Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 26, 2003
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 114 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
90
Mixed:
10
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
HarryNov 17, 2008
"The Triplets of Belleville" is one of the most charming, original and hilarious experiences I've ever had at a movie theater. It is a tribute to Silent movies but also a caricature of New York, Paris and Montreal. The animation simply "The Triplets of Belleville" is one of the most charming, original and hilarious experiences I've ever had at a movie theater. It is a tribute to Silent movies but also a caricature of New York, Paris and Montreal. The animation simply tops anything Disney has ever made. How it didn't win best animated film at the Oscars is beyond me. This is one of the greats! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
AmyC.Mar 10, 2009
Delightfully weird and beautiful. The music is wonderful.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NedRyerson1Mar 4, 2012
The Triplets of Belleville is the film that made Sylvain Chomet famous. It is a quaint and old-fashion tale about a grandma and her dog looking for her grandson, a bicyclist that is kidnapped from The Tour of France by the local mafia. He isThe Triplets of Belleville is the film that made Sylvain Chomet famous. It is a quaint and old-fashion tale about a grandma and her dog looking for her grandson, a bicyclist that is kidnapped from The Tour of France by the local mafia. He is taken to Belleville, which is a sort of Sin City, a mix between New York and Las Vegas. There the old lady will meet the Triplets, that now a day are outdated and forgotten by show business.
This movie with poor dialogues and expressionist graphics, reach high levels of concepts that want to transmit: the pauper environments have caught the characters and take away from them the possibility of dreaming; this characters have to survive by any way, because the show business has failed; the human beings are represented with characteristics of animals and things, because they live in a materialistic society and are what they truly demonstrate; gathering everything it can be said that there is no escape from the reality.
The Triplets of Belleville is a strange, but hilarious film. The direction is unique, the art direction is beautiful and the music is overwhelming, the Belleville Rendez-Vous is one of the best movie themes of all times.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
AlexOldOneNov 18, 2012
There was little communication of warmth between mother and son. The son barely acknowledged her existence. Missing that emotional connection, I just couldn't fully connect to the film despite its great production levels
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZorglyFeb 9, 2011
My favourite cartoon film of time. Beautiful art direction and animation, creative and original story, deep emotional undertones and symbolism. Amazing from start to finish. One of the most catchy theme songs of all time. Do yourself a favorMy favourite cartoon film of time. Beautiful art direction and animation, creative and original story, deep emotional undertones and symbolism. Amazing from start to finish. One of the most catchy theme songs of all time. Do yourself a favor and check this out Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MarkAngelFeb 17, 2013
I didn't enjoy it. Not for a single second. Extremely depressing and confusing! I can not say if it is overrated or not (maybe i'm missing something about this movie, maybe i'm not) but with all my sincerity, i must admit i didn't like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PaulHOct 7, 2005
Wonderfully strange, one of the most beautiful animated cartoons in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jan 20, 2006
Mesmerizing movie that sets you into the director's animated world , I almost wish i could live there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RozE.Jan 31, 2009
Great! At last, non-Disney animation! I have shown it to my students aged 13-16, and they remember it for years, and can describe its quirks, and distinctive visual style - fabulous! Who could forget the frogs, the musical Great! At last, non-Disney animation! I have shown it to my students aged 13-16, and they remember it for years, and can describe its quirks, and distinctive visual style - fabulous! Who could forget the frogs, the musical 'instruments', the ship, the shape of the 'baddies', and those calf muscles! fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeremyE.Apr 18, 2006
This is the weirdest, quirkiest, and most pointless film of the year. It's imaginative and would make a great book, but as for a movie... I'll just be straight up, this movie was too weird for me to like. Others may like it though
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinS.Apr 27, 2006
Wildly imaginative. Represents film making at its best, a terrific illustration of the power of visuals over mere words. The filmmakers set out to push the boundaries of traditional animation (with some help from computers) and succeeded Wildly imaginative. Represents film making at its best, a terrific illustration of the power of visuals over mere words. The filmmakers set out to push the boundaries of traditional animation (with some help from computers) and succeeded brilliantly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertY.Feb 26, 2008
Shame there isn't such thing as -1000. This is probably the most boring film i have ever see. ( i had to suffer this film in my French lesson) i nearly lost the world to live it is so lame and i thing the only use it has is to torture Shame there isn't such thing as -1000. This is probably the most boring film i have ever see. ( i had to suffer this film in my French lesson) i nearly lost the world to live it is so lame and i thing the only use it has is to torture people. its like this film site gives all the bad films bad marks and the good films bad marks. whatever this website says i want you in most cases to think the opposite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevonSApr 27, 2008
The most imaginative animated feature film I have ever seen. Even Disney couldn't have done it any better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigE.May 19, 2004
Fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SolC.Jan 22, 2006
Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MojoP.Dec 28, 2007
I was blitzed high when I watched this so perhaps I was all the more mesmerized, but I loved the dark and strange animation and storyline. It got your mind working; there were so many nooks and cranny's to each scene so much well I was blitzed high when I watched this so perhaps I was all the more mesmerized, but I loved the dark and strange animation and storyline. It got your mind working; there were so many nooks and cranny's to each scene so much well layered imagery and a rather compelling plot that made everything work together as such a tight cohesive unit. For those who like mainstream culture this is likely not for you, but for something different and truly unique that is well worth watching, pick this one up. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SimonCNov 29, 2008
This was unwatchably bad. My expectations for a good cartoon were completely and utterly dashed and I was left thinking that either the director or myself have some kind of thought disorder. Perhaps I am missing something but 'The This was unwatchably bad. My expectations for a good cartoon were completely and utterly dashed and I was left thinking that either the director or myself have some kind of thought disorder. Perhaps I am missing something but 'The Triplets' was so boring that the time I spent watching it was almost entirely wasted. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 29, 2016
The Triplets of Belleville is already obvious what were the results. A big, fun animation just for the best of the people and their need of watching movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TribidenadaPakJul 20, 2017
A fun, charming little movie that certainly holds it's own with pride against Disney, the monopoly of animation. In the land of CGI, this quirky style of traditional animation is a sight for sore eyes and a spectacle to look at. With littleA fun, charming little movie that certainly holds it's own with pride against Disney, the monopoly of animation. In the land of CGI, this quirky style of traditional animation is a sight for sore eyes and a spectacle to look at. With little to no dialogue, it accomplishes so effortlessly what most films endeavor so much to do. It captivates, stirs and delivers so profoundly well that watching it once won't be enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hristo-hrMar 13, 2017
An instant classic in animation! Beautifully drawn, hyperbolic and emotional. Interesting play with the stereotypes of the French toward the US. A highly recommended movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews