Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Feb 10, 2012
    100
    A sumptuous masterpiece by one of the greatest moviemakers of all time.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Feb 9, 2012
    100
    The movie is too beautiful to be described as an ordeal, but it is sufficiently intense and unyielding that when it is over, you may feel, along with awe, a measure of relief. Which may sound like a reason to stay away, but is exactly the opposite.
  3. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 8, 2012
    100
    The Turin Horse has a burnished beauty that's awe-inspiring, like a clear window into a faraway world as it dangles, and then falls, off the precipice.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Feb 3, 2012
    100
    Béla Tarr is the cinema's greatest crafter of total environments and in The Turin Horse, working in his most restricted physical setting since 1984's Almanac of Fall, he (along with co-director Ágnes Hranitzky) dials up one of his most vividly immersive milieus.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Jun 28, 2012
    88
    The Turin Horse is in a very gray black and white. It looks the same way it feels: bleak, pure, forbidding, transfixing. Watching it, frankly, can be a bit of an ordeal. There's hardly anything in The Turin Horse you would describe as entertaining, but there is a very great deal that's beautiful and absorbing.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Feb 15, 2012
    85
    The Turin Horse is an absolute vision, masterly and enveloping in a way that less personal, more conventional movies are not. The film doesn't seduce; it commands.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    I don't agree with Cabrita, but maybe just 'cause i've been watching a lot of Tarr's movies, this is the last (or so he said) and so the end, and what an end (of the world).
    I personally prefer other movies of his, Satantango and Werkmeister Harmonies are some of those, but this is still a good one
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    I had a problem with its symbolic aesthetics, since it rarely provides opportunities for self-reflective projection. However, it can't be denied that this is beautiful trademark work of the master who made Satantango. Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    3
    His use of mise en scene and film noir are great however technique on it's own does not add up to anything. I can appreciate art house films however this is simply bad art. It did not entertain my intellect by exploring themes nor did it entertain me on a manipulative level. This is where I differ with the critics they believe the film gave you a sense of awe, I believe the film gave me a sense of boredom. I have also seen the man from London which was also garbage. I'm going to give Tarr one more chance with Werkmeister Harmonies. Full Review »