Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After the birth of Renesmee, the Cullens gather other vampire clans in order to protect the child from a false allegation that puts the family in front of the Volturi.
  • Director: Bill Condon
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Drama, Thriller, Fantasy, Romance
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 115 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Nov 13, 2012
    80
    The final installment of the immortal Bella/Edward romance will give its breathlessly awaiting international audience just what it wants.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Nov 15, 2012
    75
    Breaking Dawn - Part 2 starts off slow but gathers momentum, and that's because, with Bella and Edward united against the Volturi, the picture has a real threat.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Nov 15, 2012
    63
    Finally, someone took the source material at its terribly written word and stopped treating the whole affair so seriously.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Fans will be left on a high; other viewers will be confused but generally entertained by a saga whose romance is matched only by its weirdness.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    There may never have been a movie whose quality mattered less than this final chapter of The Twilight Saga.
  6. Reviewed by: Genevieve Koski
    Nov 15, 2012
    50
    Comes as close as the film series has gotten to reconciling the epic romance it's billed as and the self-aware camp-fest it often hints at wanting to be, but it's still a messy, unwieldy slab of film product that's targeted directly at fans of the book series, with little regard for anyone else.
  7. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 15, 2012
    30
    If anything, this series has gotten dumber and more inert as it has progressed, with this last one finally reaching over into an extended wallow in camp.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 79
  2. Negative: 24 out of 79
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    After following the franchise from the beginning, falling for Edward instantly, and generally enjoying the books a great deal more than the films. I have to say this final instalment was a huge winner for me. Its fair to say the cgi of Renesme is not great and the majority is a Bella/Edward love-fest, but the grand finale scene is absolutely amazing and completely unexpected. My palms were sweaty and my heart beating so fast. I couldn't believe what was happening. An amazing ending for a brilliant saga! Well done Bill. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    All the hate from the Twilight movies come from those who never read the books and therefore do not understand the feelings and thoughts of Bella. This sadly last movie, Breaking Dawn part 2, manages to capture emotion in the way that it made a chill run down my spine and a tear appear in my eyes. Like they say, "haters gonna hate", but don't judge before reading the books. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    Of all the major critics' reviews, Joe Williams of the St. Louis Dispatch has it right: it was a guilty pleasure for these 58 year old eyes. I enjoyed every minute of it, especially a truly electrifying moment at the end. So did the audience. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Forced to watch this by my mother, who wanted to see it and did not have anyone to see it with. She's done that to me for the past three other Twilight movies.... and I wish I could have that time back. Suffice to say, I did not like it along with most of the males my age (20's). I would not have watched any of them had it not been for my mother wanting to and needing somebody to watch it with. That said, the movie itself is as terrible as the other ones in terms of acting and the plot is so-so... but there IS a twist in this movie that I did not see coming and that bumped the score up because of that. It was actually well done and looking back now I should have expected it, but it was a pleasant surprise for someone who was not expecting much. Now if only Blade can meet these twinkly "vampires"... Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    To me, It was a 0 all the way through up until the climax of the film. I feel that the climax (the whole confrontation scene) sort of saved the movie but not enough for me to give it a good review. I am actually quite disappointed because I had given Twilight, Eclipse, and Breaking Dawn part 1 6's. I had given New Moon an 8. I figured it would at least be a decent film but it ended up being a terrible end to a solid franchise. And this is coming from a guy who loves action, horror, and comedy films. Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2014
    3
    An extremely bad and disappointing conclusion to the Twilight Series, whose team was unwilling to make a decent film for the audience. While the special effects and the action are impressive, this exhausting movie does little to the fans but relieves smart people for its well appreciated, ending. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    For movies that are adapted from books to be successful, the book itself must be of respectable quality. However, the Twilight Saga book series is such a disgrace - such a literary piece of trash that the target audience is limited to the dramatically decreasing number of loyal fangirls who drool over shirtless guys, but overlook the equivalence of the franchise to goat **** Complete with emotionless, wooden acting delivered by Kristen Stewart, gaping plot holes and practically no element of intelligence or originality in the film, Breaking Dawn Part 2 shamelessly steals from audiences by splitting the final film into two parts (one part is already stretching it). This successfully classifies as one of the worst films in existence. Get ready to see the spectacle that should never have started in the first place! Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.