of the top)??? I like movies that are deep and thought provoking but The Tree of Life is just absolutely boring and self serving. There is a line between artsy and just self serving. This film is the latter in my opinion. Sure, the movie is beautifully filmed with many spectacular scenes but what's that gotta to do with the story? I feel director Mr. Malick feels like he can do anything mindless and some critics out there will call it a piece of art. I am glad I am entitled to my opinion. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
trujustinJan 3, 2012
Tree of Life is an attempted artistic expression, which I encourage and appreciate. You will not see many films like it. The problem is that the movie has no entertainment value. If you are going to watch this movie, expect to watch theTree of Life is an attempted artistic expression, which I encourage and appreciate. You will not see many films like it. The problem is that the movie has no entertainment value. If you are going to watch this movie, expect to watch the ultimate art house film. If it isn't your niche then you will be bored senseless. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
tomeqJun 11, 2011
Total triumph of form over content. This movie is pathetically obvious, so daub that it hurts. Tons of cheap cliches. Movie just screams on me with obviousness. After 2 and a half hour of movie I was unable to tell what is this movie allTotal triumph of form over content. This movie is pathetically obvious, so daub that it hurts. Tons of cheap cliches. Movie just screams on me with obviousness. After 2 and a half hour of movie I was unable to tell what is this movie all about. One will say - about life. Come on. This kind of story was told several hundred of times. This is neither new or interesting - it is simple as a brick. The worst movies are those that gives you nothing and you come out of cinema with nothing in head. This one is even worse - leaves you distaste and feeling of being cheated. Complete waste of time. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
3
jay215Jun 30, 2011
Indulgent mess of a movie. Had potential but the worse sin is to bore your audience and he did that. The casting of Sean Penn was inexplicable. Brad Pitt was actually not bad, but opportunity missed overall.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
1
futurehousesMay 29, 2011
Painful experience, this movie was really bad. The lack of story and important elements turns it into a film in front of which you are bound to fall asleep if not for very strong will power. I'm even reconsidering giving this 1 on 10 ...Painful experience, this movie was really bad. The lack of story and important elements turns it into a film in front of which you are bound to fall asleep if not for very strong will power. I'm even reconsidering giving this 1 on 10 ...
After merely 10 minutes, people were already leaving from the cinema. This movie was a joke. Sean Penn acts two minutes at the beginning and for approximately the same duration at the end. His mention on the film advertisements is a real steal. He doesn't even speak, barely ...
The opening cosmos-creation scenes are interesting, but fairly boring after sitting for 30 minutes in front of them while listening to the snoring of the man at your right (who gave up at the very start).
Well, I do not recommend this feature, which is a very poor one in my opinion.
Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
1
jeroenJun 24, 2011
just, i don't know... I had to laugh by a movie trying so hard to explain why God takes away children. It is because God's creation is so much bigger apparently, we are just a tiny part of it. There are dinosaurs and the cosmos and thejust, i don't know... I had to laugh by a movie trying so hard to explain why God takes away children. It is because God's creation is so much bigger apparently, we are just a tiny part of it. There are dinosaurs and the cosmos and the universe (see Hubble pictures). You know? It was said in the bible to Job. "Where were you when I created the earth, you arrogant **** don't complain". In the end we all go to heaven and then you'll get to see all your loved ones back that have gone. You have to walk through a door that is standing in a desert and if you do then you will find lots of people in white robes that walk barefooted on a beach. Yup, that's them, your long lost ones. Aren't you glad you now know where they've been all that time? It is a very spiritual experience and I gained much insight in life's deeper meaning. Zzzzz..... Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryJun 20, 2011
The latest from Terrence Mallick continues to solidify his rep as a pompous twit and/or brilliant filmmaker. There's no plot or dialogueâ
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
1
metamtamMay 31, 2011
The first 20 minutes are a succession of postcard shots with no consistency and no dialogs. No story telling, people don't talk, they just whisper "god... oh god... please god...". It was so centered on religion that it became both boring andThe first 20 minutes are a succession of postcard shots with no consistency and no dialogs. No story telling, people don't talk, they just whisper "god... oh god... please god...". It was so centered on religion that it became both boring and ridiculous in a matter of minutes. This does not deserve to be called a movie, it only felt like a scam. Even Lost Highway immediately makes more sense than that! Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews