User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 432 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    Although Bella's still the ignorant **** and the triangular romance is baffling as the HP one, "Eclipse" is possibly the best Twilight movie so far. Using REAL action, an understandable story, and an slighter increase in character development the movie finally develops into something more of a mindless romance blockbuster, the appropriate title this **** up saga so craved for. Overall,Although Bella's still the ignorant **** and the triangular romance is baffling as the HP one, "Eclipse" is possibly the best Twilight movie so far. Using REAL action, an understandable story, and an slighter increase in character development the movie finally develops into something more of a mindless romance blockbuster, the appropriate title this **** up saga so craved for. Overall, with bitten lips, I'll recommend it. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    4
    It's teeny-bopper sheen, abs, and amateurish writing obscures what could have been a good movie. It's too bad the plot centers around a love triangle and romantic lines that would make George Lucas cringe.
  3. Dec 30, 2010
    5
    I didn't like this movie,AT ALL!!! I don't why people think that this sparkling turd of the movie is so bad that I DON"T KNOW,IT'S JUST ANOTHER STUPID TWILIGHT WITH SPARKLING OF DUMBNESS!!! I don't know why people and some stupid critics believe that this movie is really awesome,because it's not. It's like you're going to see a movie that you think this movie is going to be amazing,but II didn't like this movie,AT ALL!!! I don't why people think that this sparkling turd of the movie is so bad that I DON"T KNOW,IT'S JUST ANOTHER STUPID TWILIGHT WITH SPARKLING OF DUMBNESS!!! I don't know why people and some stupid critics believe that this movie is really awesome,because it's not. It's like you're going to see a movie that you think this movie is going to be amazing,but I guess that this wants to see it because the viewers and the moviegoers thinks that we are all IDIOTS for watching this this THIS Sparking Vampire! But this third one could be the least bad,it only works. Much like the two Twilight movies are bad as ever and I guess that they least embearble to the series. The scenes are too corny,the action is few of them and they actually rip-off the "30 Days of Night" because the director did this movie into fighting scene like that,wouldn't be explain about the fighting in the movie or in the book,those three annoying morons are still annoying and I can't stand listening with those bad vampire tones all the time,I mean please I wouldn't pay attention to Edward Cullen about his lovey dovey crap of all time,and the scenes are much standard that it's not quite interesting. So that's all I have to say and for the record I should think that this movie will be exactly a "JUMPING INTO SHARK"!!! Thank you,if you feel so hating that third movie into sparking crap,please avoided! If any tween girls feel drunk and crack the whole time spinning their head,feel enjoying this movie. This is the movie that the people will watch to whole time,and us PLEASE!!! (Note: I just wanted thank Owen Gilberman from Entertainment Weekly for liking this movie and I have no point that this movie could be more interesting and for idiot critic like that,I wouldn't been trusted anybody who likes this movie and for shaming liking all the time,that's too harsh to everybody else and make us bad reviewing lack of opinions that it's just not the same,screw you and Twilight,LEAVE ME ALONE!!!) Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2010
    5
    I like the story and the locations where the film was shot but I think that they could have chosen better actors as Bella and Edward. There is no chemistry between them (who are supposed to be a couple) and the acting is bland and fake. everything about Kristen Steward irritates me. she cant act and surely there are better female actors who could have played bella and made it convincingI like the story and the locations where the film was shot but I think that they could have chosen better actors as Bella and Edward. There is no chemistry between them (who are supposed to be a couple) and the acting is bland and fake. everything about Kristen Steward irritates me. she cant act and surely there are better female actors who could have played bella and made it convincing that she has this big thing for edward an all the drama that she goes through. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    4
    With still the incredibly weak performances, and still unintentionally funny moments( basically most of the film) make this the worst written yet, but boy is it entertaining. I give this film a 38% of a good movie.
  6. ChadS.
    Jul 6, 2010
    6
    The third installment of the "Twilight" saga is another total eclipse of the genre, the horror genre, which is dominated by male narratives. "Eclipse" has a feminine one. At least the vampires and wolves and the Joan Jett impersonator don't sing like the "monster" in Andrew Lloyd Webber's "Phantom of the Opera". At least "Twilight" isn't a musical...yet. So there's no The third installment of the "Twilight" saga is another total eclipse of the genre, the horror genre, which is dominated by male narratives. "Eclipse" has a feminine one. At least the vampires and wolves and the Joan Jett impersonator don't sing like the "monster" in Andrew Lloyd Webber's "Phantom of the Opera". At least "Twilight" isn't a musical...yet. So there's no need to bang on this franchise for not being Katherine Bigelow's "Near Dark", or Josh Whedon's "Buffy the Vampire Slayer", until, that is, Bella and Edward perform a love duet sometime in the future on a Broadway stage. After all, boys aren't the only one who need mythical heroes. If "Star Wars" was intended for girls, Darth Vader would have used "The Force" on Princess Leia, in a heartbeat, to lure her away from Luke Skywalker. Love would become as important as conquering the galaxy to the foes, who are, of course, both related to the only readily available female for pro-creation as a preventive measure against the sort of scene in "Eclipse" where the interspecies lovers polarize the sexes in a violet field with their languorous talk about themselves. If Leia wasn't his spawn, Vader would have definitely tried to f*** the princess, but he's locked into a male narrative which removes that possibility by default. While there's action in "Eclipse", it never gets in the way of the love that exists among this latter-day "Jules and Jim", who both pine for Catherine(played by Jeanne Morreau in the 1962 Francois Truffaut classic). Edward and Jacob, who both pine for Bella, are in perfect position to bridge the desires of the moviegoing sexes when this precarious trio are caught in a snowstorm, where the vampire, because he's a raspberry popsicle, employs the wolfboy to warm up his shivery girlfriend. If Jacob and Bella went all the way, it would, for all intents and purposes, precipitate a battle to the death, which is what the material cries out for. But the "Twilight" series is "Star Wars" for girls, and there are preventive measure in place to appease the core audience. So they cuddle. Edward can handle abs. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2010
    5
    The Twilight series are just simply not worth ranting about over the net. Sure Taylor Lautner is attractive and sure there is chemistry between Stewart and Pattinson, but the franchise is crap and we all know it. Predictably when they made a successful novel, they will probably turn it into a movie, so there born the Twilight series. Written elegantly by Stephanie Meyers and ruined byThe Twilight series are just simply not worth ranting about over the net. Sure Taylor Lautner is attractive and sure there is chemistry between Stewart and Pattinson, but the franchise is crap and we all know it. Predictably when they made a successful novel, they will probably turn it into a movie, so there born the Twilight series. Written elegantly by Stephanie Meyers and ruined by Hollywood. Even though in this particular film I admired the CGI effects and the director, it still doesn't make up for the bumpy plot and high school acting. Especially Lautner, all he is good for is pleasing the audience (girls) with his abs and that is not acting (to say the least). Twilight Saga: Eclipse has its goods but there weren't enough to cover its faults. Expand
  8. Trirahayu
    Jul 5, 2010
    6
    I appreciate all the works of the saga on screens so far, but, Twilight Saga should've been directed from earlier by the those 'cold hands' such as Peter Jackson, James Cameron or Spielberg,perhaps. I don't know if they've been read the books and get into them or not..but at least, we'all know how well-directed they are when combining the story(Lord of the I appreciate all the works of the saga on screens so far, but, Twilight Saga should've been directed from earlier by the those 'cold hands' such as Peter Jackson, James Cameron or Spielberg,perhaps. I don't know if they've been read the books and get into them or not..but at least, we'all know how well-directed they are when combining the story(Lord of the Ring), the plot(Indiana Jones), the sci-fi(ET) or even the romance(Titanic and Avatar) into something not only worth-magic beyond the imaginations but they're all,yeah, worth seeing for the audiences (the fans and the outsiders), worth experiences for the casts, and off course definetely great-investments for all those in the principle managements. Expand
  9. Rhianna
    Jul 3, 2010
    6
    honestly, i'm a massive fan. book fan before the movie, anticipated twilight the film as soon as the cast was announced. but eclipse is a thick book and it came out as only a two hour movie. this franchise has die hard fans that will go see it at midnight and it was only two hours. i think if they added an extra half an hour into it, they would of had some time for transition scenes. honestly, i'm a massive fan. book fan before the movie, anticipated twilight the film as soon as the cast was announced. but eclipse is a thick book and it came out as only a two hour movie. this franchise has die hard fans that will go see it at midnight and it was only two hours. i think if they added an extra half an hour into it, they would of had some time for transition scenes. it flicked from one story to the other with no inbetween. it was hard to get into character development because it just chopped and changed. harry potter 2 and 4 did it and they definatly weren't the best ones and i think thats what made eclipse not quite hit home as it should. i still loved it and when you first see jacob in it and the attitude he gave off made me want to switch sides. i think actually the bigger the book the more they freak out about cutting it down. all i can say is thank god the next one is being split. david your direction was excellent though particularly in the fight scenes. perfect touch. and to all the actors awesome. but i also would of been happy if jane asked for bree's name like the book. because it would of been slight aknowledgment of the novella which i thought would of been cool. can't wait for the next one. thank you everyone who brought these to life. they're awesome. Expand
  10. JesseJ.
    Jul 4, 2010
    4
    Okay, I am going to try and be a little bit more fair to this movie than some people here (especially the ones that give it 10s). This movie is absolutly mediocre, generally mediocre movies are ones you watch any ways just to have a great blast (like A Team or Quantum Solace). But this has neither that or a deep understanding story line. Its almost as bad as Romeo and Juliet, a bunch of Okay, I am going to try and be a little bit more fair to this movie than some people here (especially the ones that give it 10s). This movie is absolutly mediocre, generally mediocre movies are ones you watch any ways just to have a great blast (like A Team or Quantum Solace). But this has neither that or a deep understanding story line. Its almost as bad as Romeo and Juliet, a bunch of hormone fueled teenagers who think they are in love. Let me tell you something before we continue folks, there is no such thing as love. Any ways, I think they should've put a gun to Quentin Tarantino's head and told him to write the lines for them because the words they used were almost as bad as The Last Airbender. Over all, average movie, only thing merely good about it is the love between two characters, I never said good, I said merely good. I guess thats the only thing that stands out about it showing how much of a failure it was. Expand
  11. MadariaA
    Jul 1, 2010
    5
    It moved to quickly from one thing to the other and it was nothing like i'd thought it was going to be . Thought it would be more like the book and not just the love gooshy between bella,edward and jacob.
  12. LynnW
    Jul 1, 2010
    5
    I loved Twilight, really liked New Moon, and hated Eclipse. I'm so disappointed. David Slade must have been too far out of his comfort zone. Where were the great action sequences he promised?
  13. Nicole
    Jul 2, 2010
    5
    The script and actors are it's largest downfault; Edward and Bellas love is frankly unbelievable and just boring.
  14. EvinC
    Jul 2, 2010
    6
    The twilight movies have got interesting. I guess the 3rd time is really a charm. Incredibly better than the 1st 2. And sadly enough one of the better films of the year.
  15. DeanneT
    Jul 5, 2010
    5
    It was better than the first two, but as an overall movie, it was still horrible. Pattinson and Stewart got a little better at becoming their characters, but are still not the world's best.. They do not portray the characters very well.
  16. Max
    Aug 20, 2010
    4
    There's something highly appealing to the Twilight saga, though I can't put my finger on it. The characters are wooden, the plot is laughable, and the direction is uninspired. Yet I found myself enjoying Eclipse much more than the first two, but not for reasons the filmmakers would hope. It's a terrible film, but thoroughly enjoyable if you're in the right mood. Look for all of theThere's something highly appealing to the Twilight saga, though I can't put my finger on it. The characters are wooden, the plot is laughable, and the direction is uninspired. Yet I found myself enjoying Eclipse much more than the first two, but not for reasons the filmmakers would hope. It's a terrible film, but thoroughly enjoyable if you're in the right mood. Look for all of the intentional and unintentional double-entendres; their inclusion, no matter how immature they may be, are the most enjoyable thing about this movie. Expand
  17. Aug 11, 2010
    5
    The film is utter nonsense, acting is horrible and the chemistry between Kristen Stewart and Taylor Lautner is horrible. I only tolerated this film because I like the books and that's not saying much
  18. Nov 16, 2010
    4
    Parts 2 and 3 of the saga would be terrible if they weren't hilarious in their awfulness. The novels are poorly written tripe, a cut below Barbara Cartland-style romances and that doesn't help things. The movie version accentuates the lack of structure, pacing, unity, rhyme and reason. There's also a pack of Mononoke-huge wolves so that's a plus. Also, no comedy in tha last three year madeParts 2 and 3 of the saga would be terrible if they weren't hilarious in their awfulness. The novels are poorly written tripe, a cut below Barbara Cartland-style romances and that doesn't help things. The movie version accentuates the lack of structure, pacing, unity, rhyme and reason. There's also a pack of Mononoke-huge wolves so that's a plus. Also, no comedy in tha last three year made me laugh as much as Twilight trilogy and although it was unintentionally funny, I respect funny. So... go Bianca and Godfrey and Jimbo, whatever your names are! Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2010
    4
    Drop the act, people. Eclipse is utter modern vampire love fantasy. Every moment is padded with tacky lines and subpar acting, and had it not been for a couple of entertaining scenes in the last 30 minutes, the whole two hours wouldâ
  20. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    Love all the parts in the film without Bella and Edward being lovey dovey. Jacob is better in the book. Argh. The scenes for the supporting characters are definitely interesting and the highlight of the film
  21. Oct 9, 2010
    6
    "It was good not great , very optimistic , the ending felt rushed and unoriginal , the acting was for the most part ok , Eclipse surpasses New Moon , The action sequence at the end was pretty moderate to , all in all this movie is reasonably enjoyable" .. B-
  22. Dec 6, 2010
    5
    This movie has a nice story and more blood then the last two but could have been better. I been following twilight movies since part one came out and still none of the movies measure up to the first movie. I like this movie but i can't watch it over and over again. This movie isn't the type of movie I could watch over again. I like twilight , but it could be better. This movie is a hugeThis movie has a nice story and more blood then the last two but could have been better. I been following twilight movies since part one came out and still none of the movies measure up to the first movie. I like this movie but i can't watch it over and over again. This movie isn't the type of movie I could watch over again. I like twilight , but it could be better. This movie is a huge bounce back from new moon. Twilight new moon was a bad movie. I didn't like it at all. This movie is bouncing back to being a good movie. The director did a fine job with putting more blood and gore in this movie. This movie was good but still it could have been better Expand
  23. Jan 1, 2011
    4
    It's hard to review this movie without mentioning the other two. But I will start by saying this movie is an improvement over the last. And on par with the first. The vampire clan are a really cool set of characters that have some depth. The shapeshifters really need to find a shirt. But they aren't terrible. This movie boast some very impressive fight scenes and Alice and Victoria, thisIt's hard to review this movie without mentioning the other two. But I will start by saying this movie is an improvement over the last. And on par with the first. The vampire clan are a really cool set of characters that have some depth. The shapeshifters really need to find a shirt. But they aren't terrible. This movie boast some very impressive fight scenes and Alice and Victoria, this time played by Bryce Dallas Howard, look really hot. There're are a few conversations in the movie that made me laugh too. So why the 4, Bella. The whole crappy story is about the most boring and uninteresting charactor in the movie. Why should I or anyone care about who she ends up with? And everything that she said and did was just annoying. This movie is a teenage girls fantasy and I guess that's who I have to be to enjoy it. Expand
  24. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    Thiz movie is phenomenal. A lot of movie-critics pout and sneer at thiz romantic flick. But on thiz review, I want to stay neutral and trying to be objective. If you want to be fair, whoever The Director or The Casts, will be getting a hard time to fill viewer great expectation since everyone pays full attention on thiz franchise. The original content wrote by a woman novelist, StephenieThiz movie is phenomenal. A lot of movie-critics pout and sneer at thiz romantic flick. But on thiz review, I want to stay neutral and trying to be objective. If you want to be fair, whoever The Director or The Casts, will be getting a hard time to fill viewer great expectation since everyone pays full attention on thiz franchise. The original content wrote by a woman novelist, Stephenie Meyer. Twilight Saga schedules for quadrilogy. I think thiz third constellation is better than the second one, NEW MOON (2009). But the first one TWILIGHT (2008) is still the best bcoz its mysterious atmosphere and great introduction by former Director, Catherine Hardwicke. Thiz time, The Director is David Slade (30 DAYS OF NIGHT (2007)). Thiz sequel has good paces on story-telling. Although some people said the sequences was a little bit slow and boring. But I think if you want to get some precise romantic scenes, thiz is the only way to do it. Slade successfully captures the emotions for some moments with his Close-up cinematography. If we look at the main Casts, Edward Cullen (Robert Pattinson) and Isabella Swan (Kristen Stewart) do not show much improvement than before. The better performance belongs to Jacob Black (Taylor Lautner) with his deep gaze. The surprising best performance comes from the supporting Cast, Dakota Fanning as Jane, one of the Volturi members. With her accent tone and body language, Fanning made an incredible vampire aura. The blood-thirsty Jasper character (Jackson Rathbone) annoyed me a little bit. His character evolved too much. In two earlier prequels he is almost invisible, but on thiz third one, he has changed dramatically to become vampire warrior. I observe, Thiz is an odd movie, where girls love it, boys hate it. I hope they did not come to the theater just to see some good-looking faces (I am saying thiz, it is not bcoz I am a Twilighater). In the other hand, if you look inside, no matter how corny the movie is, it will be still a story to tell (I am saying thiz, it is not bcoz my close-one is Twilighter). The formula is repeated very well, Shirtless Werewolf plus Very-cool Vampire plus Girl who cannot even make up her mind, equal to Movie that totally twilight us.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  25. May 24, 2012
    4
    No improvements from the last movie. The plot is still weird and ridiculous. Taylor Lautner is still acting funny rather than dramatic. It still has scenes that doesn't have depth. It still lacks excitement. And it is still a book series that wasn't meant to be a movie.....
  26. Dec 28, 2011
    5
    Certainly, "Eclipse" is a major improvement when it comes about action and romance, but Slade's direction is too apathetic to make this film a thrilling one.
  27. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    The best of the three released movies. Even so, it still manages to be pretty bad. With terrible acting, and knowing that Kristen Stewart can do so much better (as evidenced in "The Runaways"), if you're not already a "Twihard," then don't bother.
  28. Aug 24, 2014
    5
    The social vampires, cuddly werewolves and one-expression-Bella are back!

    The plot was sort of dragging, then jumping ahead, and the scenes had some nasty jumps too. The action and fighting scenes were rather nice. The movie definitely looked better than some of its prequels did... You definitely need to see the previous movies before this; it connects strongly, like the previous
    The social vampires, cuddly werewolves and one-expression-Bella are back!

    The plot was sort of dragging, then jumping ahead, and the scenes had some nasty jumps too.

    The action and fighting scenes were rather nice. The movie definitely looked better than some of its prequels did...

    You definitely need to see the previous movies before this; it connects strongly, like the previous films did, with no explanation as to who is who or what has been going on.

    Good stuff in this movie: Dakota Fanning! She was stiff but kind of good. Also more Peter Facinelli as Carlisle wasn't bad.

    Bella is still lacking facial expressions and her wanting to become a sparkly vampire is getting so very old, although I can see Edward not wanting to do it. 'Told you so' isn't going to work on that one, I guess... Jacob still uses every excuse not to wear a shirt - how funny that Edward pointed that out at some point. Edward himself is regressing from previous movies.

    All in all... there were good elements in this movie, but the focus is still on pouty Bella and her relationship problems. That pretty much kills everything else in the movie that might have potential to make it better.
    Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2012
    6
    I am not a Twilight fan boy, I have never read the books nor watched the movies until the part 1 of the fourth book came out. That being said, I didn't mind this movie. Only bad thing about the acting was that Lautner sucked, Did not care for him at all. I like how they explained more of the characters' history as well. Also, I find this movie as well as the book a rather pointlessI am not a Twilight fan boy, I have never read the books nor watched the movies until the part 1 of the fourth book came out. That being said, I didn't mind this movie. Only bad thing about the acting was that Lautner sucked, Did not care for him at all. I like how they explained more of the characters' history as well. Also, I find this movie as well as the book a rather pointless journey. It would have been easier to kill off Victoria in the first book, deal with Bella's decision between Edward and Jacob in the second, then get married in the third. It just seemed like such a pointless journey especially when we all know how it's gonna play out (even if this wasn't based on a book series, It was rather predictable on who she was gonna choose in the end). Again, it was not that bad. A little predictable but I didn't mind it. Expand
  30. Jun 24, 2012
    4
    Bella, just get a life or end it. We are all just done. Kind of visually stunning film. That's pretty much I and everyone else can say...

    Also Bella, it wouldn't hurt to surprise us all with a different facial expression...maybe?
  31. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    Despite the fact that I despise these films, I thought that Eclipse was fairly viewable. There was more action which was desperately needed in the previous film whilst the storyline was half decent. It still seems to lack imagination in terms of direction and also is acted fairly poorly. It is almost like the production company has decided that they barely need to try considering the factDespite the fact that I despise these films, I thought that Eclipse was fairly viewable. There was more action which was desperately needed in the previous film whilst the storyline was half decent. It still seems to lack imagination in terms of direction and also is acted fairly poorly. It is almost like the production company has decided that they barely need to try considering the fact that they are almost guaranteed the money. I can't blame them if I am honest. Expand
  32. Nov 21, 2012
    5
    Suffers from the noticeably lazy writing and insufferable, repetitive dialog that comes with movies about fanatic teen pop culture trends. So, basically the same type of sh*t you could expect from the Twilight series. But the character development is a little stronger, it's shot competently, and it's got some action, emotion and anticipation. An enjoyable flick...but nothing to remember.
  33. Dec 8, 2012
    4
    Almost everything about this film was a major improvement upon the first two installments, but I had a real hard time getting into this one; I found it to be slow, uneventful, and surprisingly boring.
  34. Apr 5, 2013
    5
    This movie is the best of the saga, there is action in it and now the actors say something when there is happenings nothing. Thae actors can be better and the story is better then the outer twilight movies.
  35. Jan 8, 2015
    5
    Para minha alegria deixa lua nova no chinelo e passa crepúsculo por um ponto.Já que nesse temos ação e momentos mais legais mas mesmo assim não chega a ser um grande e excelente filme só razoável.
  36. Aug 1, 2014
    4
    While it could've been far worse than what the audience was expecting, "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" is still a failure in cinematic terms and only devoted fanboys/fangirls will find satisfaction.
  37. Jun 5, 2015
    6
    It is a huge improvement on this franchise. For one, it actually has a plot, and though its performances are still terrible, it offers a little bit more than the first two films
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. It took three films, but The Twilight Saga finally nails just the right tone in Eclipse, a film that neatly balances the teenage operatic passions from Stephenie Meyer's novels with the movies' supernatural trappings.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    80
    Employing a bigger budget, better effects and an edgier director ("Hard Candy's" David Slade), Eclipse focuses on what works -- the stars.
  3. 50
    The movie contains violence and death, but not really very much. For most of its languorous running time, it listens to conversations between Bella and Edward, Bella and David, Edward and David, and Edward and Bella and David. This would play better if any of them were clever conversationalists, but their ideas are limited to simplistic renderings of their desires.